Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa

Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa

Double room.
Traveller (1026)
Panorama at the Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
360
Panoramas (13)
Lagoon Beach Hotel
Room & Suite (455)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#126 of 256 hotels in Cape Town
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lagoon Beach Hotel offers unequalled vistas of Table Mountain and Atlantic Ocean. Immersed in an atmosphere of contemporary minimalist design and neutral tones, reflecting the natural surrounding environment. Decor is typical of a stylishly appointed modern city hotel. The hotel's 32 beach frontage deluxe suites offer a breathtakingly unique oceanside experience. Ten minutes from Cape Town's Waterfront, with direct access to the beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Car park
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa

Location

1 Lagoon Gate Drive, 7441 South Africa
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,631 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa is frequently praised for its cleanliness and idyllic beachfront location close to local attractions, with many guests enjoying the picturesque views and peaceful setting. While some visitors find the hotel to offer good value, others feel the experience does not justify the cost. Guests appreciate the friendly service, despite occasional delays, and enjoy the vibe in communal areas. However, reviewers suggest that the rooms, although clean and offering impressive vistas, could benefit from maintenance and quieter surroundings. Amenities like the spa receive positive mentions but may need enhancements.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,631Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 981
  • 922
  • 363
  • 184
  • 181
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GadgetGir1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the room with the full ocean view, it sounds nicer than it is as you can't just sit on the balcony and enjoy the views, it's quite noisy with the people on the beach. It has stunning views but I didn't enjoy the noise. Breakfast was also chaos but it was December and peak time but they should have added more staff. We got our coffee after 15 minutes, the selection of food is not great so the second day we decided to opt for the paid breakfast which is served in a separate area than the buffet breakfast even though our booking included breakfast. This was also a fail as there were guests that were shouting and speaking, you would hope that the waitresses would say something to them. Room is neat, bathroom is a decent size, check in and check out was quick, there is parking available and it's close to the malls. You're basically paying for a view that you can't really enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suzanne wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just left after a 5 night stay. From the minute we arrived our stay has been outstanding from the service at reception, cleanliness of the bedroom and the quality of the food

Parking was easy and very safe ( they ask to see your driving licence when you go in and out).

I am a very difficult person to please when it comes to hotels and this ticked all the boxes. If I had to mention something to improve, it would be the shuttle service as it was nearly always full. Saying that, it was very cheap to get an Uber. They were redecorating the front of the hotel whilst we were there.

I can’t remember her name fully but Theabia? On reception offered outstanding customer service and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was exceptional.

Thank you to all the team at the Lagoon beach hotel. Great job. Management should be proud of the team.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Lee Brett wrote a review Mar 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at this hotel are truly a credit! They are all cheerful, professional and helpful. The food and service is of a very high standard. In these times of COVID, the staff were doing all that they could to keep areas clean, socially distanced and were continuously sanitising their hands.Daily guest temperature checks were performed prior to entering the restaurant or at the hotel entrance. Sanitising stations were also plentiful in high traffic areas.
The aim of my stay was just to relax which was helped in part by the very friendly atmosphere generated by the staff. Well done!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
An unhappy guest wrote a review Dec 2021
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am not one to complain nor defame a hotel on social media however I cannot in good conscience allow others to experience such poor service.

This is going to be a fairly long post as I have lots to mention

Day 1 set the tone for a terrible stay, we arrived after 2 days of traveling to find out that the rooms which were booked for us online were not the rooms which were allocated to us, it took hours for the hotel to find a suitable room for my family, so instead of being able to unpack, relax and unwind after a long journey we were expected to sit around like idiots in the room which was allocated to us, my son tried to turn on the bedside lamp only to discover open electrical cables, this could've been a disaster, the OHS department could have a field day in this establishment.

Once we were eventually given the correct rooms we discovered further issues in the room, both hand showers in the 2 respective bathrooms were not working as well as the air con units throughout the apartment. The carpets are filthy and there was spilt wine "Looked like wine" stains on the balcony which had not been cleaned up.

We have been fighting every single day for swimming towels, there has not been one day where they have had enough towels for my entire family.

Under no circumstances can the food at breakfast be rated as 4*, my wife and I have been fortunate enough to visit many hotels throughout SA and the world and this food is way below par, furthermore, currently we are amidst the 4th wave of COVID 19 and not 1 single door is open during breakfast with people sitting on top of each other, we have actually opted to purchase our own breakfast and eat in our room.

Today, we required an extra towel for our room so we called down to reception as one would generally do in a hotel. 40 minutes later after 3 phone calls down to reception the towel arrived, it was delivered with a very bad attitude.

The bathroom door handle fell off today as well as the toilet flusher.

The manager attempted to make our stay more comfortable by delivering complimentary fruit/wine/spa voucher however I'm sorry to say but these sorts of gestures cant fix the broken hotel.

I shudder to think what else is going to happen before our holiday comes to an end so much so that we are trying to find another hotel for the last few days.

The tourism industry of South Africa needs to re-evaluate this hotel because it should NOT be rated at 4 star.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Book another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon W wrote a review Jan 2020
Yatton, England, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited lagoon beach and spa with friends for 9 days for the Cape Town Cricket Test.
The location is in a fantastic location on the beach with great views of table mountain.
The staff are fantastic and can’t do enough for you.
However the rooms need more attention with our bathroom tap faulty and constant key card issues. Also on one occasion the towels were taken and not replaced.
The cooked breakfast has a lack of choice and on nearly everyday was cold.
These are simple things that could and should be improved.
It didn’t detract from my visit to Cape Town as it’s an amazing place with lots of great things to do.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tumie wrote a review Mar 2022
Pretoria, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It felt like our stay was burdensome. We were two adults with a toddler and an infant booked into the superior suite. When we arrived, the room was dirty. It looked tidy upon arrival but as soon as we settled in, we started noticing how unclean it was. The pedestals in the bedroom had mug stains and some other stains (probably from food from the previous clients).
The kettle/fridge also had dirt marks which a simple handy Andy wipe could have resolved. I called reception and there was no answer and I walked there to go report and was told that they will engage housekeeping. Nothing was done that evening and we slept like that. I sent an email the following morning detailing our grievances which included a basin that clogged up and wouldn’t drain water well, aircons not working in either bedroom and the state of the suite. Later that day multiple people came into our suite to attend to these issues. This was annoying because it means we had to leave our apartment to give them space to do these things. (We were on vacation by the way which means we wanted to relax) not have strange men come into our space in random intervals to do maintenance on things that should have been attended to prior to our arrival.
This basically set the tone for the rest of our stay. The breakfast was good but the food at the restaurant wasn’t that good. We ordered a lamb curry (room service) but couldn’t even go through two spoons because it wasn’t well cooked. Overall It was a disappointing experience and absolutely no value for money at R4k per night. Wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex De Bruyn, Other at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Mar 2022
Dear TumeiTimora Thank you for your review - this most definitely is not our standard nor one we would want any of guests to experience. We have taken this up with the relevant team members of that day and trust it will never be repeated. We have also reiterated communication with the team to ensure we live up to guests' expectations. Unfortunately we don't have the correct contact details, but would love to get in touch with you if you would like to resolve this further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nunuks wrote a review Apr 2021
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a great hotel with staff always willing to assist, perfect location. They can expand their menu a bit from the restaurant to offer a wider variety to clients. Also they can try and have a door on their showers to prevent the water from being all over the floor when one takes a shower
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex De Bruyn, Other at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Apr 2021
Thank you for your great review Nunuks and constructive feedback of Lagoon Beach Hotel - we will pass on your thanks to the team and also look at the points you raised. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wdemps481635 wrote a review Feb 2020
Windhoek, Namibia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Compared to the standard one expects from 4 star hotels, this one is not really one of the best, very average in most aspects . The breakfast selection of fresh fruit can improve, no rooibos tea in the room and on some days no coffee replenished in the room. Rooms are made very late one day only at 1500.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
njackm196506 wrote a review Mar 2020
Centurion, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall experience was good although I was interested to see that even overseas guests who you could see had had a long journey were not able to get into their room until 2 pm. Make sure you book at least 2 hours in advance if you want to make use of the 'free' shuttle service to the V& A Waterfront as there is only one bus per trip and it only takes 13 people. Great buffet breakfast with a wonderful view.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joan_uran wrote a review Jul 2022
Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Being next to the beach was the main draw for this hotel. Also has breath-taking views of the Table Mountain either from your room or at the beach. We stayed here for 5 nights for a conference and the catering was good, lunch was very good but breakfast had very little change each day. Room furnishing could do with some refurbishing. The nearest Pick and Pay is abt 20 min walk away and there is no nearby grocery store too. Another down is that you gotta bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste, no toiletries set supplied except hand soap and shampoo and body lotion. Operates a free shuttle to VA Waterfront and Canal Walk mall at fixed timings both way. Hotel was kind enough to arrange shuttle and day trip - thanks Asheeqa!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring own dental set.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pieter Buitendag, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear Joan-uran, THANK YOU for visiting the Lagoon Beach Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback with us here! We sincerely appreciate your engagement and apologize that we did not meet and exceed all your expectations. I would like to inform you that we are in fact busy with a refurbishment in our bedrooms and we will certainly take your comments about amenities to heart. We sincerely appreciate that you complimented our location and views and we certainly hope we have the privilege of your company again in future! Sincere regards, PIETER BUITENDAG - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ROSLYN KENNY
Johannesburg, South Africa38 contributions
The hotel has two outdoor pools. One outside the the bar area with wonderful view of the ocean/beach as well as Table Mountain. The second is on the roof just outside the spa.
CSM1966 asked a question Sept 2023
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom44 contributions
How is loadshedding managed when it happens within the hotel ?
Answer from Trip_Input_12
Basel, Switzerland262 contributions116 helpful votes
We didn't experience any loadshedding in this hotel - in the back room you can heat a huge generator run at times and I guess this is the backup. This second time I had a room with sea view. Sincerely hope this helps, best regards
Johannesburg, South Africa230 contributions55 helpful votes
We are then in change of season where the weather can be very unpredictable - anywhere from cold spells, to wind to rain to hot weather. Being on the beach it is not sheltered from wind.
Answer from joan_uran
Singapore223 contributions85 helpful votes
Yes, you can book with the front desk, I rem it was about 33000 SAR one way.
Answer from suzanne
London, United Kingdom48 contributions20 helpful votes
From memory it was 6am
Discover54513275907 wrote a tip 06 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watching the sunset from the deck is stunning. "
Read full review
Curious02186574479 wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure you get Timing correct if you Want to visit Robben island"
Read full review
Passport29771838076 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"very unsafe-- avoid"
Read full review
FiF wrote a tip Apr 2024
Marlborough Region, New Zealand261 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a sea facing room"
Read full review
Priya R wrote a tip Apr 2024
Empangeni, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Noticed that the self catering room that we upgraded from had no aircon and no 2-pin plugs"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,306 - R 1,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lagoon beach hotel and apartments, lagoon beach milnerton, lagoon beach hotel apartments, lagoon beach apartments
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
227
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAGOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Victoria & Alfred Waterfront (5.7 km), Shimansky (5.8 km), and Cape Diamonds (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hussar Grill Century City, Reverie Social Table, and Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
All Cape Town HotelsCape Town Hotel DealsHotels near Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire