The Farmers Boy Inn

The Farmers Boy Inn

Traveller (357)
Creamed Risotto
Dining (174)
Room & Suite (36)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 3 inns in Longhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Voted by TripAdvisor in the TOP 10% of Hotels in the World. Simply put, we LOVE what we do. "Hospitality". Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Strangers gather and leave as Friends. Gives you a Holiday feel. Making you smile. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation, attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After an evening of gastro food delights, award-winning gourmet pies, laughter and the occasion singsong and music in front of the open fire retire to our courtyard of individually simple designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights, and smells of the idyllic Gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and a stroll up the majestic May Hill. It's what we do best.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Bowling offsite
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,415 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Farmers Boy Inn is often celebrated for its dog-friendly policy and the cozy charm of its rooms, complete with essential amenities. Guests frequently commend the warm atmosphere and the delightful pub fare. While most find the inn's cleanliness and service to be commendable, a few have pointed out areas needing improvement. Its prime location is regularly highlighted for peaceful rest and accessibility to local attractions. Opinions on value for money are divided, with some guests considering the food pricey despite acknowledging overall quality.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,415Review5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 965
  • 285
  • 96
  • 42
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
yatescedarcourt wrote a review Mar 2020
Alderton, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our recent one night stay at the Farmers Boy Inn. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and the pub has a warm atmosphere and wood fire. We enjoyed a lovely dinner with one of their award winning pies and some fantastic filet steak. The cooked breakfast was included and was served quickly and hot, and was very good. The pub is pet friendly and we appreciated being allowed to take our dog inside. The bedrooms are located outside of the pub and are purpose built single storey rooms which are quite spacious and ensuite and furnished to an adequate standard.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Hi Dear guest, Greetings from The Farmer's Boy Inn and thank you for providing us with your feedback. This has now been shared with the team and they were truly appreciative of the same. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Farmer's in the near future. Regards, The Farmer's Boy Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ollycromwell wrote a review Oct 2020
bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I met with some friends last night and had the most super evening. The pub have worked on the social distance issues really well. We were booked into a heated hut in the garden which was nicely decorated with fairy lights and seating. It was really great fun and we were looked after really, really well. The staff popped out to us many times during our meal to make sure we were OK and there was also a button to turn on la light to get their attention should we need it. I felt the whole experience was really well thought out and I can highly recommend it as a place to eat a good home cooked meal. I was also impressed with the manner and attitude of the staff, very pleasant and lots of smiles. I thought the food was perhaps a little pricey having paid £17 for a veg pie and chips but am happy to support local businesses under the current circumstances and I will be back. They also had a very user friendly app that we ordered our drinks and food through Thank you Megs, Rachel & Susie for looking after us all so very well. I hope to see you all again soon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Phil Kiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 03 Oct 2020
Hi Olly, Greetings from The Farmer's Boy Inn and thank you for providing us with your feedback. We were glad to hear you enjoyed the experience and had a wonderful visit, which is our number one priority. This has now been shared with the team and they were truly appreciative of the same. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Farmer's in the near future. Thank you so much for your support. Regards, The Farmer's Boy Inn Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Claire W wrote a review Jul 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We discovered this fab place only last year and have been many time and has always been brilliant. We popped in on Saturday and the service and Covid precautions put in place are excellent! All table service, phone apps to order (helpful staff to assist), toilet fobs so they can be cleaned after each use. They even have lots of pods in the garden, so people can eat outside in all weather's and still be socially distanced. The staff are working so hard with all the extra bits, but they were amazing. Such a great 1st eating out experience since lockdown. Thank you, we shall definitely be back 👍
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Phil Kiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Hi Claire, Greetings from The Farmer's Boy Inn and thank you for providing us with your feedback. We were glad that you felt safe while dining which is our number one priority. This has now been shared with the team and they were truly appreciative of the same. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Farmer's in the near future. Thank you so much for your support Regards, The Farmer's Boy Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
COLINFirst S wrote a review Jul 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This place had been recommended to us and as pie fans we were really looking forward to trying it. These are difficult times for the hospitality industry and it was obvious that staff were doing their best to follow procedures which are very new to them. we had booked by phone earlier in the day but when we arrived there was no booking to be found. This didn't pose a problem and having registered and been temperature tested we were shown to a table. We were asked to order on our mobile which is a bit of a faff and means that you are not really able to ask questions about your meal. Having received confirmation of our order we were advised by the app that it would be 30 minutes. Forty minutes later we were advised that there was no shortcrust left and would we like puff pastry instead. Although slightly disappointed we agreed and waited a further 20 minutes before our food eventually arrived. Frankly we were completely underwhelmed, at £18 for pie, peas and chips we had expected something special. Sadly the meat in my wife's meal was dry and overcooked, both portions of peas were hard ( not been soaked for long enough?) The chips were ok though. Whilst eating we were not approached by any member of staff asking how our meal was, only when we had finished and a member of staff asked how our meal was were we able to raise our concerns. Having done so the response was a terse "I'll let the kitchen know." A few moments later the staff member of staff walked past us and said " I've let the kitchen know" then sauntered off, no apology , no acknowledgement of our dissatisfaction. I fully understand times are tough at the moment and there will be difficulties in adapting to the "New Normal" for pubs and restaurants and am prepared to give a modicum of leeway because of this. What I will not accept however is what I feel was very poor value for money for an allegedly "award winning pie ( I can get much better at my golf club for just over half the price)" and being made to feel as though our custom does not matter. Of course if you pay for your food before you get it you have limited redress, perhaps staff realise that? Another issue that we had was when trying to pay for drinks we were told that cash could not be accepted we would have to pay by card as they were not operating tabs. We happily did so but were confused some minutes later when the same waitress accepted a £5 tip from another table and swiftly pocketed it (must have been a clean one!!). My advice to anyone thinking of visiting is give this place a miss for the time being. They have many great reviews but honestly seem to be struggling trying to get their act together at the moment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holly E wrote a review Dec 2020
Lydney, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having a slightly unpredictable toddler we thought the pied away pods would be perfect for us to enjoy a birthday meal without worrying about disturbing others and as a bonus they're dog friendly. We arrived and had our temperatures checked and were shown to our pod by a very friendly waitress who left us to look at the menu. She did inform us there maybe a slight delay as she was the only one currently working. When she came back to take our order neither of our drinks choices were available and there were actually only three lagers available rather than the ten or so on the menu..
We both chose pie and sausage and chips for our son. Our food took around 45 minutes to arrive which baffled us a little as it was only 12pm and only around three other families in the pub so definitely not that busy. My husbands pie was fine but a bit short on chips, I had the wrong order (this is the second time this has happened to me here) and had chicken and mushroom rather than steak and stout, the waitress quickly realised and came back to take my food away. My pie arrived about 5 minutes later but must have been microwaved as the dish and filling was extremely hot and took ages to cool down. Pies themselves were ok but I don't feel really worth the £16 price tag. We were going to have pudding but it took so long for anybody to come back and take our order we gave up and just asked for the bill. Unfortunately there was a large amount of dog poo outside our pod which I managed to step in when we were leaving, I know this isn't the pubs fault and dog owners should be more responsible but it was frustrating and not the best end to a lunch time treat. The waitress response was "oh ok" so I very much hope the paving was cleaned before anybody else stepped in it. Overall a bit of a disappointing lunchtime treat which is a shame as it should be lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Phil Kiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Hi Holly, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are sorry for your experience. We're operating under COVID circumstances so times for meals are going to be longer, this is because we wouldn't have as much staff on following certain COVID policies. Hence the reason why it's taking a little bit more time, but thank you for your understanding. We have also noted the concern with regards to dog poo and agrees it is the owner's responsibility, rest assured this is something we will need to put attention to and we'll try to implement a system to prevent such from happening again in the future. We sincerely hope we could serve you back again at the pub. Thank you. Regards, The Farmers Boy Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen E wrote a review May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights. The best bit about the place is the GM Phil, very welcoming and professional. The accommodation was OK, clean, recently decorated, although the room did not get much natural light and was painted grey, including the ceiling so it was all a bit dim. Basic room so not even a stool or chair so nowhere to sit apart from bed and not a lot of storage room. Small TV, (not a problem, don't go away to watch TV) but it was on a lethally positioned shelf at exactly the right height to take a lump out your scalp, why can't it just be fixed to the wall? Breakfast was disorganised - cereals on the bar but no bowls or milk. Juice and fruit were listed on the menu but not out anywhere but juice did arrive after I asked for some but there was only one member of staff out front and she was mopping the floor as well as looking after guests which wasn't great for either. We ate in one evening and the food was very good but not particularly cheap so I would expect it to be of a good standard. Location not great, literally in the middle of nowhere but at least it was peaceful. Couple of guests were out in the courtyard late evening and very noisy but did quiet down when asked. OK for a couple of nights.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Phil Kiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 23 May 2022
Hi Eileen, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the kind comments and would like to apologise for the experience you had. Our team really values each and every guest experience and would like to learn further what could we have done better. We also take note of your honest comments and have added this to our action list. Thank you so much for your continued support and hope to welcome you here back again soon. Regards, The Farmer's Boy Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Hill wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We very much enjoyed our recent 2 night stay at the Farmer's Boy Inn in a comfortable, refurbished room, one of 7 or 8 (sorry, didn't note the exact number) that sit in a small courtyard at the rear of the property, so although the inn is directly on the A40 there is little noise from the road.
The great reviews about the award-winning pies are not exaggerated. Over the 2 evenings we tried a selection and all were excellent, as were the breakfasts. But the best thing about this place is the warm welcome you will receive from the manager Phil and his team. We will definitely return on future visits to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Phil Kiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Hi, Greetings from The Farmer's Boy Inn and thank you for your fantastic review. We were glad that you guys have enjoyed the experience. This has now been shared with the team and they were truly appreciative of the same. Thank you so much for your continued support and hope to welcome you here back again soon. Regards, The Farmer's Boy Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RLouise wrote a review Oct 2020
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After wanting to visit the Farmers Boy for probably a year.. we finally managed to arrange a visit (myself and two friends) i booked a table for lunch time on a friday afternoon which we have all been looking forward too. All covid precautions in place and well organised. The three of us all opted for different pies which they are well known for and have won awards. Even though we were the only three in the pub throughout our visit we expected a wait for our pies as this is advertised as they are freshly made - not a problem at all. My two friends chose the puff pastry option which was a pot pie.. and I chose the shortcrust which is a 'proper' pie.. both pot pies arrived piping hot but unfortunately my shortcrust pie was luke warm at best. After getting the attention of the waiter/barman I made him aware my pie was cold and he took it back to the kitchen where everything was microwaved and re-plated, including my what were very nice crunchy chips which sadly returned soggy. My meal was obviously cooked first and left to stand while the other two pot pies were still cooking. The filling in the pie however I'm sure would have been delicious if it was hot and the pastry which was undercooked on the bottom of the pie was cooked throughly. Very disappointing we were the only people in the pub so food should not have arrived cold especially when each pie is priced at £17.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
23maddy wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Friday evening, a party of four. We were a booked table.
Waited a while for orders to be taken and then waited even longer for our meals. Sat down at 7.30pm and our food arrived at the table at 9.15pm. Thank goodness for brilliant company.
My partner ordered a special fillet steak for £24.95. The chef forgot to put half of the food on the plate. The steak was actually a steak medallion when questioned on the look and size of the steak, very disappointed, definitely not worth the money. The fact it was a medallion was not stated when ordering or on specials board. My burger was really tasty and so was the sirloin steak ordered hence the two stars. Mussels were luke warm but couldn’t afford to wait any longer.
Staff really had no idea what was going on, no idea of gluten free option, no idea of drinks asked for, a brand of whiskey, they had to walk back and forth to the kitchen to work out which steak was which.
Overall real disappointment. Will not rush back. Poor all round.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
magiann87 wrote a review Sept 2020
Preston, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a two night stay here and on our first morning there we woke to the electric going off at 8am, so we had no hot water for a shower, no kettle, no wifi, no lights.So we went to a nearby town for breakfast and returned about half one hoping that the electric was back on. It was'nt. When asked we were told it was a scheduled repair that the staff knew about but failed to tell us when booking and when we arrived at check in. Which we thought was very poor.
The walls of the rooms are very thin and we could could here adjoining rooms going to the toilet and here their conversations very clearly.
We didnt think this hotel was value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Phil Kiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn
Responded 03 Oct 2020
Hi Dear Guest, Greetings from The Farmer's Boy Inn and thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are sorry about your experience especially with the power outage. If you could please send us your review in email and we will do our best to make it up with you. We look forward to hearing from you. Regards, The Farmer's Boy Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roversbluenose asked a question May 2022
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom33 contributions18 helpful votes
Where can you buy the pies they sell in the pub
Answer from Louise H
13 contributions12 helpful votes
MadAboutPies
Staines, United Kingdom98 contributions77 helpful votes
Maybe this is a question for the owner,
Answer from Thorbulan-66
Hythe, United Kingdom
Sorry! Can't say that we noticed, because there was a private function in the annex.
Clare L asked a question Dec 2015
Hereford, United Kingdom22 contributions27 helpful votes
is sunday lunch served, if so, is it a carvery ? thanks
Answer from Jayne9966
Usk, United Kingdom17 contributions29 helpful votes
Sunday lunch is served, but it is not a carvery. Food is wonderful give it a try
Answer from PhilKiernan
Gloucester, United Kingdom29 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi and thank you for your enquiry. We do indeed welcome dogs at The Farmers Boy Inn. There is a small charge of £10 per night and we allow all dogs in the lounge and Bar area where the full menu is served. We cannot allow pets in the restaurant because of strict health and hygiene laws. I hope that answers your questions. Kind Regards Phil Kiernan MD
Tony S wrote a tip 01 Jul
Nottingham, United Kingdom11 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms out the back, very quiet. "
Read full review
speedyjag wrote a tip Apr 2024
leicestershire66 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly reccomend home made pies!"
Read full review
Roger C wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Must go to appreciate my views"
Read full review
kathy j wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go"
Read full review
Richard G wrote a tip Feb 2024
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go there hungry because I guarantee you will be left full but wanting more"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Longhope area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,469 - R 2,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the farmers boy hotel longhope
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGloucestershireLonghope
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FARMERS BOY INN - Reviews & Price Comparison (Longhope, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Farmers Boy Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Farmers Boy Inn?
Nearby attractions include Briery Hill Llamas (4.9 km), The Palace Cinema Cinderford (7.0 km), and BattleSports Glos (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Farmers Boy Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Farmers Boy Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at The Farmers Boy Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Farmers Boy Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Farmers Boy Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tea Room & The Fairview Gardener, Old Dairy Tearoom, and Moody Cow.
Are pets allowed at The Farmers Boy Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Farmers Boy Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Goodrich Castle (10.2 km), Hellens (12.6 km), and Blackfriars (15.0 km).
Is The Farmers Boy Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire