We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Plot 153 Main Road, Malagas 6740 South Africa
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)

About

#2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Malagas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Malagas Hotel is a family friendly country hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Breede River.This is where time slows down to give you the relaxation and peace you need for a restful stay. In summer cool off by the pool or enjoy a refreshing drink on the terrace, in the colder winter evenings warm up by the fire in the Dining room or Moxie's Pub.Our meals included in the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate consists of a Full South African Breakfast and a hearty Table d'Hote Dinner, try our selection of vintage wines to accompany your meal.This tranquil setting within the Lower Breede River Conservancy area attracts a vast diversity of bird life. One of which is the Protected Blue Crane (National Bird of South Africa) which can be spotted on the gravel road winding through the farmlands leading to the hotel.Facilities include: Canoes, Small Motor Boat, Swimming pool, Trampolines, Jungle Gym, Croquet, Volley Ball, Pool Table, Darts, Children's Lounge, Adult Lounge, Restaurant and Bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Billiards
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Darts
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
243Reviews1Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 81
  • 53
  • 16
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen V wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a balcony and lovely view. The constant sight and sound of the birds and the beautiful garden, provided the peaceful atmosphere for which we were longing. The meals were tasty and the portions extremely generous. Charne', our waitron, was outstanding - she created the right balance between attentiveness and an opportunity to enjoy our meal. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful. The amenities are good. It was great to watch the ferry in action.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room. It offers a great viewing experience.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
annieu1232021 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
From entering till leaving was a disappointment - never again. maybe our standards are too high. facilities for children and pool as well as chairs are dangerous due to material fatigue. braai facilities - well i wont feed my dog in that cubicle
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Malagas Breede, General Manager at Malagas Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review & disappointing to hear that your stay with us was not as memorable as most find it. We pride ourselves on being a Family friendly destination, more often than not being complimented on the grounds being "safe" for children & that if children are having a good time then parents are too. it would have been greatly appreciated if you had addressed your issues with us during your stay allowing us to hopefully rectify any issues & in turn contribute to a pleasant stay. All our guests are important to us.
Read more
estienne2021 wrote a review Sep 2021
Upington, South Africa1 contribution
Management is not at all accommodating towards the guests. Everything is an issue and no one is willing to help make your time there enjoyable. The owner is hanging around there but makes the atmosphere in the place cold and makes you feel unwelcome in the hotel. I will never return to the hotel until the place is under new ownership and management.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Malagas Breede, General Manager at Malagas Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Your feedback certainly welcomed allowing room for possible improvement but with staff having to repeatedly ask guests to comply with the Covid protocol gives the impression of the "issues" you mention - we have to try our best to keep our guests and staff safe.
Read more
AnchenMartens wrote a review Sep 2021
eastern cape, South Africa2 contributions
Malagas hotel is a disgrace to the breede river family. Exceptionally rude staff, terrible food, absolutely no respect for their guests and ridiculously overpriced. They steal your money with no intention to give any form of nice experience. They truly go OUT of their way to make it the worst stay if your life. I regret every minute and cent spend there. I am not advising you, but begging you NOT to stay at this hotel. You will regret it too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Crystal H wrote a review Aug 2021
Muizenberg, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
Never had such a rude reception, and got the impression that hospitality training was not an option for the staff. Will not return in spite of the lovely setting. Went on to stay at another 3 star hotel and the difference was fantastic!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Malagas Breede, General Manager at Malagas Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Sadly the constant reminder to adhere to Covid protocal is categorized as unfriendly or rude. No harm meant, just taking precaution. However we do hope that once this is all over you will consider re-visiting to experience the tranquility and home-cooked style meals. Thank you
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictMalagas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malagas Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Malagas Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Malagas Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Malagas Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Malagas Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Malagas Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Malagas Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Malagas Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Malagas Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.