We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (159)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Kakamas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Kakamas Hotel, surrounded by lush green vineyards, sits nestled in the Orange River valley on the outskirts of Kakamas, Northern Cape. Kakamas Hotel is en route to various popular destinations: Augrabies National Park, the Kalahari, Namibia, Richtersveld and the West Coast. The central location also provides an ideal base from which business and leisure travellers can explore the region’s variety of attractions and activities. The Hotel adds a personal and exclusive interior touch to their 23 air conditioned rooms. Two self catering units on the premises are available if that will meet your preferable requirements. In all the rooms, Kakamas Hotel, provides linen, towels, bar fridge, complimentary amenities and a coffee and tea making station. Kakamas Hotel as an establishment is a WiFi hotspot. The hotel bouquet DTSV channels are available in all the rooms. A Buffet style breakfast can be enjoyed in the restaurant or on the patio around the pool. All the rooms are non-smoking, but easy access to the patio if required. The Hotel reception is open 24/7. The Vergelegen Restaurant which is on site subtly compliments the oasis-like hospitality of the Northern Cape town of Kakamas. On the premises you can dine in our highly rated and intimate a la carte restaurant. Dine at the fireplace or enjoy a sundowner or meal outside on the patio. A feast of cuisine to excite everybody’s taste buds. Vergelegen Restaurant is fully licensed. The restaurant’s interior décor and design is a personal expression of the creative minds of the owners. Simplicity, effectiveness and subtle style statements combine beautifully to keep the eye wandering and the mind at ease. Business and leisure travellers alike will feel comfortable and indulged. In fact, many guests decide to stay another night after an exceptional dining experience in this unique space. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 30 people and are perfectly suited for private meetings and promotions. Catering for all occasions, venues and functions available on request. Bar available on premises. Kakamas Hotel and the Vergelegen Restaurant offer an ideal destination for weddings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

N 14 Route, Kakamas 8870 South Africa
Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
241Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 82
  • 14
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nikki wrote a review 08 Apr
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
+1
We stayed over Easter weekend, it was peaceful and clean. Friendly staff lovely pool to cool off in after a hot day at Agrabie Falls 🌞the units were nice and big, super comfy beds and the food was great. Walking into the airconed room after a long hot day of sightseeing was so nice. Will definitely recommend Kakamas Hotel. Thanks for a awesome stay⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for kind review. We hope to welcome you back one day. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Andrew
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HannelieKotze wrote a review Oct 2023
Pretoria, South Africa3 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
Their service was very good from when I started booking the rooms to when we left the hotel after our stay. It is a good and comfortable stop over on your way to Cape Town or Namibia. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Good day Thank you so much for the great review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you. Safe travels Jacques and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
egeyer220163 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Nice room and clean rooms and facilities. Friendly staff. Is out side of town so it is safe and quiet. i would like to stay there again in the future. thank you for the good service and food. I would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Good day Thank you for the kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you at kakamas Hotel. Safe travels Jacques and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
riddlesmarry wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I would like to share my honest experience with you. I booked four rooms and in the future I would like the Hotel staff to book the rooms in sequence not split the rooms. The breakfast can change as well as the Christmas dinner. I have been to a few hotels and the breakfast is a bit not up to standard as well as the Christmas dinner. It is a beautiful Hotel but the staff take these as well as supervisors for granted. Staff is not so competent when attending to these as well as defects in rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 03 Jan 2024
Good day Marry Thank you for your review. Safe travels Jacques and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
guardwhite wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
We stayed one night in the family self catering suite as we were travelling to Augrabies. The suite was excellent - spacious and beautifully furnished. We didn't dine in the restraunt, but breakfast was nice. Overall, excellent value and recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 06 Aug 2023
Good day Thank you for the 5 dots. We are glad that we met your expectations and it was a pleasure to host you. Safe travels Jacques and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fransE3460II wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
For a hotel that closes its doors at 21h00 and only opens after 08h00 in morning it just reminds me of what the new S.A. is all about. There is no night staff on duty. All staff, including the kitchen staff only reports on duty at 08h00 in the morning, when the gates are opened. If you are a person that needs to rise up urly to get going and wanting a proper breakfast this hotel is not for you. Only if you got time on your hands. The rooms are good but the first impressions of rest of the hotel are of a laid back, no star hotel somewhere in the boen does not close to civilization. The information that you get from the staff as you arrive upon their closing time is of no existence. This hotel does not have backup generators to overcome loadshedding and if you are a person, like me that sleeps with an oxygen machine, hope that there is no loadshedding during the nights that you will be spending there. I will never again over night in this hotel. However, I don't believe that my review will not see the review list, but that is okay, because word of mouth will have a beter effect than this review.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 27 Jul 2023
Good day Thank you for your review, however, I think you left a review on the wrong business. My Hotel does not close its doors at 21:00, we close at midnight (and this is only the restaurant, the reception is open 24/7). We have a 254kw generator that automatically starts once the power goes off. I have a night auditor that is at reception from 21:00 until 06:00. Breakfast is served from 06:00am and if one needs to leave before that time, breakfast packs are prepared by the night auditor. I also do not have record of your stay at Kakamas Hotel. I truly hope that you will stay at Kakamas Hotel at some point so you can see how a true world class Hotel operates. Kind regards and safe travels Jacques GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
averbe382255 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
We had an excellent stay for two nights as a family in a three-bedroom unit. The restaurant is very good. The unit is next to the kitchen, and it was very noisy late at night and early morning with staff coming and going. There is traffic noise from the main road as well. The blinds in the one bedroom overlooking the service passage and main entrance parking area was broken and could not be closed. The second bathroom has no openable window for ventilation. It is uncomfortable and does not comply with building regulations. The HVAC in the 3rd bedroom was not in a working condition. We wanted to braai the second night and although the staff was very friendly and brought the gas bottle, the burners did not ignite. It needs a good service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 13 Jul 2023
Good day Thank you for your valued review. It with reviews like these that we know where to improve and where to keep going strong. Thank you for bringing the issues to my attention. I am busy working to resolve said issues and look forward welcoming you back so you can see the changes made. Safe travels Jacques and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bridget wrote a review Jul 2023
Mpumalanga, South Africa8 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed overnight and were made to feel welcome from the start. Staff were friendly, helpful and our dinner was delicious. Rooms were ready for us and comfortable. Nice to be able to park cars nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 06 Jul 2023
Good day Thank you for the 5 dots. It was an absolute pleasure to host you. We always strive to make people feel welcome and at home.. Safe travels Jacques and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alberto Gete wrote a review Jul 2023
29 contributions34 helpful votes
After a long road trip from Johannesburg it was delightful to find such a wonderful and quiet place to rest and eat. The rooms are very big, they have a huge TV, a small fridge and a comfortable king size bed and an enormous bathroom. The food is amazing and all the recommendations given by the restaurant staff were delicious. The location is also very convenient if you want to make some tourism as well, close to the Orange River and Augbries Falls National Park. I strongly recommend it and I will come back again on my next trip to this area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 04 Jul 2023
Good day Thank you for your 5 dots and your positive review. We truly try and go our of our way to make the long road more bearable for travelers. You have truly experienced the unique and friendly community of the Northern Cape. Safe travels Jacques and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris V wrote a review Jun 2023
Cape Town, South Africa10 contributions
The hotel is neat, the rooms are very comfortable, staff were friendly and the meals in the restaurant were very good. A nice overnight if you are heading north from CT or if you want to explore the falls, Riemvasmaak or the Orange River wine route
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Kakamas Hotel Team, General Manager at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 24 Jun 2023
Good Morning Thank you so much for the kind review. We pride ourselves on the best quality ingredients (locally sourced) and best prepared food. Our staff go though rigorous training to only provide the best service to our guests and tired travelers. I am glad my waiters made you laugh after your long trip from CT and that you especially enjoyed our home made cheesecake. Safe travels and see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kakamas area.
PRICE RANGE
R 786 - R 1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeKakamas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAKAMAS HOTEL BY COUNTRY HOTELS - Now R 1 092 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶3̶5̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels
What are some of the property amenities at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vergelegen Restaurant, Rose Café, and Die Pienk Padstal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Kakamas Hotel by Country Hotels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.