We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Previous revue enticed us to visit. Recommended as best dining in the area but expensive. Expensive part was correct but surely not the best in the area. We both had fillet with the three times fried chips. It was definitely the worst fillet we have ever eaten. Did not have the texture of fillet. It was compact and chewy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not satisfactory. Especially since it concerns our top selling dish of which we only have had raving reviews until now. We only use prime grade Sparta fillet which normally is more tender than the cheaper options of our suppliers. On the other...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

What an amazing experience spending a night and day at this hotel and lovely quaint village. The service at the a Royal hotel was excellent. The receptionist that assisted us had a great sense of humour, the barman gave us amazing advice on which gin and tonics to try - yes they are the best and we did the traditional...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ruthi
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Wonderful selection of Gin with a knowledgeable bar tender to assist you in your selection process. Sundowners on the stoep with it's colonial style decor & paddle fans - sipping G&T's - who can ask for more.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacqui R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Centrally & well situated. Very comfortable rooms with aircon/heater. Super friendly staff. Dinner in the courtyard was lively and also breakfast on front patio/ stoep. Small pool and deck. 4pm carrot cake is a must!! Gin cocktails a hit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaLa1977SouthAfrica
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Perfect weekend getaway from Cape Town at the Royal Hotel, Riebeek Kasteel. Exceptional bar / restaurant / reception service 1st and 2nd May, 2016. Don't leave before having one of their amazing Gin and Tonics. We will hopefully be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NickWhite_12
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This is an elegant hotel in a charming location. On previous occasions in the past, we have always enjoyed a delicious meal. We (a party of 6) visited the restaurant for lunch and while the food was well-presented, tasty and the hotel staff were very friendly, there were a few disappointing things. Four of our party ordered the Pork Belly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pia261
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stopped for a coffee break and what a surprice This grand old hotel It was a chilly day and the fire in the fireplace set the trend for a romantic mid morning coffee Good decent coffee, service good I am gong back for an overnighter

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GielCillie
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

What a surprise, way more then expected. An old world elegance with comfortable rooms and great staff. Try the gin and tonics on the front porch. The restaurant is also worth a visit. Ask to see the wine cellar under the bar floor. Beautiful gardens looking onto vineyards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Back_Road_Tours
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The only hotel in Riebeek? We stayed in a garden room behind the main building which was comfortable, clean and good air con. We had dinner in a courtyard area that had an awning over it - but we were the only people there, despite the restaurant area in the bar being empty - a bit odd and very soulless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winerunner52
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wine runner, Thank you for taking the time to review your two stays with us. I'm sorry that on you first one night stay it seemed to be a quiet day. Our hotel runs on an average occupancy of 68% and our average outside daily visitors stands on 108 people per day. Those are just averages though. At the...

Reviewed 29 February 2016

Apparently the oldest hotel in South Africa and well worth a visit if you are in the Swartland area, visiting the vineyards and olive groves. This grand old lady has had a facelift recently which has improved facilities without spoiling its character. Not for those seeking sybaritic luxury or Asian style service, but a must if you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles A

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
252 reviews
0.7 km away
The Victorian Cow
The Victorian Cow
#3 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
48 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#1 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.1 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
25 reviews
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
583 reviews
0.3 km away
Shades of the Valley
Shades of the Valley
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: R1 506 - R1 990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles AK7130, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My review focussed on the drinks”
 of 5 bubbles Place-a-Manger, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancisB185, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The garden rooms are very nice. Room 5 can be a bit noisy with staff being up early in the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Cejames04, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose an inside room to be more cosy on cold winter nights”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5