Castello Guest House

Castello Guest House

Seating area in room
Traveller (6)
Room with entrance.
Room & Suite (3)
Breakfast area
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#8 of 12 guest houses in Vryburg
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Castello Guesthouse welcomes everybody with the beauty of timeless elegance. Castello Guest House offers 12 individually decorated en-suite rooms with single or double facilities, as well as a family room. All of the rooms are equipped with a fridge, air-conditioning, DSTV and tea and coffee-making facilities, with breakfast, lunch and supper provided on request. In addition, we offer conference facilities with projector, screen and TV monitor and also cater for functions, weddings, birthday parties, and year-end functions. Relax next to the pool and have a barbecue with your friends and family or enjoy a refreshing drink at the bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Golf course
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Wine / champagne
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

02 De Kock Street, Vryburg 8601 South Africa
13Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
EduanH wrote a review Feb 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Castello on 21/02/2014, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. At dinner we were served with a "pre-plated" plate of food, with no options at all. We weren't halfway through finishing this when a bowl of ice-cream half filled with chocolate sauce was plonked down on the table. No drinks were offered, I had to ask. It seems as though they couldn't get rid of us quick enough. Breakfast was no better. Our room didn't have any available electrical points, not mentioning 2 x point plugs. We had to unplug the fridge or TV in order to plug in the kettle. The curtains at the door were extremely dirty... Will not stay here again..........
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorinda10810 wrote a review Jan 2015
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there December 2014. Received very good service, Room was clean. Lovely establishment. Everything was modern and clean. The only thing that I can fault at was the Bathroom, with only bath and no shower. I can recommend them to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_ansies2 wrote a review Feb 2019
Meyerton, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
At first I was impressed when they sent me a message enquiring when I would arrive. The room was neat and impressed me. The dinner... well, if you like chicken beans pumpkin and rice with a tomato and union salad... the desert was tasty! The morning breakfast took for ever and I left after a 15 minute wait. When I saw the men handling bread without gloves or hair nets and protective aprons, I decided that even though breakfast and a packed lunch were included and paid for, that it might be prudent to forego both.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Dont include meals in ypur package!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castello Guesth... V, Manager at Castello Guest House
Responded 13 Feb 2019
Goodday Ansie.. We thank you about the first impressions you have mentioned. We do serve a healthy meal that consists of Meat ,Starch , 2 vegetables ,salad and a dessert. If you did not want any veg , you surely could have opted for something else. The Meats and Starches are to choose from and i do not understand why it is mentioned when it was chosen. Upon your breakfast , you were late as you said. Our breakfasts are made from fresh and all our clients wait up to 10 minutes for a warm breakfast and up to 15min and longer for a lunchpack. We do not serve foods that is made the day before. Our kitchen staff is quite adequate in preparation and wash our hands after each prep. We take pride in our service to each of our guests and we would not tarnish our name by being disgusting in our work. We sorry for your inconvenient stay as we have over 60 guests sleeping weekly with us who is quite happy in our service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
99julesm wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg South, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were charming and the premises allude to so,etching charming but alas this was not so.

As I mentioned the staff tried to be helpful but the devil is always in the detail on these things and it just wasn’t there. The gate didn’t work and then there was the room...

My room last received any attention in 1985, it was compiled from left over furniture in some bad nightclub, the aircon had two setting, freezing and off.

The bath looked like no one had cleaned it in three months. I didn’t even consider a bath. No had wiped the counter top at the basin for at least two weeks. I showered in my slops.

I didn’t even want to unpack my bag.

The WiFi shut off at 20h30 at night. So much for trying to work.

Dinner was the worst pasta dish I have ever not really eaten. The green salad was good though. I don’t actually know what dessert/cocktail that arrived was but it has pink sweets on top and looked like yoghurt. I escaped.

The bed is a standard double so thank goodness I was alone - had my 6’4” partner been in attendance it would have been horrid. Squeaky wooden floors. I could hear everything the neighbours were doing.

I did ask for a fridge, so came back to my room and. Tired again for supper from my own stock.

The room had no shampoo etc - thank goodness I normally carry my own.

I don’t know how they got four stars - it is just horrid, dirty and tired. I will never be back again! Urrrgh!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritacronje wrote a review Jul 2014
Mbombela, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bad location-right opposite noisy nightclub. Music and noise continued until 3 am. Neglected premises with depressing gardens. No resemblance between photos on website and reality. Bad oily breakfast. Very bad coffee. Feels unsafe and parking not secure. This questhouse does not deserve even 1 star.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castello Guesth... V, Manager at Castello Guest House
Responded 23 Jul 2014
Dear Guest. We acknowledge your review and would like to clarify this situation. -As to the "bad location-right opposite noisy nightclub" , no nightclub near Castello or even in Vryburg town. -"Neglected premises,depressing gardens" We live in a dry area and our winters has sub-zero temperatures. Most greenery will be brown and dreary. -"Bad oily breakfast and coffee" Our breakfast is a normal english breakfast with eggs and bacon. Poached eggs could have been ordered. We will however , attend to the matter. -"Feels unsafe and parking not secure" Parking is behind secured walls with remote gates and cctv cameras situated through-out the premises for the security and safety for our guests and vehicles. We apologize for your inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thapelo n wrote a review Aug 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been using Castello guest house for a a few years now. A lot has changed over the current year and sadly not for the good

I was moved to three different rooms, and every single one of them ,,the bedding was dirty there was hair in between the sheets, clear dirt stains. I found a thorn in my food. I used to consider the place my home away from home when in Vryburg. I sadly have to say I will not be returning to the guest house any more.

The current management will have to pick up there socks, for me to ever consider returning there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castello Guesth... V, Public Relations Manager at Castello Guest House
Responded 23 Aug 2017
Dear Sebastian. It is with utter dismay to receive this review. It is rather unlikely that one client out of 11 other guest sleeping finds so many mistakes in one day. The spinach was freshly from the ground. It was thoroughly washed. However a thorn or stone may have passed. You can be sure that the persons responsible for the meal and rooms has been dealt with. Our sincerest apologies. Take Care Cindy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johandewet wrote a review Aug 2014
pretoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed there on a few occasions now travelling from botswana back home the staff was very friendly and the place was clean and parking was safe i enjoyed the dinner and a full breakfast and felt at home thanks for a great stay you will see me again in future
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good service, clean and affordable rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

They serve a good breakfast, and also provide cereals and fruit. Enjoyed the fast wifi connection, and DSTV in the room
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dbeerp wrote a review Dec 2018
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for accommodation on very short notice. The guest house did not have any rooms available for 3 Adults, but after giving them a call the retuned my call and informed me that they will add another bed in a 2 sleeper room to accommodate us. Very friend staff, good breakfast and safe car parking! Thanks Guys
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jurie835 wrote a review Oct 2018
Krugersdorp, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visit the establishment during business. Room and bedding was clean . They don't have only a few channels to choose from , TV is to small. Breakfast was acceptable and tasty. A bonus was that they had fresh fruit available after breakfast. When I returned to my room after breakfast my room had already been cleaned . My room was bit smaller than my liking. Will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
_ansies2 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Meyerton, South Africa191 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont include meals in ypur package!"
Read full review
KaloChorio1 wrote a tip Aug 2016
Kalo Chorio, Cyprus87 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with garden view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vryburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 838 - R 856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceVryburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTELLO GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Vryburg, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Castello Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Castello Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Stellaland Park (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castello Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Castello Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Castello Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castello Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Durado Spur Steak Ranch, Orexis Steakhouse, and Nando's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castello Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Castello Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Castello Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Castello Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Vryburg.
Does Castello Guest House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castello Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.