We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aldea Zama Ixchel, Tulum 77760 Mexico
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (157)
Pool & Beach (26)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/06/04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Copal Tulum Hotel
Updated 21/06/04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#78 of 207 hotels in Tulum
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Copal Tulum Hotel is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, 6,000 m2 wide of jungle, a few meters far from the only natural cenote of the exclusive eco-touristic area of Aldea Zamá. This is the perfect destination to enjoy your holidays in the jungle with the comforts of a luxury accommodation. A / C, free Wi-Fi, Smart TV with access to Netflix. Wide spaces, wild nature, careful design, order and harmony will make a unique experience. Ideal for couples, family or friends. During you stay you will be able to enjoy the benefits of our special agreement with our associated Beach Club, in the best area of the Tulum’s beach. From the lobby we will welcome you to your apartment, walking along rails and integrated walkways in the jungle, we also have elevators for those rooms located on the rooftop. Relax in our jungle-level pool with lounge chairs, semi-olympic swimming lane, area for children and a comfortable indoor bench. In the afternoon you can enjoy the best sunsets in Tulum, in the infinity pool, facing west. In The Healing Spot you can book massages and beauty treatments. We have a fully equipped gym, co-working area with fiber optic Internet.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available


Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Aldea Zama Ixchel, Tulum 77760 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Cancun Airport111 kmSee all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen61 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
146Reviews11Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 10
  • 8
  • 4
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Justine D wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York1 contribution
My stay was the worst from the begining to the end. I stayed 8 nights. On the day of arrival, I mentionned that my sink was clogged but no one came and fixed it during my stay. They take automatically a % for the service at the restaurant but 1/ it is already overpriced for what it is and 2/ the service is bad, it's slow and messy. About the room service: I got sick one day and I ordered a coke via their whatsapp but at 7am the room service wasn't available. I tried at 8am and they said "ok" but but they never came to bring the coke...I reached out again at 10am and they said they "waited for my confirmation to come". The staff doesn't speak english well. If you ask for a bike, you're fine but if it's something a lil bit more complicated, they have to get the manager to translate everything, which can be a problem if you're in a hurry. And the best for the end: One month after my stay, I got charged on my credit card for no reason. I reached out to them FOR ONE ENTIRE MONTH and they basically ignored me / Hung up on me on the phone (I know, this is crazy) until I contacted Booking, the company I booked the hotel from. Very unprofessional, bad hotel, save your money and go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from LG G, Director General at Copal Tulum Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Justine, we are very sorry to hear that you had such an experience with us. In the restaurant we only charge for an extra cost for the room service orders. We don’t even add the tip, as other restaurants in the world do. Our Front Desk and Guest Experience teams speaks fluent English among other different languages. About the charge, as we kindly informed you, the bank process, here in Mexico, is not as agile as in other countries. But as you said you got your refund by Booking. We are really sorry about all this inconveniences and we would like to welcome you again to try to change your perspective.
Read more
EnkyMylove wrote a review Feb 2021
Tulum, Mexico4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
We have fallen in love with this place since the beginning, the kindness of the guys frontdesk, the magical garden and the beautiful sense of peace. They have a special spot on the roof, with infinity pool and an open bar where they play music by night , wow..delicious drinks with authentic mezcal . Thanks Claudia, our super host !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Lucia wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions
We stayed in Copal Tulum right after hurricane Grace and hotel was nice and up and running. Their amenities were excellent and our room with private jacuzzi was amazing. I highly recommend to prepay the breakfast as well as you’ll be little bit further from the city center and also it is delicious with variety to choose from. Service in the restaurant was also great. Drinks in the bar though were not the best and quite expensive - around $12 USD. Highly recommend the hotel itself though.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from LG G, Director General at Copal Tulum Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Lfundova, thank you so much for your words and for beign so aware of the efforts that all the Copal Tulum Hotel Staff did to have our home ready, just after a big hurricane came over us. We hope to see you soon!!
Read more
Yeni Z wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I only put 3 start, Copal Tulum Hotel overall was beautiful, it was a jungle vibe enjoyable. The restaurant was amazing good customer service at the restaurant!, very nice people!. Customer service was good before the hurricane started, even tho nobody had told us about it. The people that told us about the Hurricane was the car service , stated some hotels were evacuating because it was going to be horrible. UMM not one information we got from the hotel, or any guideline on what to do just incase something happen. ZERO info! anyway the day of the hurricane happen i was up since 430am cause im not to going to lie it was scary we were on the top floor!!! at 530 the Ceiling was opening in our room/bathroom it was leaking !!! as soon it was 7am me and my husband went downstairs to tell them and they told us we couldn't be downstairs due to tress and stuff SOMEONE will be right up stairs, we told them our room number. 3 hrs pass nothing i see the front hotel checking any damage and they were checking since 5 am we could see them from our room.. anyways nothing !! we saw people passing they didnt even say are you guys okay any damage nothing ! it was about 3 pm when i believe it was raining hard again!! we got FLOODED literally the room up the 4 floor was flooded the water was coming from upstairs, from the OUTLET. we moved our stuff to the porch. i went downstairs running, i felt like the ladies didnt believe me . anyways LITTERALY almost all the staff pass by and didnt even BOTHER TO SAY are you okay. Until we told tell them to come in and see for them self. Their faces was a shocking face! and we kept telling them to Change us rooms cause we cant be outside all day while the floors was full of water i even took videos. this lady came she had glasses took videos to show to her manager told us ill will come back she disappear 2 hr ,we saw a man, i believe his name was EMILIO he was in charge and we told him and he SOLVED the problem NOT EVEN THE 2 LADIES that was with him bother to ask if we were okay, HE was very nice person and the ONLY person that help US! he kept coming back! that our room was almost ready! we was afraid he wasnt going to come back BUT HE DID, gave us at least something to eat until a room was ready!! we got a room late but we got one!. VERY sweet, i wish we could of have seen him again to tell him thank you. I know it nobody fault due to the hurricane but at least have good customer service to your guest see if they are okay.. the place doesn't even have a background generator which they should! Front people should be more nice especially the kid with the top knot doesn't seem he like to be there ! this place should be secure when it comes to hurricane season! im not a person who write a essay but this was my experience in this hotel if you guys need videos of the room flooded i have them
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: room 126 is beautiful
See more room tips
Response from LG G, Director General at Copal Tulum Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Yeniz, first of all thank you for considering Copal Tulum Hotel a jungle vibe enjoyable spot. And, please, take into consideration our truly apologize for not been up to the task with you during the Hurricane Grace. At this time of the year hurricanes are, unfortunately, very common in Tulum and, every year, no matter how prepared we think we are, the situation usually gets complicated. As for the leaks in your room, on previous occasions, the intensity of the rain or wind did not cause damage, so we did not know that this time the storm was going to affect that much to your apartment. All our teams tried to work together to inform, prepare and raise awareness to all our guests. We did it in different ways: face to face communication to everyone who need it, waterproof posters that where changing every time we had official information, emails and WhatsApp. But maybe we did not reach you as good as you need it. The hours before the hurricane we were completely full, because we had to received many evictions from the beach to prevent any tourist from suffering major damage. The hurricane passed over us at 3:00 am and we where completely out of danger at 7:30 am. During those hours all our guests and the 24 hour on call team where inside the buildings as we cant expose anyone to this tremendous meteorological phenomenon. At 7:30 all the team (around 30 persons) started to work with precarious conditions: no energy, no light, no Internet and no water, among many other things. Believe me if I say that we did all our best, with non stop 18 hours turns, to try to take care of the bigger damages left by Grace providing food, medical and personal assistance and all the maintenance we could handle after Grace was gone. We are so sorry if we where not able to please all your requests. About the background generator that you mention is a project and we have on this year budget and we hope to have it soon. We hope that vaccines bring the recovery of the tourism sector worldwide in order to keep improving our services and provide all our guests and incredible experience no matter if some of the factors are beyond our control. Thank you so much for your comprehension and we hope to have you again soon.
Read more
Daniel O wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
My trip was amazing, I can’t believe how nice everyone is. I love everyone here. The service was top notch . Nothing compares to how they handled everything. Claudia was super amazing and accommodating. She helped us with all our booking and taxis , and was an amazing on cocktail service . Please come visit copal tulum , you won’t regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Copal Tulum Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Copal Tulum Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Batey Mojito & Guarapo Bar (0.9 km), Laguna Kaan Luum (0.9 km), and Curandero Tulum (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copal Tulum Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Copal Tulum Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Copal Tulum Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Copal Tulum Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copal Tulum Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Norita, Curry by Po Thai, and Kokoro Tulum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Copal Tulum Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Copal Tulum Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Copal Tulum Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Copal Tulum Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.