We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elundini Backpackers

Save
Share
Elundini Location, Hogsback 5700 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (6)

About

#4 of 20 Speciality lodging in Hogsback
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This backpackers gives you a true Xhosa experience you won't find in any brochure. Stay in tradional rondavels and join the activities organised by local people trough their 100% self owned businesses. At night have a sundowner around the campfire and gaze at the galaxy of stars on a moonlit evening. A true sense of living guaranteed.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Laundry service
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Dutch
55Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ocelo wrote a review Dec 2019
Paris, France26 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely experience at Elundini Backpackers! The atmosphere is really serene and time seems to stand still. Lieve and Eliott make you feel like you're part of the family. It is wonderful to get up in the morning and to take in the fresh air and the quiet surroundings with the mountains close by There is just the right level of comfort, you don't get more than necessary and that what makes the place special - simplicity I also loved to walk through the village with a local guide and learn about the Xhosa culture, and it was a pleasure to take a Xhosa lesson with one of the inhabitants.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Elundini_Backpackers, Owner at Elundini Backpackers
Responded 31 Dec 2019
Thanks for the lovely review. You really put it nicely into words what we are all about. Lots of love. Lieve
Read more
rangeralex wrote a review Oct 2019
Chintsa East, South Africa29 contributions3 helpful votes
We regularly stay at Elundini with our pre-vet student group. It’s a great cultural experience with the favourite activity of traditional Xhosa breadmaking. Lieve and her team make everyone feel welcome and part of the family with a beautiful smile and tasty communal dinner in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Elundini_Backpackers, Owner at Elundini Backpackers
Responded 17 Oct 2019
Hi Alex, Thanks for taking the time to write this awesome review. It was nice seeing you again. To many more visits. Lots of love. Lieve
Read more
Claerwenh wrote a review Jun 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
I am a seasoned traveler and I have fortunate to have experience many wonderful holidays in my life. I am an outdoor enthusiast, so when I saw the 2 day hike that Elundini were offering, I loved the idea and booked immediately. Elliot is an absolutely amazing man and his co-host in the hike Elton is equally amazing. Elundini backpackers was an utterly charming experience and if you don't get there yourself to experience this village hospitality, basically you are an idiot! Lieve and Elliot are tremendous hosts and can be so proud of what they have accomplished. We were honored to meet them and get to spend time with them. Thank you both for being such exceptional human beings. It was an honor and privilege to get to know you both. We will DEFINITELY return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Elundini_Backpackers, Owner at Elundini Backpackers
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Hi, Thanks for this amaaaaaazing review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hike...but you guys were superfit 😂. Yes, definitely return!! Until we meet again... Warm regards, Lieve and Elliot
Read more
mountainsonmymind wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom31 contributions8 helpful votes
We were so impressed by this hostel. The owners are so immersed in helping the local Xhosa village in which it is situated that they are practically a development charity! We loved our experience to bake bread with the indomitable Primrose, which was perfectly organised by hostel owner Lieve. Kneading bread in the village, collecting wood in the forest, making a fire, and then sharing the bread together, what better way to spend time really getting to know a place, slowly. A highlight of our stay in South Africa, thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Elundini_Backpackers, Owner at Elundini Backpackers
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Thanks for this amazing review!! In every decision we make we put the community first and we see how they can also benefit. As the backpackers grows, the whole community must grow with us. We couldn't do it otherwise, it wouldn't feel good. Nice to hear you enjoyed your time with primrose. She is amazing!! Lots of love.
Read more
Matt_on_a_trip wrote a review Jan 2019
Uster, Switzerland12 contributions
It’s a super authentic place to see how the real africa looks like. I really enjoyed my 4 days there!! The owners are very lovely people and the property is just awesome!! The village has about 200 people, and is 100% save!”
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Doesn't matter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Elundini_Backpackers, Owner at Elundini Backpackers
Responded 06 Feb 2019
Hi Matt, Thanks once again to take the time to write this lovely review. If you still have some time in SA, just come back😂. It was great having you. Lots of love.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$23 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeHogsback
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Elundini Backpackers
What are some of the property amenities at Elundini Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Elundini Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Elundini Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Elundini Backpackers?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Elundini Backpackers have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.