We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$185
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1255)
Room & Suite (323)
Dining (121)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Dunston Hall their hotel of choice when visiting Stoke Holy Cross. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Dunston Hall Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and newspaper. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Travellers looking to enjoy some crab can head to Stoke Mill Contemporary Fine Dining or The Wildebeest. Otherwise, you may want to check out a seafood restaurant such as Stoke Holy Cross Fish N Chips.

At Dunston Hall, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Stoke Holy Cross.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
3987Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 259
  • 1 039
  • 823
  • 503
  • 364
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Thomas P wrote a review Today
1 contribution
I left a golf club on the course. I’ve been trying to speak to the pro shop Afro two days to see if anyones handed it on. Every time the operator puts me through to the pro shop the line goes dead, and the problem is not my phone. I’ve explained this, and the lady operator now doesn’t answer the phone when I call, and I’m left on hold for ages a until I’m forced to hang up. Really poor to be honest
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
WS_K_1997 wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom94 contributions69 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights and paid for one of the deluxe rooms. Some of the features were a little bit “tired” so to speak but the surroundings were impressive and full of periodic features. We ate in the restaurant on both nights. First night we both had the steak which was very enjoyable. We also had the fish and chips which was equally fresh and tasty. The swimming pool and spa needs a little bit of TLC to its features but all round, the stay was pleasant and relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded today
Many thanks WS_K_1997 for taking the time to review your stay at Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us finding your surroundings impressive and our food offering fresh and tasty. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
AHS181139 wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom28 contributions4 helpful votes
Happy with the room and loved the setting but oh dear the food was awful. Dry bread sandwiches at lunchtime and Coronation chicken was mainly mayo and raisins!! Couldn’t actually find any chicken! Our evening meal was very poor - each course had guest meals missing from our group and the driest, most disgusting looking duck leg you’ve ever seen! The meatball starter was cold on a horrible vinegary paste. They were simply awful. Chicken supreme was served as chicken breast,chips and gravy!! Apple crumble was a Mr Kipling look-a-like apple pie and you needed to search hard for the custard! A tiny square of pork was insufficient as was the square of potato served with it. For a 4 Star Hotel this is so unacceptable. The young waiter and waitress had to front this disaster of a meal and that simply isn’t fair!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid the Brasserie
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Michelle C wrote a review 25 Jun
1 contribution
Return visit after a couple or yesrs. Highly recommended, beautiful hotel.... ate 2 nights in the restaurant, really lovely food and service brilliant... shout out to Ruby who was our waitress for our 2nd night. Very attentive, informative and lovely girl !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded yesterday
Thank you michellec08593TD for taking the time to review your stay at Dunston. I was pleased to read you would highly recommend us finding our food lovely and the service from Ruby very attentive. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
Gemma N wrote a review 25 Jun
1 contribution
We stayed here for 2 nights this week (June 2022). Staff in Reception were lovely on arrival. And the grounds and building are both stunning, so we were really looking forward to a few days here. But to be honest, I couldn’t wait to leave when our last morning came around. I’ll start with the food. Horrendous food. I mean HORRENDOUS. It was overpriced, overcooked, poor quality ingredients. We ordered the worst fish finger sandwich you’ve ever seen for lunch and a leak and potato soup that came out like a thick paste with a BURNT piece of white baguette (even though brown soda bread was described on the menu). The thick cut chips were 100% reheated (in a microwave). They were see through!! And rock hard. We were shocked at how awful that £61 lunch was! (Including an overpriced bad quality bottle of wine with only 3 wine options available in the first instance). For dinner we ordered a £30 fillet steak with sides, and a sea bass risotto, which came out in 4 mins (before our wine or water even….that’s a first!). Literally 4 minutes. Clearly the food was pre-made and microwaved. We left most of it and went to bed hungry. The steak was the only thing cooked fresh (I think) as it was cooked to order, and it was ok quality, but everything else on the plate was hideous. Dinner for two, which had no starters or deserts, one side, and one glass of wine each came to £81. I’d happily pay that for good food. But this was canteen food, at its best. Breakfast on both days was vile. Overcooked, oily fried eggs, burnt sausages (a whole tray of them…how dare they burn food and serve it to paying customers?! It’s just not acceptable and so disrespectful to their guests), and undercooked, mostly all fat bacon (if you can’t get bacon, sausage and eggs right in a 4 star U.K. hotel, you have issues). Pastries were horrid. Coffee and tea the cheapest available. Fruit was dry and crusty. We decided to avoid lunch and dinner on the second day and just headed to a nearby supermarket to create a picnic we could eat in our room that night instead. Speaking of the rooms….upon arrival we had no water in the room. Very shocked to see that in a 4 star hotel, even if it was just tap water we would have been happy. No mini bar either although there clearly was one at one point because the empty mini bar cupboard was still (just about) standing proudly! A clean bed and clean bathroom. But loads of dust in, on and around the TV stand, remote control, certain cupboards, windows (which were covered in insects too, inside and out), the tops of the chairs etc. It really felt quite depressing in this room. (Didn’t help that the windows barely opened but the ceiling fan ran for 24 hours straight, no option to turn it off!). The room was set up for single occupancy and one night only, even though there were two of us staying for 2 nights. Only 1 small bottle of shower gel and cream, and 1 set of towels. We had to call reception for this, and again to ask for bathrobes too as we didn’t have them or slippers (even though they were described in the room amenities when booking). Housekeeping very quickly brought 2 robes, which were actually lovely, soft and thick, but no slippers. They also brought us another set of towels. However, when we asked for coffee (as only decaf remained on the tea tray) they brought a bag of decaf again, so we had to call….for the 4th time….to ask for something our room was missing. The tea tray and dish that holds the teas/coffees/sugars were both filthy. Absolutely not acceptable. I felt like I was in an episode of Britains Worst B&B’s (and I’ve actually only ever seen lovely B&B’s with clean rooms and very good breakfasts) rather than a 4 star hotel! We ran out of toilet roll half way through our stay but didn’t want to have to call Reception AGAIN so just used the tissues from the tissue box. But housekeeping should have ENSURED we had enough for our entire stay AND replace our towels, which were wet (and had been used 6 times over the course of 3 days). Reception staff and the waitress at dinner (and breakfast) were lovely, but there were a couple of rude staff, a lady in the bar at night, and a lady called Mel in the morning (who bluntly told us we couldn’t take one of the 20 plus jugs of water as “they’re for the lunch service” which I found bemusing….you’ve pre-made jugs of tap water at 9am for the lunch service? But that we “could have a glass of water but we wouldn’t be able to have ice”. I laughed at this point and said to Mel “so we haven’t had toilet roll for 16 hours, have been using wet towels for 2 days, overpaid for the worst food eaten in around 20 years, and now we can’t even have ice???”. Faulty Towers sprang to mind). She was abrupt and pretty rude. But all of the other staff were friendly. We were checked out automatically before heading to Reception to check out and pay our bill! So Reception had to refund half of our bill as they charged the entire bill to the card we gave on arrival (even though we hadn’t looked at our invoice to double check it all!) and as we’re two friends, we were splitting the bill, so check out took around 30 mins in total. (A wonderful addition to our Faulty Towers theme ride experience!). On top of that, we gave our feedback to the lady there, who was friendly and took notes. She said only some rooms now have mini bars (why, I asked?!? She didn’t know why). She said they used to offer water in the rooms before Covid but not since….again, why I asked (given there were 15 people I’ve never met before sharing the pool and filthy Jacuzzi yesterday….note to Hotel Manager/Owners, using covid as an excuse for rubbish, lazy service to cut corners, save on the electricity bill - as I can only guess is the reason for some of these things - doesn’t wash when the rest of the U.K. has moved on from covid related rules. Put drinking water in all of your rooms you muppets. Using bathroom tap water to pour into your cheap, nasty, frozen coffee granules is very 1990’s). The lady didn’t know why they stopped offering water in the rooms. It didn’t seem to make sense to her either. She was very sorry about the dirt, lack of toilet roll, and our experience with rude Mel. But she wasn’t surprised at all about the terrible food and admitted “it’s an issue we’re having”. I felt the issue was more of something myself and my friend had, which we had the privilege of paying over the odds for too! The pictures of this hotel look incredible and I’m sure at one point, this hotel was potentially living up to a 4 star standard but not anymore. People who have written reviews saying great food are either telling fibs, or really lack an understanding of what “great food” is and how much guests should be paying for it. I would not stay at this hotel again. Which is a real shame because it has the potential to attract lots of returning customers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don’t stay here! But if you do, bring water and you’re own food!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
NH wrote a review 21 Jun
Braintree, United Kingdom1 contribution
Had a fantastic weekend celebrating a family birthday here at Dunston Hall. The staff were so accommodating especially Catrin and Jane whose names I managed to get! its great to have a hotel that allows dogs so the whole family could be together! I didn’t get a chance to play golf but maybe next time as looked like an interesting course! The weather was nice and hot and with a good sized pool was nice to be able to cool off in there in the late afternoon before dinner! I look forwards to returning again! Thank you to everyone at the hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you Odyssey06619846530 for taking the time to review your stay at Dunston. I was delighted to read you had a fantastic weekend finding our pool perfect to cool off in and the staff in particular Catrin and Jane accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
DJ Tinsel Tim wrote a review 20 Jun
6 contributions
+1
As a Performing DJ for many weddings and private events in Dunston Hall, I have to say a personal thank you for such a warm welcome. The staff are always helpful and friendly and go the extra mile. I see this also when they are serving at the functions food and drink, in both small and very large numbers at these events. Outstanding work packed with smiles. All the very best DJ Showman Tinsel Tim of the Mobile Disco Network
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you mobiledisconetwork for taking the time to review your visit to Dunston. I was delighted to read you find the staff always helpful and friendly and willing to go the extra mile and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
Jane Griffin wrote a review 18 Jun
Reading, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Very mixed review... GOOD POINTS Stunning property from the outside. Bar and Garden Lounge were beautiful and incredibly friendly staff. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. BAD POINTS 1. School prom going on and smashed glasses and bottles were scattered around hotel entrance. When we informed the reception, they were very indifferent. Not good when the weather has been so hot and many people are wearing flip flops. 2. We went out for the day and of course shut our bedroom door securely. On return to the hotel, our room door was open for anyone to enter....as were the windows (to our ground floor bedroom). We went straight to the reception who said "are you sure you closed your door when you went out." Of course we had shut the door!!. A very mild apology was offered and we were left feeling unsafe and unsecure for the night ahead, especially following another guest knocking on our door. 3. Room cleaning - well the beds were made, the cups washed and the towels were folded....other than that there were dirty tissues on the floor from the previous occupant and definitely no hoovering had been done. 4. Swimming Pool area - dressing rooms smelt of dirty feet and were unclean. Areas around the entrance from the pool to the dressing were on need of a deep clean and timescale removal. Hygiene levels were poor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RLG324 wrote a review 16 Jun
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom43 contributions41 helpful votes
We stayed here recently and were not at all sure what to expect because we were on our first ever coach tour with Kardan Travel. We needn't have worried! Our room, 040 was accessible, just what I needed after having undergone surgery. It had a walk in shower and a raised loo and two washbasins of differing heights making it wheelchair friendly. A larger heated towel rail would have been useful, though. Finding a portable fan and a fan heater to cover all eventualities was a bonus. We were a little disappointed in the grounds as they are mostly golf course and out of bounds to guests. By far the greatest asset this hotel has is its staff. Every single member we encountered bent over backwards to be of assistance in a cheerful and friendly manner. You can't say that about many hotels!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks RLG324 for taking the time to review your stay at Dunston Hall. I was delighted to read you found my staff wonderful as they all work hard to ensure our guests are looked after. On behalf of everyone at Dunston we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
Debbie C wrote a review 11 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Well I wish i could say how lovely it was to come back sadly this is not the case I rarely complain if at all but on this occasion I feel it needs to be We had a one night stay which was supposed to be a relaxing time as we’ve both been through quite a bit recently and was very much looking forward to it . On arriving We just felt that the hotel didn’t feel the same no atmosphere certainly not in the bar area no conversation from bar staff and waited quite sometime to be served. Also what should of been a nice relaxing evening meal was far from , whilst I understand and have no problem with families with younger children should not be excluded or discriminated but I feel there should be a designated area as our whole meal felt like we were in a crèche or school dinner hall the noise level was awful with noisy children Then our meal came to us which I had ordered the fillet steak £30) I was absolutely appalled and not even sure it was fillet and presentation was non existent. Also never got offered sauces ect By this time I felt quite upset and felt that my evening with my husband had been ruined Management were called to our table and said we don’t have to pay but when I said we had a dinner package included we were basically told no , thank goodness my husband was able to produce the email to prove this Later sitting out on the terrace then trying to enjoy some much needed piece and quiet to then see two rats run out of the bushes that was me done then at that point Don’t think we will be going back such a shame as holds very precious memories of our wedding day
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Debbie, Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I was sorry to read that you had not enjoyed your visit to the hotel. The date you visited was half term school holidays and bank holiday, we cater for all types of guests including families as a result children are likely to be in the hotel. I am sorry that this detracted from your stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in the Brasserie I do agree that this should have been presented better and as per the menu should have been offered a choice of sauces. I will be sure to address this with the team. Kindest regards David
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunston hall de vere hotel norwich, de vere dunston hall norwich, dunston hall norwich, dunston hall hotel, de vere dunston hall hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Dunston Hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwichStoke Holy Cross
NUMBER OF ROOMS
166
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dunston Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Dunston Hall?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Norwich (6.1 km), Clued Up! Escape Rooms (6.6 km), and Cryptic Escape (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dunston Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Dunston Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Dunston Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dunston Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Village Norwich, New Sole Plaice, and Saporita Norwich.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dunston Hall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Dunston Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Stoke Holy Cross.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dunston Hall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dunston Hall?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dunston Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Dunston Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (6.8 km), History Mystery (6.5 km), and Norwich Cathedral (6.9 km).