We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Private Bag 320 Mbazwana, Sodwana 3974 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (209)
Pool & Beach (70)
Room & Suite (29)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 22 Speciality lodging in Sodwana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Coral Divers offers you a very comfortable and affordable dive holiday experience, while retaining the rustic appeal of a bush camp. With a variety of accommodation to suit all budgets, the facilities available provide something for everyone. Enjoy our warm and friendly atmosphere, self-catering or catered options, fully licenced bar and pub menu, combined with a professional dive charter operation. We have a 5 Star PADI Dive Centre and Career Development Centre rating and provide all the PADI Dive Courses, from experience programs, like Discover Scuba Diving, to Open Water Diver and beyond. We also provide training through to Scuba Instructor and further. Within the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, Sodwana Bay offers scuba divers a vast array of unspoilt coral reef, and a huge diversity of marine life. Apart from the great diving & beautiful corals, the area offers fun & excitement for the non-diver too. You're sure to find something that appeals to you, your friends and/or family.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Diving
Hiking
Free shuttle or taxi services
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
764Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 491
  • 200
  • 43
  • 19
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tamryn Robertson wrote a review Nov 2021
South Africa3 contributions
+1
We were so impressed by Coral Divers. Extremely professional staff all round, amazing dive briefing & beautiful kitchen/braai area. We stayed in the permanent tents which were in very good condition along with a very clean communal bathroom. Thank you for such amazing staff and convenience! Highly recommend to singles, couples, friends & families.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The kitchen has everything you need & there are fridges on-site. The braai is started by Coral...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Coral Divers
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Curiosity17433872129, Thank you for your lovely compliments and feedback. We really do love hearing that you had a great time and enjoyed our facilities and service. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year and we hope to welcome you back again in 2022!
Read more
Anika van Zyl wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa23 contributions14 helpful votes
We recently completed the Open Water and Advanced PADI courses and I cannot recommend Coral Divers highly enough! The facilities and accommodation are top notch. We stayed in the standard cabins, which were spacious and comfortable and cleaned every day (which is great, considering all the water and sand you trek in after a dive or a trip to the beach!). The communal kitchen is kitted out with everything you need and was always clean and tidy. The restaurant / bar is also great, with many options to choose from. There is also a lovely braai area, which was a great place for meeting new people. I must say, Coral Divers' greatest treasure BY FAR, is its staff - especially the instructors and dive masters. We were fortunate enough to land Reynard du Toit as our instructor and our entire group was so impressed by this young man's patience, composure, knowledge and professionalism. He handled every situation like a complete pro and being a new diver, I can honestly say that I would trust him with my life. We joked that the most repeated phrase in our group this past week was, "Vra vir Reynard" ("Ask Reynard"), because he simply had the answers to all of our questions and concerns. I also must mention Kyla Vaught, who was our dive master on most of our dives. She has a sunny and positive disposition and is just such a pleasure to be around. She, too, has an absolute wealth of knowledge and, like Reynard, exudes maturity, composure and professionalism that is well beyond her years. Both Reynard and Kyla have an infectious passion for diving and marine life and it was such a joy getting to know them! Back to the diving... the reefs boast an abundance of marine life and we were in awe of the aquatic life we were able to see while diving! All round, an amazing experience and one none of us will ever forget!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Room Tip: Standard cabins have private bathrooms and fans.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Coral Divers
Responded 3 days ago
Dear vanzylanika, Thank you for sharing your experience at Coral Divers with us. We LOVED hearing that you had an awesome time here and want to send a big thank you for the compliments and praise, especially for Reynard and Cayla. Your words mean so much to all of us and we can't wait to welcome you back to Coral Divers in the near future. Have a great Christmas and New Year!
Read more
Marina V wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We have been to Sodwana before, but never to Coral and since we spent our week long diving trip at Coral, we will never go anywhere else. The rooms have white crisp linen, big bathrooms and our specific rooms had aircon. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. My dad and I did a refresher before going to dive and our instructor was patient, friendly and very knowledgeable. The DM's on our dives were passionate, welcoming and also very patient. My dad is older and struggled to get on the boat. The next dive the skipper took a ladder from another boat to ours to help my dad. The restaurant has delicious foods, al lot of choices and even vegan options. We will never stay anywhere else again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Coral Divers
Responded 1 week ago
Dear marinav292, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you loved our Ensuite Cabins and your experience of Coral Divers overall. We are really delighted to hear that you will be visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you and your dad to Sodwana Bay again soon!
Read more
MuzzaFoss1234 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We had booked accomadation to stay at Coral for 1 night, do some snorkeling have some good food and then leave the next day. On arrival we paid upfront R1000 for 2 people to stay. We decided to have lunch first and watch the springboks play and then go out and do an afternoon snorkel. When I asked reception where I could hire snorkel equipment from they said there is nobody to help me they are all down at the beach. I asked if they could possibly make a plan to get them up at it was the reason for our stay and got a straight answer "if they at the beach they will be there until dark you can only rent in the morning". I told reception that it was not acceptable (not knowing rules or anything) I continued on the have lunch & a couple G&Ts at the bar. Food was good service was good but then the accomadation ... We walked into our room B04 of im not mistaken and it was poor. No bed side tables/lights.. no mirror or dressing table for women to use. We had a fan that was half hanging off. No chairs to sit on your veranda and bathroom is a wrap around bathroom (exit the room to shower). Needless to say that night I got close to zero sleep due to such a poor fan and large amount of mosquitos. No spare towels in the room to use for the pool. I work in 5* lodges and this was 100% not up to standard for guest amenities and what guests should recurve for accommodation. No complimentary soaps in the showers ... it was highly disappointing . It was 2 beds in a room with a half working fan. Only reason for 2 was for service from the bar, otherwise it would be 1!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't waste your time going here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Coral Divers
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MuzzaFoss1234, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay, especially as all our reception staff have been with us for many years and receive excellent reviews. Is it possible that you misunderstood the communication, in that the snorkel equipment may be rented at the beach from our Beach Shop? We do understand that you were disappointed not to be able to find availability in our Ensuite Cabins. Our Standard Cabin (which was where you stayed), is our more basic and rustic option, however, everyone of these cabins have bedside tables and lamps. The soap that is provided, is by way of a dispenser which is serviced daily and we are very forthright in explaining that the private bathroom for these cabins is accessed adjacent to the room. We do not provide beach or pool towels in the rooms, but you may request these at reception if you are in need of them. We strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodation in the bush, with a friendly and professional service to our guests. We do recommend that when visiting Sodwana Bay, you must please book well in advance so that we may offer you the room type that you would have preferred to our budget option.
Read more
E9424HGsandral wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
Exceptional service both on site and on the beach, clean and well equipped rooms services daily, everything needed on site - kitchens, Reatuarant, braai facilities, staff could not be more accommodating if they tried. Well done. We will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Coral Divers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear E9424HGsandral, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that you had a super dive holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon :)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalSodwana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coral Divers
Which popular attractions are close to Coral Divers?
Nearby attractions include Sodwana Bay (0.8 km) and Sharklife (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coral Divers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Coral Divers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Coral Divers?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coral Divers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mseni Beach Lodge Restaurant, The Lighthouse Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge, and Ngunis Restaurant & Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coral Divers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Coral Divers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Sodwana.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Coral Divers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.