We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ganora Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Ganora Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Ganora Farm
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ganora truly is the ultimate farm stay. Stunning accommodation, hearty hospitality, proper Karoo farm food and a beautiful environment. We got to bottle feed a couple of lambs while we stayed there, visited the fossil museum and enjoy a early morning walk along the river bed. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Ganora. We enjoyed hosting you and am glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future to experience some more our activities. Kind Karoo regards Hester

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ganora Farm is located just outside of artistically outstanding town Nieu Bethesda. Clean, simple and comfy rooms surrounded with canyon. Farm offers several hiking and mountain biking options. Fossil collection was mind blowing as well as the Bushman cave paintings guided by informative and friendly owners. We arrived in a rainy day; allows us to experience changing colours of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank banu S
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

So good to read how you enjoyed the farm stay. i always feel bad for the guests sake if it rains but we as farmers are so grateful for it after this terrible drought. So I am pleased to read that it did not bother you too much! Kind regards Hester

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful farm just outside of New Bethesda, situated in a verdant green valley. Great spot to enjoy the outdoors, with a large number of hiking trails and mountain biking tracks on the property. Also some nice dogs and cats hanging around. We had a friendly reception and were well looked after during our stay. The room itself was fairly average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Hi Dan Thank you so much for the review. Glad you enjoyed the outdoor activities we offer. I am so sorry to hear that you did not find the fan in the room. Because of the recent rains after the drought we have the moths around. Thank you for mentioning the fly screens. It is on our list to install...

Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This kind of accommodation is generally not my cup of tea. But my daughter who travelled with us wanted to stay in a ‘quirky spot’ - and that’s how we ended up here. And I soon realised that places can grow on you. What does Ganora offer? On a clear, moonless night, like we experienced, a show of brilliant stars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VanRiebeeck
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the detailed review. Glad you enjoyed some of what Ganora offers. I will look into the light situation as you mentioned. As we have quite a few herbs from our garden in the salad, we try to use salt to the minimum. The last few years guests have become very...

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Visited Ganora in January 2017 and would highly recommend it...friendly, accommodating, clean, relaxed with excellent service and the farm itself is and experience on its own...a few good walking and biking trails...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville C
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting Ganora. It was good to see how you could relax once here in the tranquility of the farm. Hope we can offer you the same next time you in need of some "time out" of the city. Kind regards Hester

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

One of our favorite stays, a fantastic setting the rooms are great and the interaction with a Karoo farm is authentic, there are scenic walks and bicycle trails. The fossil museum is a bonus for the visitors and dining is a delight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting Ganora again. Always good to see our old guests again ! Specially to see how the children of the guests develope year and what wonderful people they turn out to be!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

An unexpected delight with fascinating fossils. The fossil tour is a must do if going here, it's only an hour or two but worth every minute. The rooms are lovely and the food good. It's quite a stretch of gravel road, drive carefully as we cut one of our tyres - make sure you have a spare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kuschi555
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the fossils and food!! Sorry about the tire! Hope to see you again sometime in the future when you pass through.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to re energise relax and rejuvenate. The quiet peaceful air broken only by the baying of hungry lambs is soul restoring with a natural labyrinth overlooking an early morning sunrise

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingSnob
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So good to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful time while here away from the city! Enjoy the rest of your holiday and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family again at Ganora.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

The Karoo fossil collection and talk by sheep farmer owner, who is also a respected fossil expert, make this a memorable place to visit. The rooms, meals and personal hospitality, which add thoughtful and relaxed atmosphere, leave us with a feeling of having had the privilege of visiting friends on a Karoo sheep farm. We appreciated much about our short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChanFam2014
Sydney
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Well worth visiting Ganora. Comfortable accommodation and very nice meals (dinner and breakfast). A variety of self guided or guided walks are possible. We did "walk 3" which covered a long loop around the mountain behind the farm. Walking times are realistic and snacks & water are essential. Internet & wifi are available although sometimes quite slow. Credit cards not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CyclistSydney

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nieu-Bethesda hotels
44.4 km away
Bethesda Tower
Bethesda Tower
#3 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
24 reviews
3.9 km away
The Ibis Lounge
The Ibis Lounge
#2 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
24 reviews
3.9 km away
Owlhouse Backpackers
Owlhouse Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Nieu-Bethesda
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GIVE US ONE DAY AND WE GIVE YOU 280 MILLION YEARS! At Ganora you do not only get accommodation but to let you experience our discoveries we like to share with you. Our Accommodation is Three Star graded and "Highly Recommended" by AA. We do various options of accommodation. 1. A self catering cottage that sleeps 6 and has two bathrooms with a small lounge and kitchen as well as a patio overlooking the farm yard. 2. Standard double or twin en-suite bedrooms with tea and coffee facilities. 3. Larger double or twin en-suite bedrooms that can be with King - or single beds. It has a few extras and overlooks the lucern fields that might have sheep grazing in them at the time of your visit. GUIDED DAY TOURS TO: Bushman Rock art site, Anglo Boer War story & engravings, Fossil and artifact museum, Fossil walk, Medicinal plant walk, Sunset drinks. Swimming pool available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ganora Farm

Address: Ganora Guestfarm, Nieu-Bethesda 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Nieu-Bethesda
Price Range: R697 - R1 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganora Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ganora Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ganora Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared to drive about 20 km from the main road but from there it is close to the beautiful town of Nieubethesda .”
 of 5 bubbles LeonV762, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose the newly renovated/modernised units”
 of 5 bubbles etiennevanr, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“book the cottage if you are more people and want to be higher up the hill”
 of 5 bubbles leawaldner, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“choose top cottage with a view”
 of 5 bubbles etiennevanr, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Koi San cottage is an excellent value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles FloraS837, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5