We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels

22 Church Street, Calvinia 8190 South Africa
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)


#2 of 2 in Calvinia
Calvinia Hotel offers comfortable, air-conditioned accommodation in 25 rooms. There is a restaurant & bar on the premises. The hotel can also cater for conferences, weddings, and special events. Each room is air-conditioned, en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a small work table and chair, flat screen TV and a variety of selected DSTV channels to choose from. High-quality linen including towels is provided. Calvinia enjoys almost 80% starlight and the night sky is as much an attraction for city-dwellers and astronomers as the rare flora is for botanists and horticulturists. Imagine seeing 250 flowers per square meter, over hundreds of hectares ... a sight beyond description. Displays usually reach their peak towards the middle of July and draws to a close at the end of September. Free WIFI / DSTV / 24hr Reception / Wheelchair friendly / Braai Areas / Air conditioned / Restaurant / Bar / Secure Parking
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
199Reviews1Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 70
  • 43
  • 23
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Momo wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
Country hotels should close down, I have been to three of them which are Springbok, Calvinia and Upington. The first time I was at Springbok I was with the institution I worked for previously and it was fine no complaints. I went to Upington with my current institution and it was fine no complaints. I went to Calvinia in February 2022 and the room I was booked into had no fridge while my colleagues had fridges and then I had to request it from reception which they brought, then it was the Wi-Fi oh my God I was tired of walking up and down to request everything that is supposed in my room then in the morning the lady- I am not sure if she is the owner or what had an attitude at breakfast the quantity of milk she had poured in a jug was to little to serve cereals for all three of my colleagues and then the omlette they made was very bad. NO more Calvinia country hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled
Di Gordon wrote a review Feb 2022
6 contributions
We initially were booked into a newly varnished large room which we found very dark and were moved to a family unit on the outside back part of the hotel which we really enjoyed. The comfortable bed was spacious with crisp clean linen. The family room also included a second single bedroom and the bathroom offered both shower and bath options. A very friendly cat belonging to the managers daughter spent some time with us which we really enjoyed. The staff were welcoming and courteous, dinner on the patio was enjoyable as was available self service cold breakfast options. We also enjoyed the cooked breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Jagluiperd wrote a review Aug 2021
Pretoria, South Africa116 contributions68 helpful votes
We stayed for 1 night in a family room number 40. It is not what one sees on the internet. The room is on the outside back part of hotel en very dark and depressing. The carpet is so threadbare the floor can be seen. The floor is not level, it has rifts. It is very noisy with people walking, cars parking and a beer garden. The towels are thin and on the last threads. On the positive the people in hotel are friendly and the bedding were clean. The breakfast starts at 7h15 and were ok. You dont have a choice of menu, the lady tells you what she will be making and that is it. We will not stay there again. The room was too depressing and felt like a dark cave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Did not see any good room. Does not look like photos on the internet. Not even close.
See more room tips
Gerard N wrote a review Jun 2021
Saint Julian's, Malta1618 contributions229 helpful votes
We had a pleasant stay over while passing through Calvinia after our safari in the Kgalagadi. Formerly a fairly typical in-town hotel of bygone eras the Calvinia Hotel is being given a new lease on life via being upgraded and modernized. Courteous, friendly Management and staff. The breakfast we enjoyed was wonderful - particularly the omelette. Although we did not eat same we understand that their lamb shanks in the restaurant is a winner. Nice pub/bar area and beer garden. Our room was fairly basic but very clean. Bed comfortable and linen spotless and crisp. That is a recommendation in itself. The hotel continues to be upgraded. We have a huge amount of confidence in Country Hotels under whose umbrella the hotel falls. We will look forward to our return visit and we wish Management and Staff every success with the upgrades and in building a thriving business. Well deserved.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2 Helpful votes
marius870 wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions
We stayed at the Cslvinia Hotel on the 1st of October 2020. It was the most disappointing hotel stay of all our travels. This is a hotel to give a mis. The bath was dirty and my wife had to clean it with Handy Andy we had to go and buy at the local grocer. The shower did not work at all. Just a total disappointment. We'll never stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
Response from Mariolane Nel, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Good day, Mr. Barkhuysen. We’re so sorry to hear that your experience did not meet our standards. We value our guests' feedback and work hard to ensure that similar issues do not occur in the future. Regards, Calvinia Hotel team
Read more
US$51 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
South AfricaNorthern CapeCalvinia
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Calvinia Museum (0.2 km), Calvinia Post Box (0.2 km), and Tankwa Camino (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Die Blou Nartjie Gastehuis en Restaurant , Mile 250 Steakhouse, and Die Ou Lady.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Calvinia.
Does Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.