We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avenida Los Oceanos S/N, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book now on our website
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/18
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/10/12
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/10/12
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7708)
Panoramas (89)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22/04/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Updated 22/04/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 2 in Alcala
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
The natural beauty of Tenerife combined with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical and unforgetable moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, dream about relaxing in one of our pools and delight your palates in our wonderful restautants. Gran Melia Palacio de Isora has everything your need to make your next holidays an unforgetable experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Steam room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book now on our website


Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
31Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
11747Reviews900Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7 442
  • 2 341
  • 1 129
  • 454
  • 381
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Victoria T wrote a review 23 Jun
10 contributions
It is my first time to Tenerife as it didn't disappoint. There are alot of plus and a few minus to consider. Pros: - The hotel is beautiful - It's so clean - Plenty of staff attentive - your never waiting for anything - The staff staff are perfect - everybody is so welcoming - The private beach is lovely and clean - The onsite Italian restaurant is really nice and the lasagne and the pizzas especially is a must to order - The manager and team in the Oasis bar are so sweet and attentive - The adults only pool is really nice with plenty of sun loungers - Early morning sun lounger grabbers isn't allowed which is nice Cons: - It's expensive to eat and drink - we paid €22 for a mocktail and a non alcoholic beer which I think is pricey - I'm not sure if it was just the month that we visited but there is ALOT of fly's around the complex which can become very problematic whilst trying to eat and sunbath. Not much the venue can do but worth noting, it will be very annoying - Your not able to walk up to any of the restaurants for lunch and dinner. You have to book everything. I would highly recommend downloading their app and booking the restaurants as soon as you arrive to avoid disappointment - Although we didn't go for the all inclusive option - I did hear a number of guests moaning that their were limitations to drinks and ice cream flavours. I would highly recommend this hotel, the cons are minor and in our opinion would defo return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
clairebarkley wrote a review Aug 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom10 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We just spent 10 days here with our four year old grandson. This was our third visit, so we are confirmed fans. The hotel did not disappoint and some staff were especially helpful: Marta, Beatriz, Moises, Juan and Omar, to name a few. The place is Covid safe and more options were open than in December 2020, when we last visited. The Mexican restaurant was fun. The Club Ocean remains a favourite. It is elegant and the food is excellent. The only tweaks to make it perfect fro me would be firstly to ensure there is boiling water to make proper tea at breakfast, not tepid water from a coffee machine. Secondly, several others to whom I spoke, shared my hope that separate serving utensils would be available for vegetarian options. At breakfast this is a problem as for example, the sausages and bacon sit near the tomatoes and other veggies and yet the spoons and tongs are shared. This is off-putting to vegetarians and vegans. Plant- based diets are more popular than ever, and should be accommodated. I also found a chef trying to make my veggie stir fry using the same spoon he had used for chicken. When I asked him not to do so he got quite cross and I ended up with a plate of cabbage full- stop. I did raise this with a manager, but the chef was one person in scores of wonderful staff members. The feature of the hotel which is really stunning is the horticulture. The gardens, flowers and landscaping add enormously to the ambience and relaxation of the place. Of course the pools are gorgeous, but the perfume of flowers is such a sweet thing on holiday. This place is relaxing, luxurious and great for families who want somewhere with excellent standards.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Garden rooms are great, but expect to pay a premium for even a partial sea view
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Alejandro Naranjo Molina, Otros at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Responded 09 Aug 2021
Dear Guest clairebarkley. I would like to begin by thanking you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday. We are glad to know that you and your entire family have enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. We place great importance in providing our guests with great experiences so we truly appreciate your compliments on our facilities. You may rest assured that we will take into consideration your feedback in order to improve in our proposal to the continuous amelioration of our services. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Alejandro Naranjo Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Manxclass1 wrote a review 23 Jun
Onchan, Isle of Man5 contributions
Had precious sentimental jewellery stolen from my room. I’d forgotten to put it in the safe. Hotel said no staff had been in my room going by the room card check. But staff had managed to leave goods and a room service invoice for them that same morning ! Drawers were ransacked etc. manager not interested. Took until the next day for them to talk to me about it. They said they had security check on staff leaving premises. BUT THIS OBVIOUSLY IS NOT WORKING.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Paige W wrote a review 22 Jun
Newtownards7 contributions4 helpful votes
Me and my husband went here this month and it was amazing from start to finish. The warm welcoming as we entered the hotel - with no long waits and having our bags assisted to our room. The room itself was beautiful, always clean they do this daily with toiletries also. Lots of entertainment on daily and at night time there is shows and singers on. The spa was amazing if your looking a treat definitely go and see the girls. The infinity pool was my favourite -largest in Europe it was so chilled out and you can get food and drinks just beside this or you have a buzzer near to ring. We stayed bed and breakfast so we unfortunately didn’t have dinner in the hotel but the breakfast had any food you could think of and plenty of it again this was great! This hotel is about 30 mins from las Américas (this cost €25 each way!)which we went down to for a night and booked some trips which picked us up directly outside our hotel which was fab, for shopping there is a town about ten minutes walk which has lovely boutiques and bars of your wanting something different some night again just such a chilled atmosphere locally. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are just amazing ! And the pool bar team are so much fun and so friendly use done a great job!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Laura Correa Leeman, Otros at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest Paigewatters. Thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday at Tenerife and for the time spent to share your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us, since our guests’ satisfaction is our most important goal. In addition, we are glad to know that you appreciated our rooms and facilities, created for each of our guests to find their made-to-measure experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards, Laura Correa Guest Experience Assistant Manager
Read more
Elena R wrote a review 19 Jun
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The resort is unbelievably beautiful. An oasis of relax and entertainment. Breakfast and dinners (buffet) are for all tastes and very high quality. Same for the restaurants à la carte. The swimming pool is magnificent. All kinds of activities are organized, both during the day (e.g. biking in the pool) and in the evening (music shows). The service is overall just special! It was the first time for us here and we would definitely come back. Super recommended to all kind of travellers, from couples to families. Loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from Laura Correa Leeman, Otros at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guest elerosso, Thank you for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday in Tenerife as well as for sharing your opinion with the travellers of Trip Adivisor. It is heartily a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing and memorable stay. We are very glad to know that our rooms, as well as our facilities have exceeded your expectations since our guests’ satisfaction is our most important objective. In addition, we truly appreciate your kind comments about our gastronomic offerand activities program, as we daily strive and improve in order to provide you with unique culinary experiences. We hope to welcome you soon for your next holiday in Tenerife. Kind regards, Laura Correa Guest Experience Assistant Manager
Read more
Renate A wrote a review 18 Jun
Bryanston, South Africa14 contributions
One of the most incredible resorts I’ve been to. From the hotel rooms, to the food to the everything! The buffet offers an extraordinary array of flavours, taking your tastebuds on a culinary adventure. Definitely one of my best experiences! I highly-highly recommend this hotel. Treat yourself to a Bali Bed at the pool where you can lap up the sun in the comfort of VIP shaded luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Laura Correa Leeman, Otros at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Renate 1987. I would like to begin by thanking you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing that our dedication to the service excellence and to create memorable stay is appreciated. We are delighted to read such positive comments about our pool areas, as well as regarding our gastronomic offer ideated to create unique culinary experiences. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Laura Correa Guest Experience Assistant Manager
Read more
Tasteyreviewer wrote a review 17 Jun
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
Booked a two week holiday at this hotel. Have stayed previously and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel grounds are beautiful, as are the pool facilities. Unfortunately, we have found a number of issues have significantly impacted our enjoyment during our most recent visit. FLIES: Unfortunately during this visit, we have experienced flies constantly landing all over us whilst trying to relax by the pool. We have been to local shops to buy fly killer and fly / insect repellent, however none of these measures worked. We spoke to a number of pool / bar staff about the issue during the day. The staff advised us that they too had reported the issue to the hotels management team but advised that it would be best if guests reported it directly to the hotel management team, as the the hotel management team took little notice of concerns raised by employees. We found this discovery to be truly shocking. On visiting the restaurants at the hotel, the flies have been seen crawling all over the staff and guests whilst trying to enjoy their food & drinks. We have spent the majority of time whilst trying to relax by the pool and whilst eating at the hotel, moving our hands around to constantly try and prevent the flies from landing on us and our meal. As our holiday has progressed, this has become seriously tormenting - there’s just not let up. CORPORATE EVENTS: For over 50% of our 2 week holiday, we have experienced major areas of the hotel closed for ‘Private Events’ / Corporate Events. Unlike the majority of holidaymakers who have booked the hotel to enjoy the advertised relaxing luxury facilities and entertainment, the corporate guests who arrived, have been grossly disrespectful to staff, entertainment staff and other guests. Corporate guests have clearly seen their stay as an escape from the office and an opportunity to consume excessive amounts of alcohol, chant loudly over evening performances, whilst congregating in large crowds and remove arm rests from arm chairs and swing them around in the air. This behaviour not only occurs during evening performances, however it continues into the early hours of the morning, which can be heard whilst trying to sleep through the night. VIOLENT WEDDING GUEST: During one of the evenings when we were fortunate enough to avoid a corporate event at the hotel, the corporate event was instead replaced with a private wedding. This again resulted in areas of the hotel being closed off to other paying holiday makers. During the evening entertainment on this particular evening, a member of the wedding party took a dislike to the entertainment that the rest of the hotel were enjoying and decided to put a stop to it. The wedding guest, who we believe was a close relation to the married couple, in a highly aggressive manner, approached the male singer and then pulled on all of the electric cables in total rage, resulting in the Performace coming to an abrupt end due to a complete loss of sound! Instead of the hotel management dealing with this isolated individual, they instead made the decision to cancel the evening entertainment for all other paying hotel guests. On speaking with the musicians directly, they confirmed that they had been advised by the hotel management team to pack up and leave for the evening. This resulted in a significant amount of guests complaining at the front desk, which prompted the hotel management to restart the entertainment after a long delay but only for a short while. It has become very clear to us that the hotel have focused their efforts on increasing revenue by any means possible, which certainly in our experience has been undertaken to the detriment of holiday makers. We will no longer be returning to this hotel, despite the grounds of the hotel remaining beautiful, as the others issues overshadow the beauty.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Simon Hin75 wrote a review 17 Jun
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Poor Service and rude staff from the very first moment we arrived. The food at the restaurant was awful and cold. Many choices but nothing was really eatable. Even water was not given at the all inclusive package. Expensive property for what is is...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Shocking Experience
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Laura Correa Leeman, Otros at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest simonhin75, We would like to begin by thanking you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday, We sincerely apologize about the aspects you mentioned and rest assured that we will do our best to keep working on all of those, as it was not in our intentions not make you feel special and pampered during your stay with us and you considered that the level of service from our staff was not according to your expectations, as we guarantee you we strive day by day to create unique moments for our guests. You may rest assured that we will take into consideration your feedback in order to improve in our proposal to the continuous amelioration of our services. We truly regret if your stay with us did not meet your expectations, as we always do our best to provide our guests with pleasant experiences and we are sorry that in your case we did not succeed in this proposal. Once again, thank you for letting us know about your experience and we sincerely hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you back at our resort. Best regards, Laura Correa Guest Experience Assistant Team.
Read more
Vincent M wrote a review 16 Jun
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Having visited this hotel on 2 previous occasions we were disappointed to see a drop in standards. Although the cleanliness was first class Our room was tired looking, previously our room would have had bath robes which this time we had to request, When they came they were well worn and washed out. We found the navigating the app to book restaurants problematic however this issue was resolved by a kind member of staff who helped us book what we needed. Food generally was of a high standard however on three occasions they were out of stock with the wine we had chosen and on 2 of those occasions it was our 3rd choice wine we had to accept. We also found the drinks in the hotel were very expensive especially cocktail’s (14 €’s each) and had to send them back on 3 occasions due to what looked like short measures. On the staff side most staff were polite and professional others however seemed to lack knowledge and experience of providing a standard of service. There was also at times a communication gap which led to an embarrassing situation when we were told about a “special” on the starter menu which we took, what they didn’t tell us was that it would cost an additional 30€’s each. For what ever reason we had an infestation of flies which did make a difference to our comfort during our stay. At all times during daytime hours when siting at breakfast, lying at the poolside or at evening mealtime we were being bombarded with flies. All guests were uncomfortable as they were landing on our food and drinks, however at no time did the hotel management acknowledge this and we felt that they were avoiding taken action to improve the situation. Although we have had good times at the hotel we feel that we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Nkor wrote a review 15 Jun
1 contribution
We, a family of four spent 4 nights at the gran Melia. I must say the pictures of this hotel does not do it justice. Its absolutely divine.the level of detail and beauty of the rooms, the facilities, the food and stunning landscape. My husband and I are already planning how we can spend our next holiday there. I never understood why people would go to the same place over and over and not explore other places. I get it now. The food and entertainment was brilliant and but the star of the show were the staff. Special thanks to Lara and Walke who were so so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. And the staff at the mini club.so superb! My kids loved the activitie and really enjoyed themseleves. Thank you all for a lovely time. We'll be back! :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Laura Correa Leeman, Otros at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest Jattoh, Thank you for your preference in selecting at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday and for sharing your detailed review through TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to know that we were able to satisfy you in every aspect of your stay, as our guests’ satisfaction is our most important goal. We are glad to read that our exclusive facilities, our gastronomic variety and our staff’s dedication to a service of excellence, were to your liking, providing you with a memorable holiday. We will certainly pass on your kind words to our colleagues. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora. Kind regards, Laura Correa. Guest Experience Assistant Manager
Read more
US$242 - US$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
gran melia palacio de isora hotel alcala, gran melia guia de isora, palacio de isora gran melia
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeGuia de IsoraAlcala
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Which popular attractions are close to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Nearby attractions include Playa La Jaquita (0.3 km), Playa de Alcala (0.7 km), and Cafeteria La Divina (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tres Raices, El Rincon de la Barriga, and Casa Mon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Gran Melia Palacio de Isora have airport transportation?
Yes, Gran Melia Palacio de Isora offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Gran Melia Palacio de Isora offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.