We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arum Hill Lodge B&B

Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (1)
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Arum Hill Lodge B&B, situated on 7 hectares of property, is an exclusive B&B offering luxury accommodation in the heart of the Midlands. If you are heading towards the Natal South Coast, Arum Hill Lodge B&B is the ideal mid-way stop over as we are only 4 1/2 hour's drive from Johannesburg, just off the N3 highway. Our accommodation consists of 2 Luxury King Rooms, 3 Superior Queen Rooms and a fully equipped Self-Catering Cottage. All units have under floor heating, electric blankets, natural down duvets, towel warmers, en-suite bathroom, TV (DSTV) and patios with stunning views of the Midlands. The Main House has a communal kitchen, lounge and 12 - 14 seater dining area with a log fire place, billiards table, TV (DSTV) and DVD player with surround sound. Breakfast is served daily in the Main House. It has a large patio overlooking our black bass dams where you can relax and enjoy the breath taking views of the Midlands. Braai Facilities are available on the patio of the Main House. All attractions of the Midlands Meander and Nottingham Road are within close proximity to Arum Hill Lodge. Many of the top wedding and conference venues are situated in the area and the prestigious Michaelhouse School is only 2km away. Being in a peaceful and secure environment, Arum Hill Lodge is ideal for anyone who needs a relaxing weekend away, family gatherings or just an overnight stop for those who are passing by.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Suites
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Pietermaritzburg Airport43 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
54
25
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
54
25
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating living room midlands meander king suite heated towel rail huge shower pool table drinking coffee away from the hustle and bustle loved the decor great breakfast wonderful stay main building rooms are beautifully decorated many places beautiful place to stay watch tv
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent host, neat room and yummy breakfast! We arrived after dark and welcomed by Cheryl who went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. I can definitely recommend Arum Hill as a sleep over destination when travelling between Johannesburg and Durban. It is...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank DayTrip10081970473
Response from Cheryl S, Manager at Arum Hill Lodge B&BResponded 1 week ago

Dear Vanessa and Gideon Thank you. Am so pleased you enjoyed the evening with us, hopefully next time you will be able to spend more time. I hope you had a lovely "beach break" and arrived back in Johannesburg refreshed. Warm regards Cheryl

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here one night......unfortunately. I say that because I wish we had stayed more than one night! The setting is beautiful, the rooms more than spacious, but most of all the hospitality was unbelievable. Cheryl (not sure if that is spelled right) greeted us...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Wander30696071123
Response from Cheryl S, Manager at Arum Hill Lodge B&BResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marie and Jan Thank you so much for the review - and the photos. It was my pleasure meeting you both and Ivan and Toy. I so enjoyed our chat at breakfast and wish we had more time together. I trust the wedding and...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018

A lovely upmarket venue, situated at the top of a long winding driveway. We were met by the manageress Cheryl, who took time to show us around and explain what was on offer. A superb breakfast was served by her in the large kitchen /...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank svestate
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had a king room and they are lovely and spacious with a lovely bath and huge shower. Very luxurious. The grounds are lovely and well kept. Breakfast was good. Cheryl the manager was very helpful and went the extra mile. Will definitely go back....More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank typistdutrevou
Response from Cheryl S, Manager at Arum Hill Lodge B&BResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Tracey I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and Gavin. I so enjoyed our chat - sorry we didn't get started earlier, could have gone on with our conversation all day!! I look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 28 September 2018

So great to be back in this wonderful place where we got married in November 2016. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the king rooms are just the best - pure luxury and lots space! The main building is superbly laid out with everything you...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank MicheleC5442
Response from Cheryl S, Manager at Arum Hill Lodge B&BResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Michele It was great to meet you, Stan and your friends. Lovely to see our guests relaxing around the fire and generally enjoying our facilities. We hope to see you all again soon - hopefully not with a two year delay between visits! Love...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LWCLondon
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AmyJayW | Property representative |
Good Afternoon. Apologies for the delay in the refund. Booking through a third party does cause some confusion. Please bare with us as we go through changeover of management. However, you have been fully refunded and we have... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"King rooms are the best."
typistdutrevou
03 Oct 2018
Read review
"All rooms are great but king rooms offer more space"
MicheleC5442
28 Sep 2018
Read review
"The self-catering chalet is charming"
RoyP1692
21 Jan 2018
Read review
"The self catering cottage is private and spacious"
sanet07
07 Jan 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalBalgowan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing