We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
40Km from Victoria West on R63 Melton Wold, Victoria West 7071 South Africa
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (71)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#2 of 8 in Victoria West
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Melton Wold is the oldeste guest farm in South Africa - since 1938! It is a working game- and sheepfarm. Photographers and nature lovers can never exhaust the resources of the veld, with 210 different bird species to see. While geologists and paleontologists will see everything from a diamond mine, kimberlitic and fossil remains, including a Bradysaurus fossil dating back to approximately two hundred and fifty million years ago. Accommodation consists of single, double and family rooms and is provided in an enlarged farm house, the main part of which dates back to 1889. Eighteen of the twenty-three rooms are en suite. Each room is equiped with a mounted wallpanel and electric blankets for winter. Some of the rooms have fireplaces. Each room have fans for the summer heat. Come and relax in our ladies bar, The Deer and Pheasant. We have 10 campsites on grass and an ablution block. Each stand has its own tap, electric point and braai.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Babysitting
Children's playground
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Darts
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Separate dining area
Cable / satellite TV
Radio
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Separate living room
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
40Km from Victoria West on R63 Melton Wold, Victoria West 7071 South Africa
See all nearby hotels
89Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 18
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jackmoolman wrote a review 04 May
George, South Africa1 contribution
We were pleasantly surprised by this Karoo venue. Old worldly charm well kept , friendly staff and our room neat and warm with bath enjoyed by my wife. Most definitely worth a second visit. Access control did not work the first time and had to travel back to Victoria West to get a mobile signal to phone the farm , however Ronel resolved the problem with grace!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
CamillaSA2021 wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
We loved our stay at Melton Wold, the place is a gem. It felt as if we time travelled to an era gone by. The meals were absolutely delicious, and we loved being called to dinner by the ringing of chimes. My children were in heaven exploring the long passages of the old hotel and enjoyed playing table tennis in what seemed to be a huge ballroom. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronel Vorster, Owner at Melton Wold Guest House
Responded 08 Oct 2021
Thanks so much for taking time writing the review. All of the best!
Read more
Marnel wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions
+1
This was one amazing experience!! Because of winter and lockdown,we were the only people in this massive hotel. The owners was amazing and very friendly as well as the staff. Even while being the only guests,they went out of their way with supper and breakfast and it was the most delicious food. They even made a fire in the fireplace for us. I will recommend this place to anyone. Thank you Ronel & Willie.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronel Vorster, Owner at Melton Wold Guest House
Responded 29 Jul 2021
Thanks so much for the visit! All of the best!
Read more
Deon B wrote a review Jun 2021
Malmesbury, South Africa34 contributions4 helpful votes
I always wanted to stay over at Melton Wold after reading the long and interesting history of the guest house. During June I was fortunate enough to stay there and it was truly top notch. Very friendly staff and the food was also very good. Linen of a very good quality and rooms are very nice with their own fire place. I you are in this area you must stay over on this farm. It was my first stay but definitely not the last.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronel Vorster, Owner at Melton Wold Guest House
Responded 02 Jul 2021
Thanks so much for the visit! Glad you enjoyed the farm!
Read more
Linda_kruger wrote a review May 2021
Falkirk, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
What an absolute gem. The room was comfortable and warm, the food absolutely delicious and the peace and quiet surrounding the farm was wonderful. We unfortunately only spent one night, but could easily have stayed longer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronel Vorster, Owner at Melton Wold Guest House
Responded 19 May 2021
Thanks so much for your visit!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeVictoria West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melton Wold Guest House
What are some of the property amenities at Melton Wold Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Melton Wold Guest House?
Top room amenities include a view of a nearby landmark, a separate dining room, and a separate living room.
What food & drink options are available at Melton Wold Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Melton Wold Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melton Wold Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Melton Wold Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Melton Wold Guest House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melton Wold Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Melton Wold Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.