New House Farm

New House Farm

New House Farm Barrel Lane Aston Ingham, Longhope GL17 0LS England
now that's what you call an English breakfast!
Traveller (11)
The Longhorn Room
Room & Suite (4)
Guests dining room
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 guest house in Longhope
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
A Georgian farmhouse bed and breakfast set up its own drive on the slopes of May Hill in a very quiet rural setting with no traffic. A real get away from it all gem but with easy access to the A40 and the M50. Walk through our 40 acres of woods, take a picnic and chill out in a leafy glade at a suitably sited picnic table. Take our way marked track to May Hill where you have fantastic views over 6 counties on a clear day. Meet our Longhorn cattle, sheep, horses, chickens, dogs and cats and our latest addition, alpacas named Jimmy & Elton. Delicious Aga cooked breakfasts, all with local produce including our own home reared Gloucester old spot sausages & bacon & our own free-range eggs are served in our spacious dining room. All bedrooms, one with a fourposter bed and one with a 6' bed, are ensuite and large with lovely rural views with free wifi & freeview flat screen TVs & hospitality trays. Chill out in our comfortable guests lounge with log fire & 50" Freeview TV and tea & homemade cake on arrival.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
75Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tony W wrote a review Sept 2018
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The farm is on a narrow single-track lane (Barrel Lane) with few passing places. To avoid a long drive on this lane it is best to approach the farm from the north (off the B4222) rather than the south (off the A40).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsty F wrote a review Jul 2018
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the most welcoming homely places myself and the wife have stayed. Very very quiet location with stunning views and amazing walks. Rosemary the host is an absolute diamond nothing is too much for her, she also cooks a great breakfast ! Overall what sets this one apart is the small touches, such as the fresh baked biscuits , availability of fresh milk . Just too many things to mention
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuttallba wrote a review Jul 2018
Stockport, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
characteristic farm house, very friendly host. Lovely large room with four poster bed which had a foam topper on mattress (think all beds should have them) also liked the fact they had a top sheet and then the duvet. Good bathroom, light on mirror, shower over bath ok but prefer electric showers. Really great cooked breakfast. Lovely views and a good quiet place to stay if touring area. would stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KAW687 wrote a review Oct 2014
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had been really looking forward to spending our special anniversary here, in the four poster room. First impressions didn't disappoint, the room was spacious and nicely furnished, if a little cold, noticed a big blue bottle on the window, but didn't think anything of it. Had a most welcome cup of tea and cake in the lounge and talked to the pleasant owner, all good. Back in the room there was now about 10 large flies buzzing around the light, we asked for some fly spray, closed the curtains turned off the main light and hoped this would do the trick. Had a bath and came out to find dead and dying flies around the room and more arriving. I picked up all the dead flies and went back down stairs, we had now spent an hour and a half of our anniversary trying to catch flies. Another can of fly spray was sourced, the owners said they didn't know what to suggest, mentioned the time of year and that it was a farm. They suggested we spray again and sit in lounge. After sitting for half an hour we went back, dead fly in tea cup, dying fly flew into my hair, 5 dead flies on bed, decided to leave,evening ruined. Felt that we had no support from the owners in sorting the issue out. The man kept saying "well it is a farm" yes a beef farm, but I wouldn't expect a cow in the bedroom. So at around 10pm we faced a four hour journey home, very sad and disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from scaldbrain, Owner at New House Farm
Responded 13 Oct 2014
Thank you for your nice comments from your first impressions. I am truly sorry that you did not stay with me in the end and you feel that the fly situation was not resolved. Indeed after the flies had been sprayed you sat in the guests lounge at my suggestion for 1/2 an hour and I was on my way to pick them up and ensure the temporary situation was resolved but you chose to leave. I am sorry that you felt you had no support from us but I could not move you to another bedroom as I was fully booked that night but did everything I could to solve the problem which is something we have never experienced before. It is a shame that you did not feel you could stay overnight and experience my award winning breakfast either.This is the first bad review I have received in the 15 years I have been running the B & B and have been very upset that you chose this way to express your opinion but appreciate you were not satisfied and we therefore did not take a charge even though you used the facilities in the room. Our guests' enjoyment and comfort is our key priority which is borne out by all my other reviews. This is a comment from another couple who stayed that same night Booking.com The house & location were perfect for peace & quiet but still within easy reach of the surrounding attractions. Rosemary was a lovely host very attentive, and cooks a tasty breakfast. It's definitely somewhere we would stay again.”
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
psaund203991 wrote a review Jul 2018
Gloucester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi there i can't recommend the new house farm enough Rosemary really makes you feel at home, its in a great setting with some smashing local pubs to eat and drink at. The breakfast is amazing the best English breakfast ive ever had! It was so good we had to go back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
twhiti241229 wrote a review May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rosemary was the perfect hostess and nothing was too much trouble. Nice bright double room with comfy bed and ensute shower. Breakfasts were very hearty, using produce from the farm such as bacon and sausages. Nice country walks direct from the farm, and some lovely looking pubs nearby. Very relaxing and would highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
psaund161877 wrote a review May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You get a warm greeting from The owners and this continues as we felt always welcome some amazing touches to our stay amazing breakfast the best bacon ive ever had great choice on breakfast, found the owners to be very knowledgeable about area and helpful in recommending places to vist extremely happy couldn't recommend enough would happily go back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard B wrote a review Aug 2016
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely place to stay. Beautiful working farm, which is away from all the hussle and bussle. Lovely large four poster bedroom, which is very clean and well presented. Rosemary is a very warm and friendly host, who was always on hand. We would go there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from scaldbrain, Owner at New House Farm
Responded 09 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review I hope to see you again before too long!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsMadeiranspoon wrote a review May 2016
Winchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelled with my parents for my birthday. Lovely warm welcome from Rosemary with coffee and cake on arrival and immediately felt very at ease and as if we were with old friends. Went for a short walk to find the cattle and alpacas and enjoy the views. Views from bedrooms were terrific too. The next morning was my 50th birthday and my full English arrived with a candle in the sausage - a small touch that had a big impact! The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and we all had clean plates. Absolutely no hesitation in returning for another stay (if Rosemary will have us) or recommending to others. Only regret was we were not able to stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tamsin t wrote a review May 2015
Gloucester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful old house in the middle of the countryside & is part of a working farm. Rosemary was very welcoming, with tea & cake in the sitting room & gave lots of useful information regarding places to eat & visit. The (superior) room was really lovely, king size comfortable bed, blackout lined curtains & lovely bathroom. We enjoyed meeting the dogs & cats outside (they don't come into the house) & were very impressed by the delicious breakfast & all the lovely touches. Will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Leanne B wrote a tip Aug 2018
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no bath in the Angus Suite. Solo travellers may have to sit with other patrons during breakfast. "
Read full review
blong839404 wrote a tip Apr 2018
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the smallest room which was plenty big enough. Lovely and bright and cosy "
Read full review
David W wrote a tip Aug 2016
Farnham, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big rooms are best"
Read full review
VM B wrote a tip Jul 2016
Chichester, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Splash out for the four poster bed room for a special experience."
Read full review
Graham R wrote a tip Sept 2015
Chelmsford, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms a great standard"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Longhope area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGloucestershireLonghope
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEW HOUSE FARM - Guesthouse Reviews (Longhope, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about New House Farm
Which popular attractions are close to New House Farm?
Nearby attractions include Briery Hill Llamas (3.7 km), BattleSports Glos (8.0 km), and Chessgrove Shooting School (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at New House Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at New House Farm?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at New House Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to New House Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tea Room & The Fairview Gardener, Old Dairy Tearoom, and Moody Cow.
Does New House Farm offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to New House Farm?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Goodrich Castle (10.5 km), Hellens (11.4 km), and Blackfriars (15.1 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire