Fever Tree Guesthouse

Fever Tree Guesthouse

137 Alverstone Road Corner 1 Kangelani Way, Assagay 3610 South Africa
Traveller (18)
Cheetah Room
Room & Suite (25)
Breakfast area
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 B&B in Assagay
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Fever Tree Guesthouse is fully equipped to ensure its guests have no need to leave the comfort of the Guesthouse. Warm hospitality in the heart of Assagay/Alverstone, situated in one of the healthiest climates in the world, this Guesthouse has evolved from a family home into a bush retreat for tourists and business travelers in KwaZulu-Natal.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Darts
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Patio
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Separate living room
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
79Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 15
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
belinda4312 wrote a review Mar 2024
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates5 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights and I was extremely happy with our two self-catering units. The rooms were very tastefully decorated, we had full bouquet on the DSTV and top of the range linen. It was very clean and comfortable. I was impressed indeed!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hollytraveller2022 wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We totally loved this place. We stayed in the Elephant and Lion rooms and they were both beautifully designed, with huge bathrooms, very comfortable seating and all the things we could need. We loved meeting the dogs and cats, and the family environment. The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of pre-ordered options and different fruits, yoghurts and teas. It's in a beautiful area and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peta Elion, Owner at Fever Tree Guesthouse
Responded 06 Dec 2022
We found the review you had left about us on the internet. We were absolutely overwhelmed to see the wonderful things that you had to say about us. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trevord833 wrote a review Jan 2023
Bloemfontein, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The guesthouse is conveniently situated close to where I had to perform work. It's close to amenities and quick access to major routes. I was booked into a Studio room, it was great, beautiful views, quiet, well equipped and they have the means to overcome load shedding. I also had some visitors, dogs and cats, one cat kept me company. I can definitely recommend the Guesthouse.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
425zene wrote a review Oct 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
this accommodation is an absolute disaster. I was going to message your yesterday but i thought it would have been fair cause we checked in at 18:00

The security looks suspect, main gate doesn’t close, security house is filled with black plastic bags, place doesn’t look kept, not clean, things under maintenance.
Reception didn’t have my booking cause they system was down cause of Loadshedding, they don’t have a generator to run the place. The rooms are far from reception with no proper lights on the walkway, John fall cause of the uneven steps and no proper lights. I park far from you room and there is no one to help with luggage.
There in no phone in room, the shower handles aren’t labelled properly both written C Kettle doesn’t work nice have to angle it to get it started. No one told us about breakfast Overall definitely not worth the 4 star on its paper, poor place
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peta Elion, Owner at Fever Tree Guesthouse
Responded 03 Oct 2022
Good Morning 425zene Thank you for your review, firstly you are completely off target on your review, we do not have a Security House, so for the life of me I cannot understand where you get we have a Security house, secondly we have a Generator which we run on each and every loadshedding level. If you had booked under any of the Booking Platforms, no where do we state we have telephones in the rooms. We had absolutely no check-in yesterday as all our rooms were occupied and only checking out today. The check-in we did have is a returning guest. I think you need to double check the name of where you actually stayed or you are most welcome to phone and discuss your issues with the relevant Guesthouse you stayed in, as it certainly was not in Assagay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark8447 wrote a review May 2022
Benoni, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled with a group and were greeted by the owner on arrival. Rooms were incredible and spacious.
We pre arranged dinner for the group and were blown away by the food we received on both evenings.
Guesthouse was spacious and offered plenty of space for the group to socialise and enjoy our time there. Will definitely be back in future
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rochellewilbers wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay at this property. We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are a bot smaller than the pictures show bit very neat. The beds are comfortable and well setup with appliances, tv and aircon.
The bathrooms are nice but the shower was a problem as the water is either scalding hot or ice cold.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nmncwa375831 wrote a review Apr 2021
Heidelberg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very warm and welcoming. Staff is caring and goes the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Made traveling with an infant less of a hassle, baby Cot was provide. Communication was easy, responds almost immediately. Had a great Stay. Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
j0hnshu wrote a review Jul 2023
Hsinchu, Taiwan2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the Elephant room, it's a beautiful, clean, and well furnished suite for a mid to longer term stay! Kitchen is well furnished, bathroom had two sinks with shower plus tub, and a large wardrobe area! Would definitely stay again, hopefully next time for a vacation rather than business.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peta Elion, Owner at Fever Tree Guesthouse
Responded 07 Sept 2023
Reviews like yours highlighting the positive aspects of our stay at our Guesthouse is what keeps us going.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venture63717283193 wrote a review Feb 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was very relaxing and the manager gave us a five star service. I would definitely stay there again especially in the cheetah or lion rooms as they offer ample space and comfort. It was a home away from home
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ruanbrashaw wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely stunning little guest house with ample room for relaxation.

The rooms are stunning all named after iconic South African Animals.

Breakfasts were top
Notch and the ability to braai was awesome.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peta Elion, Owner at Fever Tree Guesthouse
Responded 18 Oct 2023
We found the review you had left about us on the internet. We were absolutely overwhelmed to see the wonderful things that you had to say about us. Thank you Fever Tree Guesthouse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
GennaCS wrote a tip Oct 2022
Pretoria, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Inner courtyard rooms offer views of the gardens and swimming pool, outer courtyard rooms overlook the beautiful valley."
Read full review
Lindo Ntaka wrote a tip Oct 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Inner Courtyard rooms are more spacious, smaller rooms on the outer courtyard, upstairs unit is the best (Elephant)"
Read full review
garthmtb wrote a tip Aug 2020
Durban, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the Cheetah room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Assagay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,234 - R 1,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalAssagay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FEVER TREE GUESTHOUSE - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Assagay, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Fever Tree Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include The Shongweni Farmers & Craft Market (6.6 km), The Valley of a 1000 Hills (3.4 km), and Phezulu Safari Park (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oscars Cafe, Mozambik Hillcrest, and La Verdure Real Food Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Fever Tree Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Assagay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fever Tree Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Fever Tree Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inchanga Railway Station (9.8 km).