The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel

The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel

Traveller (337)
Dining (104)
Room & Suite (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 inn in Crosthwaite
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Old Lake District inn nestled in the hills above Windermere with award winning, locally sourced food, boutique rooms and stunning Lyth Valley views. LOCATION: Situated in the sleepy village of Crosthwaite, The Punch Bowl has plenty of picturesque walks on its doorstep and stunning views down the Lyth Valley. This region has made ‘The Lonely Planet Beautiful World List’ and also happens to be only fifteen minutes’ drive from the tourist hot spots of Bowness and Lake Windermere. ROOMS: Nine individually styled rooms with exposed oak beams, stunning views, super comfy beds, flat screen TVs, roll top baths and separate power showers. Named after former vicars of the Church next door. FOOD: Cream Tea is included on arrival as well as breakfast each morning, with a continental buffet followed by your choice between a full Cumbrian or and any other dish from our menu. For lunch and dinner, we recommend booking. All the menus are seasonally inspired, classic British and French with local, Lake District ingredients, many of which are produced at The Punch Bowl's own farm. Most famous dishes include our Twice Baked Lancashire Cheese Soufflé, Creedy Carver Duck Breast and Lemon Tart with Damson Sorbet. AWARDS: We're proud to have won a multitude of awards from Michelin Pub of Great Britain to five times Cumbria Dining Pub of the Year and The Top 50 Gastro Pub's Front of House Team of The Year to name just a few.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Room features
Housekeeping
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
1,010Review3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 738
  • 164
  • 68
  • 20
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
brad T wrote a review Jul 2022
Nantwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely setting and fantastic views of classic English countryside, although limited garden space the patio areas are very nice and well kept.
Coffee and scones on arrival were very nice, the interior of the Inn is spotless and very tastefully decorated throughout.
The dinner menu was very good with ample choice, wine cost more than average and the bottle we really wanted was sold out so it’s not held in a cellar at £40 I thought this would have been.
Starters were top notch: a salad and soufflé, mains of sea bass and steak were very good but not outstanding, desserts were outstanding with another soufflé being excellent. Dessert wine was pricey but a nice treat.
Restaurant Service was very good, the receptionist was very polite but slightly off hand.
Breakfast was excellent, full English and eggs Benedict cooked perfectly the only improvement would be a cappuccino.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise F wrote a review Aug 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This gem of a restaurant was amazing! The staff were attentive and friendly, we were served in good time and did not have to wait too long for our food. The seating area where we were sat was empty when we arrived but it soon filled up. They stagger their bookings by about 10 minutes allowing people to be served promptly.
This was our 3rd evening in the Lake District, this meal was by far the best we have had so far.
The food was delicious, would definitely recommend the cheese soufflé, sea bream, fish and chips and vanilla creme bruleé.
I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phillip P wrote a review Feb 2023
Mold, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the only room available, "Peak" which is on the North side of the building, right at the side of the surprising busy road. Fortunately traffic was much less through the night, and with the help of earplugs presented no problems. Our window facing east didn't have a light proof curtain or blind, so light pouring in at early hours might be a problem in the summer months. Light sleepers may wish to avoid this otherwise delightful, spacious room though. The bathroom was large with a roll top bath and separate shower cubical. Everything was clean and comfortable with a choice of sheets and blankets for those who dislike duvets.
Downstairs there is a selection of cosy rooms, some with log fires, to dine in or to have a drink from the bar. Three real ales were available, all delicious.
The evening meal service was outstanding, our meals were delicious, freshly cooked and served promptly. Their lemon tart and banana soufflé were both "to die for."
Walkers are offered a selection of routes straight out of the hotel, 2 miles or 10 miles, there are walkers for all fitness levels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Light sleepers might wish to avoid rooms on the North side of the building due to traffic noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
itcwinner26 wrote a review Jun 2020
Chester
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We cancelled a deposit paid booking 6 weeks before we were due to stay. Initially we were promised the deposit back as per the cancellation conditions (Needed to be cancelled with 14 days notice). No refund was received and now they are refusing to respond.
There are plenty of great places to stay in the Lakes where the service is much better than this. As NHS staff who were unable to travel, who gave six weeks notice and who were well within the cancellation conditions we would not recommend staying here. Had the refund been provided as promised it is likely we would have rebooked for a later date and spent hundreds of pounds on a future stay, but now we will never return. Go elsewhere as there are lots of honest hoteliers out there. Support a different business in the Lakes as we will.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Rose, General Manager at The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Sir/Madam, Sincere apologies for not coming back to you sooner - we don't get on to Tripadvisor as often as we should do. You are absolutely entitled to a deposit refund and if you are able to call reception on 015395 68237 with your full name and original booking details, they will be able to process this immediately for you (Anna is in today and Judith tomorrow). We have been trying to get to the bottom of how the reported incident may have occurred and I've discussed your message at length with our receptionist, Judith, who was the only one working during the lockdown period when you previously contacted us. During this period, we were fully committing to refunding all deposits, but having to wait until re-opening to process the payments, i.e. as soon as Judith was back at The Punch Bowl (not working from home) and able to access the payment system. This may therefore explain why the misunderstanding occurred. Please could we just double check though that you are definitely referring to the Punch Bowl Inn in question (we are the one in Crosthwaite)? Thank you for your patience and our apologies for the misunderstanding. Kind regards, Sophie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D E wrote a review Dec 2020
Cheshire, England
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As we are unable to spend Christmas with our family in the Lakes we decided to do a present run and have a night away and how lucky we were to choose the Punch Bowl. We arrived mid afternoon and were welcomed with mulled wine and mince pies in front of a roaring fire. We were then shown to our wonderful room called Whitlock which is one of the best hotel bedrooms we have stayed in. The best was yet to come with dinner again in front of the wood burner. We decided to go for three courses and all were superb and an absolute credit to the pub. To add to our enjoyment the staff were second to none being very polite and friendly and all made to a wonderful evening. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for one of the luxury rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LJM wrote a review Aug 2021
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived for a pre-booked, off peak Sunday lunch. Shown to our table and then ignored for 15 minutes. Had to ask for wine list (prohibitively expensive) and menu (wrong one was brought). A number of staff "waiting on" but we were still waiting. When we asked if we could order we were told that we had to wait (again) for the manager to take our order (why?!). Still waiting. Eventually after more waiting asked to speak to manager about tardy and poor service. Predictably, but unconvincingly, told that they were very busy (they weren't). Waitresses doing their best but fighting a losing battle with no direction from management. We paid a considerable amount of money for an unremarkable meal. Meat was tough and fatty and none of us could penetrate the roast potatoes with our knives. The only positive was the sweets, which were good.
We had a very similar experience of poor, slow service on a previous visit, but decided to give the Punch Bowl a second chance. We are local but will not be returning or recommending this place to anybody we care about - would not want to subject them to a repeat of our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul M wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only booked here last minute and decided to call in for a light lunch.

The pub itself is in an amazing location, off the beaten track with fantastic views and small church next door.

We had the Crab risotto and Butternut squash risotto and both tastes fantastic. I'd definitely recommend a stop here if you are passing by and the combination of the food, drinks available, location and views make this place a must visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
excraftybakers18 wrote a review Jan 2020
Cumbria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited on Sunday and had the best Sunday lunch ever!
We both had roast sirloin of beef which came with delicious roast potatoes, light and crispy Yorkshire pudding, cabbage, carrots and cauliflower cheese. All piping hot, creamed horseradish on the side with the rich gravy served separately.
Couldn’t resist a dessert so we had lemon tart with damson sorbet and pistachio creme brûlée. We both ate every morsel.
Absolutely delicious. Slightly more expensive than a lot of places in the area but totally worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ThePunchBowlInn, General Manager at The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you excraftybakers18 for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back for a repeat visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick Desmond wrote a review Aug 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thursday night 21st August found me searching for the Punch Bowl as it lies somewhat hidden in the Lyth Valley in a wonderful setting next to the church.

The bar restaurant decor is stripped down in a way which accentuates the quality of the food. Service was prompt and attentive and led by Claudio ( I hope I got that right) who had mastered the menu and more importantly his and the team’s welcoming style.

For starters I had a tasty tomato and mozzarella combination with the former grown locally. This was followed by a mains of the most perfectly cooked hake sizzled to perfection on the outside with a beautiful flaky consistency. A side order of the most delicious goose fat chips was the perfect accompaniment.

Pudding was perhaps one of the best lemon tarts I ever tasted set off with a locally sourced damson ice cream and a cafetière of quality coffee.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Punch Bowl.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Rose, General Manager at The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel
Responded 03 Sept 2020
Thank you for taking the time leaving us such a lovely review. I will pass your feedback onto the team, who will really appreciate it, I'm sure. You'd obviously be more than welcome back anytime! In the meantime, if you ever fancy a job, writing menu descriptions, you must let us know as you've certainly made our mouths water with what you've written in your review! Very much enjoyed reading it! :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ColinHB_13 wrote a review Mar 2020
Kendal, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A return visit to an old favourite but we will not rush back. It took them 2 hours to serve a one course meal off peak Sunday afternoon. Long wait for drinks, long wait for order to be taken and overall one and a quarter hours before we saw any food. When it came it was good quality but no apologies for service at the time or when we left. The drinks are over priced for the area but the wine list is daylight robbery. The cheapest bottle was £29 for an average Chilean red. The staff were friendly but this place needs a shake up. Clearly not enough competition.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ken F asked a question Jan 2020
Boston, Massachusetts21 contributions6 helpful votes
What is the food hygiene rating
Answer from Michael N
Silloth, United Kingdom33 contributions20 helpful votes
It was a 5/5 when last inspected 31st October 2019
rubyandviolet asked a question Sept 2019
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom43 contributions48 helpful votes
Wondering how much a taxi would be to bowness from here? Can anyone help? Thank you!!
Answer from ChrisJ
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom543 contributions131 helpful votes
I wouldn't stay without a car, it is a bit isolated. However I would recommend the Black Labrador for an alternative place to eat.
Claireebp asked a question Jul 2017
Portsmouth, United Kingdom110 contributions80 helpful votes
Does this pub allow dogs?
Answer from Roger G
Kendal, United Kingdom40 contributions16 helpful votes
Yes, you can take dogs (on lead) into bar area and dine there (same menu). Dogs not allowed in hotel accommodation however.
Discerning wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Phone to get the best deal - sometimes 3 nights for 2."
Read full review
David H wrote a tip Sept 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom67 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The car park gets understandably busy--arrive early. "
Read full review
Michael B wrote a tip Jul 2023
Lancaster, United Kingdom28 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance - it's a popular spot"
Read full review
Phillip P wrote a tip Feb 2023
Mold, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Light sleepers might wish to avoid rooms on the North side of the building due to traffic noise. "
Read full review
DCJG wrote a tip May 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom85 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid being above the bar and restaurant"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crosthwaite area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the punch bowl inn & restaurant hotel crosthwaite, the punch bowl inn and restaurant
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictCrosthwaite
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PUNCH BOWL INN HOTEL - Reviews (Crosthwaite, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (4.9 km), Lake District National Park Guided Walks (7.6 km), and Stott Park Bobbin Mill (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pedro's Casa, Graze, and Thai Kitchen In Lakeland.
Is The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Crosthwaite.
Are there any historical sites close to The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stott Park Bobbin Mill (7.9 km), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (5.6 km), and Levens Hall (7.4 km).
All Crosthwaite HotelsCrosthwaite Hotel DealsHotels near The Punch Bowl Inn Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire