Colesview Guest House

Colesview Guest House

Colesview Guest House
Traveller (27)
Room
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 29 guest houses in Colesberg
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Colesview Guest House their guest house of choice when visiting Colesberg. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a refrigerator, air conditioning, and a desk, and you can stay connected during your stay as Colesview Guest House offers guests free wifi.

Plus, Colesview Guest House offers a pool and breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you like barbeque restaurants, Colesview Guest House is conveniently located near Shadow Canyon Spur Steak Ranch.

Should time allow, Colesberg-Kemper Museum is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Colesview Guest House as you experience all of the things Colesberg has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Golf course
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

37 Torenberg Street, Colesberg 9795 South Africa
67Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 19
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BWM55 wrote a review Oct 2021
Durbanville, South Africa193 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A pleasantly appointed guest house close to the N1 with restaurants wintin 1 km of residence.

The room was well appointed and came with crockery and cutlery allowing one to self cater to an extent. There is a microwave and kettle but no other cooking facilities. A few restaurants do deliver and the venue has a list of recommended restaurants to use. The data provided to us on arrival was very good.

Parking is very safe in a lock up garage on the premises, behind security fencing.

The continental breakfast was in fact already in the room upon arrival. There was yoghurt, fruit juices, milk, bread and butter, 2 muffins in the small fridge. On the cupboard was tea and coffee as well as 2 containers of breakfast cereal.

The bed was very comfortable and the en-suite bathroom well appointed with the necessary toiletries.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim T wrote a review Sept 2021
14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely friendly people who always make us feel at home, comfortable and clean accommodation with nice bathroom and shower. There is a lockup garage for each car and a swimming pool for your use.
They even provide a deep freeze if you need to store meat overnight.
We have stayed many times and will do so again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bruceh442 wrote a review Sept 2023
East London, South Africa26 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re travelling from Cape Town to Johannesburg or visa versa’ & you want to break your journey then look no further than Colesview Guest House. Everything about this place is amazing. Rooms are superb with excellent beds for a good nights sleep & the continental breakfast is more than expected. The recommendation for Die Platterlander restaurant was also a good choice. Excellent lamb shank & Creme Brûlée with attentive staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jose r wrote a review Jun 2022
Hermanus, South Africa28 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff friendly, comfortable bed, clean & competitive pricing.

We have stayed a few times in Colesberg and this was definitely the best guest house. Very welcomed by the person who met us,friendly and very helpful. Will be back in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neale P wrote a review Nov 2023
Knysna, South Africa24 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a wonderful room with all I could ask for, so much so that I booked again for my return trip. Sherry nightcap was great and so was a wonderful continental breakfast in the room. Very peaceful and the car was secure in its own locked garage.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just enjoy your stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roy L wrote a review Feb 2020
Saint Francis Bay, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent accommodation with all amenites for ones use. Highly recommended for one night sleep over. Close to restaurants. Well positioned. Thanks to friendly staff for making stay comfortable. Will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CazMazetti wrote a review Mar 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst the accommodation itself is very comfortable - clean linen and necessities provided for, the hosts sharing their views about sectors of the South African population including immigrant populations, which was so blatantly prejudiced, ill-informed and offensive, turned our stay quite sour. We were shocked to find South Africans who still thought and spoke that way, especially within the hospitality business where it is extremely inappropriate and unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan K wrote a review Feb 2011
Madrid, Spain56 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here while traveling from Jo'burg to Knysna. It was terrific. We pulled up to the gate, and called the number on the wall. Within two minutes, one of the owners had come out, opened up the gate, and welcomed us in. Our room was large and comfortable, with many channels on the TV, good air conditioning, and a nice big bathroom with a very comfortable shower. The beds were great. There was a nice little pool. Breakfast was excellent. We felt very safe here, and very happy. If we had not had plans, we would have stayed here longer, it was so nice. The owners had prepared a wonderful little compendium, listing the various restaurants and historical events of the area. Oh, and they even had a little decanter of port in the room. And the price? Far less than the competitors in town. All around, this is a great place.

www.riderbymyside.com
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
payeasy wrote a review Sept 2015
Hermanus, South Africa13 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No hot water for a shower after a long trip,had to freshen up from the basin.
Owners too talkative over breakfast towards us,we just wanted to get going to reach our destination
T.V not working.
Won't stay there again.
Should have stayed at the Corniston wich we did on our return trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colesview, Owner at Colesview Guest House
Responded 16 Sept 2015
Dear Payeasy.We are really sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us and I wish that you had alerted us at the time to the fact that you had no hot water in the shower and couldn't get the TV to work , so that we could have sorted it out for you at any hour of the day or night.We pride ourselves on making our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and hate the thought that you were unhappy with your stay.We cannot understand how there could be hot water in the basin,but not in the shower as they work off the same geyser,but we know that guests sometimes find the mixer taps confusing and turn them in the wrong direction.We have had no defective TV's in the rooms,but they are on a network and sometimes need a reboot after power outages before you receive the DSTV channels - we could have done it for you with pleasure!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandi P wrote a review Jan 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa18 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a very disappointing experience. I found the owners to be most unaccommodating.We stopped en-route to the Western Cape. Due to heavy traffic at that time of the year (December) and a major crash on the highway we arrived late and despite having paid in full for the accommodation, were not granted access that night. We had breakfast there the next morning and found the food to be very mediocre.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colesview, Owner at Colesview Guest House
Responded 02 Dec 2017
Whilst we appreciate your point of view,we feel that it is only fair to point out that we make it quite clear on all our advertising,as well as on all correspondence confirming the reservation,that our reception closes at 9.00pm.On contacting you on the day of your arrival,we learnt that you were only intending leaving Gauteng late afternoon.With a 600-700km trip ahead of you,during peak holiday traffic (whether there was a crash on the N1 or not),you surely realised that there was no way you would get to Colesberg before the reception closed at 9.00pm.We kept in contact with you,but when it was apparent that you would get to Colesberg very late,we had to decline the booking.Owing to the security situation,we are not comfortable leaving rooms or gates open for late arrivals.It is a security risk,as well as a disruption for all the other guests who arrive timeously.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colesberg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 869 - R 925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeColesberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COLESVIEW GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Colesberg, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Colesview Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Colesview Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Colesberg-Kemper Museum (1.4 km) and All Things at Just Because Gifts (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Colesview Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Colesview Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Colesview Guest House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Colesview Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colesview Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Die Plattelander, Inni Kraal Restaurant, and Bordeaux.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Colesview Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Colesview Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Colesberg.