Thatchings Guest House

Thatchings Guest House

Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 6 guest houses in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Thatchings is a 4 Star Guest House situated within a Trout and Game Estate and forms part of the Midlands Meander - South Africa's premier Arts and Crafts route.Thatchings lies in a beautiful setting of ancient pine trees, rolling lawns, azalea shrubs and hydrangeas(stunning when in flower), and all overlooking a picturesque trot dam.With no fences to restrict them, impalas, zebras, wildebeest, eland and duikers frequently come onto the property which makes for an uplifting experience for guests.Thatchings offers a variety of en-suite accommodation, all under traditional African thatch, such as Bridal/Honeymoon Suite, Junior Suite, Family rooms, Twin rooms and double rooms.The rooms are tastefully furnished in country style and provided with electric blankets and heaters to ward off winter's chill, magazines, fresh flowers, TV and tea/coffee making facilities are provided to make guests stay comfortable.Thatchings is a quiet gentle place to ease mind, body and soul.Take a walk in the 300 hectare private game estate and you may well see zebras, black wildebeest, eland, red hartebeest, impalas, waterbuck, blesbuck, duiker, reed buck and monkeys to name a few of the resident animals. Abundant bird-life ensures that no walk is without seeing something of the fauna and flora of this beautiful region.Settle into the lounge with it's magical view or curl up at a roaring log fire in the guest lounge on those cold and misty days.Thatchings is perfectly situated for exploring the surrounding area with its wealth of experiences. There is easy access to the Drakensberg, Zulu and Boer War battlefields, golf courses and large dams for water sports just to name a few.An a la carte menu is available for dinner and a full English breakfast is included in the rate.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
104Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 29
  • 10
  • 8
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DeniDuffleBags wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Trevor and Susan were excellent hosts. From the first moment, we stepped from the hot African sun into the cool thatched interior, Trevor made us feel right at ease and at home. Sundowners enjoyed on the stoep, local knowledge shared, to “ what birds is that?” Trevor is a fountain of knowledge. Great suggestion to eat at the Linga Lapa where we name dropped Trevor to the the owner, Matt.and needles to say, we were spoiled. Also need to mention the beautiful view and the many animals on the property. Duiker, rooi bok zebra, springbok. We did not find the leopard footprints, next time.....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms excellent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Read, Owner at Thatchings Guest House
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We enjoyed hosting you and who knows, maybe next time you will get to see the leopard!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
64pippa wrote a review Apr 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in overnight to attend a wedding function. We were the only guests due to Covid cancellations. We were very satisfied with our stay. We took a walk to the dam and saw a herd of impala. Trevor was a great host and visiting the Midlands Meander the following day was a pleasant way to end the weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Read, Owner at Thatchings Guest House
Responded 10 Apr 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to see some of the game. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill H wrote a review Apr 2021
Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was comfortable with a spacious bathroom and hot water. Bed excellent and a view of greenery. Trevor, our host, went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had our daughter's baby shower at the guest house and Trevor really helped enormously in making it a memorable and fun occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Read, Owner at Thatchings Guest House
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure helping with the baby shower. I'm so glad it went so well and made some great memories. We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
powelldl wrote a review May 2022
Eshowe, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointing room, very few TV channels, no sport channels, Advertised as Four star, I expected better and it was not cheap! . Sadly I would not recommend Thatchings to my friends and family. Service at Breakfast was good, and food was fine, but found Dinning room to be dated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor Read, Owner at Thatchings Guest House
Responded 24 May 2022
Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We appreciate your feed back and continue to strive to give our guests the best service possible. We hope you will give us another chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drngidi wrote a review Jun 2024
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a warm welcome from the host,Winelda. Rooms were warm in spite of the cold night.Accomodated us by preparing braai area and fridge as we had booked family rooms.Breakfast was excellent overlooking the dam.Calm quiet area with good staff overall. I advise that you visit the place to experience it
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zelna P wrote a review Jun 2016
Kloof, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not sure where to begin. Have not been this disappointed in a place in a long time. We visit the Midlands often. Our normal accomodation was fully booked so decided to try something new.
I see Midlands. I see country hospitality. I see carpets. I see fireplaces. I see warm blankets. Inviting spaces. None of that. We had the family room. Arrived all windows in the room were open. Heater not on. And it was freezing. The duvet is thin and I don't think they have had bought new linen since they opened. The throw blanket on the bed is thin and old. The towels are old. The bath mat had a hole. Just not inviting.
They only have one lounge with a fire place and then one lounge off the main lounge. Not sure where all the guests will sit if all decided to stay in. We had a choice between rack of lamb and steak. Not sure what we would have done if we're non red meat eaters. The dessert was a very small portion and it came to a R1000 for the meal and drinks. The breakfast was adequate. Nothing great. We walked into the dining room the previous night and it was ice cold. Why not put the heater on before hand. I am so disappointed. And definitely not a 4 *
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beryl R wrote a review Nov 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked into Thatchings for the weekend in order to attend a wedding but when it was cancelled we decided to go anyway. Trevor and Sue were very welcoming and they are very easy going about the time of arrival and going out in the evenings, one treats it like home which is nice. The surroundings are very nice and the bird life great, BUT it wasn't 4 star by any stretch of the imagination. We were booked into the honeymoon suite which was very comfortable and clean,but the lighting was seriously insufficient using only low voltage globes and low wattage, so it was dark (making it impossible to read by the bedside lamps) and the amenities in the bathroom were very scant (no shower cap and no bathmats the first night on a freezing bathroom floor). The television bouquet was really bad with not even one international news channel and seemingly no sports channels. Local SABC channels are just not on! The breakfasts were very nice, more of a B&B type of setup, and the cooked orders were done to perfection. We had dinner there the first night - the chicken option - but went seeking a better choice the second night. The sherry and little glasses in the room were a nice touch. Was it good value for money? No, I don't think so, we had friends staying down the road in the same area and their upmarket spa hotel was cheaper than ours and they got an extra night thrown in on a special deal making their rooms a jolly side cheaper than ours.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had the honeymoon room which was large, but not extra special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J0burger wrote a review May 2016
Randburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One overnight stop in transit, our stay was too short! Lovely location with a stunning view, treated to an early morning procession of Eland down to the water.

Next time will stay for longer and will take time to tour the area
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ninad42 wrote a review Feb 2016
California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were looking for a nice B&B in the Midlands when we found Thatchings. It was so much more than just a place to lay our heads. Trevor and Susan are superior hosts. Treavor was a trove of information about the area. We thoroughly enjoy talking to him. Susan's food were worthy of a 5 star restaurant. The gardens are beautiful overlooking a small dam. Our accommodation was clean and well appointed. It was a very relaxing and pleasant stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard G wrote a review Oct 2015
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are travelling in this part of South Africa Thatchings Guest House is the place to stay. You are greeted and immediately made to feel welcome by the owners, Susan & Trevor. Their property is absolutely gorgeous with a lovely trout pond, lush green hills and filled with bird calls and animal sightings. The rooms are huge and have everything you might need as well as heated beds for those cold evenings. Trevor and Susan go out of their way to make you feel special from their delicious breakfasts to their gourmet dinners upon request. They even helped my husband track down a credit card he had left at a nearby store. These folks take pride in their B & B and their warm and caring personalities make you feel like a family member. This is a magical place to stay and should not be missed
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
DeniDuffleBags wrote a tip Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms excellent"
Read full review
kantha p wrote a tip Apr 2019
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa19 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not choose any room until they renovate!"
Read full review
Flea F wrote a tip Jul 2018
Gaborone46 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms might be warmer than the cottage. But some of them also didn't have hot water."
Read full review
Beryl R wrote a tip Nov 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa210 contributions131 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the honeymoon room which was large, but not extra special."
Read full review
Terri F wrote a tip Jul 2016
Madagascar11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to order dinner if you would like to eat in - they only cook to order - it is well worth it! Delicious food and REALLY affordable!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nottingham Road area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,983 - R 2,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalNottingham Road
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THATCHINGS GUEST HOUSE - Now R 1 981 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶6̶1̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Nottingham Road, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Thatchings Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Thatchings Guest House?
Nearby attractions include The Wine Cellar (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thatchings Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Thatchings Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Thatchings Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thatchings Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Linga Lapa, Blueberry Cafe, and The Midlands Kitchen.
All Nottingham Road HotelsNottingham Road Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Nottingham RoadHotels near Thatchings Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire