Mermaid Guest House

Mermaid Guest House

Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 6 guest houses in Struisbaai
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our guesthouse is situated in the picturesque town of Struisbaai, almost at the tip of Africa. Close to Cape Agulhas, the most southern town of Africa and the place where the Atlantic and Indian Ocean meet! Mermaid Guest House offers single, double, twin and family accommodation in Stuisbaai and is fully equipped with every necessary amenity, facilities and services to make your stay at our guesthouse an unforgettable experience. We are located close to all amenities and walking distance to the main swimming beach (14km of sandy beach).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

8 Protea Road, Struisbaai 7285 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Cape Town Intl Airport
162.3 km
See all flights
159Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 52
  • 8
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alan A wrote a review Feb 2020
St. Augustine, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The guest house is located within walking distance of the beach and some restaurants. Shops and supermarket
Nearby. We stayed upstairs in room 1, a standard room, nice size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small
And basic with a sliding door. The stairs are steep with narrow treads. You have to be careful, not suitable for elderly.
There are rooms on the ground floor. Very small pool with minimal seating. The breakfast was very good with a wide
Choice of cold and hot food cooked to order. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Worth a stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leonard H wrote a review Apr 2022
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The establishment the management and personnel of this B and B in Struis Baai are amongst the top we have ever stayed at both here and abroad. The accommodation and lay out is fantastic except, for the stairs but those are the only challenge encountered but if too much one can always stay downstairs.
One probably needs the exercise after the most thoughtful wonderful breakfast that covers every taste whim and religion that one could imagine.
The facilities available cover all needs the little library informative information about the area and childrens play area are a bonus. The indoor braai area is also available as well as a splash pool and deck.
The staff and management are polite and friendly and even go the extra mile helping us with a flat tire we picjed up on our travels. The position is excellent close to shops and with short walking distance of the harbour as well as a few very good well priced restaraunts like Michael Collins Irish Pub and Old Cape last Trading post where we got a free lesson in Gin Infusing from the owner all added to a memorable trip.
Lastly as am running out of space the mini bar in the room is stacked with food and drink that would satisfy the masses. The breakfasts as mentioned have all varieties diets and needs.
Lastly Mimi and Tertia Thank You and your staff for a 5 star stay and definitely our group will return.
Highly highly recommended by a seasoned traveller both here and abroad
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gilliancheese1 wrote a review Feb 2022
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable with air conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Fantastic breakfast with great choice of food, they made special effort to provide some gluten free options for my husband. They even provided beach towels on request. Great location witin easy walking distance to the beach, harbour, shops and restaurants and a short 10 min drive to L'Agulhas. Would definitely recommend a stay here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stephenie2021 wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The host was amazing. We did the Cape Agulhas Classis trail run, and slept over for one night. The morning with the run we came back late - just after 10 and the host still gave is breakfast and allowed us to clean up before we left. Staff is very friendly and helpful! Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny G wrote a review Jan 2023
Thetford, England, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were only at this fabulous place for one night, but from the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a very friendly and hospitable receptionist. The guesthouse and room is aesthetically appealing and the breakfast was delicious. The guesthouse is perfectly situated for sightseeing. I would definitely stay there again and fell in love with Struisbaai
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HilaryM wrote a review Feb 2020
Redhill, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely friendly guesthouse in Struisbaai, close to the harbour and beach, and a short drive from Cape Agulhus. The staff are all very friendly, the rooms are clean and all have a nautical theme.
Breakfast is served in a pleasant dining room.
No frills but very good value,.
All in all a great place to stay at the southern tip of Africa
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tertia Castelyn, General Manager at Mermaid Guest House
Responded 06 Mar 2020
Mermaid staff thank you for your kind review. We strive to give a friendly good service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roosth558226 wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Expected more for what we paid. Room felt small and cramped, TV was wall mounted at a strange angle, the satellite stations froze up constantly, WiFi password did not work, bed was uncomfortable and the walls are thin and not soundproof (not private, we could hear guests in next room having a shower). The breakfast was great thou.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tertia Castelyn, General Manager at Mermaid Guest House
Responded 08 Aug 2021
Good day, We do apologise for your bad experience. Please take note that we have different sise rooms at the guesthouse. Upon booking you can choose your own bedroom and the pricing differ. If your room was too cramped we could of moved you to a different room, unfortunately you did not ask the lady on duty. It is always best to discuss problems so we can solve them for you. Regarding the wifi we have 2 boosters in the guesthouse but you need to connect to them with the same password. Recently July and early August we had various storms in Struisbaai and with the strong winds we had problems with the satellite dish and this was unfortunately out of our hands. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hannahbruce2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
3 of us stayed in the accessible suite as I need rails and a shower seat in the bathroom. It was absolutely perfect for all of us and so easy to book even from the UK. If we ever want to stay in Struisbaii again I will be booking this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ndittr377776 wrote a review Mar 2022
Leutkirch im Allgau, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at the Mermaid Guest House. Our room was on the ground floor, very spacious and perfectly for a family. Everything was clean, with a full fridge and a perfect working WIFI.
Breakfast was great with a buffet and the egg dish you were able to order. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful beaches, sights and restaurants are close by. We can definitely recommend the Mermaid Guest House for a stay at Struisbaai.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ohauge973334 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The service was nice and felt very welcome when we arrived. The room was nice and contained everything that we needed for our one night stay. The location was good and we got a room with seaview. Nice breakfast served by the hostess. We also had a for us informative chat over local things to see and do and other informaton. If beeing in this area we would visit this place again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tertia Castelyn, General Manager at Mermaid Guest House
Responded 06 Mar 2020
Thank you kindly for your review! We hope you will visit us soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Matthew T wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The 2 bed apartment is perfect for a family. Ground floor. Near dining room. "
Read full review
Zwaga wrote a tip Jun 2018
Alkmaar, The Netherlands68 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Families: family room at Ground floor is good, for single or two persons stay: room upstairs probably less noisy."
Read full review
Steve G wrote a tip Mar 2018
Christchurch, United Kingdom2 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"upper rooms have a sea view"
Read full review
nad001 wrote a tip Feb 2017
Springs, South Africa15 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I recommend taking some warmer clothing even if travelling in summer . Struisbaai can be very windy and therefore chilly at times."
Read full review
37cathy wrote a tip Feb 2017
Durbanville, South Africa11 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just ask for a room with a view , they have a few - they are very accommodating."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Struisbaai area.
PRICE RANGE
R 853 - R 1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictCape AgulhasStruisbaai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERMAID GUEST HOUSE - Now R 872 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶0̶5̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Struisbaai, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mermaid Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Mermaid Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Cape Agulhas - Southernmost Tip of Africa (5.7 km), Cape Agulhas Lighthouse (4.7 km), and Agulhas National Park (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mermaid Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mermaid Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mermaid Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mermaid Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mermaid Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Suidpunt Potpourri, Gavin's Trattoria, and Zuidste Kaap Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mermaid Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mermaid Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Mermaid Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mermaid Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Struisbaai.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mermaid Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire