We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites

Save
Share
Pietermaai 104, Willemstad Curacao
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/27
Snaptravel
US$149
US$110
View deal
SAVE US$39
Hotels.comUS$127
eDreamsUS$149
PricelineUS$149
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1036)
360
Panoramas (4)
Pool & Beach (191)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/08/06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites
Updated 20/08/06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 33 hotels in Willemstad
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Car hire
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snorkelling
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch
1020Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 710
  • 246
  • 46
  • 12
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Olga A wrote a review May 2021
Seattle, Washington16 contributions2 helpful votes
What a great lodge! From the moment I got out of the plane, got into an arranged transfer, checked in, and of course did multiple dives, all was above and beyond! Thank you Daan for showing me your beautiful reef! Thank you to your staff for top of the line meals, and of course, thank you, Dalies for making me feel at home. I highly recommend Scuba Lodge, a place where time just stops. Olga
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay (and your dives!) with us. It makes us happy to know that you would highly recommend us to other travelers; that's a great compliment! We'll make sure to share your kind words with Daan and Dalies.
Read more
Ema_Stefanova wrote a review May 2021
Nice, France617 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
I was attracted by the photos of the colorful buildings and as i am a diver I went for it. Actually you can go scubadiving with them without staying at overpriced rooms. First night my standard room was not ready so I got a superior one which was horrid. With a balcony over the street, broken shutters and drawers, unequipped kitchen (coffee machine but no coffee) etc. Avoid suite 27!!! The girl at the reception didn’t speak any english so it was a lot if gesturing and trying to guess what she wants to say. Luckilly in the next day i got my standard room which was much more quiet and had coffee. The shower was broken though. The restaurant is really nice but you have to book because they take reservations from anyone and often there are no free tables. There was also another lady at the reception who was speaking english. However i would recommend you to stay at some if the boutique hotels on the same street which look more cosy and offer much better prices
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Ema, We are sorry to read that your stay with us didn't live up to your expectations. Our hotel ranks in the top 3 of best-rated hotels on Curaçao for at least five consecutive years now and has many reviews that confirm this. Most of our staff are multilingual and speak English, Spanish, Dutch, and/or Papiamento (the local language on our island.) The reception staff who you mention in your review felt overwhelmed and couldn't find the words to express herself adequately. We will be working with her to avoid similar situations in the future because check-in should be a pleasant and smooth experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Since our hotel was experiencing low occupancy due to the lockdown, we offered you a complimentary upgrade from the standard room that you booked to one of our superior rooms. Our superior rooms are more spacious, are equipped with a kitchenette, and have a private porch or balcony. Since you weren't satisfied with this free upgrade, we moved you to a standard room instead. After reading your review, our staff did a thorough check-up in room #27 and all drawers seem to be working fine. The shutters in all of our rooms can be closed, and we wish our team could have helped you with this during your stay. It is correct that non-hotel guests can go scuba diving with our dive center. Our dive center welcomes everyone who wishes to (learn how to) scuba dive, but as a guest of our hotel, you receive a discount on diving packages and dive courses that non-guests can not make use of! Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, restaurants on the island need to follow certain rules that may limit the number of guests that can be seated. Our restaurant serves both in-house guests and visitors from outside, and under normal circumstances, we usually have seats available for walk-ins. However, due to the current situation, we recommend making reservations, both at our oceanfront restaurant, as well as other restaurants on the island. We're disappointed that you find us overpriced but as one of the best hotels on the island, we feel that our rooms are priced accordingly to the value and amenities that our guests receive. We are located in the popular Pietermaai District, within walking distance to downtown Willemstad and touristic highlight, and we are right at the ocean. We offer two swimming pools exclusively for guests, a cozy city beach with a beach bar, an oceanfront restaurant & bar, a PADI certified dive center, daily housekeeping services, free use of beach towels, and coffee- and tea-making facilities in each room. We always try to do our best to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the moment that they check in with us, but it sounds like we missed the mark during your stay. If you ever return to the island, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again and show you better!
Read more
Michelle wrote a review Mar 2021
Curaçao1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at Scuba Lodge for 5 nights. On our last 4 days, a lockdown was imposed - this still allowed the restaurant/bar to remain open for hotel guests. Also the pool could be used without restrictions. The staff really went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay during the lockdown! We (as well as the other guests) each received a complimentary upgrade to better room categories (since the hotel was not fully booked). We moved from our double room with kitchen to a beautiful and large suite (living room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, large balcony with ocean view). The suite made the round-the-clock stay at the hotel gorgeous and it felt like pure relaxation instead of lockdown. But also for a "normal" stay, the simple double rooms are highly recommended - pretty, simple and everything needed is there. Even without a private balcony, the hotel offers enough places to make yourself comfortable in the beautiful, associated garden. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and varied. In addition to the pool, there is a very small beach section, from which you can get into the sea (over stones, recommended with shoes) - here you can snorkel. A diving school is also there, but we could not try due to the lockdown. The staff is super polite, good-humored, attentive and very helpful. Especially one employee at the reception makes the impression that she likes nothing better than her job and makes you from the first minute in the best mood and vacation mood! The hotel is in a great location. Many sights can be reached on foot. Overall, a hotel where price-performance ratio absolutely fit and which would have deserved more than the three stars.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites
Responded 28 Apr 2021
We can't thank you enough for your kind words and for sharing your recent experience at Scuba Lodge with us, and fellow Tripadvisor users! Reviews like yours help us to continue to meet (and exceed) guest expectations and keep us motivated even in the most challenging times. We would love to welcome you again in the future, once the lockdown has been lifted. If you had such a wonderful time staying with us during the island's lockdown, we are sure that you will have an absolute blast once things are back to normal again! Please know that you are always welcome here. Sunny regards, Team Scuba Lodge
Read more
JM333 wrote a review Mar 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands28 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed in the Ocean view room with fantastic seaview and a big balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast every morning with the sound & view of the ocean. Nice ocean view restaurant and pool. A big thanks to Dalies for her great service and the biggest smile. Nothing was too much trouble to help with all our requests. Great location in Pietermaai close to many nice restaurants and the city. Hotel rooms are split over different iconic Curaçao houses which makes it unique and cozy. We look forward to coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites
Responded 23 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words! It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the ocean views from our hotel are spectacular―these views never get old! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Dalies & Team Scuba Lodge
Read more
Larisa C wrote a review Mar 2021
Bucharest, Romania317 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
Scuba Lodge is a big property in the center of Willemstad, more exactly in the party area of Pietermaai. They have multiple buildings with gorgeous spacious apartments, equipped with all you need and with a great view on both sides,whether you have one facing the ocean, or the colourful buildings on the other side. They also have two pools areas where you can relax, one with a great view to the ocean and a more peaceful one that has also some shadow from the palm trees. My favourite place from Scuba Lodge was their little beach terrace with vintage furniture, palm trees, bougainvillea and dim lights. That place is magical and if you ever go to Curaçao, you most definitely have to stay there and enjoy one of their Sunday’s barbeque parties. The atmosphere is amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$140 - US$219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the scuba hotel willemstad, the scuba lodge and suites
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Nearby attractions include 27 Bar & Terrace (0.2 km), Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Cathedral (0.2 km), and Historic Pietermaai District (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caña Bar & Kitchen, The Wine Cellar, and Roast Cannibal Rumbar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (1.4 km), Fort Amsterdam (1.0 km), and Landhuis Bloemhof (3.3 km).
Does Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.