We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“home base”(74 reviews)
“long street”(39 reviews)
“rooftop bar”(11 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Rooftop Bar
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Rooftop Terrace
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
128
69
22
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
128
69
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome baselong streetrooftop barfree walkingstrand streetown mealscomplimentary breakfastwell equipped kitchenperfect locationstaff was very friendly and helpfulgreen markettrain stationnight lifemother cityenjoyed my stayplace to staylaundry service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitely much better than what I imagined. It was quiet, though outside was a busy street so slightly noisy at night. Satisfactory breakfast, nice roof top, friendly staff! Good location that is near a central bus stop.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cyanshcj
Response from HomeBase_CPT, Social Media Manager at HomeBase Cape Town BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Hello:).. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we had more than met your expectations :D.. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it's not many that find the time to do so anymore.. Please come...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome hostel with a nice staff, lovely rooftop and chill rooms. It was great for me as I was travalling alone and met a lot of nice people in the hostel. Everyone is super friendly and it's easy to make new friends to go and...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank l0ttedev0s
Response from HomeBase_CPT, Social Media Manager at HomeBase Cape Town BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Hi there :D Thank you for staying with HomeBase on your journey, we are glad to hear that you had liked our facilities, and also appreciated your stay.. Please know that you always have a place to stay when you come to Cape Town, and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two, a couple from Brazil travelling South Africa around. Cape Town was the second city that we have visited. In HomeBase hostel we really enyoied our stay due its very good location, clean bathrooms, organized services and good reception by its employees. A...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IagoReis
Response from HomeBase_CPT, Social Media Manager at HomeBase Cape Town BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello :D Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate that you have chosen us to stay with on your journey and also for taking the time to leave us such a nice review.. We hope that when you return you come back 'Home' :)...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

I could not have had a better experience!! There was a malfunction with the AC in our original room so they made arrangements for us to stay in another room of the same type. They were super apologetic and so nice about it, it wasn’t...More

Thank ryanwhatt
Response from HomeBase_CPT, Social Media Manager at HomeBase Cape Town BackpackersResponded 22 March 2018

Hello :D We are glad that we could accommodate you, and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.. You now have a 'Home' In Cape Town, so we'll be seeing you soon, we hope:) Thank you for taking the time...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018

friendly staff, excellent location, great view from the roof, beautiful decoration of corridor, living rooms and other public places! Oh, there's still free internet. Unfortunately, I was there only one dayMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank azhylk160374
Response from HomeBase_CPT, Marketing Manager at HomeBase Cape Town BackpackersResponded 14 March 2018

Hi there, Thank you for staying with HomeBase, we now regard you as part of the family:) We are happy that you had enjoyed our facilities and amenities, and that you took the time to leave us a review.. It is sad that you had...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"I stayed in the mixed dorm, which was perfectly fine. It all depends on your roommates.."
Read review
"We had the Beach Cottage, 3 beds. It suited us perfectly."
Read review
"4 beds Dorm"
Read review
"They go bonkers over water use, so be mindful."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing