We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch

Save
Share
R 401 ,HF 11, Hartebeestfontein rd, Hekpoort 1790 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)

About

#9 of 17 in Hekpoort
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch is situated at the foothills of the Magaliesberg Mountains, less than an hour's drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria. It is the perfect venue for Bachelor or Birthday parties and Corporate Functions. With Clay Target Shooting on site .
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Plunge pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Compare More Popular Hotels
3Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Sort by:
Most Recent
Palesa M wrote a review Apr 2017
4 contributions1 helpful vote
we went to the shooting fun...it was so nice the owner is patient and very friendly..he is so calm he makes sure you understand ..overrall good expirence..would love to go again for clay target shooting.. thanks
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Codenameyash wrote a review Mar 2017
Bryanston, South Africa22 contributions8 helpful votes
Firstly I would like to mention that the weekend away was for a bachelors event. Now, whilst I do not expect 5 star decor or ammenities when at this type of particular function, one would like to enjoy some comforts. Driving in an SUV/4x4 while not essential is more than recommended, I would not recommend a hatchback, in storms and such it would most definitely be stuck. The gravel roads can be a harsh on a vehicle. I completely understand that management would not want to invest in a place that is as they say prime for bachelor parties, but at least make the place more welcoming and pleasant. The decor is pretty much something that grandma would approve off, old furniture old styling even comes with haunting pictures of woman staring at you! It is rather unnerving. The management could firstly redecorate and renovate here and there, would vastly improve the experience. It is a self catering place, has quite a lot to offer in terms of utensils and dishes, which was rather nice. Has coffee facilities, gas stove, fridge and a microwave. The braai facilities are quite good, but if you want to use it, you will have to wait until all the clay pidgeons have been shot! The shooting range is operated right from there! Yes, it is in the wilderness, so it is rather busy with insects and such. The shower is a problem that needs fixing, it is inconsistent, with a rather large delay between you wanting more warm water to when you actually get it. When it does arricve, it arrives in droves. Be careful! Now the owners operate a Clay pidgeon shooting range right in front of the lodge which is rather inconsiderate! Why on earth would you want to put your patrons through such a fiasco! Highly unprofessional and a show of total disregard for those around! Its really hard to find something nice to say about this place, because in all honestly I hardly enjoyed it! Please rather not stay here! Seriously stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Rather skip this lodge, stay at a proper place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AlfTheron, Owner at The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch
Responded 12 Aug 2017
Firstly , you were part of a bachelor group that nearly trashed the venue. Your group also refused to pay for damages after your breakage deposit was not enough to cover all the damages. And I have pictures to prove it. Secondly the Lodge is furnished with mostly vintage furniture and decorations , and it is marketed as an old or retro farm style venue. Maybe you do not know the difference between "old" and vintage or antique. Nothing in the venue is unserivicible or broken and a lot was invested in time and money to recreate a 50's style farm house. Because we are situated in a rural area , it can be expected that we have dirt access roads . Potential visitors are also made aware of this fact. And because we are in a rural area , we do not have access to municipal water supply with the normal pressure that you are used to in town. We rely on borehole water and gravity feed. There are enough geysers to supply hot water to the four bathrooms, but if 20 people camp out in the showers you will run out of hot water.The venue is also advertised as having Clay Pigeon Shooting on site as an attraction. This activity is hugely popular with quests. Your group did not book a shoot, but the group shooting when you arrived early, did not effect your braai at all, or your access to the house facilities, including the kitchen. I suggest that if you do not have appreciation for the great outdoors, rather stay in town. We have lots of visitors that appreciate the location of the venue and farm atmosphere.
Read more
Pieter W wrote a review Dec 2014
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Quality accomodation. Clean and stylish rooms. Good self catering facilities and quality breakfast. We were recieved with warm hospitality and the service from the owners was very pleasant. I would definately return when we are back in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: We stayed in the double room with the super best bed ever!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Write your review
What was your hotel experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your hotel experience through your eyes.
Post a photo
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and hotel staff your top questions.
Ask a question
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengHekpoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch
Which popular attractions are close to The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Nearby attractions include Saddle Creek Adventures (6.1 km), Shooting Fun (0.9 km), and Mud And Dust Paintball (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a view of the mountains, and an oven.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esther's Country Lodge, Wickedfood Earth Farm to Fork Picnics, and Sweet Thyme Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge @ Thunder Ranch?
Yes, guests have access to a plunge pool during their stay.