We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and two friends were supposed to stay in Away with the fairies for a night, but the second we arrived we knew we didn't want to leave any time soon. So we extended our stay for another two days, which was a great decision. First of all the staff were so helpful and pleasant! The fully equipped bar offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuval B
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Yuval and CO. Thank you so very much for the amazing review, the pleasure lies with us in being able to have hosted your group for your stay in Hogsback. You bunch really did make the most of your stay here and we are glad you did. Please regard yourself as forever welcome at Away with the Fairies....

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome place, awesome people... Good vibes all round! Lots to do......Forest by day, bonfire by night! Staff are friendly and very helpful. Not one bad thing to say about this magical place. Already planning my next tripp ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanmtbiker
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

hello Jonathan. Many thanks for the awesome review, we are thrilled to be able to host you during your frequent stays in Hogsback. We always look forward to your visits. Always welcome. Kind regards Ben

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very unfriendly and always stoned. We were called high-maintenance because they had forgotten to put towels in our lodge and we dared to ask them for some. However, the meals are good, the view Point is amazing and some lodges offer real privacy if you don't mind the cute monkeys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank didi638
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Didi, I trust you are well. Many thanks for taking the time to review the Fairies on TripAdvisor. And a second thanks for still rewarding us a good review despite your negative experience with our staff. We are aware that a few of our staff members smoke, but I have never witnessed incompetence due to this myself. However,...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay at Fairies. Awesome vibes and interesting people were abundant. Its always great when you can step out of the forest and into a pub for a cold one :) will definitely see them again on our next tour to Hogsback.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Peter. Reviews like yours are what make our days more bearable and give us motivation to keep up the standards and improve on them for our future guests. Thank you very much for your kind words. Please do come past on your next tour in Hogsback, always welcome. Kind regards Ben

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The outside bath was the only great thing about this spot. our room was very dark and the beds were cheap and uncomfortable. It's ok but I wouldn't go back - there are plenty of better spots in hogs back. Not terrible but below average

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 911username
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Some of the issues you have raised are legit and are definitely something we need to work on, like we are. However, it would have been lovely to have been made aware of this before your departure. One couple did this season and they received and email...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We loved staying at away with the fairies. We were picked up by the owner (Dan) off the Baz bus. We were greeted by a firm hand shake and a very warm smile, much appreciated after a long journey. We were late arriving due to major delays with road works, but Dan made sure we had food that night. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globetrotter648
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day. Wow, your review is very kind, thank you so very much. We strive very hard to go the extra mile, this does not always pay off but in your case it clearly did and we take pride in that. We are thrilled that you had such a great time with us and hope that you will return for...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

This is a hostel located in a really beautiful location! We spent there New Years, chilling and watching the stars. Perfect if you want to just relax or explore, do some hikes, swim in waterfalls. The staff is very laid back, especially the lady who works in the mornings-sorry can't remember her name-very friendly and always smiling. Two of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Alexandra. Thank you very much for your excellent review despite the issues. The lady in the morning is called Nombasa AKA Itokoloshi, she does indeed smile all day and is the most cheerful fairy we have. My apologies that our staff were not very helpful when you required information. The only reason I can come up with is...

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed Christmas day at Away with the Fairies and it was amazing!!!! We loved the breakfast of the best flapjacks. Afterwards we walked down to the bath-probably the bath with the best view ever!!! There is a great hiking trail taking us past an 800 year Yellow Wood up to the Madonna and Child falls. The hiking trail is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank altaa2016
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Alta, It is good to see that we have managed to make such an impression even though you were not staying with us. We worked very hard on the Christmas buffet and it was indeed, if I may say so myself, a great success. TIP: Try adding some of the local berries to your flapjacks and they become...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Had the most amazing time the people are wonderful you treated like family it's very hard to go home after such a relaxing holiday it's absolutely breathtaking a must for everybody beautiful old forests amazing waterfalls, hiking trails and even more to do in town there is an awesome view point and bath tub on the cliff face which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sean Many thanks for giving us such a great review, we are honored by your kind words. Angie and I had a great time hosting you guys here and hope you will make it back to us for another visit before we leave in march. Thank you so much for choosing us to stay with in Hogsback. Regards Ben

Lichtenfels, Germany
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The Away with the Fairies is nicely disigned in a LOTR- style, the rooms show big paintings of the charakters. Next to the fascinating viewpoint (and the amazing bathtub) you can start the hiking trails through the fascinating forests. Visit Mother with child and other waterfalls! The staff will provide you maps to do that. The 4 th night is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neverathome2016
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Sincere apologies about the cold braai meat, our timing was indeed quite off on the night you had that meal, we have no excuses sorry. On the other hand, we are very happy that you had such a great time wandering through our forests. Getting lost...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
3.2 km away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
105 reviews
0.4 km away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
88 reviews
1.6 km away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Hogsback
30 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Away with the Fairies is a backpacker hostel with one of the best views in the country from our garden. We have all sorts of accommodation ranging from En-suites to Self Catering cottage, doubles, twins, dorms and camping. The hiking trails through Auckland Nature reserve start and finish in our back garden. On the hikes you can see ancient forests and endless waterfalls. Our atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, with nature and views what we are all about. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Address: Bag End, Ambleside Close, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Price Range: R262 - R301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dragons Lair offers privacy and is cute.”
 of 5 bubbles didi638, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I camped this time Spot on!.”
 of 5 bubbles Furbrain2015, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“haven't seen a bad one...”
 of 5 bubbles Astridt_exp, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“view dorm is great”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bilbos has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 657kylee, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5