City Lodge Hotel Fourways

City Lodge Hotel Fourways

Montecasino Boulevard, Sandton 2191 South Africa
Traveller (67)
Dining (15)
Room & Suite (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 443
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
R 1 366
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No fees just great deals
R 980
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 6 hotels in Fourways
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our original accommodation brand, check into City Lodge Hotels for classic service excellence in an upper mid-scale setting. Relax in the spacious, comfortable rooms; enjoy delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner to the brand’s signature #Café restaurant; take a dip in the pool; stay active in the fitness room; book that meeting or event in the boardroom and conference rooms; and unwind at the end of the day in the sundowner bar. With fast, reliable WiFi throughout your stay, we are dedicated to making your next business, leisure, and bleisure stay a testament to “easy living”. City Lodge Hotels are spread across South Africa and in Maputo, Mozambique.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Montecasino Boulevard, Sandton 2191 South Africa
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Johannesburg Intl Airport
26.3 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
13.1 km
See all flights
275Reviews7Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 115
  • 42
  • 11
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Juline B wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly and helpful staff . I felt very welcome arriving at city lodge Fourways .
The breakfast was good and we could eat and drink tasty well cooked food
Clean establishment and the room was sanitized and clean and quite.
Very relaxing environment
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia C wrote a review Sept 2020
Durban, South Africa14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The team was most helpful and I felt very safe knowing the Covid 19 protocols were followed exceptionally.
In service dining also, although quieter, provided a safe haven instead of having me go out more than required
The cleaning service was well obliged to when I am not in the room and this made my stay very comfortable knowing my interactions with other people during this pandemic was limited.

Thank you for the comfort of home away from home!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look upon our hotel as a ‘home from home’ for all of our guests and strive to create an atmosphere to match this, so for us to read that you found this to be the case is truly rewarding feedback for us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kas A wrote a review Aug 2023
Weymouth, United Kingdom162 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a good check in with the lovely Lungi, she asked us for a floor preference and side of hotel.
Chaos at reception in the mornings.
Breakfasts are very good value for money, eggs cooked to perfection.
Would have preferred having had a cafetierre of coffee rather than waiting for someone's attention for another cup.
Excellent choice of preserves.
Unfortunately housekeeping lost a short sleeve pyjama top, it did not arrive at the cleaners.
Jacob, Nyiko tried in vane to find it.
Nokuthula and Stacey are delightful in the mornings.
Thank u Lungi for making us feel so welcome, Jacob and Nyiko for trying and for the lovely ladies at breakfast.
The drain in the bathroom basin wasn't draining, the safe did not work, went down to Lungi and whilst at breakfast maintainence were sent and rectified both immediately, outstanding!!!
We have returned to this City Lodge as its convenient for this part of our stay in SA. City Lodge is reassuringly comforting brand. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be patient in the mornings at reception.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel. We're glad to hear you were satisfied with your stay. Our lovely Lungi, as you say, is truly such an asset! True, our kitchen staff take great pride in cooking meals to perfection, to the satisfaction of our guests. Our preserves are just delightful, aren't they? It's unfortunate to hear that an item of clothing went missing. Our staff are always available to assist, bearing smiles, so hearing that issues were speedily dealt with, is what we strive for. Your kind words in terms of our brand mean so much to us. We look forward to hosting you again when next you visit SA.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator41571181736 wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Service at the restaurant needs to improve during supper and the lunch box could do with more variety for a charge of R100.

Going paperless is good but please consider having a land line in the room for convenience. Alternatively upon arrival please sensitise your guest that there are no landlines in the rooms and what is the procedure when requesting room service.

Consider having at least one bottle of still water by the room should a guest be thirsty upon arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 03 Apr 2023
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our restaurant service and the lunch box options, and will work to improve these areas. Regarding the landlines, we understand the importance of convenience and are in the process of reviewing our communication procedures with guests upon check-in. As for the water, we will consider your suggestion , thank you for the constructive feedback. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariska du Plessis wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff very friendly. Aircon, WIFI, TV and coffee making station in each room. We stayed in 2 rooms that was interlinked by a door which made it very easy for the family. One room even had a balcony.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 19 Feb 2023
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CSWalker71 wrote a review Dec 2020
White River, South Africa80 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay at City Lodge Fourways on most of my business trips to Johannesburg. Just completed the first since Covid 19 and I can recommend this establishment highly. Protocols ensure safety and peace of mind whilst the cleanliness and really warm hospitality remains near perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 08 Dec 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tshidi wrote a review Nov 2022
Kimberley, South Africa1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived Sunday afternoon, and for the duration my stay (4 nights), we were served what you call "buffet". Now the buffet was honestly boring, because we were served the same meal every supper, on top of that, we didn't dish up for ourselves, we had to be served by the kitchen staff, who were very stingy with the food. Our company paid for my dinner and I expected a decent service and food, but I didn't receive that. I ha to order food because of how your kitchen staff would dish out to us, serving us as if they are serving kids. I honestly felt disrespected and undermined by that. I don't know if you are trying to save up on the money that our company paid you, that you decided to serve us a boring buffet because of the number of Eskom people that were there. You didn't even give us the option to choose from your menu, but decided to go for the so-called buffet, instead of asking us, the customers what we prefer. I doubt I will ever book in this City lodge again, this is by far the worst.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 06 Dec 2022
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. We were delighted to have your team as guests and the buffet meal was part of the booking arrangement. Our staff always dish up for groups to ensure that the first and the last guest is well looked after and receives the same quality service and food offering. We are greatly saddened to hear you did not enjoy the meal and found the food insufficient. We also regret that you felt undermined – this was certainly not our intention as we strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy a happy stay with us. We are so sorry for this poor impression we left you and hope you will stay with us again so that we may redeem ourselves.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy_uk_nl wrote a review Feb 2023
Reading, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I usually stay at the Southern Sun ( now called Pivot I think ) when I travel to Jo'Burg on business as I like being close to the Montecasino complex - could not get in on this occasion so booked the City Lodge as it was close by. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are just great.....always friendly, smiling and charming. It is a short walk to Montecasino which felt safe even at night. Room was great and very clean, the bed was very comfortable too. I will stay here again on my next visit for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 19 Feb 2023
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rishal Ramdaw S wrote a review Nov 2022
Midrand, South Africa50 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife needed a relaxed weekend getaway and City Lodge Fourways provided just that. The room was excellent and we experienced great service from all staff from front desk to assistance with our queries from other staff. The bed was comfortable and kept us warm during the chilly weekend weather. The bathroom had all amenities needed and was sparkling clean. The only small issue was that there seemed to be a slight blockage in the wash basin as the water took a little while to drain, but it was not a big issue, however we did alert front desk of the issue. Overall we had a fabulous stay at City Lodge Fourways!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great restaurant very close to City Lodge Fourways - it is called Abiz...excellent food!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Public Relations Manager, Other at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 23 Nov 2022
We are so pleased to read such a review! Thank you for staying with us and commending our staff for their great efforts to give you a comfortable stay, meeting all your requirements and needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant L wrote a review Jul 2023
George, South Africa81 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great service, comfortable rooms, excellent location across the road from Monte Casino complex and a very comfortable and peaceful sleep.
Rooms facing the parking area are very quite, while the rooms facing the Casino and City View get great afternoon Sun.
Excellent place to stay in JHB, very central to OR Tambo, Casino, restuarants, malls and Sandton.
😎🤙🇿🇦🇿🇦
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms over looking parking area quietest. Great Chinese, Japanese restuarant next door🤙😎🇿🇦🇿🇦
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Thank you for staying with us, Grant. We're so happy to have met all your expectations. We pride ourselves on our service, so hearing you say that means the world to us. We can likewise attest to the fact that nothing compares to a peaceful rest in our oh-so comfy beds. Relaxing in our rooms with that lazy afternoon sun is simply unbeatable too. Correct, our location is quite marvelous in terms of convenience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Dunganbeatles
27 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes it had a small gym with everything that a traveler would need
Answer from Fakazi M
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
It is very safe security is available 24/7. The place is just across the road from Monte Casino. Just feel free to come along will your parents and children you will be safe.
Vuyokazi N wrote a tip Nov 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book this hotel for your next trip in Central Johannesburg."
Read full review
Kas A wrote a tip Aug 2023
Weymouth, United Kingdom162 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be patient in the mornings at reception. "
Read full review
Grant L wrote a tip Jul 2023
George, South Africa81 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms over looking parking area quietest. Great Chinese, Japanese restuarant next door🤙😎🇿🇦🇿🇦"
Read full review
Patrick D wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best location, next to Monte Casino Mall"
Read full review
Euan K wrote a tip Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is well priced gem. Try it"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fourways area.
PRICE RANGE
R 940 - R 1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
city lodge fourways hotel fourways
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandtonFourways
NUMBER OF ROOMS
211
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CITY LODGE HOTEL FOURWAYS | UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Which popular attractions are close to City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Nearby attractions include Montecasino (0.3 km), The Teatro (0.2 km), and Pieter Toerien Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Bella Montecasino, Punchinello's Restaurant, and The Hussar Grill Montecasino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does City Lodge Hotel Fourways offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to City Lodge Hotel Fourways?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (14.3 km).
All Fourways HotelsFourways Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FourwaysHotels near City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire