We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

TripAdvisorUS$155*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$162*
US$155*
Great Deal
US$157*
US$162*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
SOUTH AFRICA
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Attended a wedding at this venue which was outstanding. They have separate chapel and very large building for the reception, which was ideal. The food and service provided was outstanding. One of the best weddings we have ever attended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BARRYBE
Management response:

Thanks for the lovely feedback.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Fordoun the night after our wedding in The Midlands, and it was everything we hoped for and more. Friendly, accommodating staff to welcome us, a spacious, comfortable and clean room and a wonderful breakfast to go with it. Highly recommended and such a beautiful location and setting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimon G
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful feedback

Reviewed 5 February 2017

We had an incredible stay at Fordoun Spa Hotel & loved every minute! Wished we could have stayed a week! Room 19 was spectacular! The decor & size of the suite was very generous & tasteful. We had our own patio to sip sundowners & admire a spectacular sunset over the Drakensberg. I especially loved the spacious bathroom & dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suewW3406US
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Taba, Egypt
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Spent a weekend here and we had an incredible time being poked and prodded by the excellent and friendly staff. The rooms are stunning and the food sublime. The chef is a genious and luckily hasn't heard of counting calories!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveyb37
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments Steve!

Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea 😖) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb 😋

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarbiCow
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We booked at the hotel on the 16th December 2016. My feedback is as follows: • The food was divine. We enjoyed every meal. • The staff was friendly and helpful. • We stayed at room 2 however I felt that the other rooms we stayed at before were better in terms of size. • The spa was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesAlw123
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we have relayed your comments to the spa manager

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Lovely Location and nice and clean. Restaurant very good and food excellent. Service ok not up to 5star rating. Spar a bit in need of TLC - grubby and not very professional. Definitely needs new staff This hotel is not child friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crestdev
Management response:

Thanks for your comments and your feedback has been sent to the spa manager

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I just said to my wife what should we rate them and she said "absolute five star I couldn't fault them on anything to tell you the truth" and that is the truth excellent stay highly recommended wonderful friendly staff and excellent rooms sense of history great outdoors and first-rate spa

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Management response:

Thanks so much

Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2016

This year we decided to have our family Christmas lunch at the newly built Fordoun Farm Village conference centre. Management and staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet provided was very good with a variety of food available for all tastes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandyD268
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016

My husband and i just got back from a 4 day anniversary get away at Fordoun. This is our 7th time at the hotel and to be honest it really still is the gem of the Midlands. We stayed in Room 8 this time, which was a massive room - beautifully decorated and so luxurious. The food at Fordoun, has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikkiSewpersad

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2.4 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
77 reviews
34.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
35.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
6.2 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
129 reviews
4.5 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 701 - R3 892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Durban, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are great! Our favourites are 1 and 16.”
AnthonyB177, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“milk tart ice cream is a must...”
steveyb37, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I really enjoyed Room 5, Rose room, because it gets alot of sun during the day. some of the other rooms can be quiet dark.”
NikkiSewpersad, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The suites are magnificent. Treat yourself!”
JoziGuy77, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At this standard all room are great”
angiep389, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$155* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$157
Booking.comUS$162
Expedia.comUS$155
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates