We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dargle Road, Nottingham Road 3280 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
US$94
View deal
Expedia.comUS$95
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$99
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (17)

About

#3 of 15 Speciality lodging in Nottingham Road
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Breakfast available
Fishing
Patio
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa

Location

Full view
Contact
Dargle Road, Nottingham Road 3280 South Africa
Getting there
King Shaka Intl Airport116 kmSee all flights
Pietermaritzburg Airport50 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
272Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 183
  • 77
  • 8
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ziggy H wrote a review 14 Oct
Durban2 contributions
Great setting off the beaten path with Splendid Nature around including Eagles Buck and more. Remember Evenings are cold and days hot so bring a jacket. Local town Nottingham is conveniently only 13 kms away. Prepare to unwind totally. Great Host and super breakfast. Will return soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Belinda Lentz, Owner at Hawklee Country House
Responded yesterday
Dear Ziggy Lovely for you to get the chance to unwinding and enjoying nature. The eagles are a wonderful sight to see nesting . Love to host you again Regards Dean and Belinda
Read more
C3218NXnick wrote a review Sep 2021
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
My colleague and I spent an overnight at Hawklee as a stopover during a business trip and found it to be a stunning venue. The setting and Dean's attentiveness and guest-focused approach made for a wonderful break from the bustle of the day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Belinda Lentz, Owner at Hawklee Country House
Responded 09 Sep 2021
Dear C3218Nnick It was a pleasure to host business men again and glad it was an enjoyable break from the busy day. Next time I hope the family can come along Regards Dean and Belinda@Hawklee
Read more
bellio803442 wrote a review Aug 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Beautiful views and a great place to relax and unwind. The host's, Belinda and Dean were very helpful with any requests and advice on activities and places to visit. Spa bath was an added treat to relax and cap off a good weekend!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean and Belinda Lentz, Owner at Hawklee Country House
Responded 03 Sep 2021
Dear bellio Hawklee Country House is definitely the place to relax and unwind. As ex joburgers we know how you feel. We love that you relaxed and had a good time
Read more
G3508NUsam wrote a review Jul 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
We just keep going back everytime. Everything is Perfect. The food is marvelous, the friendly staff and hosts, beautiful nature and the soothing sound of the river. Clean warm sanitized rooms and perfectly save. Thank you Dean and Belinda for a making every stay a wonderful everlasting memory. Keep Well
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Belinda Lentz, Owner at Hawklee Country House
Responded 08 Jul 2021
DearG3508NUsam We love return guests as it makes it a pleasure to host you more as friends than guests. Thank you for thinking of us again and coming back. The Lion's river that tickles past the cottages is definitely unique and offers peace tranquility. Till next time Regards Dean and Belinda
Read more
lindasmulders wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We booked for 2 days stayed for 1 ..we arrived to a very poor greet..a house sitter greeted us and was not accommodating.no pub no fire had to stay in our room as there was nothing else to do.we left early as that was not the memory I wanted to remember for my husband's 71st birthday. We booked in to Granny Mousse for the night which was excellent..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Belinda Lentz, Owner at Hawklee Country House
Responded 02 Jul 2021
Dear Linda Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you felt your experience was not a great one. There was a manager in place as we were away on a 5 day holiday. The fire was offered and refused. You were offered all the facilities of the lounge where a fire was and facilities in the bar. Due to Covid we have dropped our liquor license and do not serve dinners only breakfast and this was relayed before your trip. You were welcome to use all the facilities on offer so we apologies if you did not make use of them. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Granny mouse as that is a 5 star facility and we are a small 3 star. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience regards Hawklee country House
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalNottingham Road
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hawklee Country House
What are some of the property amenities at Hawklee Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Hawklee Country House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hawklee Country House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hawklee Country House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hawklee Country House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Is Hawklee Country House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.