We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos

Save
Share
San Jose S/N Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 23400 Mexico
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Lol.travel
Booking.com
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1539)
Pool & Beach (418)
Room & Suite (314)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/06/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Updated 20/06/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 60 in San Jose del Cabo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in San Jose del Cabo? Then look no further than The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of San Jose del Cabo to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a kitchenette, and The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos makes getting online easy as free internet access is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service and a concierge. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge during their visit.

Close to some of San Jose del Cabo's most popular landmarks, such as Plaza Mijares (1.1 mi) and Tanya Talamante Art School (1.1 mi), The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Travellers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to La Lupita Taco & Mezcal, El Toro Guero, or Taqueria Rossy. Otherwise, you may want to check out a steakhouse such as Barrio de Tango, La Vaca Tinta, or Seared.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Flora Farm (1.0 mi), San Jose del Cabo main square (1.1 mi), or San Jose del Cabo Church (1.0 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos as you experience everything San Jose del Cabo has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 0 km
3Attractionswithin 0 km
1841Reviews260Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 787
  • 509
  • 213
  • 125
  • 207
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Augustine H wrote a review 19 Jun
12 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and I recently stayed at Grand Mayan Los Cabos for 2 weeks. While the overall experience was nice, we were a little disappointed that our suite was on Level 1 with garden view. It would have been much nicer on the 3rd floor and upwards. This is a rather small resort compared to the Grand Mayan we stayed at Nuevo and Riviera Maya. The staff as always were superb, friendly and hospitable. This resort lacks entertainment and activities although the Joy Squad Team did offered some such as morning stretching class, cooking class and games. the grounds were kept quite clean and tidy, Food at Casa Calatrava was disappointing. The food at Samba was ok but not great. All in all was a good experience for our first time at the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 199augustineh, Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing service excellence. We are also pleased to learn you liked our facilities and premises. However, we regret that your stay was different from what you had expected, rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction, and this is very useful to us. Sincerely, Vidanta Los Cabos Management.
Read more
Cleonie H wrote a review 06 Jun
San Tan Valley, Arizona2 contributions
The Grand Mayan Vidanta was beautiful and fun. We loved the service crew especially Isela and Blanca who took great care of our rooms. Everyone was extremely gracious and kind to us. We hope to return one day. Thr food was delicious and all the amenities were fun.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Director General at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear. Cleonieh229, We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression of your stay. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the accommodations, the pools, and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this. It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management
Read more
Scott E wrote a review 02 Jun
New York City, New York8 contributions
+1
I came here as the son of timeshare owner from another Vidanta resort and was not very impressed. The exterior of the resort was very nice. We found it odd that you check in on the 5th floor of the resort rather than the main level, the front desk staff was very nice and friendly. Check in went easy and we were brought to our basement level room. Our room was substandard. We had a view of nothing, just large plants and a rusty grate ( See image) and got to see the hotel's workers walking through the plants right in front of our balcony(see pic). We had to call maintenance 3 times to come fix items in the room that did not work or stop working (one of the balcony doors did not lock, the ac did not work and the hairdryer fuse was blown). Our bathroom had marks on the wall behind the toilet that looked like someone had urinated on the wall (see pic). The wifi is terrible on the resort, they must want to try to charge you for the upgrade, but this is 2022 and working wifi is something that should be supplied to guests, it felt like I was on dial up. While we obviously came to enjoy the outdoors, after dinner we do like to watch tv before bed. The TVs were terrible, barely worked and we so low res that it was not even worth using them. I wish I would have known that there was a day club attached to the resort that blasted thumping house and hip hop Fri-Sun from 11am to 6pm. It definitely does not seem to fit the demographics of the guests at the pool. Makes no sense to have this disturb the guests. Our last full day there they decided to close the main pool to fix and retile it. They crammed all the pool chairs to the smaller pool. I wonder who made that decision, in the high season to close the pool. Thankfully it was our last day but I felt bad for people who were still there for a week. I will say the restaurants on resort were very good. Every meal we had was delicious, although we ate breakfast in our room each day. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and engaging. We very much enjoyed San Jose del Cabo, it is beautiful area filled with great restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Scottme75, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options. We are happy that you liked our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear we could not meet all your expectations. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction, and this is very useful to us. Sincerely, Vidanta Los Cabos Management.
Read more
Relax795440 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We arrived Monday night, staying in the newly remodeled Grand Luxxe rooms. We were enjoying our stay until today, Friday, when the "day club", Omni, ramped into full swing. Apparently, they are active Fri-Sun. The noise is so ridiculously loud that it has ruined our lovely relaxing time at the pool & beach. I just did a walk-through of the club, and it was just a dozen or so of 18 yr to early 20's year olds...and outside people, not even Vidanta owners!!! The club was nice looking and could be enjoyable if they turned the music down. It was so loud it actually hurt my ears. We paid a LOT for our Vidanta ownership and I feel that this level of disturbance is very disrespectful to us owners. You should not allow 18-20 something year olds to infringe on our vacation in this way! It's even impossible to enjoy our on-site Mexican restaurant, which is right next to Omni.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Relax795440, Thank you very much for your written review. We are sorry to hear about your experience and sincerely apologize for the disruptions during your stay. Please know that we take your feedback very seriously and are currently working to assess and revise some of our resort operations to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of all our guests during their visit. Your vacation is our top priority and we are constantly striving to improve all of our offerings in order to provide you and your family with a pleasing getaway. All of the Vidanta destinations offer a unique vacationing experience, and we genuinely hope that you’ll visit us again, either at Vidanta Los Cabos or one of our other destinations such as the peaceful jungle haven of Vidanta Riviera Maya or the lush world of Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta. We promise we will always aim to go above and beyond to give you the restful vacation you deserve. Sincerely, Vidanta Los Cabos Management.
Read more
Barbara A wrote a review May 2022
21 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Staying near San Jose is much better than Cabo if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle. An easy walk to San Jose and to restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Director General at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear. Barbara A. Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation with us. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed the facilities. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future! Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management
Read more
John B wrote a review May 2022
Elgin, Illinois20 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I had a great time at Grand Mayan Vidanta during our stay the first week of May for my wife's birthday. The resort is very well laid out and very inviting, although it is much smaller than the other Vidanta properties we have stayed at in the past. We had a special birthday dinner at Il Forno di Gio! This restaurant and it's wonderful staff is a well kept secret that Vidanta needs to share more, as it is off property by the golf course and has excellent Italian Food. The Joy Squad consisting of Rolfi, Karla and Brian made our vacation very memorable as they kept us busy with all the great activities including Pool Aerobics, Pool Zumba ( so much fun seems like the favorite water activity for many ) Morning Stretch Class, Bingo, Loteria, Black Jack, Mixology and Guacamole preparation! Thank You Joy Squad!!! We had great servers including Christian at Samba and Christian at the Pool Bar they were so courteous and even remembered what we liked. The room was very clean and maintained by Rocio during the week. The restaurants were excellent, although some were closed on certain days that we were unaware of and I wish Vidanta would do better to provide this information. The one downside was the main pool was closed when we got there and Vidanta never mentioned this beforehand which was not in the guest's best interest or they would have gotten a 5 Star from us. Last but not least remember the sales department is totally separate of the resort and probably should be avoided which is a shame because Vidanta properties could sell themselves with the quality services and accommodations so just enjoy your vacation and don't fall for certain freebees unless you just like a good challenge:)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Director General at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear, John. We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are certain they will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest. We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you. We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stay memorable! Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management
Read more
Jay L wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
We really enjoyed our stay at The Grand Mayan. We were treated like royalty by the staff. Special mention goes to Miguel Sandoval, the bellboy, who greeted us and answered all our questions. Also, at the pool, Lucino the waiter and Jazier were extremely pleasant and helpful. The ladies at the Que Lindo Cafe were so very nice. Guadalupe took great care of our room. Truly a great place to stay, with easy access to taxis at very affordable rates if you wanted to go into town or to Los Cabos. Will definitely plan a return visit to The Grand Mayan.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Director General at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 09 May 2022
Dear. Jayl438 Thank you very much for providing your comments about your stay. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation. We are certain all the staff mentioned will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest. Comments like yours are an incentive to continue perfecting our performance. We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future. Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management
Read more
Barry M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
My Girlfriend and I were able to get a great deal at the Grand Mayan Vidanta in Cabo for a week. We learned- You get what you pay for. We showed up on a Saturday for our 7 day stay and were told that the main pool would be out of service for our whole stay. Being able to enjoy the main pool at a resort in Cabo seems to be a pretty essential feature of a trip like this. The main pool has a swim up bar which is something that you dream of for a vacation. In addition to the main pool being closed, from Thursday-Sunday the dayclub Omnia is open from 12-7 and the the music is so loud that you can hear it in your room with the windows closed. In addition to this, if you are at the second crappy smaller pool that is still open trying to relax the music drowns out even just a conversation you are trying to have. In addition to all of this, I agreed to speak to someone about the timeshare pitch. I mentioned that we may not be up to it the next morning as we had plans that night. They wanted us to be at the breakfast place downstairs at 830Am. We ended up enjoying our night with our friends out in Cabo San Lucas so we didn't make the sales pitch the next morning. I received 5 phone calls from 830-845. The 5th one snapped me out of my sleep and I answered. When I told the representative that we wouldnt be making it she snapped- "why??" She then proceeded to be very pushy in telling me I had to return the "Benefits card" and pay any extra money I paid that would have been used with the discounts, (which are actually terrible anyways) Speaking of our friends, we were very fortunate to have 4 of them staying next door at the beautiful/classy Cabo Azul. We were able to spend the majority of our time hanging out at that very superior resort with a working pool and a much better room with a much better view. The staff (other than the pushy timeshare salesperson) at Vidanta are amazing. They are all extremely nice people and were very accommodating. That is the extent of the positives of this resort. You can do way better, the pool is closed for all of May, so if you're booked to come save yourself and book anywhere else on this strip of resorts. It's not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 12 May 2022
Dear F9995EQnicks, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to find out that most of our staff was pleasant, as this is what we strive for every day. However, we are sorry to learn that our concept was different from what you expected. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation, unfortunately, in this instance, it would appear that this is not the case. Your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas. Sincerely, Vidanta Los Cabos Management.
Read more
Dan R wrote a review Apr 2022
Phoenix, Arizona12 contributions4 helpful votes
Just so you know... My wife and I are member/owners with Vidanta (Estates). We've stayed a most levels (Grand Mayan, Grand Luxxe, and the Estates) in Nuevo Vallarta, Cancun, Puerto Penasco, and now Los Cabos (San José del Cabo). I read some of the reviews and they can be confusing as some are very high and some are low. I'll try and shed better light. First, The staff (servers, concierge, house keeping, bartenders, etc.) have always been top-notch at all locations we have visited. I want to give special recognition to our housekeepers Rocio and Blanca. They always had our room taken care of! Sofia, Rueban, and Carlos at the Pool Bar were very attentive! Jose, our waiter at Mesquite was humorous and attentive! Lastly, Corina and Victor who work in the check-in lobby were very accommodating and helpful. The Resort & area: The 5th and 6th floors are the best and have great views. Owners that are more invested (different levels of ownership) usually get preference. The lower rooms don't have great views but they're not that bad. Most don't hibernate in their room... They are usually at the pool(s) or restaurants. Our room was on the 6th floor (2BR) and it was very nice (I would argue better than the Grand Mayan rooms in Vallarta. However, Grand Mayan is the highest level here. One other unique and positive thing about this location is that when you venture out of the resort, you have quick access to Ubers, cabs or a mile walk into the center of San José del Cabo (Vallarta you must take a cab just to get out of the property), which was a pleasant surprise for us. Plenty of restaurants and shops to visit. Flora Farms is nearby and you can make reservations for breakfast or lunch. To get to Cabo San Lucas, it's a $20 Uber each way from this resort (40-mins). Food: -Casa Calavera was very good. The margaritas are HUGE! Prices aren't the cheapest but not ridiculous. -Mezquete had great atmosphere and service. Overall the food was very good but my flank steak could have used more seasoning. -Pool Bar: Great wings, pizza and salads! Good food! The Property: Pools: Overall are pretty good (design, lighting, etc.) but they will need to repair some of the very small tiles that have come off. Nothing big, but I did notice it. There are only two dine-in restaurants (listed above) plus the pool bar. Not a big deal though because there are a host of restaurants in the city (Must try Casa de Rodrigo!). Spa & Fitness Center: I didn't use the spa but the fitness center was okay. Very clean but half of the cardio machines (treadmill, elliptical) were out of service. It's small but I never saw more than 6 people at one time. Most of the time there was 1 to 3 others. The Omni Day Club: Lot of negative reviews. My take, is this. It is open 11 - 6 on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. The music is a bit loud if the type of music isn't your taste. If they lowered it a notch, it would make a big difference. It is an adult only area, so if you don't want kids around, that's your place but don't expect to have much conversation due to the music LOL). It didn't bother me much but my wife (who likes to dance) did like the volume. The good news.. Monday - Thursday it's closed (or they are not playing the music). If you're +50 and/or just want peace and quiet (or light music) thought the day, Plan to go off-property Fri-Sun. I hope you find this helpful. The reason for the rating of 4 is that Nuevo Vallarta is unbelievable and this property is probably 1/20 the size, and have all levels of luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Director General at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear, A6254PCdanr. We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are certain they will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest. We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you. We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stay memorable! Sincerely, Vidanta Los Cabos Management.
Read more
Peter W wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The property is beautiful however, they waste no time beating you up with “the meeting “. The steak house while beautiful and well staffed with the nicest wait staff you could find had tough flavorless food that had the texture and taste of a microwave, we were very disappointed, the food here is very expensive and is no where as good as in Nuevo Vallarta. The room while nice had hundreds of little spiders crawling on the kitchen counter, also we had to keep our feet off the ground by the pool so as not to be bitten by the very plentiful little ants. We will say that it is quiet there and there are good places to eat across the street and the little town a short walk away has many great food choices. As much as we love the other Vidanta locations we will not be coming back to this one.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Dear K1049SLpeterw, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy to receive your kind comment about our wait staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. However, we are sorry to hear about the inconveniences experienced while staying with us. This will be addressed in the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have clear communication with our honored guests and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. Feedback from our members and guests is always welcome and encouraged, as it helps our team continue to provide the very best care and support. Sincerely, Vidanta Los Cabos Management.
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grand mayan los cabos hotel san jose del cabo, wyndham san jose del cabo, san jose del cabo wyndham, cabos grand los mayan
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosSan Jose del Cabo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Nearby attractions include OMNIA Dayclub Los Cabos (0.09 km), SHOREbar (0.05 km), and Plaza del Pescador (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spicy tuna, La Forchetta, and Latino 8.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos have airport transportation?
Yes, The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Los Cabos offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.