Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only

Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only

Traveller (2805)
Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only - All Inclusive
Pool & Beach (109)
Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only - All Inclusive
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 23 resorts in Playa del Carmen
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Enjoy an incredible experience Adults only in the famous Playa del Carmen in Mexico. Surrounded by beautiful mangroves, this all-inclusive luxury resort is just steps from the most idyllic white-sand beaches. Your room will be your own private oasis, right on the beach and with amenities and services exclusive to The Reserve. Enjoy flavors from around the world in our restaurants and relax in our YHI Spa while enjoying our hydrotherapy circuit. This hotel has been recognized as a Recommended Hotel in the Star Awards 2022 by Forbes Travel Guide. Surrounded by cenotes with crystal clear waters and magical Mayan ruins, Playa del Carmen is the ideal setting for your vacation in Mexico. Let the gentle sea breeze and the sound of the waves lapping the shore accompany your dreams. The Reserve is the most distinguished and elegant service, designed to make your stay truly unique and unforgettable. Choose from a wide range of restaurants and bars, and participate in activities that will bring you closer to the local culture, such as Latin dance classes. Enjoy a space full of rest and vitality in our YHI Spa. And discover Romance by Paradisus, which offers you numerous alternatives to make your "I do" even more memorable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Wonder Week. Up to 30% off

Location

Calle 88 Nte Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77728 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Cancun Airport
47.3 km
See all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
2,330Reviews111Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,914
  • 230
  • 92
  • 47
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Njoy-Travelin wrote a review Jun 2023
Franksville, Wisconsin
+1
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Having visited Paradisus Playa del Carmen for 7 consecutive early part of Decembers and once in February of 2022 you can tell that we are very comfortable with the property. All of our visits have been to the La Perla adult side except for 2020 when due to COVID-19, the resort was consolidated and only utilizing the La Esmeralda side. We again vacationed there this May (2023) from arriving Friday May 19th and departing very early on Saturday May 27th. We opted for a One Bedroom Master Suite as the upgrade was quite reasonably priced.

For the most part we had a very relaxing time.

Prior to our arrival, I sent an email to the Concierge and Clara was able to book two of our dinner reservations in advance of our arrival which relieves stress and makes things so much easier than trying to book them once we’ve arrived.

The check-in process went quickly seeing as our arrival on Friday 5/19 was around 8:00pm partially due to a pit stop at a gas station by our shuttle from the airport for a tire that was leaking air – LOL so we opted to have dinner at the Hadar Buffet that evening which had a good variety and freshly grilled meats and was more than sufficient after an extremely long travel day.

For those that have never visited the resort, the area surrounding the outskirts of the resort is defiantly questionable, but once on the property, that does not even enter your mind. Also, at no time have we felt unsafe at Paradisus. The resort is well maintained and clean. We genuinely feel unbelievably comfortable with the service and familiarity that we receive at Paradisus.

Our days consist of following breakfast at the buffet, we hit the Pool Bar for a shot of tequila to start our day. Basically we spend a good portion of the day at the Pool Bar taking in the poolside entertainment and meeting and conversing with other resort guest. Around 3:00pm or so, my girlfriend would retire to our Bali Bed located poolside and occasionally I would join her. We are also very respectful of the use of the Bali Beds so we made sure to let someone at the pool desk know when we are done utilizing it for the day as we do not want to abuse that privilege.

The pool area offered daily Water Aerobics at high noon followed by some type of entertainment. Saturday there was a DJ which played music that was accompanied by: first a violinist moving around poolside followed by a saxophonist which we found to be interesting. The remainder of the afternoon was the DJ.

Sunday there were three guys who called themselves The Beach Boys who accompanied the DJ music singing primarily Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons songs and not a single Beach Boys tune. – LOL Again followed by DJ music for the rest of the afternoon.

The beach is a little bit of a walk from the pools and what I would rate as “sufficient” although nothing spectacular or special. This is not an issue for us as we prefer the pool area and atmosphere. There is a bar located near the beach as well as seating accommodations. We are totally content with utilizing the pool area.

Shout outs go out to Staff Members that we have established relationships with as our “Friends” during previous visits. –

- Rafael (Pool Desk La Esmeralda side) who gives a heads up to whoever is working the Pool Desk on the La Perla side to let them know that we are there. We were also greatly touched by the item that he gifted to us and we will certainly cherish it and display it in a place of prominence in our home.

- Salvador (Pool Desk La Esmeralda side)

- Christopher (Pool Desk Nikte area) who my girlfriend keeps in touch with via Facebook. Thank you for the candy.

- Sergio (Bartender Pool Bar La Esmeralda side) a huge thank you for bringing us our preferred liquor to the La Perla Pool Bar. You are “My Hero”. – LOL

- Luis (Pool Desk La Perla side) who did an outstanding job of taking care of and pampering us with our Bali Bed and towels showing how dedicated he is to providing excellent guest service which we made sure to be very respectful of that by making sure to let someone at the pool desk know when we were done using the Bali Bed for the day.

- Angelo (Beach Activities) we miss the daily “High Noon” Water Aerobics that he previously oversaw with the playing of “Fireball” by Pitbull and “Shaky Shaky” by Daddy Yankee. – LOL I also made sure to wear the Paradisus hat that he gifted to me back in December. It’s now part of my Paradisus attire.

- Oscar (Sunset Grill Waiter)

- Eliseo (Bartender Upper Pool Bar La Perla)

- Luis (The Reserve Waiter) who had served as our waiter at our Bali Bed back in December. We wanted to tip him back in December but he must have been off on our final day which we felt bad about so we made sure to find him this trip in order to make good on tipping him.

- Yolanda (Hadar Breakfast Grill)

- Housekeeping although we really do keep our room rather tidy and organized to begin with, they did a very good job maintaining our room.
I make it a point to tip the staff as they do an outstanding job of catering to us during our stay which is greatly appreciated.

We ate at Capella’s on Saturday. The food was tasty but I think that their offering of “Traditional” Italian items was limited. In the past they offered lasagna which I’ve ordered and very much enjoyed. I’m not sure if when the restaurant changed their name from Vento, they changed the menu.

Sunday for dinner we partook in Bana Teppanyaki which is a Hibachi prepared meal. Per usual it was very good with an abundance of food being provided that we can never eat all of.

Monday’s dinner at Blue Agave Taqueria (Formerly The Market). This is the first time that we’ve experienced this restaurant and although it’s basically only tacos, it was enjoyable and I would recommend it.

Tuesday we ate dinner at the Naos Buffet. Neither of us cared for the food as it seemed as though they didn’t have a very good selection. Also we felt that the quality of the food was not up to par. It also seemed that a lot of the offerings were geared to kids.

Wednesday we opted for Auquamarina which we’ve eaten at once on a prior trip but weren’t really impressed with but we decided to give another try. Mind you that our past experience the offerings were appetizers, and entrees delivered to your table. It has changed to buffet style and I’m possibly even less impressed with it. The selection of normal seafood fare doesn’t seem to be there. I would prefer what the restaurant was in its previous iteration as The Grill.
Thursday was Fuego night. The steak which I had was deliciously tender.

Friday we did the Hadar Buffet again but due to extenuating circumstances, the experience was far below what it was the previous Friday. The selection didn’t seem as expansive and the food in the trays didn’t look as appealing as it seemed that it had been there for a while.

We truly miss La Palapa for dinner which was our favorite restaurant but it is now only available for breakfast and lunch to guests of The Reserve.

I seldomly have had cons to mention from our visits. I hope that I’m not overreacting but this trip had a significant number of few things that bothered me. When we did the Bana Teppanyaki experience back in December, we paid an additional $56.61 US to have a lobster to share added. When we did the Bana Teppanyaki this trip, I asked if the lobster option was still available and the answer was yes. To my fault, I simply said that we’d like to have one each. After the meal I needed to have the lobsters charged to the room. I didn’t look at the receipt until I got back to the room and to my surprise, I was charged $218.57 US for the two lobsters. I was basically floored by the price increase of double in less than a period of six months. I take the blame for not asking the price prior to agreeing to ordering the lobster, but I still feel taken advantage of.

On Monday when we ate at the Blue Agave Taqueria, there were off property merchants set up in the hallway area. All of the vendors were trying to entice us into coming to their booths which made me feel extremely uncomfortable. It made me wonder why on earth the resort felt that this was a good idea.

ADJ and tipped him $5 saying “In respect to Tina Turner, could you please play some of her songs”. The entire afternoon passed without hearing a single Tina Turner song after he accepted the $5. I felt like I had “MARK” stamped on my forehead.

Later in the afternoon on Tuesday, Alfonso from Guest Services came by our Bali Bed asking if everything was ok with our stay to which we explained the situation of the $218 lobsters at Bana Teppanyaki which we felt taken advantage of. He seemed genuinely surprised and indicated that he wasn’t sure but he thought that the price should have been more in the neighborhood of $50 per tail. He asked for our room number having written it down on his tablet and said that he would check into it for us. I asked when he would be in the La Pela pool area again he said that he would be there the following afternoon. Wednesday came and went without an Alfonso sighting. We didn’t see Alfonso for the remainder of the trip which gave me the feeling that he was being disingenuous.

On Friday (our last full day), we became casualties of a labor dispute. Friday morning when we went for breakfast at Hadar at around 10:00am we found it to be closed. We then ventured over to Naos which upon entering was deafening with the amount of people in the restaurant not to mention that they allow children in that restaurant where Hadar was not. The woman seating us asked if the table that she was seating us at was ok or if we’d like to be seated across the hall at Blue Agave. I felt that the noise was unbearable so we asked to be seated across the hall. The downside with that is it is open air and it was a bit humid. I asked the woman seating us why Naos wasn’t open and she never gave me an answer. We noticed that all of the workers were supervisors many of whom appeared flustered. I thought that one who was waiting our table’s head was going to explode when I asked for water with ice. We later found out that there was a walk out by the wait staff, bartenders and housekeeping over a labor dispute. Supervisors/Management were filling their positions. Over the course of the day, we had to kind of retrain the Pool Bar bartender who was a supervisor but we got through it. About 2:30pm in the afternoon, the staff returned however their was still residual effects. The Sunset Grill was operating with a “Limited” menu which was upsetting because essentially I wasn’t getting what I had paid for as well as Room Services “Limited” menu only consisted of things like burgers, hot dogs & chicken tenders. A far cry from being able to order steaks and pasta dishes etc. That was the reason why we wound up going to dinner at the Hadar Buffet that evening. Again I felt that I wasn’t being offered what I had paid for without any type of compensation being offered. Supervisors/Management were very tight-lipped on offering any type of information as to what was going on during the walk out.

It appears that the resort is going through some changes and in my opinion not all for the better which blame falls on the shoulders of Management. But as far as the working class staff goes, they truly do a wonderful job at making us feel relaxed and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be kind to the staff... They do an awesome job... Tip "Generously".
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Dear Njoy-Travelin, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Nothing makes us prouder than knowing that our guests return home with a sweet aftertaste of the service and attention provided by our staff. We will be pleased to share your comments with Clara, Rafael, Salvdor, Christopher, Sergio, Luis, Angelo, Oscar, Eliseo, Luis, and Yolanda, who will be thrilled to know they were important in your stay. On the other hand, we apologize for the ups and down you encoubnered during your stay, especially the labor situation you kindly talked about, our managment nd the union have come to an agreement on this issue, we also greatly value your suggestions about the rstauants and food service, our chefs and food and beverage managers are constantly working on improvements on the service. We hope to host you again to show you the changes we will be making. Best regards. Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fran C wrote a review Oct 2021
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a 6 day stay at Paradisus La Perla and had the best time! We met up with 3 other couples, and our whole party of 8 had a great visit. Our concierge Daniel was very helpful and got dinner reservations at the restaurants we wanted at the times we wanted, which can be difficult with a large group. The food and service at all the restaurants was so good! They seemed to be little short staffed at times, and the servers worked very hard and were so kind. We stayed in the reserve section and spent most of our time at the reserve pool - big shout out to Rene and Enrique, the amazing bartenders who were so much fun and helped us have a great time at the pool bar and pool. They were the best! The beach was clean of the sargrassum and we enjoyed going in the ocean. The only complaints we had was that 2 rooms at check in did not have enough towels or hand soap, but these were minor things compared to all the positive things. I was also very comfortable and happy with how safe they were with Covid - staff always wearing masks, enforcing guests wearing masks, gloves at the buffets, etc. The whole resort was very clean and the cleaning crew did a great job keeping the common areas as well as our room very clean. Overall such a great time! We would definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 01 Nov 2021
Dear frannylou2, Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind words directed to Daniel, Rene, and Enrique. Without any doubt, all of them were a significant part of your experience with their great attention to detail and their tailored service. Please be sure that your notes will be transferred to them as they deserve to know their daily effort is well appreciated by our guests, continuing to provide excellent service to all our visitors. We will be honored to host you again soon. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mal wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Reserve Paradisus La Perla was amazing! What made it so were the resort staff, especially our own concierge Alfonso Aviles. From the start of our trip he was helpful in setting up reservations, informing us on daily activities and making sure our stay was comfortable. If we needed anything, he was always willing to help or answer questions. We had planned the trip for awhile but got engaged a week before we left. When we arrived there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us along with a hand written note from Alfonso saying congratulations. Another example of his willingness to go beyond what we expected!

All staff were friendly and accommodating, not to mention they anticipate your needs- especially by the swim-up bars and beach! (Alfredo, José, and Fernando in particular as well). All staff were happy to greet you and say hello as you are walking through the building.

The food was fantastic! Our favorites were Bana and Fuego. Everything was super fresh and the menus had a wide range of options. The morning buffet at Hadar had everything you could want as well. Having La Palapa as a private option at the reserve side was also a great benefit. It made everything very easy and seamless if you didn’t want to spend too much time away from the pool.

The resort itself was beautiful. The pool was clean and well kept. The beach had big chairs and umbrellas ready for use everyday. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed stocked (but if we wanted something different you just ask). Staff were always cleaning and making sure the grounds were pristine. We also were never nervous about Covid. Again, everything was constantly cleaned, masks were worn where necessary and staff were making sure all rules were followed so everyone felt safe.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and are already planning our trip back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Dear Mallory G, Thank you for sharing your experience. Let us state that we are completely proud of the attentive and caring staff that we have at the resort. As you experienced and is mentioned in reviews from other travelers, the service provided by the personnel is what they really treasure from the whole experience. Of course, the entire ambiance, meals, beverages, facilities, pools are important, but the service is always highlighted. Alfonso, Alfredo, José, and Fernando will be happy to know they were a significant part of your stay. We will be honored to host you again soon. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nunya U wrote a review Jul 2022
San Antonio, Texas
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First off the good, I stayed on the Reserve side of the property which is the Adult only side. The rooms were very spacious and the maid did an excellent job on here daily cleaning, in fact the whole staff did an excellent job cleaning as you walked the property.
This hotel is not all inclusive and up charges on certain meals that other resorts do not. The Steak House Sal is not included in the meals and way over charge for the wine ( you can google their selections and see its about a 75% to 100% mark up over regular retail) and in the other restaurants push the bottle wines and do the same thing but not once did they offer any house wines as an alternative or wine by the glass, options came bottle only. We got charged at Bana for a bottle of wine and when I asked if it was included the gentlemen said all was included but again charged $105 for the bottle. Back at Sal steak house they didnt have the cut of steak we wanted and when we got the steak delivered to the table it was barely room temp.
You can even see on the room service menus some options have an up charge so it is not an entirely all inclusive location. Most steak options any where on the property there was an up charge. Best restaurant there in our opinion was La Palapa with their ceviche and aguachili dishes.

The convenient store also rips you off as a consumer, they charged $50 us dollars for two different types of antacids that in the US would have been about $15usd. If it was a little mark up I would understand but here again 100% up normal retail. They have Sams Club in Mexico they arent being charged any type of fees for selling these items. Taking advantage of the consumer.

When we checked in they offerred us a massage deal for 50 mins at 139. If you go to the spa and get the 50 min massage there they give you an additional 25 minutes free which was not mentioned at the time of check in. Again not looking out for you.

At checkout they tried to charge me for the stuff that was put on the room during our stay and I had to remind them I put a $300 deposit down or they would have over charged me as well on that occasion.

I will not be going back to this property despite its room size and cleanliness. I felt beat up by them at every turn to get more and more out of you. Grand Palladium was a much better stay in comparison and they are roughly the same price on the surface but Grand Palladium doesnt have all the up charges this place had.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you pack any and all medicines you need before going. Go to the spa before making any...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear Nunya U, Thank you for sharing your experience. We regret to know your stay did not exceed your expectations and that proper information on the fees for extra amenities and services offered was not disclosed to you by our front staff. We have shared your comments and suggestions with our front desk managers so they make sure all the information needed is properly given at check-in. On the other hand, we are happy to know our The Reserve service was prompt during your stay, especially the cleaning at our suites and common areas. We will be working on changes and improvements for the areas you kindly suggested. We will love to host you again to show you all these changes. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda W wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With the exception of 2020, my husband and I travel annually to La Perla to celebrate our anniversary. The experience begins upon arrival when each passenger is confirmed as a guest at the security gate (our driver remarked that he liked this too). Then you gasp a bit when you see the arrival atrium - the structure; art; the aromatherapy; the hand towel! We always choose Reserve La Perla (previously Royal Service): the personalized check-in; age appropriate drinks/snacks in lounge area; concierge; reserve pool; reserve restaurants (La Palapa is AMAZING) allows us to relax, recover, and reconnect. We usually stay in Reserve Junior Suite and opted for a 1BR Deluxe Master Suite. It was a great room. However, it was WAY too large for two people and would have been good to have another toilet. I also prefer to be in the Reserve building where the Junior Suites are located because it is easier to access lounge lobby and closer to pool. A bonus: it smells SO good! Bana was my favorite dinner; La Palapa was my husband's favorite. This is NOT a party resort! Evening entertainment is good enough for us (acoustic guitar; vocalist; DJ; stage shows) after a long day in the sun. Not one meal was a disappointment!

Our concierge was Alfonso...WHAT A GEM!!! He consistently sent, via WhatsApp, the activities for the day, spa specials, evening activity, etc. without having to ask. He always checked in to let us know he has arrived for the day and checked in before leaving. And, the special treat he left in honor of our anniversary was magnificent!

We ventured to the family side (La Esmeralda) and water park for a bit of action. Ran into a vendor and wanted to give them ALL my money. It was nice to have option of excitement then retreat to the quieter adult side. The non-reserve adult pool is were the action happens at La Perla: exercise; pool party, DJ. However, I would not want a room near that pool because the noise carries and it's not what I want during vacation.

We will continue to visit here for our anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear Amanda W, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your loyalty toward Melia Hotels Internationa, our beautiful Paradisus Playa del Carmen, and to each and every one of the waiting staff, guest service, and front desk team, and of course the kind service and attention to detail displayed by our concierges, in this tenor, we will personally congratulate Poncho for his hard work and his passion in the service that he provides to all our guests. We are also happy to know that you once again relaxed and were pampered and taken care of wherever you went. We will be looking forward to your return for more unforgettable experiences. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aryna A wrote a review Feb 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Property is not bad. Lots if activities to do here: dining, dancing, pools, lounges. But your fun is limited to unbelievably ridiculous COVID policies. You can’t have fun. Even going to the buffet, they give you disposable gloves before you can get food. You don’t have to wear a mask outside, but to walk inside to get to a table, you have to put it on. No sense. These were policies in US 1.5 years ago. At the gym, you have to make an appointment (1 hour limit) and wear a mask if you are working out with weights but not on cardio equipment. What?! Mexico - just so you know, you are so behind. The rest of the world does not adhere to these policies. Our AC didn’t work in the room. Food was not great either. Unimpressed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Dear arynaa2022, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to know you had a good time at our resort and you enjoyed the service and attention provided by our staff. We totally understand your confusion on the Covid policies. nonetheless, please keep in mind that these protocols were placed by the government to guarantee our visitors' wellbeing. It is great to know you feel safe not adhering to any policies back home. However, we would love you to visit us again to exceed your expectations next time you come to Mexico, as we will all hopefully be leaving covid restrictions behind too. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Jun 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t even know where to begin - everything here was amazing! The staff was so friendly, accommodating, helpful and extremely kind. Some of these reviews almost made us hesitant to book, but I’m so glad we did. I don’t know how anyone has anything to complain about here! The food was much more than expected, every meal we had was delicious. Even the breakfast buffet had a ton of options for everyone. The staff at this hotel are extremely on top of things. Always working and making sure you’re enjoying yourself and constantly asking if you need anything. We stayed at the adults only side and had the reserve - highly recommend! Our concierge, Cipriano, texted us every morning letting us know what activities were going on and answered every question we had promptly. He was a great help and we appreciated having him! The staff by the pool was amazing as well - constantly asking if you’d like another drink if they saw yours become empty, asked if you wanted to order food, making sure you’re set up by the chairs each day etc. Alfredo especially was amazing! We also went to the spa and had massages one day and that was a highlight of our time here. If you arrive before your scheduled appointment, you’ll have time to enjoy their steam room, sauna, jacuzzis, private pool etc. Everything is so clean and beautiful inside as well. The room was beautiful and spacious. Housekeeping came every day and in the later afternoon to re freshen things. My recommendations are to reach out to the hotel via email a week or so before your arrival to plan dinner reservations, spa appointments etc. They are really good at promptly getting back to you and scheduling everything, this definitely made our time at the resort less stressful with everything set in place! We used Otium transportation for private transportation to and from the airport, which was the way to go! Taxis cost about the same and the driver is guaranteed to be professional and on time. We can’t wait to come back next year and we’re excited to try the other Melia brand resorts in other locations!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, Director General at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Dear Sarahbrumb, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you for sharing with us part of your Paradisus The Reserve experience and for highlighting what you enjoyed the most during your stay, the modern facilities, the delicious and assorted food at our restaurants, and of course, the warm service provided by our staff, special mention to Cipriano and Alfredo. We will pass along your notes about their outstanding service and the importance they had on your overall Paradisus experience. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben D wrote a review Mar 2022
Holden, Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at le Perla reserve for our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect! Julie, our concierge was beyond amazing. She handled all of our dinner reservations, COVID testing, spa/massage reservations, and any other questions or requests we had immediately. She was super friendly and made our stay completely stress free with a simple text message. The property was well maintained and the rest of the staff was very polite and responsive. The food was very good at every restaurant we ate at. Our room was very clean when we arrived and the cleaning crew was respectful of our belongings when doing the daily cleaning. Book this place and request Julie and you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 01 Apr 2022
Dear bendU4107PH, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are proud to read you have had an awesome stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen and you took advantage of being a The Reserve guest, have tasted some delightful dishes at our a la carte restaurants, without excluding the staff service that went beyond your expectations, we are glad to know the service provided by Julie was kind and personalized, always focused on your total satisfaction. We will be honored to host you again soon. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Me Teter wrote a review Apr 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing time at the resort. It’s a well kept and gorgeous resort. Constantly being manicured and groomed… their workers were working hard and were always greeting us with a friendly smile and “buenas dias” We had booked Paradisus La Perla (adults only) and upgraded to the reserve area when we got there. Roberto helped with the upgrade. He was friendly and professional and we felt very welcome. He served us our first margarita of the week.The upgrade was worth the money as we loved the reserve pool without too much craziness. The other pool was fun to go to for a bit and then come back to a more serene situation. We also got our own concierge (Julie) who we communicated with via WhatsApp throughout the stay. That worked really well and Julie was great at letting us know the events at the hotel every day and she took care of our dinner reservations every night. She also came to the pool every day to check on us to see if we needed anything. Julie had arranged a very nice bubble bath for us in the room/patio with rose petals. Really nice personal touch.
The bar tenders at the reserve pool were great (Freddy, Adrian, Alfredo). They were super friendly and attentive. Alfredo ran around the pool for endless hours taking our drinks and food orders throughout the day with great attitude… he was very friendly and personable. Freddy and Adrian mixed great and fun drinks and were creating a fun entertaining vibe at the pool bar. The food at the restaurants was good….not amazing but good. Definitely a good idea to make reservations and not just show up. Service at the restaurants was mixed, some were great and others were adequate.
We went to the gym every day and it was a great, clean, well equipped gym, with friendly staff (don’t remember the lady’s name at the front desk but she was very nice).
As part of the reserve upgrade we had a buffet in the lounge area with great appetizers and drinks throughout the day and night… really delicious and convenient. The beach was so so. Very nice white, fine sand and nice beach chairs provided by the hotel and there was also a beach bar. However there’s a lot of seaweed on the beach (which they had a lot of staff working on removing) but the seaweed was still in the water so we didn’t swim. However, make a day out of going to Isla Mujeras. Super nice little island with amazing beaches (north beach is the most popular and happening place).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’re traveling as adults only make sure you book the adults only area. Make restaurant...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Dear Randi T, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are proud to read you have had an awesome stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen and you took advantage of being a The Reserve guest, have tasted some delightful dishes at our a la carte restaurants, without excluding the staff service that went beyond your expectations, we are glad to know the service provided by Roberto, Julie, Freddy, Adrian, and Alfredo was kind and personalized, always focused on your total satisfaction. They will all be waiting for your next visit to continue exceeding your expectations. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaryRN66 wrote a review Jan 2023
Denver, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time at Paradisus La Perla as well as any of the Melia brand resorts. We booked a garden-view junior suite in The Reserve section so we could have more options with dining, room service and other amenities. The trip was a couples get a way to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with such kindness by staff who genuinely appear to love what they do. Our concierge, Eduardo, was simply fantastic. There was nothing he did not think of and kept us abreast of all the activities and events offered throughout each day. The room (1203) was simply beautiful. The balcony faced the mangrove vegetation and so was private and lovely. Eduardo surprised us by having a romantic jacuzzi tub drawn (complete with rose petals floating on the water), cold champagne and a small cake celebrating Joseph's birthday all waiting for our return from the beach. The tub is on the balcony and it takes about 45 minutes to fill up with warm water. Knowing Eduardo has many other families he is also caring for meant that he somehow made the time to create what was a memorable and unexpected treat for us that day. That was above and beyond service and we noticed!

All of the staff on the beach and by the pools run their tails off to meet the high standards of this resort. Please bring tip money with you to show your appreciation as, yes, they are paid by the resort, but if you've ever worked in food service, tips go a long way in job satisfaction. La Palapa was available to us for breakfast and lunch each day and it was very elegant and the food was tasty with attention to dish presentation. The buffets were somewhat busy but had everything you could want and we enjoyed this option a few times as well. The specialty restaurants serve really top quality cuisine with staff who know food service and how to create a relaxing and pampered experience. Room service was used the last day or so as I came down with a cold and thought it best to keep it contained to our room (which was no sacrifice considering all of the comforts of these suites!)

Joseph and I really enjoyed every moment we spent at La Perla and look forward to coming back again soon. The staff is what takes this resort from really nice to "we want to return" as we've been to other all-inclusives in the same area many times.

Thank you, La Perla, for making us feel so welcomed and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If able, get a room in The Reserve as unlimited room service and many other perks we found added...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Center, General Manager at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Responded 06 Feb 2023
Dear MAryRN66, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Let us state that we are completely proud of the attentive and caring staff at the resort. As you experienced and it is mentioned in reviews from other travelers, the service provided by the personnel is what they really treasure from the whole experience. Of course, the entire ambiance, meals, beverages, facilities, and pools are important, but the service is always highlighted. Eduardo and Joseph will be delighted to know they were a great contribution to your stay. We would be honored to host you again to continue exceeding your expectations. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc W asked a question May 2024
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi I was just wondering if they have non alcoholic beer like Heineken 0? Thanks
Answer from Scott C
Carmel228 contributions64 helpful votes
Security is good, and if not a Reserve guest in the Reserve areas, you will politely be told where to go.
Answer from FarAway39488853856
1 contribution
Not hearing Marco Polo all day was worth it to me. Also, be quiet pool with no music and no talking. Or screaming was worth it. It was also the reserve bar and snack area which opened at 7 AM. And feature premium liquor. So yes, for me. It was worth it and when I go back. I will do reserve again.
Answer from celtic65
St. Catharines, Canada35 contributions15 helpful votes
As you probably know, we are advised not to drink water or brush teeth with their tap water. Our room was supplied daily with bottled water. It actually said ‘distilled’ on the label of each bottle. I presume you need it for a CPAP machine. This water was perfect for mine.
Alexis K wrote a tip Yesterday
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Many fun activities for all ages "
Read full review
brianlL8624TV wrote a tip 20 Jun
3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Family concierge is worth it! we got an excursion, personal concierge, and access to Sal's! Book during Black Friday using Melia Rewards."
Read full review
Rose M wrote a tip 10 Jun
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room service serves slop"
Read full review
Sammi T wrote a tip 01 Jun
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wow. just wow. Customer service doesn’t exist. Do not book this. "
Read full review
Zari T wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to snag a spot by the pool early! Bring bug spray or aloe if you’re susceptible to getting bit or burned. The sun is strong."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
R 5,357 - R 9,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only - All Inclusive, Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
393
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARADISUS LA PERLA - ADULTS ONLY - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Playa del Carmen, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Which popular attractions are close to Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Nearby attractions include Playa Punta Esmeralda (0.6 km), Galeria Luis Sottil (0.4 km), and Playa Publica 88 (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sal. Steak - Cave, Fuego, and Bana Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only have airport transportation?
Yes, Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Playa del Carmen HotelsPlaya del Carmen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Playa del CarmenHotels near Paradisus La Perla - Adults Only
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire