We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Landing Strip, Hogsback 5721 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)

About

#3 of 18 Speciality lodging in Hogsback
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our Earth Home Project is a Backpackers, camping facility and eco-farm that celebrates a mindful, alternate way of living. This beautiful smallholding is situated way up in the hills of Hogsback. We practice conscious sustainable living, in simple, creative, comfortable structures & are 100% off the grid. If you dream of revitalizing and relaxing way up in magnificent clouds, we welcome you to Terra-Khaya. The Backpackers: Terra-Khaya offers a unique experience of sustainable living in stunning natural surroundings. We offer, comfy spacious double rooms, dorms, and a comfortable chill area, all built with recycled materials and natural recourses. Take a bath under the stars, enjoy delicious hearty food, relax in a hammock or give a hand on the farm. A sense of living guaranteed! Chillington Farm: The farm is set on 38 acres in the Amathole Mountain region, with a wide array of friendly farm animals and lovable horses. Our water comes from our stream, heating and cooking is wood-powered and minor electrical appliances are run off solar. We produce our own dairy and various foodstuffs from the garden for the kitchen. Amathole Horse Trails: Horses and riding is our passion and speciality; our 8 beautiful steeds and guide will take you on tailor-made excursions around the area. From short strolls into the village for lunch to overnight rides up into the surrounding mountains. Catering for all levels of rider, we endeavor to make your horseback fantasies come true!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
114Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 7
  • 5
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tiaan Jordaan wrote a review 01 Apr
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Just got back from the 10 day natural building course at Terra Khaya. The course was very insightful and I would recommend it to anyone interested in self sustainable/ off the grid living. I enjoyed the 10 days so much that I ended up staying 2 extra days. The food was amazing, we had freshly baked bread, home made kombucha, home made pizzas and many other memorable meals. The accommodation was great, the staff are super friendly and the backpackers has a very chilled vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tyler wrote a review Dec 2020
Port Elizabeth, South Africa13 contributions
This eco haven is the brain child of owner Shane. This charming place has a warm and welcoming communal area which is centered around a fire pit! Terra-Khaya has some gorgeous camping sites, cute bedrooms and cozy backpackers dorms. This place is run with love and care. The outdoor showers are amazing and the communal dinners are to die for! (Always say yes to pizza night!). This establishment also has the most amazing views! Terra-Khaya set the stage for an unforgettable trip! (If you’re an animal person then this is a must! The most well tempered and loving animals live on this property!)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shane Eades, Owner at Terra-Khaya
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Oh wow Tyler Thank you so much for your kind words - it makes me so happy to hear how Terra-Khaya and the animals touched your heart :) Hopefully, we get to see you on a nother trip again sometime soon. Take Care
Read more
Reny1992 wrote a review Jan 2020
Basel, Switzerland59 contributions10 helpful votes
I wanted to make a booking on short-term when I realized that my boyfriend an me will not make it to this place (too less time). So I canceld during the payment process. I got the info that the payment process failed and I will receive a mail with further instructions. After a while I realized that the mail was a confirmation for 3 nights being already paid (but only two nights confirmed). As I thought it was not booked, I contaced Terra Kaya to ask for a refund. Unfortunately Shane refused to pay anything back as acc. to their terms and conditions you cannot cancel one week before. I already have been to this wonderful place and I think it is very sad that they did not have any goodwill especially around Christmas :(
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Curiosity13053920951, Owner at Terra-Khaya
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Good Day Maren Thank you for sharing your feelings, however, I do not believe that your review is accurate or fair. We have already refunded one night's accommodation to you, and as I explained in our correspondence, that in-between you making and paying for the booking (an online booking process has many steps before the payment is verified) and your cancellation, we lost a 4 night booking for that same room (and our last room over that period). After receiving your last correspondence, I was willing to refund a second night's accommodation, however your mail came in during the busiest time of the year and i was flat out running with a full house and looking after guests and taking horse rides etc. All admin took a back stand till after New Years as I was run off my feet with the added pressure of our manager been away on paternity leave. I am sorry you lost out on the refund but so did we loose on the loss of business and income because of your booking error. All the best for 2020 Shane
Read more
PSRSwift wrote a review Mar 2019
10 contributions
+1
What a good time we had on our 4 day trip with Shane! We had read about Hogsback and, wanting a little adventure in our South Africa travels, thought Terra-Khaya sounded interesting. The 4 day horse ride got our attention and Shane was responsive to our queries; assuring us we would do just fine regardless of our age (all of us being 60+) and lack of experience. We opted to stay at Terra-Khaya the night before we left on the ride and the night of our return. Our rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, surrounded by dogs, cats and horses and just a short walk down to the toilet and showers – all with a beautiful view of the 3 Hogs. Lovely and relaxing! Terra-Khaya is built on a hill so you are always going up or down! Fortunately we had packed a small bag for the horse trip so we had little to haul up to our rooms. Since we had already been in Hogsback we opted to take our dinner and breakfast at Terra Khaya during our stay – seriously good food! Shane is extremely competent with the horses, and all his animals for that matter. We were pleased he uses natural horsemanship and the horses are treated with kindness and respect. Note: while I describe us as being on a horse ‘ride’ it really is a horse ‘walk’ because we really don’t know how to ride! Fortunately these are well trained horses and Shane adapted the trip to accommodate our lack of experience which made our journey easy and enjoyable. The trip Day 1 (4 hours): we left late in the afternoon, wanting to catch the sunset before heading to our accommodation – an easy ride on mostly back roads, The first night is usually spent camping but with rain in the forecast Shane arranged for us to stay at Elundini Backpackers, which we fully enjoyed! Dinner was the best darn beef stew I’ve had since my Mom’s and the rooms were comfortable and clean, but what we really enjoyed was the village children – lots of them - who loved hanging out with the horses. I am glad we didn’t camp or we would have missed our time at Elundini. Day 2 (2 hours): a short ride today as we head through villages and over the hills to spend the night at Vivian’s place. Vivian’s home is in a small village and she has a few rooms available along with cold beer and cider. While this is place is really basic, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Vivian is lovely and we were fawned over and catered to. Being the only woman she asked if I wanted a bucket of warm water to wash before bed and provided me with a portable toilet in case I had to go during the night. Dinner of chicken and salads was really good. Day 3 (6+ hours): As we head out, the village children are running along side, waving and calling to Shane (as happens in most villages) – they are adorable! today we head up and across the 3 Hogs and we are surprised we aren’t too sore to continue! It is amazing where these horses can go and the scenery is spectacular. Tonight we stay on a beautiful farm with a lovely couple who are friends of Shane. Again, comfortable accommodation and good food. Day 4 (~2 hours): a short ride back to Terra-Khaya where Shane arranged for lunch to be ready on arrival – another great meal - and our rooms ready for our return. I should also note that 5 of Shane’s dogs joined us on the horse trip. These dogs are friendly, loving and well trained, but also very protective of the horses. As we rode through villages where there are many barking, and sometimes snarling dogs, our dogs made sure none came near the horses, which was comforting for us riders! My only suggestion is that I would have like to have know the itinerary before we left – not detailed, just some approximate times of when we would arrive and leave each place. So, did we enjoy it – absolutely. Would I do it again – yup (maybe a riding lesson or two first though)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
mountainsonmymind wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom31 contributions8 helpful votes
Believe the hype, this place is better than the reviews. People talk about eco-tourism etc but this is the real deal - never have I seen so many grades of recycling, 30+ types of materials recycled, a genuine approach to natural horsemanship, and a fabulous communal meal every night. Forget mouldy hostel kitchen with bland meals, think homemade vegetarian stews cooked lovingly for hours under a soaring cathedral like roof. If only there were more places like this...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ShaneO E, Owner at Terra-Khaya
Responded 08 Mar 2019
Wow - Thank you for the feedback and great review. We appreciate that our way of living and sharing at Terra-Khaya had such a impact on your stay. Happy Day <3 Shane
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeHogsback
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Terra-Khaya
Which popular attractions are close to Terra-Khaya?
Nearby attractions include Hogsback Arboretum (3.1 km), Hogsback Adventures (3.3 km), and Crystal Corner (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Terra-Khaya?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Terra-Khaya?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Terra-Khaya?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Terra-Khaya?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Edge, The Lighthouse, and Happy Hogs.
Are pets allowed at Terra-Khaya?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Terra-Khaya have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.