We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rafiki Safari Camp

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 campsite in Nkhotakota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set adjacent to the Nkhotakota Wildlife Reserve, Rafiki Safari Camp is the perfect base when exploring the wilderness of Malawi. Rafiki Safari Camp boasts spacious Safari Units consisting of luxury ensuite tents, as well as, full camping facilities and a beautiful Boma to while away the evenings. Close to the famous Lake Malawi, this well-located Safari Camp offers fully equipped self-catering facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Nkhotakota Malawi
Rafiki Safari Camp
Getting there
Lilongwe Intl Airport
117.5 km
See all flights
73Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rhonda123itsme wrote a review Mar 2024
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico365 contributions141 helpful votes
+1
After a long drive we were joyfully welcomed to Rafiki Safari Camp by Sandy. She and her husband, Chris, designed and built the safari camp that is merged within the natural landscape. Their gift of hospitality is reflected in the details; open air showers with views of the foliage, private spaces for relaxing, hot showers, comfortable beds, all set in a peaceful oasis. The dining is 5-star; it is evident that the chefs take pride in creating delicious gourmet meals for the guests. My only regret is that we only had 2 nights there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: A plunge in the pool is just the antidote to the hot afternoons.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 2 weeks ago
Its a great pleasure and just wonderful to have met you all, we hope to see you in the not too distant future. regards the Rafiki Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
smog32 wrote a review Nov 2023
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), United Kingdom90 contributions13 helpful votes
A high standard of accommodation and a very friendly welcome from Sandi & Chris. My wife and I booked one of the lodges for 2 nights dinner B&B and it was just the job. Lodge was excellent and well maintained, Food was good at both dinner (set menu) and (cooked) breakfast. Internet connection good in lodge room, and everything is their own solar power. The lodges border the wildlife reserve so you can walk around their estate - we saw no wildlife to speak of, but I can't blame them for that! If you want a game drive you need to book 2 days' notice. Be warned - there are different levels of accommodation with significantly different prices. We booked direct and so knew the deal, but booking agencies don't make this clear at all and so you need to check their website and maybe contact them direct.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 06 Nov 2023
Thank you so much, it was lovely meeting you both and getting to know you, we hope to see you at Rafiki in the not to distant future. Kind regards from the Rafiki Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Federico wrote a review Oct 2023
Berlin, Germany1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at Rafiki and were overwhelmed by the lovely hospitality of Sandy and Chris! This place is a pure Gem - Both our organized Walking Safari and the Game Drive where absolutely wonderful (and certainly adventurous) and the food and lovely chats made this a few days to remember - What a Gem Rafiki is! Thank you especially to Chris for his help with our flat tyre :D Was greatto have stayed with you, Steph & Fred.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 08 Oct 2023
Thank you Fed and Steph, lovely meeting you, wow we did see a lot of elephants and even got chased. Hopefully see you again at Rafiki. Thank you for all of us at Rafiki.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne M wrote a review Sept 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
After so many weeks of camping Rafiki Safari camp was the luxury break we needed. The camp is on the edge of the Nkhotakota Wildlife Reserve with its own meandering paths to the Bua River. We had a wonderful room with a king size bed, private bathroom and a veranda overlooking the forest on which to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. Sandi and Chris were incredible hosts and have an immense knowledge of the region. We were treated to excellent food with fresh ingredients sourced locally and Sandi's signature homemade bread, should I mention her Death by chocolate pudding! The Camp is close enough to Lake Malawi for exploratory trips and?or a day in the Wildlife Reserve . Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Dont make your stay too short.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 16 Sept 2023
Thank you so much, it was wonderful having you to stay and catch up. From all of us at Rafiki.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geoff and Lyn wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions
We visited Sandi and Chris for 4 nights in the middle of a 6 six week camping trip through Zambia and Malawi .What luxury after all the camping. The cottage was perfect, the meals out of this world ( Sandy is a cook of note) and the game drives into the park in their safari vehicle with Chris at the wheel were great fun. Also great to have a pool to cool of in. The friendliness of all the staff, the efficient running of the camp, the cleanliness, the helpfulness all made for a wonderful stay. Not to mention the peaceful location wedged in a forest in the triangle between the Bua river and the Nkotakota park. Geoff and Lyn Cape Town
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 16 Sept 2023
It was truly wonderful seeing you all at Rafiki. Thank you for your visit and hope to see you soon. From all of us at Rafiki.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DME wrote a review Sept 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
As a party of 10 we booked all the rooms and some of the campsites rooms. Everything was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for Sandi and her team. The food was superb and far superior to anything we had elsewhere on our trip. We murmured with delight at freshly made bread, which was still warm and got excited to taste real butter after 2 weeks of margarine. We really appreciated the fact that Sandi made a birthday cake for one of our party to celebrate his 85th birthday. Safari drive should be viewed as a wildlife experience rather than game drive to avoid disappointment if you don’t see any elephants. Book for 2 nights rather than just one!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 16 Sept 2023
It was wonderful meeting you all, we really had such fun. Hope to see you all soon at Rafiki. Thank you so much from us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jet68648841854 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
We were so spoilt by Chris and Sandi - luxurious tented room with everything you need- a delicious curry that evening - awesome game drive - couldn’t have asked for more - a relaxing bush experience…. Thank you from the bottom of our heart ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Enjoyed the pool - we were the only guests……. It’s really only a plunge pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 03 Sept 2023
It was wonderful seeing you and having you to stay at Rafiki. A big Thank You from all of us at Rafiki. Come and see us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tyron Diedericks wrote a review Jul 2023
Brussels, Belgium16 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived at Rafiki Safari camp with our 4x4 and roof tents. The campsite was amazing and so very quite. For us, this was the rest we needed and we've appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. Since we've arrived we've had nothing but great service from the staff and we lacked for nothing on our campsite. The game drives and walks we performed in Nkhotakota game reserve with them and it was a unique and educational experience, very professional yet also very personal. On our way to the campsite, we've experience mechanical problems with our 4x4, one of the shock absorbers was broken, but we could still drive in spite of it. Chris and Sandy was very helpful in helping us with the repairs. They've tried repairing it themselves, but we soon realize we needed a machinic. Chris recommended a machinic in Nkhotakota, I must say, the machinic was very skilled. He completed the repairs in a few hours and we were happy, since the repairs lasted the rest of your trip, 4 weeks, and I'm pretty sure its still holding. In the process of leaving, we forgot our jack. To make a long story short, Chris and Sandy contacted us and informed us about this. They then made the effort to collect the jack in Nkhotakota, then send it to Lilongwe for us to pick up, since it was on our way. They've been very helpful, friendly and concerned for our wellbeing during this time. We are still very appreciative to them for going the extra mile and for treating us like family. It's not everyday you come across such competent, wonderful and caring people who would do more then just customer service for their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 27 Jul 2023
Thank you Ty & Vero, It was lovely meeting you both and it was a great pleasure assisting you. We look forward to seeing you at Rafiki in the near future. Thank you very much from the Rafiki Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
merylc wrote a review Jun 2023
England18 contributions3 helpful votes
I had such a brilliant time at Rafiki. Sandi and Chris went out of their way to look after me and we had a great laugh. The staff were just lovely and happy to help with anything. The food was delicious and plentiful with personal tastes catered for. The rooms/tents are luxurious with huge beds, a loo with a view and a private veranda if you don't want to go to the boma (main building). There is a lovely sense of peace and tranquillity and being away from the world, although there's wifi access too if needed. Sandi and Chris organised walking or driving safaris into the wildlife park abutting onto their property and helped me with other arrangements and trips I wanted to make. Totally wonderful. Completely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Rafiki is fully solar powered and the drinkable water is from their own bore hole. Insect...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 18 Jun 2023
It was wonderful meeting you and hosting you at Rafiki. We gained a friend and were sad to see you leave. Keep in touch. Thank you again from the Rafiki Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nick wrote a review Jan 2023
Lilongwe, Malawi1 contribution
An amazing place to stay. The food was fantastic, very friendly and helpful staff with great hosts. The accommodation was clean (very comfortable beds). Solar power meant we could avoid the Lilongwe load shedding! We loved our weekend stay and will definitely visit again soon
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandi Webb, Owner at Rafiki Safari Camp
Responded 06 Jan 2023
Thank you, it was lovely hosting you at Rafiki and we look forward to seeing you again. Compliments of the season. Regards the Rafiki Safari Lodge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nkhotakota area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,830 - R 2,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalawiCentral RegionNkhotakota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAFIKI SAFARI CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Nkhotakota, Malawi) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rafiki Safari Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Rafiki Safari Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rafiki Safari Camp?
Top room amenities include a mosquito net, a view of the mountains, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Rafiki Safari Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rafiki Safari Camp?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rafiki Safari Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Rafiki Safari Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Rafiki Safari Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Rafiki Safari Camp?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rafiki Safari Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.