Mountain Ranch Lodge

Mountain Ranch Lodge

HF 11A Hartebeestfontein Road, Hekpoort 1790 South Africa
Traveller (11)
Fire place in kitchen
Dining (2)
View from Lodge
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hostel in Hekpoort
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Plunge pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

HF 11A Hartebeestfontein Road, Hekpoort 1790 South Africa
4Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Venture32668502845 wrote a review Nov 2023
Boksburg, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mountain Ranch Lodge, now with new owners, is a cozy escape with awesome upgrades. The views of Magalies Mountain are seriously Instagram-worthy, and camel rides add a quirky touch. The laid-back bush vibe is perfect for chilling. Plus, the food is top-notch, totally worth the price tag.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Palesa M wrote a review Apr 2017
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we went to the shooting fun...it was so nice the owner is patient and very friendly..he is so calm he makes sure you understand ..overrall good expirence..would love to go again for clay target shooting..

thanks
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pieter W wrote a review Dec 2014
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Quality accomodation. Clean and stylish rooms. Good self catering facilities and quality breakfast.
We were recieved with warm hospitality and the service from the owners was very pleasant.
I would definately return when we are back in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in the double room with the super best bed ever!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Codenameyash wrote a review Mar 2017
Bryanston, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly I would like to mention that the weekend away was for a bachelors event. Now, whilst I do not expect 5 star decor or ammenities when at this type of particular function, one would like to enjoy some comforts.

Driving in an SUV/4x4 while not essential is more than recommended, I would not recommend a hatchback, in storms and such it would most definitely be stuck. The gravel roads can be a harsh on a vehicle.

I completely understand that management would not want to invest in a place that is as they say prime for bachelor parties, but at least make the place more welcoming and pleasant.

The decor is pretty much something that grandma would approve off, old furniture old styling even comes with haunting pictures of woman staring at you! It is rather unnerving. The management could firstly redecorate and renovate here and there, would vastly improve the experience.

It is a self catering place, has quite a lot to offer in terms of utensils and dishes, which was rather nice. Has coffee facilities, gas stove, fridge and a microwave. The braai facilities are quite good, but if you want to use it, you will have to wait until all the clay pidgeons have been shot! The shooting range is operated right from there!

Yes, it is in the wilderness, so it is rather busy with insects and such.

The shower is a problem that needs fixing, it is inconsistent, with a rather large delay between you wanting more warm water to when you actually get it. When it does arricve, it arrives in droves. Be careful!

Now the owners operate a Clay pidgeon shooting range right in front of the lodge which is rather inconsiderate! Why on earth would you want to put your patrons through such a fiasco! Highly unprofessional and a show of total disregard for those around!

Its really hard to find something nice to say about this place, because in all honestly I hardly enjoyed it! Please rather not stay here! Seriously stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Rather skip this lodge, stay at a proper place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlfTheron, Owner at Mountain Ranch Lodge
Responded 12 Aug 2017
Firstly , you were part of a bachelor group that nearly trashed the venue. Your group also refused to pay for damages after your breakage deposit was not enough to cover all the damages. And I have pictures to prove it. Secondly the Lodge is furnished with mostly vintage furniture and decorations , and it is marketed as an old or retro farm style venue. Maybe you do not know the difference between "old" and vintage or antique. Nothing in the venue is unserivicible or broken and a lot was invested in time and money to recreate a 50's style farm house. Because we are situated in a rural area , it can be expected that we have dirt access roads . Potential visitors are also made aware of this fact. And because we are in a rural area , we do not have access to municipal water supply with the normal pressure that you are used to in town. We rely on borehole water and gravity feed. There are enough geysers to supply hot water to the four bathrooms, but if 20 people camp out in the showers you will run out of hot water.The venue is also advertised as having Clay Pigeon Shooting on site as an attraction. This activity is hugely popular with quests. Your group did not book a shoot, but the group shooting when you arrived early, did not effect your braai at all, or your access to the house facilities, including the kitchen. I suggest that if you do not have appreciation for the great outdoors, rather stay in town. We have lots of visitors that appreciate the location of the venue and farm atmosphere.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Codenameyash wrote a tip Mar 2017
Bryanston, South Africa23 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rather skip this lodge, stay at a proper place"
Read full review
Pieter W wrote a tip Dec 2014
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the double room with the super best bed ever!"
Read full review
Write your review
What was your hotel experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your hotel experience through your eyes.
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and hotel staff your top questions.
Ask a question
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hekpoort area.
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengHekpoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNTAIN RANCH LODGE - Hostel Reviews (Hekpoort, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Ranch Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Saddle Creek Adventures (6.1 km), Shooting Fun (0.9 km), and Mud And Dust Paintball (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a view of the mountains, and an oven.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esther's Country Lodge, Wickedfood Earth Farm to Fork Picnics, and Sweet Thyme Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Ranch Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a plunge pool during their stay.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire