We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fordoun Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Nottingham Road 3280 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$172
Expedia.comUS$156
eDreamsUS$172
TravelocityUS$156
Orbitz.comUS$156
Prestigia.comUS$311
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (245)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (40)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/08/04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Updated 20/08/04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Nottingham Road
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Fordoun Hotel and Spa is a family owned and managed luxury five star boutique hotel and spa located near Nottingham Road in the scenic KwaZulu-Natal Midlands. Imaginatively converted from an 1860s farmyard, dairy and homestead, each bedroom and suite is individually styled, highlighting the historical past. Luxuriously appointed rooms feature king-size beds, underfloor heating, mini bar, tea tray, WiFi, TV and DVD player. Five romantic private suites on a hilltop boast panoramic views of the majestic Drakensberg mountains, walk-in dressing rooms, gas fireplace, and indoor and outdoor showers. Serene pastoral countryside, dams and meandering trails beckon walkers, cyclists and fly-fishing enthusiasts. Heightened appetites are satisfied by fine gourmet cuisine prepared with seasonal farm produce and the freshest local ingredients in the fine dining restaurant, Skye Bistro. Fordoun’s renowned wellness spa features indoor heated pool, outdoor pool, floatation tank, rasul,vichy shower and more. Spa lovers revel in the many tempting treatments, combining international ranges and uniquely African products made from Zulu traditional healing plants grown in the indigenous garden. The charming new Farm Village welcomes families with modern self-contained cottages around an idyllic village green, perfect for picnics or perhaps an impromptu game of cricket. Each chalet is well equipped with fully fitted kitchen, fireplace, DSTV, DVD player, barbecue and serviced daily. The wedding/conference venue can accommodate up to 180 guests for weddings or conferences.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Hiking
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
308Reviews4Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 60
  • 11
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ShabanaN wrote a review 21 Feb
1 contribution
Came in with my 13 year old and 14 year old and little baby who was not going to swim but a lady from the spa by the name of zandile started jumping down mu throat saying she is the manager of the spa and I should pls leave even thought she was not planning to swim . She was about to fall sleep and it was starting to rain outside by frogmarched me out saying that kids r not Even allowed in the pool area and I should go outside and swim . This behavior is unacceptable especially when the spa is empty and we had already checked out of our room so no where to go to.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Shabana, We thank-you for your kind support and taking the time to review your stay at Fordoun Farm Village (Self-Catering). We sincerely apologise that your stay and our team at Fordoun did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very disappointed that these incidents occurred and even more disappointed that you chose to air your grievances on Tripadvisor and not directly to management on duty whilst you were staying with us. Management would have liked to have had the chance to engage and find an amicable solution to your unhappy experiences. The Hotel is a 5-star boutique and spa sanctuary for people to escape the hustle, bustle and noise of the cities and towns. It is for this reason we have the restrictions at the spa for children under 12. Our spa was busy at the time and most guests were having massages in the treatment rooms hence the need for a tranquil, relaxing space. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few of our guidelines with you. Our guidelines are put in place for the safety of our guests, staff and ensure to ensure that guests expectations are met. These guidelines are clearly stipulated in all our marketing material, in our booking correspondence and with guests in arrival. The self-catering chalets are designed for the purpose of being more family friendly and the Midlands offers many family friendly restaurants in the surrounding area. We have our valued guests to consider hence some guidelines have been put in place. The Saturday evening you chose to dine at Skye Bistro was fully booked and all our correspondence prior to arrival and in room folders clearly stipulates that Skye Bistro is a fine dining restaurant and accommodates families with children until 19h00. The reason we request this time is to ensure that our diners enjoy a tranquil, peaceful dining experience. You were certainly not asked to leave the restaurant but to quieten down in consideration of other diners around you. We have reviewed your booking with us and notice you had 6 people staying in a one-bedroom, two-person chalet. There was prior arrangement for an additional teenager and toddler, not 4 children in total. You also fail to admit or point out that you missed three spa appointments without cancelling, this directly results in a loss of revenue for 3 massages because we turned other guests away. Lastly, it is noted that you are a serial Tripadvisor contributor, very few of which are complimentary. So much so, that you even have more than one account. Anytime you'd to like to engage with management on a personal level, we would be more than happy to hear your personal account of the events that took place. Kind regards, Richard Bates (MD)
Read more
slockhat wrote a review 20 Feb
10 contributions19 helpful votes
Had the worst experience with the owner of fordoun estate (Andrew) Terrible people skills. Told us to leave the restaurant if our 4 month old baby carries on making a noise . Very disappointed as it’s not our first stay here . I don’t think it should be classified as a family friendly hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Shabana, We thank-you for your kind support and taking the time to review your stay at Fordoun Farm Village (Self-Catering). We sincerely apologise that your stay and our team at Fordoun did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very disappointed that these incidents occurred and even more disappointed that you chose to air your grievances on Tripadvisor and not directly to management on duty whilst you were staying with us. Management would have liked to have had the chance to engage and find an amicable solution to your unhappy experiences. The Hotel is a 5-star boutique and spa sanctuary for people to escape the hustle, bustle and noise of the cities and towns. It is for this reason we have the restrictions at the spa for children under 12. Our spa was busy at the time and most guests were having massages in the treatment rooms hence the need for a tranquil, relaxing space. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few of our guidelines with you. Our guidelines are put in place for the safety of our guests, staff and ensure to ensure that guests expectations are met. These guidelines are clearly stipulated in all our marketing material, in our booking correspondence and with guests in arrival. The self-catering chalets are designed for the purpose of being more family friendly and the Midlands offers many family friendly restaurants in the surrounding area. We have our valued guests to consider hence some guidelines have been put in place. The Saturday evening you chose to dine at Skye Bistro was fully booked and all our correspondence prior to arrival and in room folders clearly stipulates that Skye Bistro is a fine dining restaurant and accommodates families with children until 19h00. The reason we request this time is to ensure that our diners enjoy a tranquil, peaceful dining experience. You were certainly not asked to leave the restaurant but to quieten down in consideration of other diners around you. We have reviewed your booking with us and notice you had 6 people staying in a one-bedroom, two-person chalet. There was prior arrangement for an additional teenager and toddler, not 4 children in total. You also fail to admit or point out that you missed three spa appointments without cancelling, this directly results in a loss of revenue for 3 massages because we turned other guests away. Lastly, it is noted that you are a serial Tripadvisor contributor, very few of which are complimentary. So much so, that you even have more than one account. Anytime you'd to like to engage with management on a personal level, we would be more than happy to hear your personal account of the events that took place. Kind regards, Richard Bates (MD)
Read more
Karen Edwards wrote a review 07 Feb
2 contributions
We had the most wonderful picnic at Fordoun on Sunday. What a treat! We were driven in the golf cart to our chosen spot in the amazing grounds. The food was fabulous - so carefully thought out and we loved the Miss Molly champagne!!! Our dog was welcomed (as long as he stayed on his leash) What a stunning way to spend a Sunday afternoon!!!! Thanks Fordoun you guys rock.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Bates, General Manager at Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Wander45606402975 Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We do believe the Picnics are a great addition. Kind regards Richard Bates
Read more
shivani wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
We arrived at Fordoun and hired the farm village cottages. The unit had wet wood, wet charcoal so keeping warm on the day we arrived was a challenge. The utensils provided in the room were substandard. We had an old oven tray which was not usable, a blunt pair of scissors and a stove plate that didnt work and after three emails and complaints to Fordoun, we have no response. They charge quite a package but the service is really bad. Im not sure how this gets rated 5 stars. Tennis rackets were not provided so how does one even enjoy the place. The basic checks are not done. Disgusting service from Fordoun!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Shivani, We sincerely apologise that you did not receive the 5 star service you were expecting. I thank-you for responding to my mails and would just like to clarify the following facts: As per our website states; the Fordoun Farm Village is a separate entity to the 5 star Fordoun Hotel and Spa. The Fordoun Village is NOT 5 star rated by choice. I did send you a screenshot of the website stating this. We apologise if the above was not clearly stated to you during your booking process. I have been through all Jules (reservations@fordoun.co.za) emails and sadly found your mail in spam. We have been experiencing email challenges due to our very poor, intermittent internet here which is currently being resolved by a new service provider. Our guests are our first priority and our sincere apologies you did not experience the true Fordoun experience. Your baking tray was certainly unacceptable and know that Lungi replaced it after bringing it to our attention. Our sincere apologies as this was certainly our fault for not checking the baking tray prior to your arrival. Wet wood and charcoal – the charcoal is placed in a plastic sealed container so not sure how it could have got wet? Due to the nature of our wet Summer climate here and lots of rain in January – we do try our very next to keep wood dry and supply firelighters for guests. Our staff are always very willing to light fires for guests. I personally have lit many fires for guests as we live on the property and all very willing to help keep guests warm and comfortable. Your stove – according to Lungi (Fordoun Farm Village Events Co-ordinator) and the owner, Andrew Bates; your stove was checked and in perfect working order. I forwarded the WhatsApp conversation between Lungi and Jules with images of stove working and new baking tray. On that note, we very much welcome guest constructive feedback to improve our offerings and certainly so sorry we did not fulfil your 5 star expectations. It certainly was not intentional and we tried our very best to rectify your complaints ie stove, blunt scissors and baking tray were sorted out. We thank-you for your kind support and hope that this letter clarifies your Fordoun experience. Warm regards and stay safe during these very uncertain times. Rich Bates, Jules Minton and the Fordoun team
Read more
bwoods931566 wrote a review Dec 2020
Sandton, South Africa1 contribution
Our first time, and what a treat! From room, to the spa, to the quality of food and service and the spectacular estate! we cant wait to come back! The floatation rooms were amazing and also the quality of the full body massages!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Staats, Marketing at Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Responded 04 Jan 2021
To our valued Fordoun guest, We thank-you for your very special review and for your very kind words. We so appreciate your kind support, wonderful feedback and recommendation. Thank-you! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! We wish you a healthy, safe 2021! Stay safe and take care, The Fordoun Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalNottingham Road
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fordoun Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Chocolate Heaven (4.6 km), The Wine Cellar (4.3 km), and The Ugly Duckling (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Linga Lapa, Blueberry Cafe, and Bierfassl Pub and restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fordoun Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fordoun Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Does Fordoun Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.