We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mbotyi River Lodge

117 reviews
Save
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (21)
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good35%
  • Average17%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“wild coast”(17 reviews)
“games room”(8 reviews)
“dirt road”(7 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (117)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Mbotyi River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
41
29
20
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
41
29
20
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastgames roomdirt roadriver lodgehidden gembeautiful settingdining roomtable tennishorse riderooms are cleanlocal guideno problemnice breaklovely beachlive entertainmentself cateringsouth africans
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Our first visit to this gem... definitely would be back and would make sure to use all the attractions available. Love the setting. Enjoyed the food and great hospitality. Beautiful surroundings. Lots to see in the area.

1  Thank paul2607199
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This was our first time to Mbotyi and as long as your expectations are in line you will have a fabulous, relaxing experience. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the place for you. If you want a chilled resort, with good...More

1  Thank andrewrice
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful three nights in this hotel. The grounds are well kept, the pool refreshing and the beach beautiful. We braved the 28km hike to waterfall bluff which was tough but worth it. Unfortunately there was some confusion around the cost, the reception...More

Thank TravelerNix
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely campsite with clean ablutions. Far from the beach (no seaview). The people at Mbotyi River Lodge were very unhelpful and NOT accomodating towards the campers at all. We were not allowed to use any of the lodge's facilities (not even the use of the...More

Thank BiancaBartman
Response from Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River LodgeResponded 26 December 2016

Hi Bianca My apologies that you did not enjoy yourself. The campsite is actually a community based project in total and we assist them only with their bookings as a service to the community for no charge. During season our lodge guests pay prime and...More

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our SA tour and truely enjoyed our time at Mbotyi River Lodge! We were greeted by the owner upon arrival (it is some 24km of dirt road but doable by car) and showed around the premises. Our room was...More

Thank BobbyJane021
Response from Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River LodgeResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is truly appreciate and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345620
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room Service
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Room Service
Babysitting
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (21)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jennie L
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Juan S | Property representative |
Hi Jennie. I personally travel from Ifafa to Mbotyi regularly and have not had any problems on the way. The route that most of our guests have taken is Port Edward, Bizana (Bypass), Magusheni (Yaka Garage), Flagstaff... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room further away from the common areas. The newer log cabins are..."
Read review
"Try to stay in one of the front rooms for the best views out over the beach to sea."
Read review
"Choose a room with a sea view or lagoon view"
Read review
"Request a sea facing unit"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing