Mseni Beach Lodge

Mseni Beach Lodge

Sodwana Bay National Park, Sodwana 3974 South Africa
Traveller (187)
Family Cottage Bedroom with Double Bed
Room & Suite (30)
Diving is great
Pool & Beach (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Sodwana
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mseni Beach Lodge is nestled along the pristine coastline of Sodwana Bay. We offer a restaurant with sea view and in season, Humpback Whales can be seen splashing about, whilst you enjoy a delicious meal or cocktail. Many activities are available in the area snorkelling, scuba diving, beach walks and visits to the surrounding game reserves. Mseni means "place of happiness" and our friendly staff are ready and waiting to make your holiday a memorable one.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Diving
Laundry service
Kids' meals
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Seating area
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

Sodwana Bay National Park, Sodwana 3974 South Africa
402Reviews4Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 134
  • 30
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jaco D wrote a review Jan 2020
Cullinan, South Africa19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a big family group visiting over Christmas. We made use of the Seaview house and a couple of 2-person cottages.

The Seaview house was very well equipped and very comfortable for the family to use as an entertainment house. The rooms for the house is on the bottom floor, so nobody got into anyone's space.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant ensures that there is always somewhere to go for a drink or meal with an amazing view.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral D, Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear jacod841, Thank you for reviewing your recent holiday at Mseni. We are delighted that you chose Mseni as the venue for your Christmas holiday and that you had a great time. Thank you for all the wonderful compliments and we hope to welcome you back again this year :) :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trouble wrote a review Mar 2020
Kloof, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was now our third time and Mseni and we have to admit that lazyness has started to creep in. Yes, setting is great and peaceful but : dampness on the cornice in our chalet at 3 spots; no welcome rusks like on the last 2 vists and the milk provided was so sour - it was thick already..
Visit to the onsite restaurant was limited from our side to ONE diner only (out of 3 nights we stayed there) as the food was not what we remembered. Sidedish did not arrive and when questioned we had to wait rather long and upon checking the bill we found that they billed us for it (yes, we did complain and it was taken off the bill again).
Still nice and clean pool area.
Please upgrade the provided shampoo and bodywash as it is not of a good quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Take chalet 2, 10 or 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral D, Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Dear 654gerhardk, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We highly value your support and input as a loyal guest, and cannot apologise enough for not providing the excellent service that you have come to expect from us. We have looked into the matter as a priority and the relevant staff have been addressed. We are truly sorry for dropping the ball on your recent stay, but would like to assure you that this is definitely not the Mseni service level that you have come to enjoy. We value your visits and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
philipneljhb wrote a review Jun 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa24 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in unit 14 which is a lovely 2 sleeper cabin tucked away in a natural coastal forest. The cabin is unexpectedly modern, clean white sheets and light wood laminate floors. The shower has endless hot water and good pressure. The air conditioning and ceiling fan will be useful in summer but in mid winter when we visited, although it was 25 degrees Celsius the shady location was perfectly cool. Beach access is a real winner too. It is a short walk to the Sodwana launch site for scuba and snorkeling trips which are amongst the best in the world. Worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Dear philipneljhb, Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. We loved hearing that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stehan V wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can recommend Mseni lodge as the best accommodation available at Sodwana bay, offering good value for money with very good facilities and friendly and helpful staff. Our family of four stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages. It was well appointed, clean and within a short walk across a dune from the beach. We had a great time and look forward to our next diving holiday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 07 Jan 2021
Dear StehanV1. Thank you for the fantastic rating and feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer Claire A wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the 10 sleeper house at Mseni lodge. It was well organised, clean and all you could ask for from a beach house. The bedrooms are all on the ground floor and our two famililies fitted comfortably with AC units for those who needed. The spacious, well kitted first floor open plan kitchen, living, dining and patio was were we spent most of our time with a fantastic view of the sea. The trumpetor hornbill, samango monkeys and banded mongoose visited occasionally but just moved through as we viewed from the deck. The convenience of the restaurant and pool next door was great and the easy walk to the wonderful beach was amazing. We dived through Coral divers which was a short drive and the organisation and diving were incredible experiences. Thanks all, we will definately be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 15 Apr 2021
Dear JenniferClaireA2, Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review and we are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and our sister company, Coral Divers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michelekeylock wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Newly refurbished two sleeper cottages , which were really clean and neat with comfortable beds and lovely fresh white linen . small attention to detail with milk in the mini bar fridge , Biscotti biscuits and tea and coffee . All round lovely setting in the cool forest close to the restaurant and walking distance to a stunning secluded beach. The restaurant with 360 degrees views over the ocean has a huge variety of well priced delicious food including vegan options . we were a big group of 14 and everyone enjoyed the meals . Staff are friendly and laid back. We can’t wait to come back thank your Mseni !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Dear michelekeylock, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We hope to welcome you back soon :) :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kos Nak wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our favorite lodge from St Lucia to Kosi Bay. To start with, the restaurant at Mseni Lodge is second to none and makes everything from excellent stake to delicious vegan curies and fresh salads. Mseni Prego Burger is a must try! The rooms are always clean and feel very cozy. The staff are very friendly and always helpful. The location is awesome too - 5 minute drive (no 4X4 needed) to launch site for scuba diving and about 20 minute walk on the beach to Sodwana bay.

I highly recommend Mseni Beach Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 04 Dec 2021
Dear matroskinn1, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are delighted to hear that you love the restaurant and lodge at Mseni and we hope to welcome you back very soon :) :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msandreatravels wrote a review Feb 2020
Boulder, Colorado6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So glad we found this special place! We originally booked for just two nights and ended up staying for 4! We totally fell in love with the beautiful private beach access, great food, and general hospitality. The front office was super helpful in booking activities like a Turtle Tour with Ufudo Tours and diving with Amoray Diving. Our room was always cleaned well, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great.

We can't wait to go back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral D, Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 09 Feb 2020
Dear msandreatravels, We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you even extended your stay! Thank you for visiting Mseni Beach Lodge and we hope to welcome you back to Sodwana again some time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gfuller2020 wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mseni Beach Lodge. The 4-sleeper self-catering unit was both clean and comfortable. This being said, for the price that we paid for a week, there is no oven in the kitchen, there are only two hot plates, one of which did not work. Not ideal when you are preparing a meal for 4 people! There are also no sharp / steak knives in the unit and the braai (barbeque) tongs are in desperate need of replacement. There is also no outside tap available to rinse beach sand off your feet, or anything else for that matter.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 15 Jan 2021
Dear gfuller2020, Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback. We loved that you enjoyed your stay, but are dismayed to hear that there were shortcomings in the cottage. We will look into all your feedback regarding the utensils in your unit as a matter of urgency, and thank you for the other feedback and suggestions too. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimbostoo wrote a review May 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa103 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend staying at Mseni. The accommodation is comfortable and the chalets well laid out. Biscotti on arrival with 5l water bottles refreshed every 2nd day. A fridge in the room (for two) was a welcome addition. The staff were attentive and helpful. The lodge is located in the reserve, there are 2x boom gates to access coming from Sodwana, it is 15 min easy drive to Sodwana. Access to the diving launch sites is in the reserve, so easy access from Mseni. Would stay again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Have to use own transport to launch sites. No transfer provided.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Divers, General Manager at Mseni Beach Lodge
Responded 21 May 2022
Dear Kimbostoo, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sodwana area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,404 - R 2,515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalSodwana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MSENI BEACH LODGE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sodwana, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mseni Beach Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mseni Beach Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Sodwana Bay (0.5 km) and Sodwana Bay INFO (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mseni Beach Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mseni Beach Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mseni Beach Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mseni Beach Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mseni Beach Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mseni Beach Lodge Restaurant, The Lighthouse Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge, and Ngunis Restaurant & Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mseni Beach Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mseni Beach Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Sodwana.
Does Mseni Beach Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Sodwana HotelsSodwana Hotel DealsHotels near Mseni Beach Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire