Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel

Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel

El Rodadero Carrera 2 #11A - 98, Gaira, Santa Marta Municipality 470006 Colombia
Traveller (543)
Panorama at the Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (231)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 11 hotels in Gaira
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Tamacá Beach Resort by Sercotel, is located in a strategic area on the beach, delimited naturally from the busiest area of ​​Rodadero; where apart from offering much tranquility to our visitors, it is a beach hotel, but also a city; close to tourist sites, shopping centers, nightclubs and bars. It is a hotel where our priority is to identify and overcome the needs and motivations of our guests. Being ideal for rest, business and fun, managing to be the perfect combination to offer a unique product in Santa Marta. Check Time at 03:00 p.m. Time Check out 11:00 a.m.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

El Rodadero Carrera 2 #11A - 98, Gaira, Santa Marta Municipality 470006 Colombia
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Simon Bolivar Airport
E Cortissoz Airport
69.2 km
See all flights
1,429Review30Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 790
  • 436
  • 120
  • 43
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul S wrote a review Jan 2020
dallas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I did not know what to expect as this was my first trip to Santa Marta. I received a good rate for the hotel and hit the area during peak tourist season It was very busy in the town. Hotel met and exceeded my hopes. Normal type of beach hotel Rooms nice, cool a/c mini bar standard stuff. all rooms have a little balcony. What makes this place a great rating is the people. They could not have been nicer. From Christian at reception when I checked in to all of the restaurant people. Free very good breakfast with a lot of local cuisine Tip a few dollars and you will have the best service in these places guaranteed.. Beaches were packed but pool was perfect. just was high tourist season.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: it gets cold with a/c they will gladly bring an extra blanket to your room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DireccionDeServicios, Gerente at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Tamacá Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the property and the service. We continuously strive to offer the best accommodation and hospitality, and we appreciate the feedback of guests such as yourself. I will be glad to pass your kind words on to the rest of my team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Tamacá Hotel. Sincerely, Tamacá Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Americamba wrote a review Nov 2020
Bogota, Colombia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Hotel Tamaca for its location and great price, being right on the beach and with nearly all rooms having ocean view. It did not disappoint. The staff were all very attentive, friendly and helpful and the health & safety measures were well applied. Some were beyond control of the hotel, such as not allowing beach access directly from hotel after 7AM. You have to reserve a spot on the beach and enter from side streets that are controlled by city authorities. This made Hotel Tamaca's pool all the more a big plus. It's a spectacular pool, although this also needed to be reserved in advance in specific blocks of time. The only recommendation I would make for the pool is to have cushions for the lounge chairs and a shaded area. The hotel is also just a 15 minute drive to historic center and has lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance as well. Lastly, it's a historic hotel, being the first on Rodadero beach, yet still offers a modern and luxurious atmosphere after 60 years. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteles Tamacá, Director General at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 27 Nov 2020
Dear marciaa513 It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Tamacá Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the property and the service. We continuously strive to offer the best accommodation and hospitality, and we appreciate the feedback of guests such as yourself. I will be glad to pass your kind words on to the rest of my team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Tamacá Hotel. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deloreshomisak wrote a review Mar 2020
San Francisco, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about Hotel Tamaca was excellent. We were greeted with a fresh juice upon arrival and given an even more special ocean view room with a balcony. The staff were superb and I regret that do to corona virus, we had to leave early. The hotel is clean, well maintained and just relaxing. The spa is affordable and proved to be one of the few things I could do when things started to shut down. Highly recommend and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The wind comes up in the afternoon and tends to blow all night making it a bit noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Milena Cantillo Palacio, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Dear Guest Receive a warm greeting from your Tamaca Family. thanks to visit us and it's a pleasure to serve you for the above we are happy to know that you enjoyed to the fullest your stay with us and we would like to have your visit again. greetings from Santa Marta.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert v wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The personell is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. So is the pool and the other areas.

Food quality is mediocre and service quite slow.

The rooms are not isolated, therefore there's a lot of noise coming from both the streets at the back and the beach in the front. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DireccionDeServicios, Gerente at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear N7185VIrobertv, Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor, it is disappointing to read that your stay with us fell below your expectations. Please be assured that we appreciate all feedback as this assists us in improving our overall service. The area responsable are working to avoid a situation similar in the future. we would like to serve you in your next visit. Sincerely, Tamacá Family,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julian wrote a review Jan 2023
Miami, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Food is really disappointing, terribly bad can be a better description (Sierra en salsa criolla / Pargo marinera)...for $60k per dish just go outside to a decent restaurant or chew a car tyre for free. The pool could use some more chairs/shade for crowded dates. The room is for three people but there were only two towels and bed sets; rooms tend to be too dark with only two small lamps for the whole room. To be able to order in the bar/restaurant you need to "open a credit card voucher" which is one of the old fashioned manual machine "ca-ching!" from the 80s that makes an open check basically. They offer you a medical insurance ($4 per day, per person) and if you do not take it, you must sign a waiver of damages. Staff is 70/30...some attentive, some others not. Location is the only upside.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteles Tamacá, General Manager at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2023
Apreciad@ Julivgs Reciba un cálido saludo de parte de la Familia Tamacá. Sentimos saber que su estadía estuvo por debajo de sus expectativas, en especial la comida de nuestro Restaurante Ma Anasú, el cual ofrece una carta amplia, variada con precios competitivos, si alguno de nuestros huéspedes no está a gusto al recibir su pedido, estamos a disposición de validar de inmediato la novedad, nuestra prioridad es que disfruten de una espectacular experiencia gastronómica frente al mar. las observaciones en cuenta a las habitaciones han sido socializadas con el equipo de Alojamiento, sin duda las tendremos en cuenta en nuestro proceso de mejora continua, así como el proceso de apertura de voucher para cargo de consumos dentro de las instalaciones del hotel. Los hoteles ofrecemos seguros hoteleros a consideración de sus huéspedes. Gracias por resaltar la ubicación estratégica con la que contamos! Sería grato recibir su visita en otra oportunidad y mostrarle nuestros cambios favorables. Siempre bienvenidos, Familia Tamacá.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freddie wrote a review Nov 2020
Arlington, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three days at this wonderful hotel. We had a Junior suite room with two bedrooms in the living room on the sixth floor. The view from each of the balconies was beautiful. The hotel has a beautiful pool and is right on Rodadero Beach. Due to bio-security measures because of COVID - you have to make a pool reservation as well as beach reservations....Making these reservations was very simple. The staff was extremely friendly and wonderful. The food at the restaurant is outstanding. Highly recommend!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteles Tamacá, Director General at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear ARVCART Thanks so much to visit us, we really enjoyed to serve you... We are happy to know that your vacations were a wonderful experience! We will wait for you in your next visit to Santa Marta. Sincerely, General Manager Tamacá Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boom M wrote a review Jul 2023
Thonotosassa, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was an average facility for as old as it was. Upon arrival we were told the beach was closed for a volleyball game for three weeks. The alternative was a 20 minute walk to a crowded dirty public beach. Since we prepaid we had no alternative to go anywhere else. During our stay the hotel provided adequate service and time spent there was fine. Upon check out we were given the food and bar bill which was accurate. We were then called back to the desk to pay for a broken dish that fell off a table in our room. This one item send us over the edge. 70000COP for a dish. I guess the hotel never breaks dishes and when it does some customers have to pay. That is crazy. Never in my 60 years have I ever paid for an accidental dish breakage. By the way. We cleaned it up and put it in the trash then mopped the floor. We would have given the hotel 5 stars but the irresponsible lack of notification of the closed beach (we had our reservation for over a month) and paying for a broken dish gives this money pit a one star. Future customers be aware of these items we noted and ended up paying for so you don’t have to. Don’t pay for a beach hotel with no beach!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t break a dish. You will have to pay $20 a piece for them. Ask if the beach is open before...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteles Tamacá, General Manager at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Dear Boomm591 Receive a respectful greeting from the Tamacá Family. We are sorry to know that your stay was below your expectations due to the closure of the direct access to the beach and the charging of several pieces of broken earthenware inside the room. Last month an official communication was sent with important information about the V Juegos Suramericanos de Playa 2023 through the different sales channels, whether direct, travel agencies or web portals, in the latter channel, for privacy of customer data mostly we do not have direct contact with the guest until the moment the passenger arrives at the hotel, So we suggest you validate the information with the channel or portal through which you took your reservation. The Games are a sporting event of the city where its main venue has been the public space of the beach right in front of our Hotel, therefore, access to the beach has been restricted for the safety of our guests. It should be noted that the beach service has been available, in the streets next to and next to the hotel there are access points to the sea, very close to the property, the closest just 5 minutes walking, we are sorry not to have had enabled the beach space, but as we manifest it is a city event where the organization decides the dates of use of these, remembering that our beaches are public and not property of the Hotel. In relation to the collection of broken pieces of earthenware in your room, it is the duty of our guests the good use of the elements and assets that are part of the provision of the service during the stay, therefore, when any damage to the property occurs, the respective charge will be made to the Guest's room, Especially if there was no accident report inside the room, total were 5 pieces, for a total value of $ 70,000 Colombian pesos (approximately 16 dollars) We regret that you have perceived the above points as poor service. We reiterate our thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Cordially, Tamacá Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana A wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I welcomed the new year at Tamaca and had an incredible time with the selection of music bands and the party they organised for their guests.
The beach facing the hotel may be the only nice and clean spot in El Rodadero. Staff really make an effort to keep this area clean unlike the rest of Santa Marta. In a city of chaos, filthy roads and disgusting beaches (Rodadero), Tamaca was a paradise.
The staff was super kind and helpful, the hotel is kept in very good condition despite being the oldest hotel in El Rodadero. The rooms are nice and clean and watching the sunset from the room’s balcony was magical. The pool area is very nice too. I wouldn’t go back to Santa Marta but would certainly recommend Tamaca Beach Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DireccionDeServicios, Gerente at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear A6327AAdianaa, It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Tamacá Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the property and the service. We continuously strive to offer the best accommodation and hospitality, and we appreciate the feedback of guests such as yourself. I will be glad to pass your kind words on to the rest of my team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Tamacá Hotel. Sincerely, Tamacá Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pathfinder641514 wrote a review Feb 2021
Arlington, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a pleasure staying at the Tamaca beach resort for 3 nights. I would like to specially thank Milli.. a customer service representative who helped with getting covid-19 test results after checking out the previous day. Without the test results I would not have been able to board to fly back to the US. This is exceptional customer service and I thank Milli for the same.

Considering that we are in the middle of a pandemic, there are restrictions such as specific beach and pool hours. The staff let's you know about these once you check in. The resort has a great ocean view and a superb pool. They have a tour origanizing office next to the entrance. All major attractions .. Tayrona, Minca and the rest are offered as tours by them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteles Tamacá, Director General at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 03 Mar 2021
Dear Pathfinder641514, Thank so mucho for coming! it was a really pleasure to serve you. We love to help our guest´s requests, It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and keep the best memories of your travel in Santa Marta. Your always ill be welcome! Tamacá Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bicheno wrote a review Feb 2020
Nuremberg, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we really like the place. Wonderful views from every room. Very clean and very good bathroom. Breakfast next to the beach was wonderful with good choices. The people were wonderful and the pool very good. Only negative thing is, that the rooms suffer from the noise coming from the street. They should invest in new doors. Apart from that we loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DireccionDeServicios, Gerente at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Responded 03 Feb 2020
Dear Mrs bicheno Thanks so much to visit us, we really enjoyed to serve you... We are happy to know that your vacations were a wonderful experience and you loved our service. We will wait for you in your next visit to Santa Marta. Sincerely, Tamacá Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeorginaTay asked a question Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
Are you able to help organise day trips to Minca and one of the beaches in PNN Tayrona?
GeorginaTay asked a question Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
Is there a gym? And is the airport transfer free?
Answer from FarAway00463319579
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Although there isn’t any gym in the hotel as such, they do work in partnership with a nice CrossFit gym that’s is just across the street, 50m from the entrance. They will give you a guest membership that you will present at the gym, free of charge. You could arrange to be picked up at the airport but there’s no need. They’ll send you a driver who will charge you way more than the average cab you’ll find outside. The airport is about 10-15 min away from the hotel so do not pay more than 6 or 7 usd for the ride. Hope that will help ;)
Answer from charmingmanoxford
oxford101 contributions58 helpful votes
Hi Campabrok. Hotel Tamaca is about 5 hours from Cartagena by road depending on traffic. You can take a small bus, a company called Marsol will drop you outside the hotel. Cost 40,000 pesos from their main terminal in El Carbreo.
mangoosten asked a question Mar 2018
Cumbaya, Ecuador58 contributions25 helpful votes
How far is the resort from the city center? How much is the taxi ride to go there?
Answer from Hoteles Tamacá
Santa Marta, Colombia
Dear mangooste, we are located 12 min from the city center and the taxi ride is around $12.000 COP
Gerardo R wrote a tip Oct 2023
Oaxaca, Mexico2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are looking for excellent service, this is not it, besides Rodadero is a constant siege of vendors "
Read full review
Boom M wrote a tip Jul 2023
Thonotosassa, Florida4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t break a dish. You will have to pay $20 a piece for them. Ask if the beach is open before you reserve."
Read full review
Mauricio N wrote a tip Jun 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only one on Rodadero with direct access to the beach. Best cost/benefit."
Read full review
Eulenspeegel wrote a tip Apr 2021
San Antonio de Pereira, Colombia1,612 contribution372 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request an Oceanview room to enjoy spectacular sunsets."
Read full review
deloreshomisak wrote a tip Mar 2020
San Francisco, California7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The wind comes up in the afternoon and tends to blow all night making it a bit noisy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gaira area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,462 - R 2,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel tamaca beach santa marta
LOCATION
ColombiaMagdalena DepartmentSanta Marta MunicipalityGaira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMACA BEACH RESORT HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Gaira, Colombia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Casa de Buceo (0.4 km), Playa El Rodadero (0.4 km), and Alcaldia de Santa Marta (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Karey, Cafe Milseiscientos, and Sublime Gelateria Italiana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Gaira HotelsGaira Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GairaHotels near Tamaca Beach Resort Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire