We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mogalakwena River Lodge

Save
Traveller (35)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“river lodge”(9 reviews)
“private deck”(4 reviews)
“game drives”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
19
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
19
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver lodgeprivate deckgame drivesrelaxing weekendgravel roadmagical placesaladthe reservelemon meringue piebird lifecentresettinglimpopoartsimpletranquilknowledge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Really enjoyed the personal touch at this small lodge which gives close attention to guests and is a beautiful spot with lots of art and local flair making it a unique and special destination. Great staff, lovely accommodation and good food served in a fabulous...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SheriBRSA
Response from Mogalakwena, Manager at Mogalakwena River LodgeResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you very much SheriBRSA for your review! We are really happy you enjoyed Mogalakwena and we hope to see you soon again! Mogalakwena Team

Reviewed 7 May 2018

There is a rhythm to the location, especially the river, and the people that soon leads to a relaxed state of body and mind. You can choose to be as active or sedentary as you like. Watch the birds. Take a walk. Ride your bike....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 575johan
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Met by lovely hostess/manager Maphula. Relaxed from minute we arrived as setting charming - green lawns, fever trees, charming lodge on river. Ensuite room overlooking vlei private and 'out of Africa'. Small quiant and personal lodge with a romantic, understated appeal. Highly recommended.

Thank 582brian
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The place was quite neat. The room we were in was spacious for 3 adults. The area is located in a quiet area. I enjoyed my stay. The bathroom is neat and tidy. The geyser water was warm also. The place for me was quite...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ngetye402524
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I stayed at this venue from a Friday afternoon to the Sunday morning. It is run by incompetent, skeleton staff, reception was always unmanned, except during check out. No available staff at the bar, or anywhere else. Pool area was disappointing. Food quality was poor,...More

1  Thank Wilhelm N
Response from Mogalakwena, Owner at Mogalakwena River LodgeResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Wilhelm N, Thank you for your honest review of Mogalakwena after your stay during the wedding of your friends this past weekend. We were disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and would appreciate the opportunity to change your mind in the future....More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$160 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$160 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mogalakwena River Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Choose a room close to the Wifi router with air-conditioning!"
Read review
"the thatched Chalets are spacious with AC."
Read review
"We have a baby, so a bath helps. Request a room if you like bathing or have a baby.(All river lodge chalets..."
Read review
"Room away from the main lodge is better"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing