Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio Km. 3.5 S/N Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333 Mexico
With rec staff, Neto and Anahe, after Zumba.
Traveller (4571)
Panorama at the Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (21)
Pool & Beach (697)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#61 of 145 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Descubre por qué tantos viajeros ven Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa como el hotel ideal cuando visitan Puerto Vallarta. Además de aportar la combinación ideal de calidad, comodidad y ubicación, ofrece un ambiente para familias con una amplia variedad de servicios diseñados para viajeros como tú. Durante su estancia en Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, los huéspedes pueden visitar Mirador de La Cruz (2,3 km) y Marina Vallarta (2,9 km), algunas de las principales atracciones de Puerto Vallarta. Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa es un hotel para familias con televisor de pantalla plana, aire acondicionado y frigorífico en las habitaciones, y es fácil permanecer conectado durante la estancia, ya que ofrece wifi pública para los huéspedes. El hotel cuenta con una gran piscina y un parque acuático para los más pequeños. Para Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa tu comodidad y satisfacción son lo primero, y están deseando darte la bienvenida a Puerto Vallarta.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Parking
Paid internet
Fitness classes
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio Km. 3.5 S/N Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles6,441 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa boasts a prime location favored by many guests for its easy access to local shopping and dining, as well as its picturesque views. However, the property's charm is somewhat diminished by additional fees and the property showing signs of age, contributing to a perception of poor value. Guests have called out noise disturbances and a lackluster atmosphere due to dated decor. Room conditions have been a source of disappointment, with reports of mold and maintenance issues. While the hotel's cleanliness garners mixed reviews, the staff's friendliness is often highlighted, even amid varying service speeds and amenity availability.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Rowdy
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
6,441Reviews839Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,697
  • 1,202
  • 756
  • 365
  • 424
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mindy B wrote a review Feb 2020
Chetek, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 3rd time staying at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta.
We were very pleased with our entire stay and we did not encounter any problems or issues.
We were greeted upon arrival, and because we are UVC members, we were escorted to the lounge for our check in, which was very quick.
We reserved 2 rooms and both were ready for us.
The staff here is amazing! They really go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome!
(The last time we stayed here was April of 2018). On this trip, the first morning we went down to breakfast, Miguel, a waiter at the buffet, recognized us right away!
The entertainment team does a great job! Marco's and Miguel, just to name 2! Lots of activities for everyone!
Our rooms were very well cleaned each day, and most nights they came around again asking if we needed more towels or anything.
The food was good, we ate mostly at the buffet which they do switch out and have different themes each night. After being seated at the buffet for dinner one night, our daughter didnt see anything she liked but instead wanted the special from the Ocean front grill. We asked our waiter, and they were happy to bring her the coconut shrimp meal from that restaurant!
Tiki Taco has very good food, and we enjoyed being able to get burgers or quesadillas at the barefoot grill in the middle of the pool at lunchtime without needing to change into dry clothes. Not every restaurant is open every week night, but their hours are posted each day on their daily "Sundial" newsletter, which is usually placed in your door each evening. (This also lists all the days activities)
Poolside beverage service was usually quite good too.
Each day we were awake and down by the pool by 8:30, and we never had a hard time finding chairs by the pool. The staff walks around during the busiest times of the day making sure people were actually using their chairs and not just holding them.
I've read many reviews about this resort, both good an bad.
What I can say is that no one place will be able to please everybody's expectations and some people just can not be pleased no matter what.
It is a very nice place for the price we paid. Beds were comfortable, food and drinks were plentiful, staff was friendly and helpful, what more could you ask for?
It isn't a new resort, it was built as a Holiday Inn, so expect that everything wont be brand new. It's not necessarily a large resort either but that's just another reason we like it here.
We will definitely return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear 437mindyb, On behalf of the entire Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review regarding your excellent experience at our hotel. There is no better reward for our work than reading the excellent time that you had due the excellent services and attention from all our staff. Do not hesitate to contact us at econcierge.sunpv@sunscaperesorts.com, to provide the best service for your future stay. Hope to welcome you soon. Sincerely, Sheyla Torres Social Media Manager Sunscape Puerto Vallarta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renee B wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First thing I have to say is the staff is fabulous, especially Mario at the SunClub bar and the young man who mans the front gate. Everything was clean anywhere I went and the pool was very nice. Beyond that it goes downhill. Upgraded to the "SunClub" and usually could never get a chair on the beach (no one ever asked if we were even SunClub so not sure everyone in the area was part of it). Pool chairs were usually staked out early morning so if you get there too late they are hard to come by as well. We usually had the continental breakfast at the SC room but heard other patrons complain the buffet would run out of food at breakfast-no eggs, etc. Seafood Grill would have an hour or so wait for dinner and you had to get a beeper, but the food was good. Went to the buffet for "Asian night" and actually got rotini noodles with teryaki sauce. Yuck. We paid for all-inclusive and ate out at least once a day. How can I recommend someplace like that?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear Renee B, We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay with us. We are very happy to know that during your stay with us there were people in our staff who went above and beyond to fulfill your expectations, on the other hand we lament about the language barrier you found, our human resources team. The team undertakes actions to fully develop the skills of our staff, we assure you that we are on the march in regard to this, on the other hand we find it unfortunate that your expectations of comfort and food have not been achieved, have full certainty that we will share each of your comments with our quality and food and beverage area to determine what actions to take in this regard, any additional information in this regard do not hesitate to share it with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and hopefully, you will notice the improvements made since your last stay and you will think of us as the right place to be pampered. Regards, Sheyla Torres Econcierge & Social Media Manager Puerto Vallarta, México.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
kitkat14DuncanBC wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver Island, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this resort because it was in PV and had a kids club. It was part of a wedding package we booked thru air transat. We all upgraded to the Sun Club which gave us a few "perks" but for the extra cost not really worth it. Would i stay here again? No. It was fine for our group but having been to Mexico multiple times this resort fell short. The food was just ok, nothing special. The first night was super bowl night everything by the pool was rained out and most of the restaurants were closed. We wanted to order room service (a sun club perk) and have it delivered to the sunclub they told us no we would have to go to our seperate rooms. We were like huh? Wouldn't it be easier to make 1 delivery? So off i went foraging for food for the group after we had all just traveled all day. We managed to get some leftover food from the superbowl party but it was to be blunt, gross. The whole week was pretty good if you didn't take into account the food. Kids enjoyed sunclub, drinks were good when you found the right bar tender (some of them were clueless as to how to mix a drink). The one HUGE point i want to make is that when there is a wedding happening on the beach and the activity staff are asked ahead of time to shut the music off ( for 10 mins max) they need to not be rude or ignorant and shut it OFF! I was so made that all we could hear was bang bang of the bass during our ceremony. Juana had asked then to shut it off at 4 but they didn't. My guests couldn't hear the vows, i was so mad i almost stopped the wedding and went over there to pull the plug. It was so inconsiderate that we had travelled all that way at great expense to find that they didn't care that we were having a wedding. 10 mins is all that was asked. I managed to pull it together outwardly but i was furious inside. A nice feeling when you are getting married to the love of your life. I have worked in an activity dept for 30 years been a supervisor for 20 this is not acceptable behavior. Please tell them that they were very very rude. Don't let it happen to the next wedding, poor Juana was doing her best but they didn't listen.
Juana was lovely, kids club was great, staff in general were pleasant but the activity staff sucked at 4:00 pm on Feb 5.

I am glad we left the resort for our beautiful wedding dinner at Hacienda San Angel it made a crappy feeling instantly go away and we had the most amazing night at Hacienda San Angel. This is a place Sunscape should strive towards becoming.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel as I am sure there are other hotels that have higher standards in the same price range.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Hello kitkat14DuncanBC, We thank you in advance for the time invested in writing to us about your experience. We are really sad to read that we did not exceed your expectations on your stay here with us. Please receive our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We likewise hope that you would be able to overcome with time the disappointment and give us renewed opportunities to be of service to you. We hope you give us the opportunity of receiving you once more as our valuable guest and show you the improvements made, our guest´s satisfaction is very important to us. Sincerely, Sheyla Torres Econcierge & Social Media Manager Puerto Vallarta, México.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy A wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a tired older property where everything smells like you forgot it in the washer for a week, the paint is peeling and everything is just sticky. The food is ok if you are super lucky and it’s actually warm, best luck there is to eat at the taco restaurant. the seaside grill is super super slow so not only is your food cold but getting a refill on your drink or your actual food is a waiting game I always lost. A lot of the staff is amazing really nice friendly people but overworked and not enough of them to cover the crowds. There isn’t enough shade or chairs so if you plan to sleep in also plan to not have a spot to hang out the staff tries to help but not a lot they can do. It is in a great location close to everything and everything super handy including the buses and shopping even the malecon is about a 45 min walk. So overall not horrible just not the 4 star we were expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: most of their rooms are set up for family’s two double beds. there is no privacy from the hall...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Hello Cindy A, Thank you for taking the time to share an overview of your stay through this mean. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to improving our service levels. We feel genuinely sorry to read you had a rough experience and we couldn't provide the excellent service that characterizes us. You may rest assured we've addressed all the indicated inconveniences to the areas in charge, as we care about our guests' satisfaction. With this said, we look forward to having the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence in our resort and service. Kind regards, Sheyla Torres e-Concierge & Social Media Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
snapl wrote a review Feb 2020
Fairfax, Virginia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While resort had great location, rooms were small, AC didn't work through the night, the shower drain backed up and then leaked under the glass wall on the floor of the small bathroom. Buffet food was low quality. Menu items at more than one restaurant were not as described. No wifi was included had to pay extra. $200 in resort coupons for paying all-inclusive extra fee 30-days early had very limited options to use. Several workers tried their best to help but seemed to have no ability to rectify the problems.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear snapl, Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate your comments and have carefully read through your detailed feedback. It is really unfortunate to read your review of your recent vacation with us. Accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience you have encountered and the feeling you have had of our staff in general. Please, accept our apologies for the inconsistencies with the services, our team works hard to give mantenance to all the property as soon as something needs attention. Hopefully, you will find a way to provide us a new opportunity to regain your trust in our service, and provide you the experience you deserve. Kind regards, Sheyla Torres eConcierge & Social Media Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce T wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Sunscape Resort and Spa from Dec 25, 2019 to Jan 8, 2020. This resort is only about a ten minute drive by taxi from the airport and close to downtown Puerto Vallarta. Our ocean front room was on the 7th floor in the Sun Club area. The room was very comfortable with two balconies over looking a beautiful view of Banderas Bay. The resort is a comfortable size and has a lot of activities for both children and adults. There are several commercial shops within the resort including a pharmacy. The private Sun Club bar was a nice area to relax and have an upscale breverage and a snack. The buffet, Seaside Grill and Mario's food was very good and plentiful. Recommend the beef medallion at the Seaside Grill. There is a coffee shop that is open 24 hours where you can get sweets and sandwiches. The room and resort area are clean. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, thanks to all. Special thanks to Mario and Rony of the Sun Club; Rocio and Magdalena, Security; Elizabeth, Housekeeping; and Carlos, beach waiter. There were two cons concerning this resort:
1. The lobby bar is outdated. Seating is insufficent, uncomfortable and uninviting.
2. We have been to Mexico several times over New Years. This is the first Resort that charged their guests an extra fee to attend their New Years Eve Gala.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, eConcierge & Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear 8brucet, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide the best vacation in your most recent visit! We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the amazing vibe of our staff and were quite pleased with all of the activities and benefits from the Sunclub. Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offering truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management. We are looking forward to welcoming you to your second home Sunscape Puerto Vallarta, until then, we remain at your entire disposal. Regards, Sheyla Torres Econcierge & Social Media Manager Puerto Vallarta, México.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sheilaw322016 wrote a review Jan 2020
Temecula, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It should be noted the reservation was made through Blue Royal (BR). Overall the stay was very mediocre at best and we will not go back. The people who booked through Sundance directly instead of Blue Royal had internet in their rooms and other amenities we did not have.

The Negatives:
Bar tenders were observed licking their fingers between making drinks.
We tried to call BR for more than 2 weeks to get info and never could get anyone who spoke English. When we got there we were unable to access the transportation promised and several phone calls were placed to Anna she never picked up the phone calls so we paid out of pocket. When we finally met Anna she blamed us and stated she tried to call several times. Not true! We did receive one email from her but it was on the day we left. She also refused to provide transportation back to the airport or reimburse us.
The first room we had very strong mildew smell. We were given a different room.
Only places that have AC is the room and Italian restaurant that is only open in the evening & has a dress code.
Buffet was mediocre - Same exact breakfast every day and poorly seasoned, but great guacamole. Some dinner meals offered no vegetables.
TV had 2 English stations and 2 for kids.
Internet only available in public areas that had no air conditioning.
Water temperature in shower was inconsistent
Indoor/outdoor furniture in public areas needs to be replaced (dirty/worn)
Public tables not cleaned - Sticky all the time
General disrepair (elevator buttons, awnings, roof tiles, etc)
Water from one of the bar drains to the beach where people walk and sit (sanitary??)
Need more shade options by the pool

The Positives:
Service great!!!! Jose Luis provided the absolute best poolside service!! We always looked forward to seeing him each day.
The overworked lady who makes coffee all by herself each morning was always so sweet.
Maid service daily
Nice activities to participate in if you want.
The coconut ice cream was amazing!!

When we realized we needed more time to pack, we asked to stay in the room longer and was told no. After we left about 45 min later, we were charged $50 per person for an additional hour (no info & not told ahead of time), but they later decreased it $35/per person.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear sheilaw322016, We want to thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Vallarta to be part of your last holidays' experience and really appreciate all your feedback it is very important for us to know the guest experience. First of all, we want to offer you an apology for all the inconveniences encountered during your stay. We truly regret that your vacation was not as expected. It is important to mention that Blue Royal is a different administration than the hotel Sunscape Puerto Vallarta and we couldn´t assist you on this matter unfortunately. On behalf of my self and the staff, please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience during your stay. Our commitment is to provide the highest quality service and your comment helps us to improve our excellence in service and we have taken the corrective actions about it. With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service. Kindest regards, Sheyla Torres eConcierge & Social Media Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Araceli Herrera wrote a review May 2021
Texas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start! Horrible food we are not picky eaters but the food is disgusting and repetitive. Cheap food. No sea food. Slow and under staffed restaurant. Sometimes didn’t get my drink. No food choices the food made us sick. We had to eat at restaurants outside the hotel. Rodolfo is pushy and he spied on us even though we explained to him we called an Uber not interested in timeshare talks. We felt we were always being interrogated and spied on by the timeshare team always asking where we were going made us feel unsafe. The pool closes at 7 pm and the towel service ends at 5pm. The rooms are old and moldy. I regret not staying next door at Villa Del Palmar. There are way better choices in PV. They follow no Covid protocols and the hotel was at full capacity. Never going back here! Luckily we were out and about so much that it didn’t ruin our vacation. PV was beautiful we will be back just not to this dump of a “resort”! Carmen at the front desk is very nice and helpful so was Yanitza. The views are very nice that’s the only thing this place has going for it’s self. They also didn’t honor the 4 for 4 package I bought. Don’t stay here people research other resorts the beach here is muddy and full of rocks. We had to walk to Fiesta Americana for a nicer beach. This place was not worth my money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunscape Puerto Vallarta, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 28 May 2021
Dear ahS8885FQ, Thank you very much for sharing your review with us. We take our guest's opinions very seriously and appreciate the time invested in letting us know. We would have liked to know about your problems while you were with us at home, avoiding that your stay was not as expected and giving you timely solutions. We feel genuinely sorry to read you had a rough experience and we couldn't provide the excellent service and time that characterizes us. You may rest assured we've addressed all the indicated inconveniences to the areas in charge, as we care about our guests' satisfaction We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future, please do not hesitate in contacting us for any assistance. Greetings, Sheyla Torres Social Media Manager Puerto Vallarta, México.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon C wrote a review Mar 2020
Ottawa, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I tried to contact hotel directly but email was full. Not good when management does not respond to emails.
Overall thought resort was great. Food was very good.lots of varietyFood not hot in buffet area. Staff touched our food with bare hands when cooking in specialty areas( pancake bar). . Nightly entertainment.Rooms comfort, beds definitely comfortable.Staff friendly, courteous & helpful.
My issue is in the beach area. There is Privare Sun Club beach area. When walking on the beach approaching steps to go to beach bar area the sand covers concrete step. It is not marked however staff are aware of the concrete. I tripped in that area x2. On 2nd occasion staff brushed sand away & showed my the concrete. If hotel staff is aware of this than area should be “CAUTIONED” for the clients
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Hello dear Sharon C, Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate your comments and have carefully read through your detailed feedback. It is important to mention that we recieve numerous emails from guests and we have a response time from 24 hrs to 48 hrs and we have just received your email on March 5th so we have responded in a timely manner. We assure you we are fully committed to our guests and to their well-being. We feel really sorry that we did not exceed your expectations with our service and also to read this unfortunate situation. Furthermore, we always strive to strengthen and improve our services and procedures with the objective of offering our guests the very best possible experience. We will be looking forward to your next visit to Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance in the future. Kind regards, Sheyla Torres eConcierge & Social Media Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike M wrote a review Feb 2020
Midland, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Shady let’s start off with the time share! Is this not a vacation or is this someone trying to keep selling you stuff when all you wanna do is relax unwind and have a good time. Well with that as the start it’s hard. So listen up this is where the shady comes into play at your all inclusive resort.
Wifi is not good there at all and is only free in the lobby not your rooms people. They don’t tell you this upfront and you must purchase to use in room. That’s wrong in my opinion.
Guests are not allowed in other rooms even for a friendly card game or drink. Must be in lobby or pool area or area they deem.
The food well we ate out more than in as it was tasteless but you can get by. But the restaurants that are in the area are amazing and fare price.
The resort has a great view but if you want extras and I mean by room service and stuff they up sell you on a vip more money people. I think it is a scam as all inclusive should be all inclusive. I myself don’t require theses things as I’m not at the resort much myself but as I do enjoy to do the reviews I look into what options are there when I stay at places. If you want a chair at the pool or beach put your towels out by 7am because they will be gone for the day.
I hope this helped there is more but I’m not into writing books. Thanks care ps you can see whales and dolphins at this time of the year out on the beach Feb 2020
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sunpv1, Social Media Manager at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Mike M, It is our priority to provide our guests with a memorable experience. Therefore, we appreciate any form of feedback as it helps us improve to continue exceeding your expectations. We extend an honest apology to you for the unpleasant situations occurred during your stay. We hope you give us the opportunity to change your perspective towards the resort. Regards, Sheyla Torres Econcierge & Social Media Manager Puerto Vallarta, México.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Javier D asked a question Jun 2024
Nuevo Leon, Mexico1 contribution
Cuál es el costo por el Subs club?
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico1 contribution
Thank you very much for contacting us. I am glad to share with you that we do offer day passes. You could enjoy our venues from 9:00 am a 5:00 pm, Food and beverages included. Best regards, Trinidad Ruiz E-concierge Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Answer from michelsonwarren
Moose Jaw, Canada1 contribution
We enjoyed the SunClub. It was never busy and I'm not sure why. The service was good, there was always snacks available and never crowded. I'm not one to spend money where I don't need too, however we don't go on a warm vacation to save money. The many emnities of Sunscape was worth the little extra for the sunclub - in my opinion.
Answer from Jackie E
Altrincham, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
There sre areas out side where people would go for a cigarette. I am a non smoker so didn't take too much notice but people were able to smoke outside.
Fanny G wrote a tip 08 Jul
Wakefield, Massachusetts4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Being water bottle. Get to the pool and restaurants for meals early. There is a dress code for some Restaurants. Careful at the beach."
Read full review
Veronica L wrote a tip Jun 2024
22 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring earplugs, bring towels to bring offsite to the beach, bring a tumbler or similar cup to have filled with drinks of your choice at bars"
Read full review
CanuckD wrote a tip Jun 2024
Winnipeg, Canada117 contributions79 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book elsewhere unless you have very low experience and/or expectations"
Read full review
Kyler T wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful it might be more than they told you at the start. "
Read full review
Kathy v wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
" Just value what Guest aré buying at the hotel AND serve It well"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Vallarta area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,971 - R 5,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn puerto vallarta hotel puerto vallarta, puerto vallarta holiday inn, holiday inn puerto vallarta mexico
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta
LOCATION
MexicoJaliscoPuerto Vallarta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
340
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNSCAPE PUERTO VALLARTA RESORT & SPA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Bay of Banderas (0.3 km), La Isla Puerto Vallarta (0.2 km), and Cinepolis VIP La Isla (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porfirio's Vallarta, La Leche, and Campomar Puerto Vallarta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel Church (2.3 km).
All Puerto Vallarta HotelsPuerto Vallarta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto VallartaHotels near Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire