We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (4)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
23 Hermon Road, Riebeek Kasteel 7300 South Africa See on map
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
4 Star accommodation
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravellers restcape townsunday lunchcentral loungefeel so welcomeguest housespringbok shankpersonal attentionpumpkin frittersunusual decorfairy lightsper headcomfortable accommodationbooked aheadcountry pubinteresting piecesswimming pool
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've been in town for a wedding and book accommodation for the Saturday night with the Red Tin Roof. Was so looking forward to the weekend. Reception was poor, there is no reception, was standing around looking for someone to assist, eventually ask a waiter...More

Thank Pierre D
Response from Jacques P, Owner at Red Tin RoofResponded 2 weeks ago

I wish we could review our customers too. You still owe Red Tin Roof over R600 for the food you devoured. Unfortunately, this old house has its problems. Sorry about the blocked shower, it is the first time that has happened. As it happened on...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

We were three adults, we booked ahead for a table for lunch, got there when it opened at noon, and had the pick of the tables below an huge, spreading tree at the back. The restaurant is eclectic and full of vibe of all sorts....More

Thank Brian B
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I have already done a review on Tripadvisor. However it got worse. On Sunday night the gardener was lounging at the fireplace, and on Monday morning 6/8 when we were ready to have breakfast at 08h30 the place was in darkness and the kitchen staff...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoff S
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Showers were blocked. When other people showered in the other rooms our plumbing made a loud gurgling noise which kept us awake. The bed made a lot of noise every time we moved we were woken. Have nothing else to comment. .....................................................................................................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anderssonheidi1
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Ordered smoked smoke fish cakes and on cutting it found a long hair disgusting when I spoke to the 'manager' her answer was "accidents happen" how shocking then when my steak burger arrived after specifically stating that it must be cooked I received a under...More

Thank Cynthia M
View more reviews
Red Tin Roof is a manor house that has been sleeping guests, feeding strangers and quenching thirsts for decades. The new owners gave her a complete facelift and donned her in new colours. Known as a bit of a ...More party animal, they enlarged the bar - and added another! They have re-vamped her from head to toe and decorated her with an eclectic mixture of art and collectibles from around the world. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
US$67 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Traveller's Rest
South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (2)
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Royal Hotel
334 reviews
.39 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
397 reviews
4.98 km away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
890 reviews
24.69 km away
Ridgeback House
53 reviews
32.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 22 restaurants in Riebeek Kasteel
Mama Cucina Italian Restaurant
469 reviews
.48 km away
Royal Restaurant
178 reviews
.38 km away
Beans About Coffee
127 reviews
.62 km away
Cafe Felix
275 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 11 attractions in Riebeek Kasteel
Het Vlock Casteel
74 reviews
1.03 km away
Saronsberg Cellar
220 reviews
25.16 km away
Garagista Craft Beer Brewery
37 reviews
.40 km away
Old Town Tulbagh
146 reviews
24.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Helene B
12 April 2017|
Response from Noelle251 | Reviewed this property |
You would need to go to a booking agency for a response to this question
Room Tips
"Fabulous place in a beautiful little gem of a town."
Read review
"All the rooms are great. There is a separate house outside which sleeps 8 people and has it's own fire..."
Read review
"Best for sharing the 4 bedroom cottage"
Read review
"If you are 4 couples, book the house where you can all share communal lounge and fire place. All the rooms in..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing