We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort

Save
Share
Lot 191 Remainder Koubad Farm Koubad Farm, Paulpietersburg 3180 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (181)
Pool & Beach (33)
Dining (21)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in 550 hectares of beautiful KZN bushveld amongst giant Cambrian granite boulders that are millions of years old, the Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort has beautiful views over the Bivane River and abundant bird life. Legend has it that the river at Natal Spa's warm water and bubbles were the work of a large black snake with an underground lair. While that myth may have kept the ancient San people from the healing mineral waters, it certainly didn't have the same effect on Oom Piet Wessles or the generations of visitors who have stopped over at this oasis between Vryheid and Paulpietersberg.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Water park
Babysitting
Paid internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
Contact
Lot 191 Remainder Koubad Farm Koubad Farm, Paulpietersburg 3180 South Africa
Getting there
King Shaka Intl Airport233 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
193Reviews8Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 50
  • 48
  • 22
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
vmadur771938 wrote a review 21 Jun
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Wonderful holiday, good food, good service, those heated blankets on a freezing day was godsent, the rooms were always clean, the facilities were good. Octavia the cleaning staff was fantastic!♥ 💖 💕
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear vmadur771938 Many thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure having you staying with us. Please visit us again soon. Best Regards
Read more
NauticalVoyager wrote a review 07 Jun
Camperdown, South Africa1384 contributions600 helpful votes
+1
Often, small challenges are easily overlooked when encountering fantastic staff and that is the case with Natal Spa. They really bend over backwards to make sure you have a good stay. Management presence is high and soon they all great you on a first name basis. We booked a superior family room which is very "cozy" and doesnt have a bath, but we new this on booking, so took an inflatable "pool" to bathe our toddler, but it does seem strange not having a bath for a family room. We spent some lazy days wallowing in the hot pools and my 3 year yr old son spent the afternoons spotting the numerous dassies (rock hyrax) and it seems that they had just as much fun playing "peek-a-boo" with him as he did. The Pros : Value for money, good restaurant service with consistant good service from waiters and management, massive grounds offering many things to do. The Cons : Getting there is not for the feint hearted - the roads from Vryheid are littered with some major potholes, some of which could damage your car badly - drive with caution. The hotel needs some TLC, but the manager did explain that the pools and much of the main hotel are due for refurbishment in the next few months. We did have some questions about our stay before arriving and we contacted Gooderson headoffice and was assured that "someone" would call - they never did, but luckily we addressed the questions with the hotel reception on arrival and had all our questions answered satisfactorily. We will definitely visit again. Shouts-outs go to Francois, Andre, (Exec Chef) - Menzi (apologies if we got this name wrong) and our main server, Nondo but honestly all the team were super friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear NauticalVoyager Many thanks for the great review. It was such a pleasure to meet your family. Indeed! You have become like family to us. It will be great to see you again soon. Keep safe and bon voyage!
Read more
Larni V wrote a review Apr 2022
South Africa210 contributions35 helpful votes
After driving around South Africa for 3 weeks it is the perfect "in between" stop for everybody to relax, reflect and unwind after their tour before I drive them to the airport and say good-bye! When you arrive at a place where everybody greets you by name and welcomes you back again is just an amazing feeling! Thank you yet again for your wonderful hospitality! See you in August!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 03 May 2022
Dear Larni V Your positive feedback to our service and hospitality is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Please be safe and once again, thank you for your loyal support. Kindest Regards
Read more
inel1991 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
It was raining, indoor swimming facility is only for adults, but what to you do if you have a baby, you cant swim with baby in outdoor pools if raining. The indoor play area is in a terrible state. Staff is friendly though and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Dear Inel1991 Many thanks for your review. I honestly don't know what to say regarding the rain. We don't have an indoor pool area. Kids are not allowed inside the wellness center area. The indoor play area was extremely busy, due to the weather, therefore the "terrible state". Unfortunately, kids do use the area. They play, move things around, etc. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish there was something that I can do to make things better. You are welcome to leave a suggestion and I will be happy to look into that. We are, after all here to ensure guests are enjoying themselves. Hopefully, I will see you again soon. Kind regards
Read more
csimel559542 wrote a review Apr 2022
Ermelo, South Africa1 contribution
My visit was not soo very well when we arrived as the information given was shocking, but dark day turned to be a beautiful shining one after a visit to the Kiosk.... The guys at the Zipline are a bliss, what a wonderful team. Loved the fact that my kids could enjoy swimming at their own safe depth pool. Very very much worthwhile
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear csimel559542 It is nice to receive feedback from guests and it is also good to see that guests want to be heard. Your review is important to us. Please note that check-in time is at 14h00 and check-out time is at 10h00. All activities will be booked at the reception desk unless directed to another outlet. Generally, our reception staff is on point and will give you the best advice. We are trying to accommodate all guests with all their individual needs and demands. It is not always possible to give guests what they need, but we will assist to the best of our ability. Please understand that we have other guests at the resort as well and we cannot always do what guests want. We appreciate your business and thank you for the support. I also want to apologize for any inconveniences caused and hope to meet you on your next visit. It will be great to see you staying for at least two nights then you will enjoy all the facilities even more. Thank you again for your review.
Read more
nomusa2022 wrote a review Feb 2022
Volksrust, South Africa1 contribution
We made our booking online, on the hotels website and included dinner and breakfast and activities. Confirmation was sent to us immediately, and a reminder of the booking was sent a day before. Check was a breeze, the place had a vibe, we knew on arrival we were gonna enjoy it and were planning to make the most of it. Our room was big, spacious, clean, refreshed daily. The restaurant food is top notch👌, the staff and chef friendly and go out of the way to make sure that you have the best meals ever. Food is fresh. Being highly active we were on the trail 2-3 times a day, we loved the horse riding and zipline, the tour guides are well informed, your safety is their priority and you are guaranteed to have loads of fun. We got to relax at the warm pools😎 and had a little pampering at the SPA which was totally amazing. We're definitely coming back with the rest of the family next time. And were planning to make it an annual holiday destination.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Dear Nomusa2022 Many thanks for the great review. It was great meeting and serving you. Thank you for the compliments. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best Regards
Read more
yaseenally wrote a review Feb 2022
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
Absolutely amazing, friendly staff, very accommodating, pools are amazing and very clean lots of activities for kids, will definitely visit again,pools are open 24 hours Only thing I would recommend is more lighting at night
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Yaseenally. Many thanks for the great review and thank you for the positive contribution. We always appreciate constructive criticism. Please visit us again soon. Best Regards
Read more
brightnessmagubane22 wrote a review Feb 2022
Ulundi, South Africa1 contribution
Hotel ( it was amazing for us as we arrived for the first time, the place looked amazingly lovely and clean )Horse riding ( Martin interacted with us though we were scared but he puted us at ease along the way, Zipline (though we forgot the names but they helped with clear instructions of zipline, pools ( though it was full but we would love to have tour guard next time when we visit pools).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 09 Feb 2022
Dear brightnessmagubane22 Thank you for taking the time to review our resort after your recent stay with us. It is great to see that you enjoyed our facility and the hospitality from our side. We appreciate your honest review and for the great score. Thank you for the great compliments. Please visit us again soon. Best Regards
Read more
peetventer2022 wrote a review Jan 2022
Vereeniging, South Africa1 contribution
Having visited three times, we are sure to return to this beautiful, peaceful place. Staff are fantastic, food is great and the atmosphere is just amazing. Highly recommended. Lots of activities too. The pools are clean and well maintained.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 04 Jan 2022
Dear PeetVenter2022 Thank you for taking the time to review our resort after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the excellent comments and motivation about our staff and resort. Please visit us again soon. Best Regards
Read more
nhlavu2000 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
This resort is offers quality service by the staff. It also has many areas of entertainment and they are one of the best in KZN. One thing that they need to do is make their rooms modern and the furniture to be modern. I strongly believe that this can make this resort one of the best in KZN. Otherwise visiting and there is al-some.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 02 Jan 2022
Dear Nhlavu2000 Many thanks for the great review and positive input. Your critique is valuable and we accept it. Visit us again soon. Best Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the natal spa hot springs and leisure resort hotel paulpietersburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Natal Spa Hot Springs and Leisure Resort
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandPaulpietersburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.