We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elmwood Heritage Inn

Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (29)
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (16)
Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
121 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
4 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews(497)
Traveller rating
  • 482
  • 18
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Daniel W
Perris, California
20
Reviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
Me and my betrothed spend 2 nights in the Master suite and it was lovely. A huge room with a jacuzzi tub, shower and lovely amenities. The hosts were very kind and generous and I cannot recommend them more. The inn is also only about a 5 minute drive to down town Charlottesville and a 15 minute drive to some fast food and restaurants on University. Its quiet and the views are spectacular. The breakfasts we had (French toast and scrambled eggs with croissant) were delicious. If you are planning a trip to PEI and Charlottesville, I cannot recommend the Elmwood Heritage Inn more
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Daniel W
Peter H
Indianapolis, Indiana
116
Reviewed 06 Oct 2018
It is a beautiful Victorian House with period decoration. The owners were very friendly and served exquisite breakfast comparable with the breakfast served at 6 Stars Resort Hotel in Hawaii or anywhere in the world. We used this B&B as our home base during our three days of tour of the island. It is centrally located and all beautiful sites are within an one day trip. Because we stayed 4 nights, the owners even washed our dirty clothes twice. We had a room on the third floor which ha,s a very comfortable queen bed in the bed room and two single bed in the separate sitting room. Additionally, it has a full kitchen, although we did not cook any meal there. However, the coffee machine, microwave and refrigerator did come in very handy for a relaxing evening after dinner at the nearby restaurant. For those who are interested in Sea Food or Chinese Restaurant, there are several bay front sea food restaurant and a great Chinese Restaurant, Unique Wok, within 5 min of drive. The Chinese Restaurant is exceptionally good with chef and servers recently immigrated from Shanghai, China. The B&B owners were also very helpful in advising us the place to visit. For example, when we indicated the desire to see the Tea Pot Rock at Darnley, she told us to visit during low tide. If you would like to have a relaxing time at PEI, this is the place to stay.
Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Peter H
Response from peiinnkeepers, Owner at Elmwood Heritage Inn
Responded 07 Oct 2018
Thank you for the review, Peter. Hope you have safe travel back home. We really enjoy the talking with you. we look forward to see you next time if you have another plan back to PEI.
Girl123cdn
4513
Reviewed 02 Oct 2018via mobile
Absolutely loved our stay in the Cunard Suite! Super cool old house with lots of little touches. Bed is very comfortable. We were welcomed when we got here. And breakfast is made for you in the morning. I highly recommend this place!
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Girl123cdn
Gzowski
London, Canada
6546
Reviewed 01 Oct 2018
This is an old building that has been updated with modern bathroom fixtures and comfortable beds. The dining room is really quite beautiful and there is antique furniture everywhere. We had a two-room suite on the top floor and enjoyed the opportunity to leave suitcases in the room we didn't sleep in. The only problem with the top floor is that you need to climb winding staircases with your bags. If you have any mobility or strength issues, then I would not recommend the top floor.

The breakfasts are excellent--in the top-3 of all B&B's that we have stayed at. Service is friendly and fast. Parking is no problem and you can walk to downtown Charlottetown in 20 minutes or so. We would not hesitate to return to this place.
Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Gzowski
Alec D
35
Reviewed 20 Sep 2018via mobile
Elmwood is a charming getaway. We spent two nights here as a family of three and were thrilled.

The owners are friendly and approachable and breakfast is delicious. We strongly recommend the Elmwood Heritage Inn.
Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Alec D
Previous
About
Description
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special More time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Minibar
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
8
Price range
US$109 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
8
Price range
US$109 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Photos
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 nearby hotels
Dundee Arms Inn
288 reviews
.77 km away
The Harbour House
851 reviews
.79 km away
The Sonata Inn
394 reviews
.81 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
605 reviews
.85 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 293 nearby restaurants
Beanz Espresso Bar
166 reviews
.93 km away
Sadat's Cuisine
57 reviews
.90 km away
Feast Dinner Theatres
51 reviews
.81 km away
Dundee Arms Inn Restaurant and Pub
180 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 140 nearby attractions
St. Dunstan's Basilica
738 reviews
1.07 km away
Victoria Park
370 reviews
.64 km away
Government House
137 reviews
.67 km away
Beaconsfield Historic House
193 reviews
.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Elmwood Heritage Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't choose the top floor if you have any health problems connected with steep stairs."
Gzowski
01 Oct 2018
Read review
"Library was amazing! I loved staying here."
Kagsies
13 Aug 2018
Read review
"Nice quiet and spacious rooms with a lot of character."
912sharonn
07 Aug 2018
Read review
"Each room is different-- be sure to read pictures and descriptions. Third floor rooms involved walking up..."
Bhyphenlow
23 Jun 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing