We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mbotyi River Lodge

Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (21)
Overview
Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
3.5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Mbotyi River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
44
31
22
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
44
31
22
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast the river games room hidden gem dining room beautiful surroundings table tennis staff were very friendly sardine run horse ride tea plantation no problem sardines lovely beach live entertainment south africans early morning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Our first visit to this gem... definitely would be back and would make sure to use all the attractions available. Love the setting. Enjoyed the food and great hospitality. Beautiful surroundings. Lots to see in the area.

Date of stay: January 2017
1  Thank paul2607199
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This was our first time to Mbotyi and as long as your expectations are in line you will have a fabulous, relaxing experience. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the place for you. If you want a chilled resort, with good...More

Date of stay: December 2016
2  Thank andrewrice
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful three nights in this hotel. The grounds are well kept, the pool refreshing and the beach beautiful. We braved the 28km hike to waterfall bluff which was tough but worth it. Unfortunately there was some confusion around the cost, the reception...More

Date of stay: December 2016
1  Thank TravelerNix
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely campsite with clean ablutions. Far from the beach (no seaview). The people at Mbotyi River Lodge were very unhelpful and NOT accomodating towards the campers at all. We were not allowed to use any of the lodge's facilities (not even the use of the...More

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank BiancaBartman
Response from Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River LodgeResponded 26 December 2016

Hi Bianca My apologies that you did not enjoy yourself. The campsite is actually a community based project in total and we assist them only with their bookings as a service to the community for no charge. During season our lodge guests pay prime and...More

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our SA tour and truely enjoyed our time at Mbotyi River Lodge! We were greeted by the owner upon arrival (it is some 24km of dirt road but doable by car) and showed around the premises. Our room was...More

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank BobbyJane021
Response from Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River LodgeResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is truly appreciate and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

View more reviews
About
Description
At Mbotyi River Lodge, the Wild Coast's leading seaside hotel we offer a range of accommodation options for couples, groups, families or corporate and conference bookings. Guests enjoy a comfortable 3 star More hotel experience at this wonderfully remote Wild Coast resort. Our bedrooms all have a private balcony or patio to enjoy the wonderful views whether it is of the sea, the lagoon or valley. All rooms also offer tea and coffee making facilities, a ceiling fan and a safe for your valuables. We have 48 well appointed, en-suite rooms of which 36 are log cabins and 12 in thatched units that blend beautifully into the lush natural environment of Pondoland. 12 Rooms interconnect - perfect for families. We also cater for sporting, adventure and conference groups. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel class
Number of rooms
48
Location
South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Hotel class
Number of rooms
48
Location
South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Photos
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (21)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
1 204 reviews
35.06 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
320 reviews
60.43 km away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
105 reviews
64.45 km away
Port Edward Holiday Resort
37 reviews
66.11 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Delicious Monster
100 reviews
29.17 km away
Beaver Creek Coffee
134 reviews
63.47 km away
Dolphin Pub & Grill
30 reviews
70.84 km away
Casa Toscana
218 reviews
76.14 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Offshore Africa
29 reviews
24.18 km away
Beaver Creek Coffee Farm
199 reviews
63.98 km away
San Lameer Golf Course
15 reviews
80.14 km away
Silaka Nature Reserve
39 reviews
29.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jennie L
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Juan S | Property representative |
Hi Jennie. I personally travel from Ifafa to Mbotyi regularly and have not had any problems on the way. The route that most of our guests have taken is Port Edward, Bizana (Bypass), Magusheni (Yaka Garage), Flagstaff... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room further away from the common areas. The newer log cabins are..."
TamaraOh84
09 Jan 2018
Read review
"Try to stay in one of the front rooms for the best views out over the beach to sea."
keltronNiamey
10 Oct 2017
Read review
"Choose a room with a sea view or lagoon view"
mary66v
24 Feb 2017
Read review
"Request a sea facing unit"
paul2607199
06 Feb 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing