We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Arena Gorda _ Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$155
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/07/27
Priceline
Booking.comUS$166
ZenHotels.comUS$178
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8464)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (1044)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20/06/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Updated 20/06/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#98 of 197 in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
Spanish
9014Reviews1660Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4 026
  • 2 468
  • 1 344
  • 579
  • 598
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dontaya B wrote a review 13 May
1 contribution
I don’t know where to start. The “junior superior suite” is terrible, basically motel 8 room (and even those are nicer). I asked for an upgrade after seeing these false advertised rooms and all inclusive really isn’t what it’s cracked up to be. I attempted to show them my travel agent card with my IATA INFORMATION FROM MY COMPANY, expressing that I will review them as I have others who wanted to come here. I generally like to give reviews to my clients after I visit. I’ll never recommend this place. I even offered to pay more to be at the amber luxury but was told it’ll be $50 more per day (It really was just about 10-15 more per day online). I am hoping to cancel the rest of my stay tomorrow and book at a different resort. Everyone here seems confused. Hard to find a person who speaks decent English but I expected that. Beds at the grand Punta cana are hard as bricks! no wash clothes, no room service, minibar literally has nothing but 4 sodas and 4 bottles of water. expect to over pay here, especially if you’re using a credit card. Expect to starve as well because the food that is included has time limits to when you can eat. Also should note that there isn’t a standard for cross contamination, as I watched the guy on the grill put fish, chicken, and beef right next to each other as if they don’t understand that they can kill someone who may have a fish allergy. Most meats were undercooked as well. I’m going to be so angry if I can’t leave this place, haven’t even been here a full 24 hours. I’m supposed to stay until Monday, but I prefer home at this point. Will not recommend to my clients, will inform my travel agency to remove them from our affiliated resorts as well as they don’t even honor the IATA anyway. Worst vacation ever especially if I have to be stuck here until the 16th of May. So much money wasted. I’m fed up with this place already.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Client, We regret all the inconveniences caused during your stay in our facilities and that these could have tarnished our image. We inform you that we have already sent your comment to the Hotel, for its due management. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Vanessa wrote a review 10 May
Ontario, Canada23 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The resort is very beautiful. Entertainment team, bartenders, and servers in restaurants are very nice. If you are impatient I would recommend eating at the buffet every night because at the Tequila Mexican restaurant we waited 2 hours for our food. The only problem is that the lobby is staff is very unorganized and unhelpful. We booked well in advanced and requested the rooms to be close together and they were not. When promised that they were going to switch the room the next day, they lied and in fact did not which had members of our party waiting for over 2 hours with no room. As this was happening the check in staff was laughing because apparently it is amusing for them to see their guests unhappy. Manager Manuel is very arrogant and unhelpful. We most likely will not be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Client, We are very sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable with our services. We are pleased that you mentioned the entertainment team, the buffet food, etc. We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay and in this way to demonstrate our commitment to service and customer satisfaction, the hallmark of quality and guarantee of our Bahia Principe family. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Rachel G wrote a review 10 May
Inverness, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had a fantastic time on our family holiday, the place was absolutely spotless... all the staff were fantastic.. from the cleanings to the entertainment staff.. the waitors and gardeners... just everyone was so friendly, looked after us very well. Made some amazing memories.. entertainment staff were brilliant getting us involved in funny games and activities.. especially Stephanie,Roberto and Adrian.. absolutely hilarious people.. who also taught us how to dance, lovely waitress marlean took care of by the pool our whole holiday... keeping up topped up with drinks and making sure we were happy... no once single Complaint about this holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Cliente, It's nice to know that we provided you with a fantastic vacation and that you mention the staff, activities, drinks, etc. Your comments will be passed on to all of them. We look forward to welcoming you soon! Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Keeron P wrote a review 08 May
2 contributions
I regularly travel to punta cana (3 times in the last 6 month) and can honestly stay this is the worst hotel I’ve stayed in. Its absolutely MASSIVE and extremely confusing. So the grounds house 6 hotels and knowing where you can and cant go is a headache even after its been explained. Their is no where to relax, everywhere is completely packed. The beach is shared by all 6 resorts so don't expect any privacy, its just manic. The rooms in the punta cana section are EXTREMELY dated and boring, i did go to a friends room in esmeralda which was a lot better. Having my child with me and no bed was a big problem on arrival and ended up just having a sheet put on the sofa for her. Disgusting when you’re spending 1000’s on a holiday. Do not get a ground floor room unless you want room service from cockroaches. The buffet food is around a 4 out of ten and extremely busy unless you arrive the second they open. expect cold food and limited repeated choice. The only positives i can say about the hotel are the staff and the kids water park. Couldn’t find one bad staff member. This is a Spanish speaking country so don't expect to communicate with people in english, not going to happen. I do speak enough Spanish to get by so wasn’t a problem. Louisa in the lobby is a diamond. So was perla in buffet. Drinks were coming none stop every day. Didn’t wait longer than 4-5 minutes for table service daily. Soon as you’re drink is half empty a staff member would be their with another round. Unfortunately this doesn’t out weigh the general tiredness of the hotel. Entertainment was boring compared to other hotels and due to the sheer size of the place, theirs no personal interaction. I personally would not recommend staying here to anyone, you can get a MUCH better/newer hotel for the same price or cheaper. Ocean blue and sand and ocean el farro are worlds apart from this for the same price. Riu bambu is also better. Save your money or choose a different resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Client, We greatly regret that we did not meet your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your comments, as they are very important to us and show us where we need to pay special attention in order to further improve our services. We are pleased that you mention our staff and the water park. Regarding insects, let us inform you that due to the tropical climate and the lush vegetation surrounding our facilities and, taking into account that we are located in a protected mangrove area, the presence of certain species coming from outside cannot be avoided at all times; however, we do not have insect infestations in the resort. Nevertheless, since the well-being of our guests is our priority, we are very strict with sanitary measures. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Soph wrote a review 05 May
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful location, however mixed feelings. Pool and bar areas are stunning however the general feeling is ruined as the staff in the beach hut choose the music daily and blast out horrendous selections of similar music, ruining the feeling of the area, fancying themselves as resident DJs. If they wished to have a party pool, and a more relaxing atmosphere, music should be slightly less garish and loud, judging by the general people who seem to visit the resort, i wouldnt believe these thoughts were in the minority either. Constant annoying changes of songs depending on what the "DJ" desires that day can be exceedingly jarring. Not entirely sure what atmosphere they're trying to create but its so loud and too much and completely offputting. Food selection at the buffet is generally very good, however this can be sometimes ruined by the general 'pigs at a trough' like nature of the guests. If you're British, please leave your manners and queueing skills at the airport, as you will be barged out the way for louder more demanding guests. Service was mixed, some staff exceedingly pleasant, Ralfy (i think it was) at reception was a lovely helpful man, as were some of the bellboys (wish i could remember their names). Restaurant choices are nice and again quite a variety to choose from. Wish i remembered the name o the lady at the fish station, she was lovely also. The beach is ram packed, so try get there early. The natural beauty of these beaches is stunning. Great choice of alcohol especially for the all inclusive areas. Room was clean, and well air conditioned. one piece of advice, bring bug repellent or buy it at the shops near reception for a hike in price. the lobby areas are teaming with mosquitoes and we were eaten alive during the first few days which can put a dampener on the holiday. Definitely wouldn't refer to this as a four/ five star resort, however for the package deal we had with tui, would deem this great for the price paid and expected.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your comments about your recent stay and the pool area, the beautiful location, etc. Regarding insects, please allow us to inform you that due to the tropical climate and the lush vegetation surrounding our facilities and, taking into account that we are located in a protected mangrove area, the presence of certain species coming from outside cannot be avoided at all times; however, we do not have insect infestations in the resort. Nevertheless, since the well-being of our guests is our priority, we are very strict with sanitary measures. Un cordial saludo, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe punta cana hotel punta cana, punta cana gran bahia principe
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
756
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.9 km), Splash Water Park (1.1 km), and Pacha Discotheque (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.