We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Hills Forest Lodge

15 National Road, The Crags, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 5 lodges in The Crags
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Green Hills Forest Lodge is self-catering accommodation set on 12 hectares of indigenous forest with lovely views and wild deer that roam freely. An idyllic location in The Crags, the heart of the Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Of particular interest to Birders will be the serenity and active bird life of the forest. The Crags is a beautiful rural area of Plettenberg Bay with budding wine farms, animal sanctuaries and an array of activities for all tastes. Perfectly located and still close enough to kilometers of the golden, sandy beaches of Nature’s Valley, Keurbooms and Plettenberg Bay! After changing hands in May 2017 the new owners Alistair and Sue together with their sons, set about renovating, upgrading and refurbishing the Units. The Lodge then re-opened in September of 2017. There are four loft styled units fully equipped with a kitchenette. Free WiFi is available in all these Units plus Netflix streaming facility. Each unit also has its own outside barbecue area with fire-pit. Or if you prefer to soak up the stars at night in your own private Jacuzzi / Hot Tub and bubble your aches away then Unit 4 - which is the only unit with this facility - is a must!! The latest addition is Unit 5 - The Cottage. This is a quaint and cosy two bedroomed cottage, full of charm and character. Part of it was the original building erected on Green Hills almost a hundred years ago and the main bedroom was once a stable. The Cottage is fully equipped with a kitchenette and is a pet friendly unit with it's own fenced garden. Dogs of all shapes and sizes plus their parents are more than welcome!!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
80Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 17
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
chrisG4556VH wrote a review Jan 2024
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
Stayed for 3 nights which could easily have been 4 as the area is so beautiful. Its a quiet place straight off the highway and within easy distance of storms river and natures valley. As there were 4 of us and the unit was for 3 they made a plan with a mattress. The place was great, and the hot tub was epic after a day travelling. One star off because the kitchen unit needs more fridge and freezer space and the stairs were quite steep within the unit, otherwise it was cool. Would recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
QuatermainsCamp wrote a review Sept 2023
Port Elizabeth, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My family and I were looking for a comfortable and cosy spot to spend a few days, close to Plettenberg Bay. We love this area (The Crags), as it is surrounded by beautiful countryside, rather than being in the town of Plettenberg Bay itself. Green Hills Forest Lodge certainly did not disappoint. From the spotlessly clean and comfortable accommodation, to the beautiful setting and view, to the delightful jacquzi, the stay was faultless. Our kids loved the opportunity to kick a ball around in the large open setting with a great lawn, and also the large flat screen TV! I loved seeing the Fallow Deer stag, and the comfy bed. Considering the N2 highway is fairly close by (a huge convenience for exploring the area), you can hardly hear it from the venue, especially when inside. Sue, the owner was very welcoming and helpful. I would recommend anyone to stay at Green Hills, and hopefully we may be back again sometime.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cradem588435 wrote a review Mar 2023
Port Elizabeth, South Africa1 contribution
A lovely setting. Beautifull host in a beautifull lodge set amongst beautifull green hills.True to its' name.This is truelly a gem off the N2 a place where a short stay leaves you refreshed but sad when you realize you have to leave.If ever you want elegance amongst the greens visit Green Hills Lodge.I am definitely going back.Thank you Sue and family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Thank you so much for such an awesome review and for sharing your experience it certainly means a lot to know that you relaxed and enjoyed yourselves - looking forward to your return visit!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sunshine25077501965 wrote a review Mar 2023
South Africa1 contribution
We really enjoyed our stay. Sue has everything nicely under control, the facilities were very clean, everything you need is there and working. From a price point, definitely worth it! Centrally located among many activities in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Thank you so much for such a super review and love the photo of "Simba" sporting his rasta hairdo - fortunately he has since lost all the twine that was wrapped around his antlers so hoping that he doesn't do anything like that again :) :) :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
enverdekoker wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Very clean cottage, everything you need is available. Jacuzzi was a real treat, Felt safe and secure at all times. Owner was friendly and extremely helpful, no complaints at all. Our family loved the place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2023
Thank you for the review and happy that you and your family enjoyed yourselves.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kwskidm0re wrote a review Jan 2023
East London, South Africa1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at Green Hills Forest Lodge over the Christmas period 2022! We can highly recommend Green Hills Forest Lodge accommodation. Sue and her family were amazing and saw to all our needs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2023
It was a pleasure having your whole family stay at Green Hills over Christmas and thank you for taking the time to review sharing your experience!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nicolaashenning wrote a review Sept 2022
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our quick stay at Green Hills Forest Lodge. The service was excellent right from the start. It is such a nice farm setting in the forest with birds singing all around. All of the rooms were clean and neat. Thank you for your hospitality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for sharing your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Getaway513070 wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
We enjoyed the stay in the exclusive and cosy cottage very much. Sue was very friendly and gave us a lot of information on things to do. The cottage has a tasty interior and is very spacious and clean. We would love to come again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2023
Thank you for such a lovely review and very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in The Cottage - we would look forward to seeing you again!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eldineenieman wrote a review Apr 2022
George, South Africa1 contribution
The property is right next to the N2 - we struggled to sleep with the noise of travelling cars. We also struggled with the basic kitchen equipment supplied - there was no steak dinner knives available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 01 May 2022
Thank you for the review and for returning our WiFi connector - it is much appreciated! As shown on the map on our website and on google maps we are located with our entrance directly off the N2 and on the whole most people find this convenient - in The Garden Route the N2 winds it way through all the little towns in this manner from The Crags all the way down to George. With regards to the kitchen being basic. Kitchens feature full-size appliances like a stove etc. whilst kitchenettes mostly include a few small essentials - all our units are described as being equipped with a kitchenette featuring a microwave, mini-oven, fridge and kettle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
coetzeeveronica wrote a review Apr 2022
Knysna, South Africa1 contribution
Very nice and clean lodge..a nice break away from the rush The Deers are awesome but the best topic is the nice warm Jacuzzi..just maybe a suggestion is to place hooks for swimming towels and maybe a cover to close the lapa roof..for rainy days..Sue and Dean was very friendly and help full
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Thank you for the review and happy to know that you all enjoyed your weekend. We also took your suggestion on board and have installed towel hooks at the jacuzzi - look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the The Crags area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,147 - R 1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg BayThe Crags
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREEN HILLS FOREST LODGE - Now R 956 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶1̶0̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (The Crags, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Green Hills Forest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lawnwood Snake Sanctuary (2.1 km), Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre (2.1 km), and Birds of Eden (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peppermill Cafe, Bramon Boutique Wine Estate, and Thyme and Again Farm Stall, Bakery, Coffee Shop.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (12.2 km) and Van Plettenberg Beacon (12.2 km).