We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Hills Forest Lodge

Save
Share
Farm 15, The Crags, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$61
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$61
Booking.comUS$63
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (29)
View from Room (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 15 Speciality lodging in The Crags
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Green Hills Forest Lodge is self-catering accommodation set on 12 hectares of indigenous forest with lovely views and wild deer that roam freely. An idyllic location in The Crags, the heart of the Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Of particular interest to Birders will be the serenity and active bird life of the forest. The Crags is a beautiful rural area of Plettenberg Bay with budding wine farms, animal sanctuaries and an array of activities for all tastes. Perfectly located and still close enough to kilometers of the golden, sandy beaches of Nature’s Valley, Keurbooms and Plettenberg Bay! After changing hands in May 2017 the new owners Alistair and Sue together with their sons, set about renovating, upgrading and refurbishing the Units. The Lodge then re-opened in September of 2017. There are four loft styled units fully equipped with a kitchenette. Free WiFi is available in all these Units plus Netflix streaming facility. Each unit also has its own outside barbecue area with fire-pit. Or if you prefer to soak up the stars at night in your own private Jacuzzi / Hot Tub and bubble your aches away then Unit 4 - which is the only unit with this facility - is a must!! The latest addition is Unit 5 - The Cottage. This is a quaint and cosy two bedroomed cottage, full of charm and character. Part of it was the original building erected on Green Hills almost a hundred years ago and the main bedroom was once a stable. The Cottage is fully equipped with a kitchenette and is a pet friendly unit with it's own fenced garden. Dogs of all shapes and sizes plus their parents are more than welcome!!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
63Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kyriakosmenezes wrote a review Yesterday
Uitenhage, South Africa1 contribution
Was one of the most relaxing accommodations we have ever stayed at. i have already recommended family and friends to stay at the lodge. The only part that was bit confusing was that a person could not see a sign to show where the lodge is from the roadside. otherwise it was brilliant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jandrell2021 wrote a review Jul 2021
Mohales Hoek, Lesotho1 contribution
Lovely Setting, Given our privacy. Rooms compact but well thought out. When given the choice of having our rooms serviced, our cleaning lady Olivia was delightful. We will be back same time next year , unanimous family vote. Would help to clean overgrowth around the sign on the N2. We missed it first time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 18 Jul 2021
I would just like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and appreciate you sharing the experience of your stay. Thank you for your kind words and special mention of Olivia - we all look forward to your return visit with the whole family again next year!!
Read more
kborai436662 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
A ramshackle collection of rooms and a so called cottage. The loft rooms are not ventilated as per a proper building code and there are no windows in the loft area to allow air circulation. You sleep in recycled air that you are breathing. The cottage has too few plug points with of which three did not work. Toilet cistern leaks. The cottage also does not have builders air vents in the walls. This property is located right next to the N2 with continuous traffic noise. You will struggle to find the property entrance from N2.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 07 Jul 2021
I cannot help but feel extremely disappointed and insulted - arriere-pensee? You refer to the loft rooms as not being properly ventilated as per proper building code and that there are no windows in the loft area - this is incorrect. There is a sliding aluminum window above the picture window. Furthermore there is another sliding window with a mosquito screen above the sliding door plus an extractor fan in the bathroom. Your reference to no air bricks in the walls. According to the (SABS 0400) The National Building Regulations, air bricks are not compulsory but may, be desirable in hot humid climates - fortunately we do not suffer from this type of climate. Air bricks were used many many years ago in very old houses - new builds in this day and age do not have air bricks and as mentioned previously they may be desirable but are not compulsory. With regards to the plug points there was only one that did not work and when you mentioned that there were too few plug points for your needs we responded immediately with two extension leads. You also mentioned the toilet cistern leaks - having checked it, if the handle is pushed down very hard on a flush it may not bounce back up again on it's own, resulting in a continual flush into the bowl - this was a very quick adjustment which I would of gladly done whilst you were still here had it been mentioned. Yes, we are located with our entrance directly off the N2 and on the whole most people find this convenient as they do not have to traverse dirt roads - in The Garden Route the N2 winds it way through all the little towns in this manner from The Crags all the way down to George.
Read more
T7960ZJjan wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We had a wonderful time at the Lodge and was spoilt with the early morning visit of the deer. We enjoyed the quiet space and serenity of the surroundings. It is close to the places we wanted to visit and we received great recomendation from Sue about nearby Restaurants and other interesting venues.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 13 May 2021
Thank you for reviewing your stay and sharing your experience with other prospective guests.
Read more
LeanneARNOLD wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
Wonderful peaceful place, the jacuzzi was amazing! Very relaxing, clean rooms, everything you need for a getway. Sue and Dean are great hosts. Highly recommended. We will be staying ath the pet-friendly unit next.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Van Wyk, Owner at Green Hills Forest Lodge
Responded 07 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and sharing your experience with others!! Happy that you all relaxed and enjoyed yourselves and we certainly look forward to your return visit to our pet-friendly cottage together with your fur-kids.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg BayThe Crags
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Green Hills Forest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lawnwood Snake Sanctuary (2.1 km), Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre (2.1 km), and Birds of Eden (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peppermill Cafe, Bramon Boutique Wine Estate, and Ristorante Enrico.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Hills Forest Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (12.2 km) and Van Plettenberg Beacon (12.2 km).