We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Torre del Sole

Via Manicalunga, 01016 Marina Velca, Tarquinia Italy
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (8)


Hotel Torre del Sole is just on the private beach and includes a magnificent garden with 3 swimming pools, sun ombrellas with sun beds and chairs. Its restaurant provides sea food specilities as well as pizza and salads. Special events with food and winetasting. A local products menu is served with km 0 food. Buy some pasta, wine or honey at our countryside desk: your holiday will last a little more! Free parking area and games area for children. Entertainment program provided on July and August. It is a very quiet place where the sea voice can be heard from the room windows. You just walk through the garden, reach the sand and wet your feet. A very easy holiday for the whole family. Etruscan Museum and Necropolis and a beautiful country with delicious local wines should be visited.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
211Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 65
  • 35
  • 26
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Pathum R wrote a review Sep 2015
Negombo, Sri Lanka13 contributions1 helpful vote
Reccommended for those who like to stay away from chaos. Very quiete, nice staff, spacious single rooms. Certainly there is to improve, to stay competitive. Its just two steps away from the sea, the greatest advantage of this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from DANIELA E, Responsabile reception at Hotel Torre del Sole
Responded 14 Oct 2015
Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Torre del Sole. This is the right place to avoid chaos as you say, but even to eat good food, mainly local products are offered at our fish restaurant and magnificent pizza as well. Staying with a family all services are easily at your disposal: beach, restaurant, game park, parking area, garden.... Then I am glad you appreciate our staff kindness, that is what we call "the cherry on the cake". Waiting to see you again, best regards,
Read more
Therese S wrote a review Sep 2015
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We checked in for two nights at this resort, together with our four kids, 9, 6 and one year old twins. There had been a misunderstanding with our booking, and we were first offered two rooms quite far apart from each other, but the hotel manager and owner fixed it and made to put all of us into a big family room, even if the hotel was full booked. The standard is quite simple like it often is in Italy. It's like the time has been standing still since the 70ties. for example, swim caps is prohibited if you are going to use the pool. The hotel is on the beach and the beach is lovely. The restaurant was quite good serving traditional Italian dishes. If you are looking for a genuine and authentic Italian experience, I would highly recommend this hotel resort.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Family Room With Balcony and Sea view
See more room tips
Response from DANIELA E, Responsabile reception at Hotel Torre del Sole
Responded 14 Oct 2015
Thank you a lot for your revenue. We are a family hotel, and we take care of our customer hiolidays, with a warm care. Our restaurant offers local and Bio products. Our affectionated customers have their own fruit tree that we dedicate in the garden. Many families that come at our beach resort are at their third generation! My family manages this hotel since 1979 but it is yearly refurbished, be sure. Many rooms where completely painted and their carpet floor removed during last winter. Then I am very glad that you spent a lovely holiday with your nice family. I am sure your children liked our children game park, our swimming pools, and the outside restaurant that allowed them to play in the garden while waiting for their faboulos pizza!! Best regards to all of you: waiting to come again next summer??
Read more
Adidoosh2015 wrote a review Aug 2015
7 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked this hotel months ahead. I read the reviews and knew I wasn't coming to a luxury resort. I was looking for a relaxing weekend on the beach with the kids after a 10 days road trip in Tuscany so this looked like a nice family resort for the kids to have fun. We got two connected rooms for us and the kids. Front desk had no key for the front door of the two rooms so basically it was two adjacent rooms which was disappointing. Our room's carpet was so dirty and smelly from mold and dirt that it was unbearable to breath. The faucets of the sink as well as the shower were all rusty and with fur and the water that came out of them tasted horrible that I couldn't even brush my teeth with them. This bath condition was same at my kids bathroom. The toilet seat was disconnected from its location and the flush handles came out when you tried to flush them. Bed mattress and pillows were hard as a rock. Me and my husband didn't sleep at all that night. In the morning we asked another room. Have to say that from desk were nice and tried their best to make us feel comfortable and gave us another room (I asked without a carpet). The room we got was cleaner since it had tiles but the shower faucet was broken and we couldn't take a shower. Amenities of the rooms are very old and not maintained. Peeling Formica, broken desk, old and rusty showers etc. hotel facilities were ok. The beach front was nice. The pool is also very old and is closed for a couple of hours every noon. Everyone must wear a cup even my boys who have very short hair. On the beach you get a designated umbrella and chairs for the whole stay and you are not allowed to seat in other chairs. So when we arrived at the beach at 9am, 95% of the chairs were empty until around noon (when we left for lunch) but still we had to seat in the forth row of the umbrellas as this was the only umbrella vacant when we checked in. This wasn't easy with 3 little ones running to the water all day. So basically I had to seat on the sand next to the water to be able to watch them and didn't "enjoy" an umbrella. Around noon when we went back to the room to change and shower, the water in the shower were still running with a trickle of water, that was the point when I couldn't see myself staying there for 3 more night as we were supposed to and we made changes to our plans and left the resort to Rome. Must say that front desk staff were nice the whole time regardless of my endless complaints and really tried to help us and fix whatever that they could. But I just couldn't stay there. It was to much for me. They didn't charge us any penalty for leaving earlier. Tip - the whole area is fully booked months in advance and we couldn't find a room to stay in the area and money wasn't an issue. It was just impossible to get a room anywhere on the beach within 50 miles north or south. So make sure that if you book a hotel in Tarquinia, you know exactly what are you getting into. And do your hygiene self a favor - and stay out of Torre del sole.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from DANIELA E, Responsabile reception at Hotel Torre del Sole
Responded 14 Oct 2015
I am very sorry: it seems to me you have been in a different hotel according to other revenues. 2 days before your arrival another family stayed for 14 days in the same room that was given to you and asked for next year to fix the same. Same room different people, different thoughts. Thank you for appreciating staff kindness. It could be impossible to be nice in a place that you have to avoid: their job should be too much hard to substain!. Best regards
Read more
RickKatzTravelogue wrote a review May 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions1 helpful vote
I and my wife have spent a long week-end at Torre del Sole and we were able to enjoy the best of Tarquinia from this quiet oasis: its seaside, it's medieval city center and the tombs. The hotel overlooks a beautiful garden and the sea. The staff speaks decent English and gave us a glimpse of warm Italian hospitality. Excellent for price/quality ratio: we want to try it over the summer!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
Response from DANIELA E, Responsabile reception at Hotel Torre del Sole
Responded 18 May 2014
We all are very glad for your words. Our hotel is very pleasant in summer too:it is just on the beach, but you can relax either on the green of its garden. Swimming pools, seal center, and entartainment programs fill your days of activities if you need some. We are sure you wiil aprreciate our sea food cusine and special summer events. Best regards, Daniela
Read more
Roanne T wrote a review Nov 2012
Auckland Central, New Zealand45 contributions16 helpful votes
We booked one night at this hotel for early September 2012. It was our first day of our Italian road trip and thought a night staying in a relaxed beach location would be nice. OHHH we where soooo wrong. The place is really run down and grubby. The reception is ok, but once you enter the hallways its all stained carpets and unpleasant odours. Our room was very drab, the aircon didn't work, the bathroom was dirty (pubic hairs around the base of the toliet). And there was a yapping dog in the next room. We arrived early afternoon so where in need of lunch, when we went back to reception we where informed that the kitchen was closed. We where directed to the beach shop. There was no food there either. They did try for us and reheat a frozen Lazanga, that was presented to us still cold. The relaxing out doors also proved a disappointment. The deck chairs are rusty and broken, and if you want to swim in the pool you must wear a swimming cap. We decided to drive up to the old town of Tarquinia for something to eat. It was so much nicer up there that we decided to check out of the Torre del Sole and find accommodation in the historic town. The only positive I can say about Torre del Sole was that the lady on reception seemed genuiely upset that we where not happy with the hotel. This hotel may be ok for families (although its not cheap considering the state of the place) - but if you've come around the world for the italian experience don't do it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from DANIELA E, Responsabile reception at Hotel Torre del Sole
Responded 10 Aug 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your staying but the description you made seems you are speaking of something else. Our rooms are wide and clean and the bathroom too. Our beach resort has no rusty chairs as they are in alluminium. The kitchen closes at 2:30 but the beach cafè generally provides hot meal all day long. Air conditioning is separately provided in every room and none of them was broken. Maybe it would be useful to speak to reception desk about your desease and let us manage. We take care of our visitor and are really very sorry for your trouble.
Read more
US$86 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalyLazioProvince of ViterboTarquiniaMarina Velca
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Torre del Sole
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Torre del Sole?
Nearby attractions include Museo Nazionale Tarquiniense (5.5 km), Necropoli di Tarquinia (7.5 km), and Santa Maria di Castello (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Torre del Sole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Torre del Sole?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Torre del Sole?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Torre del Sole?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Torre del Sole?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coco's, Pane Pelle Vino Beach, and Patisserie - Belle Helene.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Torre del Sole?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Torre del Sole have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Torre del Sole offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Torre del Sole?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Torre del Sole offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Torre del Sole?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chiesa di San Pancrazio (5.8 km), Palazzo Vitelleschi (5.5 km), and Palazzo dei Priori (5.6 km).