Tenda Tora Lodge

Tenda Tora Lodge

Bairro Mahungo 421 Praia do Bilene, Bilene 1203 Mozambique
Traveller (53)
fully equipped kitchen in each unit
Room & Suite (14)
pvt pool
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 7 lodges in Bilene
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
58-60 Guests in air conditioned bedrooms. DSTV, plunge pool and braai at all units. 13 Fully equipped self catering units (4 x 3 bedroom, 8 x 2 bedroom and 1 x 1 bedroom units) Restaurant & bar, great ocean views, 24 hr security, safe parking in-complex. Up-market, affordable accommodation only 180 km's north of Maputo. 4x4 not required!!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range

Location

Bairro Mahungo 421 Praia do Bilene, Bilene 1203 Mozambique
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Maputo Intl Airport
99.1 km
See all flights
57Reviews11Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 18
  • 8
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Babalwa L wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tenda Tora has excellent service, good communication regarding location, tips and what to do in Bilene

The unit was clean (cleaned daily), had all accesories for self catering stay and braai too. The air conditioner in the rooms was excellent due to heat & mosquito nets in every room too.

The private splash pool was the best as it gets very hot in Bilene even in the morning, perfect for kids to play & cool off. In the evening, its beautiful views over the lagoon & sunset while you braai!

Wonderful service from Joseph, Julius & Las Vegas who even helped with seafood purchase from market & were always available to lend a hand.

If you are looking for peaceful, private escape from the city with beautiful morning & sunset views, walking distance to the lagoon beach, market & shops then Tenda Tora is the place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Beautiful Views, private splash pool & great service!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory Donaldson, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family and hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nonceba Mokwena wrote a review Jan 2020
Centurion, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went there as a family and really had a lovely time. Rory was very helpful and gave us some traveling tips. The staff was also very friendly and very helpful in particular James, Castigo, Julius, Las Vegas and George. The rooms were serviced daily and though our air con gave us problems, it was attended to to make our stay comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place especially if you have kids.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan S wrote a review Apr 2015
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation was very nice. Modern and trendy. Dstv. Aircons. Braai place and small swimming pool.
Staff are helpful and clean up properly. Nice place to bring children. WiFi in the restaurant area. Local market is close by if you need anything.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory D, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 16 Jul 2016
Thank you for the great review. We always welcome and appreciate feedback from our guests and hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tor-Ivar W wrote a review Feb 2015
Oslo, Norway
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Family of 5 from Norway stayed at Tenda Tora for New Years 2014. Location was nice & quiet a bit off the busy downtown Bilene & beach. Perfect for New Years Eve with great view for the fireworks. Restaurant was great and Rory and his staff were really friendly and helpful. We are happy to recommend TT to families with children - and all others!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory D, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 16 Jul 2016
Thank you for your 5 star rating and great review. Hosting and meeting you all was a true honour and the pleasure was ours. Hope we see you on your next African adventure.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nolz wrote a review Oct 2019
South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, before booking the place I checked whether they had wifi and a restaurant on site. Too my surprise, when we got to the Lodge we learnt that the wifi is only available at the reception area and not in the rooms. It was an inconvenience for me as I had to leave the house and go to the reception to make calls. On top of that the data would run out and the Manager would tell us the owner only sent him 1G, and insinuated that we were misusing the data.

Secondly, the website shows a lovely restaurant, which is nonexistent.

The staff members were helpful and responded timeously.

We also realized that the Lodge was very far from the beach, it was a very lengthly walk to get to the beach.

But I would never stay at this Lodge again as WiFi is one of the important things I look for when searching for places to stay in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoryD_TendaTora, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 24 Oct 2019
Hi Nolziii Thank you for your feedback. If you had read our website, you would have seen that we only offer complimentary wifi at the restaurant/reception area. Our restaurant is closed on Wednesdays. The lagoon beach is close, only 1 min drive or 5min walk.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jakes N wrote a review Jun 2019
Pretoria, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have booked this place for our annual holiday. On the website it shows a beautiful restaurant on site and we thought that would be a great added benefit. Great was our surprise to find out that the restaurant was closed. Since we don't have a 4X4 vehicle the only way to get to the beach was by boat which was rather expensive to do every day. The staff were very friendly and the place was clean
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoryD_TendaTora, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 18 Jun 2019
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our prices are seasonal. Low season at R220 - R285pp would be deemed as very reasonable considering each unit has it's own plunge pool, air cons, Dstv bouquet, fully kitted for Self-catering... Peak season attracts higher prices due to demand but that is normal anywhere. Unfortunately our restaurant does close one day a week, normally Wednesdays. All lodges in Bilene are built around the lagoon beach. It's what makes Bilene a popular destination for families.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dreamer640636 wrote a review Apr 2018
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have travelled to many places but Tenda Tora really stands out. There is just such a great feeling about this place. The chalets are very clean and comfortable. Air cons and our own private plunge pool came in very handy. The mosquito nets gave a luxurious feel and gave us peace of mind. Staff were very friendly and cleaned our unit every day, even Sunday which was a bonus. Food at the restaurant was mouthwatering we waited 45 minutes but was worth it while taking in the stunning view. Beach and shops are only a short walk away. We will definitely be back for more.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory D, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 16 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We are delighted to hear that we met or exceeded your expectations. It would be a pleasure to host you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
480burtonm wrote a review Dec 2017
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tenda Tora is the best holiday resort ever. Do yourself a favor and go there it’s with every cent and perfect for the entire family. The area Bilene is just as beautiful and there are a ton of activities and places to see. The food and alcohol is dirt cheap. The owner Rory is absolutely pleasant and the staff only enhances your holiday experience. Thank you Rory for a great time from David and Burton.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory D, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 06 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HopeNairobi wrote a review Nov 2014
Overijse, Belgium
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, my very short stay here was pleasant but we realized that this is more of a family/friends lodge as opposed to a lodge for a business traveler...they don't have rooms but houses so I found myself alone in a three bed-roomed house. Another thing that will definitely not work for a business traveler is the lack of reliable internet connection. The very weak connection is only available at the restaurant or at the manager's house - this will definitely not work for the internet or tech addict.
Other than that, the houses are okay and well maintained and clean...however note that there is no soap, no shower gel, no shower cap etc... in the bathrooms - carry your own!
There is a tiny swimming pool at the entrance of every house which I find to be very dangerous especially for families with small kids - seeing this pool just made me shudder at the thought of staying in that house with my young children - again not so family friendly! I think this place would be good for SOME kinds of families or a group of friends...
Well I could go on and on but this place really had its ups and downs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory D, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 07 Nov 2014
Thank you for the odd review and yes we are a great holiday destination as apposed to a business one and our plunge pools are very popular for all families, couples and groups. You had no small children with you so there was no need to offer you one of our child safety pool barriers. Please be advised that we were merely helping out a neighboring lodge to accommodate you at the last minute and the house allocations were given to us upon your arrival, glad you had your own three bedroom unit even if it was only for the few hours that you spent here. Our WiFi is great for holiday makers as it is free for there convenience and is available at and near the reception and the restaurant. The signal is usually great and by far the most reliable network in the area. We do supply a liquid body soap / shower gel in all the units.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eastridingman wrote a review Sept 2014
Yorkshire
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcoming staff and well appointed accommodation. Bar has excellent views over the lagoon - but pay for your drinks rather than run a tab to avoid confusion. Rory put on a grand wedding reception in the recently built reception area. Can't comment on the restaurant as it was not open during our visit.

Situated 15 mins walk from the markets and beaches, Tenda Tora feels very secure, as did Bilene and the local population. If you travel in from SA it can be a lengthy border crossing but it is all part of the experience!

We had a lovely relaxing stay and were very pleasantly surprised by the welcome every where we explored. Watch out for Las Vegas as he can sort out virtually everything from cooking a Brai to getting fresh fish from the local fishermen. Staff generally were a real asset and worked hard to make us feel comfortable.

I hope to visit again in the future and do some of the activities locally I would have done if I had more time. Thanks Rory.

Craig
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: 4 person chalets had a much bigger living room and spacious feel to the kitchen and dining room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rory D, Owner at Tenda Tora Lodge
Responded 17 Sept 2014
Hi Craig thank you for the great comments and it was an absolute pleasure hosting all of you for the wedding. A few tips for your next visit: It does take a bit long for a large group of overseas visitors to get visas at the border, I suggest getting them at the embassy before hand, this will save you a lot of time and frustration. Some of the further resorts and beaches are 10-15 minutes walk, most of our guests prefer to to take the path to the nearest beach which is only 560m / 5 min walk. We were happy to close the restaurant for a couple of days to help promote the rest of our beautiful town and their restaurants while we were preparing for the Wedding. We prefer not to run tabs but cash or tabs can be a bit challenging for most with very large groups all paying individually. I'm pleased that they did a great job though. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves in Africa, Mozambique, Bilene & Tenda Tora Lodge and hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Stunningchick69
Mzuzu, Malawi66 contributions49 helpful votes
Hi there. No busses or taxis unfortunately. There is a shuttle, but dropping you at the nearest big town, which is about 30 kilometres away.
NeverBeen2Moz asked a question Jan 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa
Hi Do you pay for activities food and drinks in metical?
Answer from Rory D
Bilene, Mozambique36 contributions7 helpful votes
You can pay in Rands and Mets but it is better to have some Mets, especially with the local operators. it cuts out any confusion over change and their own exchange rates.
c b asked a question Nov 2017
Diryah, Saudi Arabia6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi is any availability for 2 rooms 25.12.17to 01.01.18 for 3 adults? ( 7nights) .. thank you
Answer from Rory D
Bilene, Mozambique36 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi Sorry. We cannot help over those dates.
Robinshar asked a question Jan 2017
Ashburn, Virginia142 contributions55 helpful votes
do you need a 4x4 to get to the lodge?
Answer from Rory D
Bilene, Mozambique36 contributions7 helpful votes
4x4 not required to get to the lodge.
nerissa52 asked a question Aug 2015
1 contribution4 helpful votes
How far is the lagoon from the lodge
Answer from Rory D
Bilene, Mozambique36 contributions7 helpful votes
approx 500m. or 5 min walk / 1 min drive
Babalwa L wrote a tip Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful Views, private splash pool & great service!"
Read full review
Mpuma wrote a tip Jan 2017
Murdoch Valley, South Africa18 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chalets in front row have better views"
Read full review
Treffon S wrote a tip Oct 2016
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms are very smart"
Read full review
Ollsen wrote a tip Jul 2016
Maputo, Mozambique51 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suite 17 is ideal for a couple on self catering"
Read full review
Fogbar wrote a tip Jul 2016
Cape Town, South Africa4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Back row of units"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bilene area.
LOCATION
MozambiqueGaza ProvinceBilene
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TENDA TORA LODGE - Reviews (Bilene, Mozambique)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tenda Tora Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Tenda Tora Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Tenda Tora Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Tenda Tora Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tenda Tora Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Complexo Palmeiras, Complexo Aquarius, and Hotel Bilene Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tenda Tora Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire