Casa Velas

Casa Velas

Traveller (2948)
Panorama at Casa Velas
360
Panoramas (23)
Casa Velas
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 13 all-inclusives in Puerto Vallarta
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Casa Velas is an intimate boutique hotel for adults 18 and over, surrounded by the natural beauty of Puerto Vallarta. With colonial-style architecture resembling the old Mexican haciendas, lush gardens, and cozy al-fresco terraces ideal to unwind and take in the coastal lifestyle, and preferential access to Táu Beach Club with infinite vistas of the Mexican Pacific. Your stay at any of the 80 suites will signify restoration and delight for the senses. Enjoy haute cuisine at Emiliano Restaurant; 2 bars; access to Táu Beach Club; sybarite and cultural activities; and Spa. Our Luxury All-Inclusive concept: • Personal Concierge • 24-hour Suite Service • Private terrace or balcony with sitting area • Living room with sofa • Daily-stocked in-suite minibar • Welcome bottle of mezcal • Nespresso coffee maker • Pillow menu
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Adult pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Calle Pelicanos 311 Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48335 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
2,266Reviews238Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,980
  • 170
  • 63
  • 31
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeffrey Z wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
just returned after a New Years week, which we assumed would be overly busy and less than attentive staff. We were pleasantly surprised always being treated with exceptional concierge service, excellent a la carte food, great ambience, and surprisingly met some wonderful couples from around the world to share some ideas.
Never had to fight for chairs at the Beach club.
Having access to the Beach Club (a short 5 minute shuttle away) allows you to have a personal exclusive beach access with private food and drinks service. Should reserve dinner there as there is limited seating, but eating across from the ocean in the evening, hearing the surf breaking is pretty cool
Great massages as well in the spa, for after hours. Recommend Imelda.
For golf enthusiasts, would highly recommend going to the Weiskopf and Nicklaus courses nearby, just 20 minute ride (200 peso=$10) away in Vista Vallarta. Easy to get to and back with lots of taxis around. They provide tee times, altho not free, are only $57 US per round, and well worth it. Courses were in great shape this week.
The Marina club next to Casa Velas is more than fine, just a little tight, but so convenient. Worth playing also.
Have never gone back to a resort before, but we will be back again here.
Shout outs to Marco in concierge, Claudia at front desk, and Daniel at the beach club.
Food quality was exceptional. Only criticism is they served too fast at the main dining room, but mentioned that to the manager. Probably they are overly enthusiastic to help and clear dishes.
hard to complain about too much service!
Overall, a definite 5 Star+
well worth it.
Just don't spend any time in the airport when you arrive, go straight outside despite what the travel people inside the airport tell you. They are only trying to sell time share stuff. Just go directly to the taxi stand, do not engage with anyone inside the airport.
You will love this place. Lots of couples, straight and gay, no kids, fun intelligent people. Very romantic if you are interested.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 08 Jan 2020
The pleasure was all ours, Jeffrey, for having the opportunity to cater to your upscale wishes while at the same time allowing my staff to show off, both their elegance and flair in such a welcoming way. As manager, I am pleasantly delighted to read that your tastes, and Casa Velas' options, have much in common. Your interest in golf is the perfect match for our boutique resort, and the discounts that we offer cannot be bettered. Chef Isaac's selection of dishes at our Emiliano Restaurant and Beach Club are in line with your palate, and even our overall class of guests can generally provide you with appealing conversation and ideas. All of this and more blended wonderfully with your vision of a perfect vacation, and we are highly honored to now be considered one of the prime sites that you will happily revisit. On behalf of the 180 young professionals who make your satisfaction their priority, I thank you for selecting Casa Velas as your Holiday setting and look forward to many more well-deserved vacations. Until next time, sir, we remain at your service for all your needs and requirements. GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia P wrote a review Apr 2021
Washington15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family enjoyed a memorable 7 day experience at this all inclusive resort. It was the first time we stayed at an all inclusive resort and I am afraid that any future resort will have to step up their game to meet the high bar that this resort set. The staff took extra precautions at every turn to insure health and safety of guests during these pandemic times. We were able to schedule our required Covid-19 antigen test for returning to the states right there on site. The grounds were beautiful with well maintained pools, a developing botanical garden with identified species, lovely koi ponds with turtles, and a serene water lily pond straight out of a Monet painting. Very peaceful throughout our entire stay. Coming from the Pacific NW we loved the shade that the poolside cabanas offered during the afternoon heat. Each of the 3 restaurants provided us with a healthy variety of choices and a dining experience that was top notch. The staff at the restaurants were very accommodating and attentive. We were sorry to have to say good bye to them on our final day. The gym was well equiped and wiped down regularly. The housekeepers refreshed our units daily - extremely comfortable beds with comforters. My husband and son played golf, loosing a few balls to water hazards they stayed clear of due to crocodile sitings. The concierge service provided recommendations for scuba diving and helped with requests for another outing we took in the area. The nightly sunsets at the Tau restaurant were memorable. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a suite with master bedroom on first floor and 2 queens in upper floor. Great for families.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine Zaragoza, Director General at Casa Velas
Responded 08 Apr 2021
Thank you so much, Patricia, for sharing your lovely thoughts and perceptions on this, your very first all-inclusive experience. For your first time going all-inclusive, you certainly aimed high by selecting Casa Velas. We are very proud to have met and surpassed your lofty expectations at every turn. It is easy to sense that you became enamored with our natural setting along with the pleasing calmness of our adult-only environment. And add to that wonderful panorama, the thoughtful attention of my gracious staff, and I believe that you have finally found your vacation preference for years to come. Patricia, we look forward to catering to your tastes in the future because it's clear that your graceful presence complements, beautifully, our level of distinction. Until next time, we remain at your faithful service. Take care, GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue Ellen S wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We discovered Casa Velas after a saddness in my family seeking a refuge to regroup. To our delight, Casa Velas was the perfect escape for now 8 years in a row. Casa Vela's staff know and remember your name from year to year, are delightfully attentive, offer a wide variety of delicious food all in a well manicured gorgeous setting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 30 Jan 2020
As always, Sue Ellen, we feel that we are the fortunate ones to have gracious guests such as yourselves reside with us year after year. You certainly know that hotel very well by now and have made some genuine friendships with much of the staff. We realize that the resort also provides you with much sentimental value, and as mentioned, we are honored to be here for you for any need or request. Until next time, Sue Ellen, we continue to place ourselves at your faithful service. Thank you. GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TiffanyH166 wrote a review Feb 2020
Poway, California16 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The reviews of Casa Velas are largely based on staff, and for that, I cannot disagree. However, I do not find Casa Velas to be a 5 star resort and I would not stay here again. We booked a suite with a jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. When we arrived, we were "upgraded" to a suite with a plunge pool outside and no jacuzzi bath. While some may be happy with the upgrade, we were not. The plunge pools are NOT heated and in February are pretty freezing. We never used it. When we inquired at the front desk, they told us the website had incorrect information on a jacuzzi tub being in the bathroom. Ok, fine. Also, they advertise "premium" alcohol brand, but the vodka is Absolut. At times, I saw them pull the Grey Goose out from below, but it didn't happen often. The food, while pretty good, is very tiring. They have the one main restaurant, which is the same menu except for the addition of a couple items on the first page every day.
We had a night at Grand Velas included in our stay, but when we went to inquire about it, the concierge told us they only get one reservation per night and they were booked the whole time we were there. Only after paying a special tip, did we get in.
There are no warm pools/jacuzzis at Casa Velas. The main property pool is not heated and there is no hot tub. The beach club has two hot tubs, but none of them are heated and therefore, not hot.
Our rooms were not attended to until 4-5ish in the afternoon. When inquiring about a late checkout (after 12), we were told we would have to pay extra even though no one entered our rooms to service them until after 5 pm the prior day. I could understand had they needed the rooms, but wow.
The staff is great. Everyone that works there has a smile on their face and is very nice and accommodating. I would rate this hotel as 3 3/4 stars...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't count on website description... inaccurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 09 Feb 2020
Thank you very much, Tiffany, for sharing your comments with us and also for your firm seal of approval on the warm service that you received. I would also like to take this moment to apologize for not providing you the 5* Guest Experience that we are accustomed to delivering. Tiffany, regarding your suite assignment, when the rare occasion arises when we do not have your reserved suite category available upon arrival, it is our responsibility to provide you with a suite of the same or higher value. Although technically, your suite was of a higher ranking, it is evident that it was not quite the configuration that you were expecting. Our suite's splash pools and main pool do, in fact, have heating systems, which, in keeping with our commitment to the environment, are solar-generated. Precisely during your visit, however, the Pacific coast of Mexico received some unusually cool weather with clouds, both of which affected the ambient air temperature as well as the efficiency of our solar panels. As our long list of repeat guests can attest, my staff and I truly do go out of our way to make our guest's stay a memorable one, and for all the right reasons. The fine selection of menu items and specials of the day are all well-thought-out based on prior feedback and are complemented by Chef Isaac's ability and willingness to prepare your favorite dish at a moment's notice. Also, any time you wish to see the full scope of our liquors, just ask for our spirit menu, and everything that is listed will be within easy reach. Again, my sincerest apologies for not fulfilling your expectations. I realize that you were expecting more, and I feel that if the weather was seasonable, your perception of the entire experience might have been a little more sunnier. As always, I place myself at your service for any future need or requirement, GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BretinCalifornia wrote a review Jan 2020
San Francisco, California8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Casa Velas is a special place. I have never stayed away from the beach and was concerned but gave it a try. WOW – we loved it. The grounds are so well kept and beautiful. The food and drinks are the best I have ever experienced at an all-inclusive and I have been to like 30 of them in Mexico and the Caribbean. The room was good with a huge amazing bathroom and a shower with like 6 showerheads!

All the employees seem very happy and give wonderful, attentive service. I read some reviews about slow service and definitely did not experience this at all.

The bottled beer like Bohemia, choice of many good wines by the glass, and absolutely top shelf spirits will please anyone! The food is just over the top. Breakfast at the hotel and lunch at the beach club each day was perfect. The beach club is totally refined hanging out. I swam in the ocean many times. There are loungers on the beach and at the pool for everyone’s taste. And food and drinks at all of them whenever. The tuna sashimi at the beach club was probably the best I have ever tasted – and I live in San Francisco! The transport to/from the beach club was always available within 5 minutes of asking and the drive is about 4 minutes. The grounds and the whole area are VERY VERY safe and controlled well.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant (complete with Mexican live music for the early dinner hours) was great but, as well, we ate one night at Grand Velas (included) at the Italian and it was amazing and well worth trying.

WOW!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 24 Jan 2020
As a team, we are thrilled to have generated in you a feeling of "Wow!" thanks to everything that you encountered on this, your first taste of Casa Velas all-inclusive. As director, I am proud to learn that after your extensive all-inclusive travels throughout Mexico and the Caribbean, you found our food and beverage program to be the "best." And after putting to rest your fear of not precisely residing on the beach, your entire vacation experience went better than expected. Thank you for your firm recommendation of Casa Velas to other upscale travelers. You can be assured that we will be at the ready on your next arrival with a good supply of cold Bohemia and all the tuna sashimi needed to satisfy your newest craving. Until them, we continue to place ourselves at your service for all your luxury needs. Thank you! GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen S wrote a review Sept 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was the week of 8/21-8/282021.
This was my second time coming here on a girls' trip, and as with the first, my visit two weeks ago was nothing short of fantastic. We were spoiled by the amazing staff. Every department went out of their way to make us feel special and as if we were their only guests.
The staff was exceptional. In a day where many hotels are reducing services such as room cleaning and towel changing. Casa Velas makes sure every detail is perfection. Housekeeping staff was great. We always had fresh, clean towels and any concern we had in our room was handled immediately. Alondra, Alejandro, Ricardo, and the rest of the front desk staff were extremely helpful with any questions regarding our stay. Daniel, Cesar, Ulises, and Rocio took great care of us at every meal eaten at Emiliano's. They made us laugh so much during out stay. Benny and Enrique at the Beach Club kept us hydrated and well-fed as we lounged by the pool. Same with Ramon at the Casa Velas pool. The entire staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was the best possible for us.
It's not a large place, but it is a beautiful quiet place. A perfect place to just relax. If you want a change of pace, you can visit their sister site, Velas Vallarta. The restaurant serves the same menu daily, but if you are there for a week, it still gives you a nice variety. We also dined at a few of their other restaurants.
I can't wait to go back again. Maybe next time I'll bring my husband!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The villas are great for groups; two floors, your own plunge pool and deck hot tub.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine Zaragoza, Director General at Casa Velas
Responded 09 Sept 2021
As always, Helen, it is a delight to host you and your close friends. Allow me to say that your visits are becoming more of a tradition, and the staff and I couldn't be more pleased to have your graceful presence beautify our hotel even more. In reading your wonderful comments, it certainly appears that your group has found the perfect niche in which to spend valuable time in the company of each other. While you relax at our pool, beach, bar, or restaurants, it is always comforting to know that conscientious staff attends to your every need. That level of comfort, and even friendship, converts a holiday trip into an all-around fulfilling vacation experience. And your warm words solidify our intentions to make each visit better than the last. Thank you for sharing your appreciation and the satisfaction you felt during your latest reunion. My staff looks forward to continuing to pamper all of you in the future, and you can always be assured that we will remain at your service at all times. GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert J wrote a review Mar 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great. Very friendly staff. Love that it is small and quiet and adult only. Great pool area. Now the negative. Food was terrible so we ate most of our meals off site. Room was very dirty. There was blood on my floor (from previous guest) and after 2 days of room cleaning it was still there so I had to ask the front desk TWICE to have it cleaned. Plunge pool was filthy, I would not go in it. The room was never restocked properly. They always forgot to leave something, water, coffee, cream and sugar, toilet items. The poolside service was terrible. The staff is very friendly but very poorly trained. In my opinion they need all new management. If you look back through the reviews they have been getting some of the same complaints since at least 2014. Worst run resort I have ever been to.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Robert, on behalf of the management and staff of Casa Velas, I send you my sincerest apologies for not having provided you the high level of satisfaction that the vast majority of our guests have experienced over the years. Despite working closely with you during your stay, it is regrettable to note that you left us with a less-than-satisfactory perception of us. You can be assured, however, that we have inspected your suite very meticulously, and will take this experience to prevent a future impression such as this, all for the greater good of our guests. I hope that in the future, you will look back and realize that your trip was an exception to the rule and return to allow us to demonstrate to you the full extent of our capabilities. Sincerely, GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pablo A wrote a review Mar 2020
Edmonton, Canada16 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta, and we couldn’t be happier about our choice of resort, thanks to the recommendation of our good friends Charlotte and Micheal. Casa Velas can be described as Heaven on Earth! The setting is gorgeous, quiet area right beside holes 9 and 10 of Marina Vallarta Golf Club. As an adult only resort, with only 80 rooms or so, this resort is perfect for those looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. The staff will bend backwards to make you feel welcome and pampered, as if you were royalty or a dignitary from a friendly nation, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is amazing and the setting is unreal. Naming a few of those who helped make this a dream brings the risk of forgetting some of them, but we have to acknowledge the Front Desk Team, this whole Concierge team especially Rogelio, José and Miguel; the lunch and breakfast crew including Carolina, Janet, Manuel x 2 (shout out to Manuel G), Jesus, Paúl, Moises and Bryan; the supper team including Vieney, Sarahí, Jose and Aldo; the Ocean Club Staff lead by Eduardo; the pool staff including Freddy and Nahum, the lobby bar staff (thanks Benny!), and all the cleaning and maintenance staff who works tirelessly to ensure that Casa Velas looks and functions flawlessly. This would not be possible without the leadership and guidance from the amazing General Manager Geraldine, who is always there ensuring that guests are completely satisfied with their experience. We would wholeheartedly recommend this resort to anybody who is looking for an amazing, relaxing vacation in an unsurpassed setting where they will be pampered beyond their expectations. This was our first trip but definitely will not be the last!!!! Thank you Casa Velas for an unforgettable holiday and treating us like royalty!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 20 May 2020
Thank you very much, Pablo, for coming to the conclusion that Casa Velas was the perfect fit for your vacation style and making the decision to reserve with us. As always, we are very proud to demonstrate to first-time guests such as yourselves our brand of luxury all-inclusive. Our program incorporates levels of quality and skill, that are not found in a typical all-inclusive setting. Enjoying top-shelf menu selections, accompanied by a fine collection of wine and spirits, makes you feel like you are, indeed, in a 5 Star dining venue. And as you mentioned, being served "as if you were royalty or a dignitary from a friendly nation" is a certain touch that you so truly deserve after a long year of activity. It is also important to mention, Pablo, that during these challenging times, your health and wellbeing are paramount for us. On your next visit to this paradise, you will find that, on top of our stringent cleaning standards, we have incorporated additional, world-class hygiene and disinfection protocols for the protection of our valued guests and staff members. And you can be assured that when the governing agencies decide to open, we will be at the ready, better than ever, to ensure your complete safety when providing you first-class vacation experiences. On behalf of the dedicated young talent that you took the time to highlight, I thank you for traveling all the way from chilly Edmonton, Alberta, to be our guests here in your newly found paradise. We remain at your faithful service, GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pattyNewJersey wrote a review Jan 2020
new jersey13 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned home from Casa Velas. This was my second visit to this resort and I was not as pleased as I was with my first time. Breakfast buffet was below average. The lunch and dinner at the restaurant was average. Dinner at the beach had the view to make up for the average meal. The staff at the pool and beach club very attentive. Spa was nice and Imelda gave me a wonderful massage.
The beauty of this resort was the staff and that has not changed and how quiet and respectful the majority of the guests are. Unfortunately, a young group of people came in for a wedding and partying continue in their rooms till I had to say something.
I may rethink about returning to this property based on food and noise issue.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geraldine_Zaragoza, Gerente at Casa Velas
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Thank you, Patty, for returning to Casa Velas once again and, at the same time, allowing me to extend my apologies for not providing you with the extraordinary culinary fare as we have done in the past. As a progressive boutique hotel, we have the ability to initiate changes to our menus very quickly. We began the year introducing new items into our various menus and were very keen on watching our guest´s reactions. For the most part, many of our menu items were a big hit, but there were a few that we decided to remove altogether based on valuable feedback such as yours. And you can be assured, Patty, that we will always continue to strive to find that pinnacle of perfection, particularly in our culinary program. As for the noise issue, I can assure you that, being 5 Diamond boutique hotel, those issues are few and far between, but on the rare occasion that there is noise in the late hours, we will make a courtesy visit just like we did in that instance. I hope to have the opportunity to meet you in person on a future visit and explain to you, together with my executive chef, all that we have done with our menus and our plans for the future. Until then, we continue to place ourselves at your faithful service. GERALDINE ZARAGOZA HOTEL MANAGER HOTEL CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allan P wrote a review Nov 2022
Santa Monica, California22 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Came to the hotel for accommodations at a nearby wedding we were attending.

The grounds were lush, restaurant service was great, rooms were a little dated, but ok. Solid 4 out 5 star resort on the surface.

On the first night, they only had a double queen room available, despite requesting a king. Not a huge deal, and they moved rooms the next day.

We came for a wedding, and the hotel has an offsite private beach club just a 5 minute shuttle away. We were assured the shuttle ran every 5 minutes between the beach club and hotel, and we planned accordingly to get ready to attend the wedding… or so we thought. Despite asking / requesting the return shuttle thinking it’d be 5 minutes away,… we ended up waiting 25+ minutes for the shuttle, inquiring multiple times, and were absolutely rushed to get ready for the wedding. A stressful situation.

The absolute worst experience was the speed of the pool service. I arrived at the pool at 2pm. Someone didn’t even bring a menu until 2:40pm. No one came back until 3:20pm to take the order. Then at 4:15pm the food (simple ceviche) showed up, along with a drink. A 2+ hour wait for ceviche and a mediocre margarita is ridiculous given the price point for “all inclusive.”

Also, the clientele are incredibly rude with the “first come, first serve” cabanas. Everyone gets up at the crack of dawn and puts personal belongings on the cabanas before going about their day. They then return to the cabanas they “claimed” at 6am. So most of the seating is “unavailable” for a large chunk of the day until the rude guests get around to changing in their swimsuits and meandering down to their cabanas they “claimed” 8+ hours ago. Ridiculous.

The “all inclusive” option was ok, except every little thing you ordered required a receipt for you to sign… basically it was non-stop tipping. It would have been much, much better to just tip on the final, tallied food bill at the end rather than constantly requesting — and then waiting around — for the “check” to come, which was just a $0 bill and a line to bill a tip to the room. Kinda tacky and time consuming.

Overall, 2 stars. I really expected better service — especially at the pool — for this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miguel Peregrina, Director General at Casa Velas
Responded 17 Nov 2022
Allan, our sincerest apologies go out to you for not providing you with the 5-Star vacation experience that we are renowned for. Your comments and observations on our service are quite alarming as that area is consistently one of our strong suits. But you can be assured that I have already reconfigured our pool staffing so that no guest will be left unattended for any unreasonable period. The same goes for our shuttle service. I will employ both of our vans to circulate through Casa Velas, Tau Beach Club, and our sister resort Velas Vallarta, allowing guests who are in a rush to have the ability to plan their travel and preparation times accordingly. Again, my apologies for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. I hope you can return one day and live the true Casa Velas Guest Experience. Until then, sir, we remain at your faithful service for all your future needs and requirements. Thank you, MIGUEL PEREGRINA HOTEL MANAGER CASA VELAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
briang41262 asked a question Apr 2024
Sun City, Arizona114 contributions39 helpful votes
Is it possible to have a romantic-dinner on the beach
briang41262 asked a question Apr 2024
Sun City, Arizona114 contributions39 helpful votes
Hello does this resort have turn dow service at night
Audrey R asked a question Nov 2023
Cochrane, Canada32 contributions5 helpful votes
I was wondering if the hotel has anything special happening Christmas Eve and or Christmas Day.
Answer from Audrey R
Cochrane, Canada32 contributions5 helpful votes
I will answer this question myself. A special Christmas dinner is being offered on the 24th.
Karen M asked a question Oct 2023
Maple Valley, Washington2 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there a room map of Casa velas
Answer from Enrique Sinencio
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico5 contributions
Dear Karen M. Thank you for your interest towards Casa Vela Hotel Boutique; we do have a map and also a virtual tour in our web page. Have a great day !!!
Ryan R wrote a tip 07 Jun
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The flaming coffee at Emiliano’s , ask for it!"
Read full review
Adventure00983749468 wrote a tip 06 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the crowds during high season (Nov-Apr) and book a stay in May or early June"
Read full review
Diane C wrote a tip 01 Jun
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not near on the beach, but has access to the beach club. "
Read full review
Laura C wrote a tip May 2024
Seattle, Washington1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of the hotel spa! "
Read full review
Briana C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk away from the first people you see at the airport. They are going to try to sell a timeshare- NOT help with your transportation."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Vallarta area.
PRICE RANGE
R 10,431 - R 13,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa velas boutique resort, hotel casa velas boutique
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Regent Hotel and Quinta Real
LOCATION
MexicoJaliscoPuerto Vallarta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASA VELAS - All-inclusive Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Puerto Vallarta, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Velas
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Velas?
Nearby attractions include Mexican Fiestas at Velas Vallarta (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Velas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Velas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Velas?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Velas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Velas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mikado, Emiliano Restaurant at Casa Velas Resort, and Andrea Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Velas?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a heated pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Casa Velas have airport transportation?
Yes, Casa Velas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa Velas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Velas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Velas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel Church (4.2 km).
All Puerto Vallarta HotelsPuerto Vallarta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto VallartaHotels near Casa Velas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire