We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 AAA Gallows Point Rd, Cruz Bay 00831 St. John
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (997)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (715)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/07/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gallows Point Resort
Updated 20/07/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Cruz Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Diving
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Snorkelling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
981Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 756
  • 155
  • 44
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nathan L wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms at Gallows Point are pretty good. They have basic kitchen setup and average decor. We were there for a week (April 2021) and three of the nights during our stay, the neighbors came in after the bars had closed and acted like it was the first time they had ever partied. They cranked the tunes and then had to yell over the music to hear each other. Security was called each time and they basically stood outside the door while the drunk neighbors argued with them for 30 minutes. It was ridiculous. They did nothing to enforce their quiet hour rules which meant my family was awake for a couple hours each night from 11:30 to whenever they passed out. The management offered to move us to a new room on our last night there. REALLY, we are the ones you're going to inconvenience and move and not the drunk folks that are causing the trouble. Other than that, I love St John and Cruz Bay and can't wait to return. But we will def stay at a different location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review!
Read more
Linda B wrote a review Jul 2021
Frisco, Texas83 contributions24 helpful votes
Gallow’s Point is a very nice property with spacious units and lots of storage and nice kitchen. Staff there is excellent. They were always very helpful and responsive. The location is very hard to be beat. We felt they could enhance the space with more amenities like a bar and food service at the pool. They have an EXCELLENT restaurant upstairs, so we don’t understand why they could not expand and offer more full service. We were very disappointed in the Concierge. After taking our order for groceries for our room, we felt it was almost non-existent. We requested three different times for help in securing reservations for two of our five nights and nothing. The owner of the boating company we hired for a day tour actually helped us with two restaurants. We actually went in and also called with no response. We would definitely come back but hope they take some of the input to heart to improve an already nice and beautiful resort.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review!
Read more
Christian E wrote a review Jul 2021
Santa Barbara, California67 contributions43 helpful votes
Gallows Point Resort was great for our honeymoon. We did 9 days on St Thomas and 5 on St John, which was a pretty good balance (would probably swap in future). Gallows is located right near Cruz Bay, the biggest 'town' on St John. It is a 5 minute walk into town where you can find restaurants, dive shops, gift shops, ferries to St Thomas, etc. The resort itself was pleasant, though not overly indulgent. The views seem amazing from every room (we had a harbor view and loved the view). The resort is generally uncrowded, we never had trouble fitting in the pool or jacuzzi, no lines at reception, etc. The room was nice and big and comfy, we only wish there was a view from the bedroom instead of just the living area. We definitely appreciated the free laundry machines and beach chair rentals.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms seem great
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us! Congratulations on your nuptials and we hope to see you again!
Read more
Lucy2.5 wrote a review Jul 2021
Denver, Colorado16 contributions14 helpful votes
Wonderful resort! We just spent a few nights here in a harbor view upper unit. View of the ocean and harbor was beautiful. The resort has beautiful grounds, a lovely ocean front pool and great snorkeling! It was really nice to walk into Cruz Bay (5 min) for restaurants and shopping. The condo was furnished nicely and was perfect for our family of 3!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
World_Journal wrote a review Jun 2021
79 contributions69 helpful votes
While the location is amazing, the numerous hidden fees at Gallows Point Resort can turn this from very expensive to cost prohibitive. In addition to resort booking fees and local taxes, there are also 5% credit card processing fees and $100 per day child fees (aka additional person fee after tax). The entire room needs to be paid in-advance at least a month before arrival. This condo resort seems to have been divided between to ownership groups which have agreed to charge the same rates and fees. So you’ll need to checkout two websites to see actual room availability. The ground floor rooms are smaller and cheaper than the second floor rooms. Also, the bay facing units are cheaper than the ocean facing rooms. The bay can be quite noisy with loud ferries and boats coming and going from 6am until midnight. In addition, many of the bay facing rooms look out onto a large grassy area where they host wedding parties so they might not be as private or offer solitude at times. While the resort is a short 7 minute walk from the ferry dock, it was nice that they provided a shuttle when checkin or checking out. There is very limited parking for rental cars and the spaces are quite small. The property location is by far the best on St John. It is so convenient to be able to walk into Cruz Bay for lunch, dinner or activities. The main grocery store still requires a vehicle. The smallish pool over looks the ocean and was rarely crowded. Oddly, the pool water was always very warm so not very refreshing, and the adjacent hot tub was only a few degrees hotter so not very therapeutic. While the pool towels were only available up at the front desk, it was a surprise that they weren’t counting every single towel you take in light of all the other fees they tack on. The pool deck leads down to the ocean deck with stairs into the water. There is a small moored raft offshore to enjoy. One of the best surprises of the resort was the exceptional snorkeling to be found to the right of the ladder along the rocky shoreline and out into Cruz Bay (watch for boat traffic). The visibility, coral health and diverse marine life were better than anywhere else on the island. Over the course of daily snorkeling for a week off Gallows Point, we saw a hawksbill turtle, an octopus, a nurse shark and a reef shark. As the days got sunnier and warmer, the water clarity did decline. You’ll want to bring you mr own reef-friendly sunblock to the island since it is required. If you like a spray, make sure to bring your own reef-friendly spray is no spray sunblock is sold on the island. On the half dozen times we needed something from the front desk, they were pretty unhelpful and really weren’t able to assist with many issues. Similarly, the several contacts with the concierge were not very helpful, or no response or cryptic answers. On the contrary, the housekeeping staff was super friendly and did an excellent job cleaning the condo daily. The grounds staff also did an great job keeping everything clean and the jungle foliage lush. There is an on-site restaurant, but it was either fully booked or closed on weekends for private parties, so don’t count on it unless you reserve well in advance of your stay. There are a few other interesting amenities like a complementary washer and dryer in the common area along with gas grills. There’s also a wandering peacock and plenty of large iguanas to entertain you. Overall, the location, views and amenities are exceptional at Gallows Point “resort”for St John. But, the place feels like it’s operated as a condo association instead of a real resort. The odd fixed price rack room rates and wide array of fees such as a fee to use a credit and a fee for bringing a child seem unnecessary and should be just baked into the full room price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upper Ocean View
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$405 - US$669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gallows point hotel cruz bay, gallows point cruz bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. JohnCruz Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gallows Point Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gallows Point Resort?
Nearby attractions include Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Church (0.1 km), Love City Food Tours (0.5 km), and Island cork (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gallows Point Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gallows Point Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lime Inn, Cruz Bay Landing, and The Beach Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Gallows Point Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (5.3 km) and Catherineberg Ruins (3.0 km).
Does Gallows Point Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.