Klaarstroom Hotel

Klaarstroom Hotel

Main Road, Klaarstroom, Prince Albert Municipality 6932 South Africa
Fantastic food
Traveller (73)
Dining (12)
At the back.
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Klaarstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Main Road, Klaarstroom, Prince Albert Municipality 6932 South Africa
Getting there
George Airport
71.6 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
46Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 12
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KelvinZulu wrote a review Aug 2020
Rivonia, Gauteng, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
No sit down permitted due to lockdown, but they offered a take away menu from which we ordered some sarmies and a hamburger. We sat sunning ourselves on the stoep for a bit waiting for our order and were delighted and overwhelmed with what we got. Homemade bread was used to make the sarmies which meant they were double the size of what we expected. Each slice made up at least two and half times the area of a "normal" slice, so generous and delicious we saved half to take home for the next days breakfast. You step into a time capsule when you cross the threshold, the hotel, the interiors comprising really old furniture takes you back at least a hundred and fifty years. Very hospitable hosts and an inviting ambience awaits you in this little one horse cowboy town lost in time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Enjoy Life wrote a review Jul 2020
Somerset West, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Klaarstroom is so small that if you do not drive slowly through Meiringspoort to appreciate the rock formation and nature you are going to miss this one street town,with hospitality that has no end.
We stop here for a Sunday lunch.
This beautiful historic hotel with the most friendly staff serve us a nice home cooked meal.Chicken pie,roasted lamb,rice, deep fry potatoes with pumpkin poffertjes not to even try to describe the very large portion of pudding.When we left we made a promise this is going to be a regular stop on Sundays.Remember go slow ,because if you blink,you have missed this very small town where time has stand still in the middle of the Karoo
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klea wrote a review Mar 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully and lovingly renovated rooms, great meals (especially the lamb chops with chips freshly cut and made to order), my kids also enjoyed the home baked bread and roosterkoek. Relaxing atmosphere. Love all the antique furniture and the attention to detail. The staff were also very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrissieD wrote a review May 2021
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a trip with some friends and family recently to Klaarstroom Hotel for lunch. We drove all the way from Oudtshoorn and have to say that we would not recommend their restaurant. We ordered some lamb chops and chips and can honestly say that the meat was off and the fries were so overcooked and burnt that it was not eatable. Ordering drinks was also a mission as we had to look for the barman to order drinks every single time and eventually decided to just pay the bill and left. Disappointed to say the least. Chrissied
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ErloKotze wrote a review Apr 2023
Malmesbury, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very enjoyable stay. Friendly staff and very good food
Rooms are well furnished and decorated.
Rooms without an aircon, at least needs a fan .
Otherwise .. VERY Good !!

(Mattress in Room 1 needs to be replaced - it will make the night's rest much better)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Marketing at Klaarstroom Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2023
Dear Erlo. Thanks for your response. We fixed the bed base, it was the base and not the mattress and everyone is loving the new feel. Regards Ilse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Letha Vd Westhuizen wrote a review Feb 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on our way to George, when a huge rain came out of nowhere and decided to sleep over. What a disaster. Water pouring from our room's roof. The next day we requested a refund and the manager called the owner, which she refused. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not a place to overnight in a storm or rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Marketing at Klaarstroom Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2023
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience at our small hotel. As with most of the country, we have experienced unseasonable rain. Although rain is always welcome in the arid Karoo, we are not always prepared for it and only notice leaks when we have the occasional heavy rain, as we did this year. We have used this opportunity to notice and fix any leaks that there might have been and we continually strive to improve where needed. As you enjoyed the rest of our facilities and complimentary breakfast, I do hope that, apart from the leak, you had a satisfactory stay, and we would love to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
burgerwillie wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were treated as family, the staff went that extra mile the facility will be highly recommended with friends and family. Room neat and clean. The food was absolutely excellent . Dining rooms to choose depending on the weather, we could literally move with the sun. The bed linen of good quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Marketing at Klaarstroom Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2023
baie dankie, ons het dit geniet om julle hier te he. Groete. Ilse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather G wrote a review Jan 2024
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 2nd stay with our 2 kids. It is the perfect road trip stopover for us - a comfortable, clean and beautiful room with the bar and restaurant right there for meals and drinks. It is such a relaxing location. The pool was great, there's enough outdoor space for the kids to play and the town is so quiet that a little walk or bike ride feels so safe for all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Marketing at Klaarstroom Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Hallo Heather, thanks for your review. We look forward to meet you again in the near future. All the best, Ilse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StevenJuly2023 wrote a review Jul 2023
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What a cosy stay! I needed an overnight rest on a long journey. It gets COLD during July in these parts, but the fireplace made it so worthwhile. The morning coffee was exceptional - I enjoyed breakfast in front of the kaggel. And the staff, so friendly and helpful. There are real kudos there (I did not come across any), but be careful with driving at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Marketing at Klaarstroom Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2023
thanks for your kind word. Hope to see you again. Regards. Ilse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ashleyradley wrote a review Mar 2024
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A diamond in the bush, wow what a lovely little hotel. We had excellent service, wonderful good SA food and will be back.
The best breakfast I have eaten.
A good place to relax for a day or a weekend, prices are excellent and drinks cheap, recommend to everyone driving past to please pop in.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from arcee147
Oudtshoorn, South Africa18 contributions6 helpful votes
It is 52 km from Prins Albert to Klaarstroom.
Answer from 215deanl
Pretoria, South Africa25 contributions4 helpful votes
Tar road
Letha Vd Westhuizen wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a place to overnight in a storm or rain "
Read full review
Alexander Smith wrote a tip Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 7 was great, cool airconditioning."
Read full review
Elmarie wrote a tip Jun 2018
Pretoria, South Africa20 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are neat"
Read full review
Laura L wrote a tip Jan 2017
Calitzdorp, South Africa40 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"there are only seven rooms and all are en suite"
Read full review
honiball wrote a tip Oct 2016
durbanville106 contributions41 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ceilings had mould"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Klaarstroom area.
PRICE RANGE
R 880 - R 1,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePrince Albert MunicipalityKlaarstroom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KLAARSTROOM HOTEL - Now R 896 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶8̶4̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Klaarstroom Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Klaarstroom Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Klaarstroom Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Klaarstroom Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Klaarstroom Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Klaarstroom Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Klaarstroom.
Are pets allowed at Klaarstroom Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.