Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort

Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort

Lot 191 Remainder Koubad Farm Koubad Farm, Paulpietersburg 3180 South Africa
pool
Traveller (220)
Aerial View
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Paulpietersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in 550 hectares of beautiful KZN bushveld amongst giant Cambrian granite boulders that are millions of years old, the Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort has beautiful views over the Bivane River and abundant bird life. Legend has it that the river at Natal Spa's warm water and bubbles were the work of a large black snake with an underground lair. While that myth may have kept the ancient San people from the healing mineral waters, it certainly didn't have the same effect on Oom Piet Wessles or the generations of visitors who have stopped over at this oasis between Vryheid and Paulpietersberg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Water park
Babysitting
Paid internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Lot 191 Remainder Koubad Farm Koubad Farm, Paulpietersburg 3180 South Africa
Getting there
King Shaka Intl Airport
233.1 km
See all flights
237Reviews8Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 62
  • 53
  • 23
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
juzreed wrote a review Nov 2020
Salt Rock, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a night at Natal Spa to break a trip from Hazyview to Durban (North Coast) - I would recommend the hotel.

The rooms are dated but the linen was new and clean and the rooms were comfortable. Don’t expect a 5 star hotel, this is comfortable honest 3 star accommodation in a place that has 120 years of history.

The dinner was delicious (pork belly and oxtail)- a highlight.

We spent the afternoon on the slides and relaxing in the hot pools. One benefit for us was that the hotel was not full so the pools were quiet.

The hotel gardens are expansive and in some places needed a bit of maintenance but this is probably due to the economic effects of covid.

The service was very good - friendly and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 24 Nov 2020
Dear Juzreed. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the compliment regarding our food and pools. I will forward that to the relevant parties. We hope to see you soon again. Kindest Regards Francois Roux General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BhekisisaDlamini2023 wrote a review Nov 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The facility is in good location with a lot of amenities. The natural hot pools are to die for. Zip lining was great. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The water slides were great as well. The facility looks old and it needs some renovations. The wifi provision is too stringent it needs to relaxed and be unlimited. Overall the facility is great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 08 Nov 2023
Dear BhekisisaDlamini2023 Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Thank you for the great compliments regarding our amenities, hot pools, zip line, staff, waterslides and others. Gooderson Natal Spa is situated in the middle of the rural areas of South Africa that has not been developed as yet. Larger towns or cities will be Ladysmith, maybe Newcastle, Ermelo, maybe Piet Retief and those are more than 100 km away from us. Wifi are very much part of everyones lifes these days. Vodacom is our best network supplier out here, but it seems like even they do have issues with loadsheddings, back up power supplies, theft and much more. We are spending more money per month, than the normal business in the city would on data and network for our guests. Please enjoy the beauty of the old facility of Natal Spa; forget about modern 5-Star experiences you had before, but enjoy the nature, activities and other facilities we offer. Our staff is friendly because of ongoing training. Our staff is here to give you a better hospitality experience than other resorts. We hope to see you at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort again soon! Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NORTJE A wrote a review Feb 2021
Ladysmith, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit to Natal Spa, and we enjoyed the getaway immensely. The facilities are excellent, and the staff very friendly. We had a great bonding experience as a family.
Unfortunately our room did not have any warm water until the morning of our departure, despite reporting it on numerous occasions during our stay. This made adhering to COVID regulations particularly difficult, as taking cold showers with a 4 year old girl in rainy weather is not an option.
Will definitely visit again, despite the lack of warm showers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 15 Feb 2021
Dear Nortje A. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. All guests reviews are important to us, albeit negative, and for this I would like to apologize for the issues we had with the hot water. I can confirm that this is now sorted and we wish to see you soon again. Kindest Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claudette wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have never this disappointed in a resort than we’ve been with Gooderson Natal Spa and Hot Spring Resort. From the start, I struggled to retrieve my booking confirmation through their reservation department (that is after a full payment was made toe them). No response after 6 emails and when I phoned them they first told me they can not find my booking and after talking to 3 people someone found our booking.

Then we arrived at the resort on our check-in date and they told my I made a double booking which is impossible as I only had 1 reservation number.

Then we arrived in out self catering apartment and what a disgusting filthy place. There was blood on the curtain, the “clean” dishes was so dirty, the table top was so sticky I had to clean it with dettol. The bedding was dirty. The shower and toilet was so full of mould and dirt. The room had a very bad smoke smell.

The bathroom in it’s whole capacity is just unbearable. When you are in there it actually feels like you are standing a Mental institution decorated by government services!!

After cleaning the room ourselves, we left the room to have a look at the swimming facilities. The water in the hot pools was so dirty was slime of algae on the bottom of the pool and floating all over in the pool. It’s a serious health hazard. We went to the cold swimming pool and the same things. Very unhealthy swimming conditions!!!!

The playing area for the kids is very unsafe!!

Yet to say, we checked put the next morning.

I advise you all to please stay away from the Gooderson resort as it is seriously a health hazard and not a vacation resort!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 07 Jan 2020
Dear Claudette I wish to thank you for taking the time to review the resort after your recent stay with us. All criticisms, albeit negative, are taken seriously and we want to thank you for the constructive feedback. Our pools are cleaned every Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. By Sundays we starting to drain pools again for the cleaning of it. I want to sincerely apologize that you had to clean your own room; since this is by far not our standard. I wish you could have complained to me while you were here and I would have addressed all issues right away. Once again, please accept my humble apology and I would like to meet with you in the near future. Kindest regards Francois Roux General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nomusa2022 wrote a review Feb 2022
Volksrust, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made our booking online, on the hotels website and included dinner and breakfast and activities. Confirmation was sent to us immediately, and a reminder of the booking was sent a day before. Check was a breeze, the place had a vibe, we knew on arrival we were gonna enjoy it and were planning to make the most of it. Our room was big, spacious, clean, refreshed daily. The restaurant food is top notch👌, the staff and chef friendly and go out of the way to make sure that you have the best meals ever. Food is fresh. Being highly active we were on the trail 2-3 times a day, we loved the horse riding and zipline, the tour guides are well informed, your safety is their priority and you are guaranteed to have loads of fun. We got to relax at the warm pools😎 and had a little pampering at the SPA which was totally amazing. We're definitely coming back with the rest of the family next time. And were planning to make it an annual holiday destination.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Dear Nomusa2022 Many thanks for the great review. It was great meeting and serving you. Thank you for the compliments. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lungile2023 wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The overall experience was terrible. This people at this place have no idea how to make their guests comfortable or be willing to be courteous, seems like they were actually doing us a favor by allowing us there instead of paying guests.

1. The rooms were quite cold and no heating arrangements except one oil heater in 1 bedroom.
2. Family coming to have dinner with us was changed R950.00 for entrance even though they arrived in the evening and were not going to use any facilities.
3. ag... it was quite a lot
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 06 Jul 2023
Dear Lungile Thank you for taking the time to review our resort after your recent stay with us. All comments, albeit negative, are taken seriously and it gives us a true yardstick of our service. I sincerely apologize for the bad service you experienced during your stay. I see that you stayed in our Timeshare units. Although on Natal Spa's property, Timeshare owners are looking after their units. I will forward this complaint to the relevant parties. When guests from outside want to join guests on the property, it is normally prearranged. We need to respect all paying guests staying on the property. Once again, apologies for the inconveniences caused. Visit us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mgr0enewald wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is friendly and efficient, the pricing is good, and the activities are amazing, the hot spring pools was just what we needed and the setting is very relaxing, we love coming here and this trip did not disappoint, it was everything we are used to from this facility. Under GM Francois Roux we have witnessed this place transform into our number 1 destination in South Africa, whenever we get a chance we come here. Highly recommended to anyone who needs rest.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 22 Jul 2021
Dear mgrOenewald Thank you for taking the time to review our resort after your recent stay with us. It was great having you here and thank you for the compliments. We hope to see you soon again. Kindest Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trail19283064294 wrote a review Dec 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is falling apart at the seams, there is a depressing vibe from the moment you drive in. the manager calls the hotel a old lady, I call it a decrepit old lady. It doesn't cost the world to pull weeds out or tend to damp. The price high paid does not match up to the quality of the hotel. To top it all off we had an attempted break in, in the chalet in the middle of the night. No one seemed too bothered and still waiting on a report from the manager who hasn't got back to me yet despite taking the complaint 'very seriously'
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 02 Dec 2022
Dear Trail Many thanks for taking the time to write to us. All guests reviews are important to us. Even if it is negative, we appreciate the comments in order for us to succeed in the future. I can confirm that I have tried to phone you on several occasions, even yesterday, 02 December 2022, after receiving the very same complaint on another platform. The very same day you checked out, I phoned and spoke to you. I sincerely apologize that I cannot confirm the allegation. I further humbly apologize for any inconveniences caused. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deshini1984 wrote a review Nov 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful resort with such wonderful people. There is so much to see and do. We spent our first day enjoying the hot spring pools, massages at La Vita Spa and a delicious buffet dinner. We also enjoyed snacks and drinks at the bar.
On our 2nd day, we did the Blue Route hiking trail which was absolutely breathtaking followed by an amazing buffet breakfast! In the afternoon we did Ziplining and got 360 degree views of the stunning resort and ended the day with another indulgent buffet dinner.
There is also putt putt, horse riding, archery & so much more.
It is the perfect holiday spot for families 👪 and couples.
P.S: just under 5 hours from Pretoria and a scenic drive for sure. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Roux, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Responded 28 Nov 2021
Dear Deshini1984 Many thanks for taking the time to review our resort after your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive and motivational report. Please do visit us soon again. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin780612 wrote a review Jul 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely family resort very quiet and peaceful great for a recharge. Plenty of activities to keep kids of all ages busy. Food is fantastic and the presentation is outstanding. The ingredients always fresh and they have the most amazing little cinnamon pastry at the breakast buffet.The hotel was fresh and clean and the house keeping went the extra mile to make everything comfortable for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Francois R
Paulpietersburg, South Africa2 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear traveler. We have got so much to offer. It will not be fair to place prices on this forum, since it increases yearly. You may contact us directly for assistance. Kindest regards
Answer from Francois R
Paulpietersburg, South Africa2 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Rishi R Guests use social media to raise their own opinion about their stay. Where are you staying? Timeshare? If you do, please remember that Timeshare is a different part of the hotel. Self Catering? If you do, please remember that we have 4-sleeper units and 6-sleeper units. For the 4-sleeper it is built for 2 Adults (sharing a double bed) and 2 children (sleeper couch or bunker bed). For the 6-sleeper it is built for 4 Adults (one room sharing a double bed and one room with two single beds) and for 2 children (sleeper couch). For the Hotel, it all depends on what you have booked for: Family Room (Inter-leading room), could be with shower or bath. Standard Room? Superior Room? Suite? We have got a bar available, you can buy bottled water at the bar, however, our water is from a borehole and the water is really clean and fresh. We have got our main restaurant, serving either a la carte or buffet (buffet depends on the amount of people in house). Breakfast is also served in the main restaurant. We do have a Bistro area, serving a light lunch, available for 10 AM to 6 PM. Hope all is in order. For any other questions, you are welcome to phone the resort and we will be delighted to tell you more. Best Regards Natal Spa Management
Answer from Francois R
Paulpietersburg, South Africa2 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Gibbs Family Thank you for taking the time to write a message on this forum. For any suggestions, concerns and opinions I suggest you contact Gooderson Natal Spa directly and the General Manager will be happy to adhere to your requests. Best Regards Management
Motsumi N asked a question Jan 2017
Piet Retief, South Africa36 contributions6 helpful votes
how are the prices for a day visit and do you open on Sundays?
Sundree wrote a tip Jan 2024
19 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Roads are not too good, best travel during the day an not at night. "
Read full review
NightshadeJHB wrote a tip Sept 2023
Johannesburg86 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some potholes on the way there, like anywhere in SA these days..... "
Read full review
Bill Moy wrote a tip Jul 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa124 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own bath towels to avoid waiting. Bring cash please as there is a breakage deposit on check-in. "
Read full review
Glodean B wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not come here "
Read full review
WillemLab wrote a tip May 2023
Richards Bay, South Africa1,639 contribution370 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road to this resort is pathetic. Drive very slowly and watch for potholes. If you are elderly, insist on a ground floor timeshare unit."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paulpietersburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 919 - R 1,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the natal spa hot springs and leisure resort hotel paulpietersburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Natal Spa Hot Springs and Leisure Resort
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandPaulpietersburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOODERSON NATAL SPA HOT SPRINGS & LEISURE RESORT | UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Paulpietersburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire